About Professional Baking by
This IACP (International Association of Culinary Professionals) finalist text is designed to present the principles of science that are applicable to baking. Each distinct chapter covers one or a group of related concepts, and contains introductory narrative and background information; an exemplary recipe; and a series of culinary lessons. Additional recipes are included in each chapter, and a step by step, full color series of photos accompanies each culinary lesson. The special features of this text include discussions of science related topics; pastry history; Lessons Demonstrated boxes, which highlight important principles in each chapter; Professional Profiles sections that highlight important culinary figures; and numerous tables, charts, and photographs designed to explain the principles in recipes. The unique presentation of material, the author s accessible writing style, the culinary lessons, and the numerous recipes provided make this text the most appropriate baking text available for today s culinary student.
Baking Fundamentals by
For courses in Introduction to Baking, Basic Baking and Pastry Skills and Professional Baking. Drawing on the authors' expertise, The Principles of Baking: Baking Fundamentals explores the basics of baking and pastry using real-life examples, learning activities, and four founding principles. Ideal for beginning students, it focuses on the basic principles behind formulas-ratios, sequence, time and temperature-and how these factors impact all quality-baked products. Divided into units, it begins with a historical sketch of the industry, offers a separate chapter on formula yields and baking math, and ends with interesting interviews and industry profiles. Rich with photographs and illustrations, it provides numerous hands-on exercises and shows how mastering a few basic concepts can yield thousands of signature recipes. Pearson Education is proud to bring world-renowned Dorling Kindersley (DK) products to your classroom. Instantly recognized by their fascinating, full-color photographs and illustrations on every page, DK titles will add meaning to expository text and make learning accessible and, fun.Other DK hallmarks include cross-section views, 3D models, and text to visual call-outs to help readers comprehend and enjoy the wealth of information each book provides. With Pearson, you can see DK in a whole new way For a complete listing of titles, please visit: http: //us.dk.com/pearso
How Baking Works by
Accessible coverage of the science of baking Underlying the artistic considerations involved in baking is science, and no other text offers as in-depth coverage of the "whys" of baking as How Baking Works. By helping bakers and pastry chefs better understand the major ingredient groups and reactions ingredients undergo during basic baking techniques, this insightful book is an essential key to mastering skills, effectively adapting to today's quickly evolving trends, and understanding a wide array of ingredients from different cultures. In a clear, easy-to-understand format, How Baking Works explains how sweeteners, fats, leavening agents, and other ingredients work, as well as how to apply scientific knowledge to answer such questions as: By doubling the sugar in a pound cake, how does that affect the appearance, flavor, and texture of the end product? Each chapter concludes with helpful review exercises and lab experiments, making this book an engaging learning tool. Complete with dozens of informative illustrations, How Baking Works is a versatile instructional book for students in culinary and baking programs and professional bakers and pastry chefs.
How to Bake by
How To Bake is as necessary and essential as a good oven; it is the most comprehensive and accessible guide to baking available in English. In a single, illustrated volume, Nick Malgieri, one of America's preeminent bakers and baking teachers, leads cooks through the simple art of creating an international assortment of delicious sweet and savory baked goods. Here are the best recipes for breads, including such quick ones as Buttermilk Corn Bread, Irish Soda Bread, Classic Southern Biscuits, and Currant Tea Scones, as well as such delicious yeast-risen breads as Italian Bread Rings, Swiss Rye Bread, Challah, and English Muffins. Malgieri also offers recipes for savory treats like Old-Fashioned Chicken Pie, Pepper and Onion Frittata Tart, Cheese Quiche, and Rosemary Focaccia; and for sweet pastries ranging from puff pastries--Apple Turnovers, Banana Feuilletés with Caramel Sauce, Brioches, Strawberry Savarin, and Croissants--to pies and tarts, cobblers, and cookies of every stripe--drop, bar, rolled, and filled; brownies, macaroons, and rugelach. Cakes, too, are here, from layered to rolled, from angel to devil's food. The recipes in How to Bake are clear and methodical. Master recipes explain all the steps to making a classic dish. They are frequently followed by creative variations so that the baker's palate and skills will always be accommodated and challenged. Start out with a simple spice cake, for example, and transform it, under Malgieri's reassuring guidance, into a lavishly decorated celebration cake. In addition to an exhaustive and tempting selection of recipes, Malgieri offers clear, detailed instructions, interweaving techniques and helpful sidebars: how to make a pastry bag out of parchment paper; what baking pans to buy; mastering pie and cake toppings; learning to decorate a cake so it looks as if it came from the bakery; and scores of other helpful tips. All this is punctuated with precise explanatory illustrations and thirty-two pages of luscious color photographs to inspire and guide the baker. How to Bake is a one-volume "bible" for bakers.
