Credo content related to African American Studies
Library Resources on African History in Credo Reference
Credo Reference helps you start your research with background information from authoritative encyclopedias.
Credo Reference helps you start your biographical research with extensive biographical reference materials, directories, and obituary collections.
Credo Reference helps you start your research on food and nutrition with subject-specific dictionaries, culinary histories, and information on nutritional science.
All About Spices : Pepper, Cubebs, Nutmegs, Cloves, Ginger, vanilla, pimento, cinnamon; including Practical Instructions for Planting, Cultivation and Preparation for market, with Practical Information from a Variety of Sources, Referring to the spice ind by 
Cuisine and Culture by
An illuminating account of how history shapes our diets-now revised and updated Why did the ancient Romans believe cinnamon grew in swamps guarded by giant killer bats? How did the African cultures imported by slavery influence cooking in the American South? What does the 700-seat McDonald's in Beijing serve in the age of globalization? With the answers to these and many more such questions, Cuisine and Culture, Second Edition presents an engaging, informative, and witty narrative of the interactions among history, culture, and food. From prehistory and the earliest societies around the Tigris and Euphrates Rivers to today's celebrity chefs, Cuisine and Culture, Second Edition presents a multicultural and multiethnic approach that draws connections between major historical events and how and why these events affected and defined the culinary traditions of different societies. Fully revised and updated, this Second Edition offers new and expanded features and coverage, including: New Crossing Cultures sections providing brief sketches of foods and food customs moving between cultures More holiday histories, food fables, and food chronologies Discussions of food in the Byzantine, Portuguese, Turkish/Ottoman, and Austro-Hungarian empires Greater coverage of the scientific genetic modification of food, from Mendel in the 19th century to the contemporary GM vs. organic food debate Speculation on the future of food And much more! Complete with sample recipes and menus, as well as revealing photographs and illustrations, Cuisine and Culture, Second Edition is the essential survey history for students of food history.
Food and Culture Around the World by
This book provides specific information on the food and culture of each of the 195 countries in the world. Designed to be consistent and concise, it uses an outline format that details the cultural factors related to food ( such as geography, ethnic group, religions and education) and the food itself ( such as typical dishes, special occasion foods, meals and service and street food and snacks). Its goal is to help readers develop multicultural competence and cultural sensitivity so they are more equipped to provide adequate food service, nutrition education, and health care to an increasingly diverse population. Some features for each country entry include: COUNTRY NAME (Official Name) Culture Geography location and topography Major Languages Ethnic Groups and % of population in each group Major Religions Official religion and % of population affiliated with each religion Agriculture chief crops and livestock Brief History Industries All types of food coverage including influences on food and specialty or occasion food A perfect blend of culture and food, this is a great resource for anyone in the food service industry!
Food Around the World by
For courses in cultural foods for dietetics / general education.Appreciation and understanding of cultures around the world and techniques for effective communication are the challenging goals of this text. Food is featured prominently because of its universal appeal and the meaningful ways that geography, climate, economics, and religion have combined with history and culture to define the ingredients and food patterns unique to countries and regions around the world. Dietetics students need this knowledge as they prepare to counsel clients in our increasingly inter-cultural milieu. All students require a sound fundamental knowledge of the world's nations and the uniqueness of today's rich cultural patterns as they prepare to become citizens of the world.
National Geographic Traveler: South Africa by
All the travel experts agree--consumers want more and different experiences from travel than they did in the past. They want to deeply understand their destination before they go, feel a meaningful connection to the place while there, and return home feeling enriched and ready to share their experiences with others. With these trends in mind, and the results of extensive, proprietary market research, National Geographic Traveler has been enhanced with engaging new features and a contemporary redesign. Each guide begins with an introduction that enables the traveler to sample a bit of the culture, history, and attractions before they go and plan the trip based on their own interests and length of stay. Travelers can immerse themselves in active, in-country "Experiences" and "Off-the-Beaten-Path Excursions" they won't find anywhere else, like visiting a family in a South African township or learning to cook Maori cuisine with a renowned New Zealand chef. Other new features, such as "Insider Tips" from National Geographic photographers, writers, and experts, as well as "Not-To-Be-Missed" lists ensure that each person's visit will be one-of-a-kind and memorable. To make the most of these and all the other great new features, the guides' design has been simplified, opened up, and enhanced with easy-to-read tinted sections. Gorgeous color photographs, high-quality maps, and the popular walking and driving tours are still highlights of our crisp, new look. To complete the update, our new covers boast a striking, single image of the destination, along with the clear National Geographic branding that signifies quality, trust, and all the best in travel. With more than a century of travel expertise, new content, and a new look, National Geographic Traveler is the right guide at the right time--poised to meet the changing needs of today's traveler better than ever and better than anyone. South Africa offers vibrant cities and wildlife wonders. Our exciting new 1st edition covers everything--from Cape Town to Johannesburg to seeing the "big five" on safari.