In the Sweet Kitchen by
The renowned IACP Cookbook of the Year--now in paperback! What makes a book so special and deserving that it gets chosen cookbook of the year? It's the wealth of information, the experienced voice, the eagerness to share. Celebrated pastry chef Regan Daley unravels the mystery of the baking process, explaining the "how" and "why" behind the components that go into making the perfect dessert, and provides the tools and information home bakers need to create delicious recipes of their own--in their own sweet kitchens. Regan shows us that anyone, from complete culinary virgins to accomplished dessert-makers, anyone can make a fantastic dessert. The secret is in the ingredients. Her more than 140 original recipes, straightforward enough for any home baker to prepare, focusing on simple techniques with an emphasis on high-quality ingredients, range from the awfully impressive, Guava Cheesecake or Quince and Brioche Bread Pudding with Dried Sour Cherries, to the familiar--Really, REALLY Fudgey Brownies or World's Sexiest Sundae. For experts, this book will serve as a comprehensive, professional-quality reference of ingredients from basic to rare and an incredible collection of unique flavorings. For the novice, it's a practical and palatable guide to the once mysterious art of baking.
Study Guide to Accompany Professional Baking by
The classic professional baking reference--now completely revised and updated This Fourth Edition of the 2002 IACP Cookbook Award Winner for Best Technical/Reference gives professional and home bakers peerless up-to-date coverage of the theory and practice of baking. Keeping pace with current trends in the field, the new edition includes new chapters on artisan breads and baking and pastry equipment, plus 125 new color photographs and 50 extra illustrations showcasing more procedures and finished dishes. Complete with more than 750 classic and creative recipes to explore--including 150 from Le Cordon Bleu--Professional Baking offers an excellent foundation for mastering the art and craft of baking. Wayne Gisslen (Long Lake, MN) is the author of the bestselling series of culinary books that includes Advanced Professional Cooking (0-471-83683-4), Professional Cooking (0-471-43625-9), Professional Baking (0-471-59508-X), and The Chef's Art (0-471-83684-2).
Understanding Baking by 
The Book of Bread by 
History of Bread by 
Rustic European Breads from Your Bread Machine by
From the award-winning authors of "Bread In Half The Time" comes a complete guide to close to a hundred European-style breads to bake with the indispensable aid of your bread machine. Nothing smells quite as wonderful as bread baking in the oven. Nothing tastes quite as good as a thick slice of still-warm homemade bread. And nothing can be quite so intimidating or time-consuming as mixing, kneading, raising, and baking that bread. Until now With a bread machine to do all the hard work, and experts Linda West Eckhardt and Diana Collingwood Butts as guides, anyone can turn out a perfect sourdough, raisin pumpernickel, focaccia, or any one of almost a hundred other varieties of classic European breads. The trick is to use the machine for what it does best-mixing and kneading the dough that produces the loaves we all love so much. Then leave it in the machine to rise, shape it by hand, and bake it to perfection in the oven. With "Rustic European Breads From Your Bread Machine" in hand, every home cook will become a master baker. Eckhardt and Butts provide not only an encyclopedic knowledge of their subject and foolproof step-by-step recipes, but also limitless, contagious enthusiasm. Their clear and thorough explanations will turn every home kitchen into an aromatic, soul- and appetite-satisfying European bakery.
Tate's Bake Shop Cookbook by
125 recipes for delectable baked goods from the Hamptons' most beloved baker Kathleen King has been famous for her chocolate chip cookies since she was a young girl--in fact, they were such a hit that selling them put her through college. Now, inTate's Bake Shop Cookbook, she shares 100 new recipes. Some of the recipes you'll want to make again and again include: --Blueberry muffins --Ginger scones --Sour cream pound cake --Zvi's cinnamon swirl bread --Old-fashioned soft sugar cookies --Double peanut chocolate cookies --Beach brownies --Peach pie --Apple cranberry crisp --Carrot cake --Chocolate chip cake There's even a section with recipes for energy bars, granola, and other healthy treats that Kathleen--an avid outdoorswoman--developed for biking and hiking trips. Every one of Kathleen's recipes is easy to make at home, built from scratch and refined through kitchen testing and taste-testing from Tate's customers. Perfect for beginners and equally appealing to experienced bakers for a time-tested taste of home,Tate's Bake Shop Cookbook is a delectable addition to the cookbook bookshelf.
The Italian Baker by 
Old-Fashioned Home Baking by 
Paris by Pastry by 
The Complete Book of Pastry by 
Puff by 
My Sweet Mexico by
Recipes for Authentic Pastries, Breads, Candies, Beverages, and Frozen Treats After years spent traveling and sampling sweets throughout her native Mexico, celebrated pastry chef Fany Gerson shares the secrets behind her beloved homeland's signature desserts in this highly personal and authoritative cookbook. Skillfully weaving together the rich histories that inform the country's diverse culinary traditions, My Sweet Mexico is a delicious journey into the soul of the cuisine.From yeasted breads that scent the air with cinnamon, anise, sugar, fruit, and honey, to pushcarts that brighten plazas with paletas and ice creams made from watermelon, mango, and avocado, Mexican confections are like no other.Stalwarts like Churros, Amaranth Alegrias, and Garibaldis-a type of buttery muffin with apricot jam and sprinkles-as well as Passion Fruit-Mezcal Trifle and Cheesecake with Tamarind Sauce demonstrate the layering of flavors unique to the world of dulces. In her typical warm and enthusiastic style, Gerson explains the significance of indigenous ingredients such as sweet maguey plants, mesquite, honeys, fruits, and cacao, and the happy results that occur when combined with Spanish troves of cinnamon, wheat, fresh cow's milk, nuts, and sugar cane.In chapters devoted to breads and pastries, candies and confections, frozen treats, beverages, and contemporary desserts, Fany places cherished recipes in context and stays true to the roots that shaped each treat, while ensuring they'll yield successful results in your kitchen. With its blend of beloved standards from across Mexico and inventive, flavor-forward new twists, My Sweet Mexico is the only guide you need to explore the delightful universe of Mexican treats.
All the Presidents' Pastries by
This extraordinary success-story-told by the hero himself-of a young French pastry chef who climbed his way to the top, embodies the great American dream. After working at the Savoy in London, the George V in Paris, the Princess in Bermuda, and the Homestead in Virginia, Roland Mesnier took on the job of a lifetime as pastry chef to the White House. He provides behind-the-scenes insight into the characters, tastes, and obsessions of the five presidents and first ladies he served during his 25 years in Washington. Having witnessed major world events from the hub of the world's superpower, Mesnier has unique perspective on both crises and celebrations. He recounts stories such as Carter's incessant battle for the return of American hostages in Tehran, the aftermath of the attempt to assassinate Reagan, Bush senior's doubts after the war in Kuwait, and the shock of September 11. He uncovers intimate details such as Mrs. Reagan's bad moods and Prince Charles's embarrassment at not knowing how to use a tea bag. Fiercely loyal to each of the first families, Mesnier's bipartisan message is positive and inspirational. Twelve easy-to-follow recipes include the favorite desserts of presidents Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George Bush, Bill Clinton, and George W. Bush.
Betty Crocker the Big Book of Cookies by
Fun and sure-to-please cookie recipes--from all-time classics to contemporary favorites Here's a massive collection of the best cookies and bars ever with more than 180 sensational recipes that are as easy to make as they are fun to eat. Whether made from scratch or with a Betty Crocker mix, these delectable cookies give you as many options as any cookie lover could want. Whether you crave traditional favorites or fancy new ideas, you'll fall in love with these lusciously diverse cookies--from classic peanut butter cookies to unexpected flavors like Pecan-Praline Bacon Bars. Plus, with a special section of gluten-free recipes, every member of the family can get in on the fun. Features more than 180 easy-to-make cookie recipes offering a wide variety of flavors and variations, from fun cookies for kids to sophisticated dinner-party delights Illustrated with more than 100 full-color photos and step-by-step how-to photos for baking, decorating, and more Includes tips and advice on cookie-making basics, from rolling and cutting to baking and frosting You'll find almost any cookie you can imagine in theBetty Crocker Big Book of Cookies. With these recipes and variations, you'll find the perfect sweet treat for any occasion . . . or no occasion at all.