Near a Thousand Tables by
In Near a Thousand Tables, acclaimed food historian Felipe Fernández-Armesto tells the fascinating story of food as cultural as well as culinary history -- a window on the history of mankind. In this "appetizingly provocative" (Los Angeles Times) book, he guides readers through the eight great revolutions in the world history of food: the origins of cooking, which set humankind on a course apart from other species; the ritualization of eating, which brought magic and meaning into people's relationship with what they ate; the inception of herding and the invention of agriculture, perhaps the two greatest revolutions of all; the rise of inequality, which led to the development of haute cuisine; the long-range trade in food which, practically alone, broke down cultural barriers; the ecological exchanges, which revolutionized the global distribution of plants and livestock; and, finally, the industrialization and globalization of mass-produced food. From prehistoric snail "herding" to Roman banquets to Big Macs to genetically modified tomatoes, Near a Thousand Tables is a full-course meal of extraordinary narrative, brilliant insight, and fascinating explorations that will satisfy the hungriest of readers.
Canary Islands by
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Canary Islands shows the Canary Islands at their sun-soaked best. From sandy beaches to craggy peaks, this uniquely visual guide provides cutaways and floor plans of all of the major sights. Special coverage of the islands' unique geography and the wildlife of the archipelago includes its volcanic rock formations and geysers, diverse flora, and marine life. No trip to the Canary Islands would be complete without joining revelers at one of its glorious carnivals; and with sights, beaches, markets and festivals listed town by town, you won't miss a thing. With a reliable selection of hotels, bars, and restaurants, and full-color, detailed maps of all the towns and regions, this is the perfect guide to help you experience the best of the islands. Additionally, this expanded DK Eyewitness Travel Guide brings to life the islands' culture and history, explaining the legends of the islands, revealing tales of Spanish, Portuguese, and Catalan conquests, and the story that the islands were once believed to be the lost land of Atlantis. DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Canary Islands — showing you what others only tell you.
Heart-Healthy Home Cooking African American Style : with Every Heartbeat is Life by 
Soul food : the surprising story of an American cuisine one plate at a time by 
The Spices of Life by
Love potions, cures for toothache or flatulence, tasty flavoring - spices have been a pungent presence down the ages. Long before Peter Piper picked his peck of pickled pepper, the Queen of Sheba sent spices to King Solomon and Emperor Nero burned Rome's annual supply of cinnamon at his wife's funeral. It's hard to imagine how these berries, seeds and barks once unleashed ferocious passion in European adventurers who fought tooth and claw to control the spice trade, causing chaos in the lives of people in the South. Spices still fascinate us... the way a pinch of chili powder zips a sober bean casserole into a hot experience-or how the scent of cinnamon wafting from a bakery triggers the appetite. The Spices of Life brings over 100 delicious recipes from Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Middle East using favorite spices like cloves, nutmeg, chilies, and pepper, as well as some less familiar ones. It comes complete with a Spice Guide to introduce the flavorings and give advice on how to use them. With some of the brightest foods from around the world, The Spices of Life is a great way to pep up your cooking. Over 100 easy-to-follow recipes from around the world A brief note on foods, cultures or countries with each recipe Illustrated spice guide Food facts Full-color photographs History of spices Glossary of foods Clear step-by-step cooking method Recipes fully adapted for you to cook at home Vegetarian section as well as meat and fish
Stirring the Pot by
U.S. and World Winner in the Best African Cuisine Book category, Gourmand World Cookbook Awards, 2010 Africa's art of cooking is a key part of its history. All too often Africa is associated with famine, but in Stirring the Pot, James C. McCann describes how the ingredients, the practices, and the varied tastes of African cuisine comprise a body of historically gendered knowledge practiced and perfected in households across diverse human and ecological landscape. McCann reveals how tastes and culinary practices are integral to the understanding of history and more generally to the new literature on food as social history. Stirring the Pot offers a chronology of African cuisine beginning in the sixteenth century and continuing from Africa's original edible endowments to its globalization. McCann traces cooks' use of new crops, spices, and tastes, including New World imports like maize, hot peppers, cassava, potatoes, tomatoes, and peanuts, as well as plantain, sugarcane, spices, Asian rice, and other ingredients from the Indian Ocean world. He analyzes recipes, not as fixed ahistorical documents,but as lively and living records of historical change in women's knowledge and farmers' experiments. A final chapter describes in sensuous detail the direct connections of African cooking to New Orleans jambalaya, Cuban rice and beans, and the cooking of African Americans' "soul food." Stirring the Pot breaks new ground and makes clear the relationship between food and the culture, history, and national identity of Africans.
Chef Prudhomme's Louisiana Kitchen by
Here for the first time, the famous food of Louisiana is presented in a cookbook written by a great creative chef who is himself world-famous. The extraordinary Cajun and Creole cooking of South Louisiana has roots going back over two hundred years, and today it is the one really vital, growing regional cuisine in America. No one is more responsible than Paul Prudhomme for preserving and expanding the Louisiana tradition, which he inherited from his own Cajun background. Chef Prudhomme's incredibly good food has brought people from all over America and the world to his restaurant, K-Paul's Louisiana Kitchen, in New Orleans. To set down his recipes for home cooks, however, he did not work in the restaurant. In a small test kitchen, equipped with a home-size stove and utensils normal for a home kitchen, he retested every recipe two and three times to get exactly the results he wanted. Logical though this is, it was an unprecedented way for a chef to write a cookbook. But Paul Prudhomme started cooking in his mother's kitchen when he was a youngster. To him, the difference between home and restaurant procedures is obvious and had to be taken into account. So here, in explicit detail, are recipes for the great traditional dishes--gumbos and jambalayas, Shrimp Creole, Turtle Soup, Cajun "Popcorn," Crawfish Etouffee, Pecan Pie, and dozens more--each refined by the skill and genius of Chef Prudhomme so that they are at once authentic and modern in their methods. Chef Paul Prudhomme's Louisiana Kitchen is also full of surprises, for he is unique in the way he has enlarged the repertoire of Cajun and Creole food, creating new dishes and variations within the old traditions. Seafood Stuffed Zucchini with Seafood Cream Sauce, Panted Chicken and Fettucini, Veal and Oyster Crepes, Artichoke Prudhomme--these and many others are newly conceived recipes, but they could have been created only by a Louisiana cook. The most famous of Paul Prudhomme's original recipes is Blackened Redfish, a daringly simple dish of fiery Cajun flavor that is often singled out by food writers as an example of the best of new American regional cooking. For Louisianians and for cooks everywhere in the country, this is the most exciting cookbook to be published in many years.