Alphabet of Sweets by 
As American as Apple Pie by 
Hershey's Chocolate and Cocoa Cookbook by 
Kitchenaid Recipe Collection by 
Spago Desserts by
Mary Bergin's fabulous desserts have helped make Spago, winner of the 1994 James Beard Award for the best restaurant of the year, a landmark the world over. Now, in these pages, Bergin tells us her secrets. First, start with basic recipes: Chocolate Chiffon Cake, Buttermilk Cake, Cheesecake, Brioche, Shortcakes, Puff Pastry, and Pie Dough. Then, as Bergin shows us, you can vary these basics to produce such wonders as Austrian Chocolate Cake, Lemon Buttermilk Cake, White Chocolate Rum Raisin Cheesecake, Apricot Rolls, Peach and Berry Cobbler, Apple Pear Tarte Tatin, Fresh Cherry Lattice Tart, and many, many more. The unique ability of Mary Bergin and Judy Gethers, Wolfgang Puck's longtime collaborator, to break down even the most complex recipes into simple basics makes this book perfect not only for seasoned bakers, but also for enterprising novices. To aid beginners, the authors include an extensive glossary of ingredients, equipment, and techniques, as well as numerous practical illustrations that clarify and complement the written text. The instructions are clear and simple, replete with helpful tips and advice. In Spago Desserts, you will find everything from Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies to Cherry Clafouti. Great Spago staples, such as the sumptuous Opera Cake, are intermixed with simple pleasures -- Brownies, Spago's Old-fashioned Apple Pie, muffins of all shapes and sizes -- and not-so-simple pleasures, such as Tiramisu, Fresh Berry Napoleon with Caramel Sauce, and Chocolate Truffles with Brandied Apricots. For those who wish to indulge less sinfully, the authors have also included a few superb fat-free recipes, such as Grapefruit Vodka Sorbet and Strawberries in Port Wine. Bergin and Gethers have worked for years with Wolfgang Puck, Spago's chef and owner, and have mastered the rare blend of classical teaching and innovative spirit that have made Spago in Los Angeles and the new Spago in Las Vegas among the best restaurants in the world. Spago Desserts is a brilliant addition to the Spago line of cookbooks, and, like its predecessors, it is sure to become a modern classic. Now you can make these desserts, whether fat-free or sinfully delicious, at home, exactly as they are prepared in the Spago kitchens.
The Dessert Lover's Cookbook by 
Dessert University by
As Executive Pastry Chef at the White House for almost twenty-five years, Roland Mesnier has been responsible for creating thousands of elegant, delicious confections and dazzling desserts for hundreds of state dinners and family occasions. An accomplished teacher as well as a master chef, he now shares his expertise with home cooks in Dessert University. This beautifully illustrated volume is a complete course in making the full spectrum of spectacular sweets--from breakfast pastries, cookies, and pies to fresh-fruit desserts, frozen confections, and cakes. Recipes in each chapter are organized from the simplest to the most complex, and Chef Mesnier walks you through each step, pointing out common mistakes and offering insights on technique gained from his years as a professional. Most of these recipes need few special ingredients and almost no fancy equipment; nearly everything can be purchased at a well-stocked supermarket, department store, or kitchen supply store. Chef Mesnier includes tips on techniques, ingredients, and serving suggestions, and offers home cooks practical advice, such as how to fill and use a pastry bag and the best way to whip egg whites. A resource list is also included, so cooks can find the more unusual ingredients they need to make these delectable creations. Mesnier starts off with his fresh-fruit desserts, including uniquely wonderful recipes such as Bananas in Raspberry Cream, Blueberry Fool, and Poached Peaches with Chestnut Mousse. He moves on to creamy custards, puddings, soufflés, mousses and Bavarians, ice creams, meringues, crêpes, and breakfast treats (including buttery brioche and croissant doughs). Chef Mesnier's cookie and bar recipes will fill your cookie jar with such treats as Chocolate Chip Cookies, Almond Crescents, Orange Butter Cookies, Brownies, and Florentine Squares. There are sweet and savory tarts, and cakes ranging from the simple (Lemon Pound Cake) to the unusual (Peanut Butter and Jelly Roulade Cake) to the sophisticated (Chocolate Champagne Mousse Cake). Ambitious home cooks can even try their hand at making chocolate candy and sugar decorations. A chapter on syrups, sauces, and other dessert components completes the book. More than fifty black-and-white line drawings throughout illustrate Chef