Chez Helene : "House of Good Food" by 
New Orleans for Dummies by
Mardi Gras. Cajun cooking. Jazz. If you're looking for a great party, a great meal, or some great music, New Orleans is the place to be. But how do you find your way around? Relax! This easy-to-understand guide is all you need to find the best of the Big Easy. New Orleans For Dummies includes: The best hotels and restaurants for every budget Details on the must-see attractions Itineraries for those short on time or traveling with families Special Mardi Gras chapter Day trips to Cajun country, plantations, and the bayou
Tom Fitzmorris's Hungry Town by
Tom Fitzmorris covers the New Orleans food scene like powdered sugar covers a beignet. For more than thirty-five years he's written a weekly restaurant review, but he's best known for a long-running, daily radio talk show devoted to New Orleans restaurants and cooking. In Tom Fitzmorris's Hungry Town, Fitzmorris movingly describes the disappearance of New Orleans's food culture in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina and its triumphant comeback--an essential element in the city's recovery. He leads up to it with a recent history of New Orleans dining before the hurricane, from the Creole craze of the 1980s to the opening of restaurants by big-name chefs like Paul Prudhomme and Emeril Lagasse. Fitzmorris's coverage of the heroic return of the city's chefs after Katrina highlights the importance of local cooking traditions to a community. The book includes recipes for some of the dishes mentioned in the story, and numerous sidebars informed by Fitzmorris's long career writing about this delicious city."New Orleanians are passionate about a lot of things, especially food! Nobody understands this better than Tom Fitzmorris. In Hungry Town, Tom gives readers insight into this amazing and one-of-a-kind city, and shows how food and the restaurant industry helped the city to survive and thrive after Katrina." -- EMERIL LAGASSE, chef, restaurateur, and TV host"No city restaurant critic in U.S. history has written more, eaten more, or knows more of their cuisine than Tom Fitzmorris."-- JAMES CARVILLE, political commentator, New Orleanian, and food enthusiast "A delicious read, part autobiographical, with wonderful recipes and a comprehensive restaurant history. This is a great tribute to the indomitable spirit of the New Orleans restaurant community, which brought our city back from the devastation of Hurricane Katrina. Hungry Town is a must for both New Orleanians and lovers of New Orleans food."-- ANNE GOOCH, Galatoire's Restaurant and New Orleans Wine and Food Experience co-founder"This book is a must-have for any New Orleanian or anyone traveling to New Orleans. It's full of the juicy tidbits that you can't find anywhere else. His prose will leave you salivating after every chapter. What a delicious read!"-- JOHN BESH, Besh Restaurant Group chef/owner"From his cat-bird seat, Tom Fitzmorris shares with us the family feuds, delicious tidbits, and vicious bites that comprise the New Orleans food scene of the late twentieth century. Hungry Town is the Tom-tell-all we've all been waiting for!"-- POPPY TOOKER, Slow Food New Orleans founder and food activist
The Caribbean, Central & South American Cookbook : Tropical Cuisines Steeped in History : All the Ingredients and Techniques and 150 Ssensational Step-by-Step Recipes by 
Islands of the Commonweath [sic Commonwealth] Caribbean : a regional study by 
Moon Aruba by
Make your Escape with Moon Aruba! With its intense blue sea and some of the most stunning beaches in the Caribbean, Aruba is nearly heaven. Find your version of paradise withMoon Aruba. What You'll Find inMoon Aruba: Curated advice from local author Rosalie Klein, who shares her adventurous expertise and love of her adopted country Full-color, vibrant, helpful photos Detailed directions and mapsfor exploring on your own In-depth coverage of Oranjestad, Eagle Beach and Manchebo Beach, Palm Beach, Malmok, and Noord, North Coast, San Nicolas, Savaneta, and Pos Chiquito Activities and ideas for every traveler: Go off-roading through the outback, or go snorkeling through the calm turquoise waters. See incredible geological formations and native birds with startlingly bright plumage at Arikok National Park, or experience the festivities of Carnival with the locals. Try local favorites like keshi yena (filled cheese) or cabrito stoba (stewed goat), or taste the freshest ceviche while dining beachfront. Strategic itineraries in an easy-to-navigate format, such as The Best of Aruba, Best Beaches, Explore the Outback, and Best Bets for the Budget-Conscious Current background information on the landscape, culture, history, and environment Essential insightfor travelers on health and safety, recreation, transportation, and accommodations from resorts to beachy bungalows, packaged in a book light enough to fit in your beach bag WithMoon Aruba's practical tips, myriad activities, and an insider's view on the best things to do and see, you can plan your trip your way. Looking for more fun in the Caribbean sun? Check outMoon Jamaica orMoon Dominican Republic.
The Rough Guide Directions St Lucia by
Slim, stylish and pocketable, Rough Guides Directions St Luciahas all you need to get the most out of your trip to the island. Pirate hangouts, glorious beaches and lush rainforests are all covered in detail, as are the bustling Castries and the many nature reserves. The guide's hand-picked accommodation and eating recommendations cover all the main resorts and inland villages, revealing plenty of hidden gems, all indicated on a series of useful maps. With a full-colour section packed with suggestions for things to do and see, from spectacular snorkelling to local festivals, you'll never be stuck for ideas.
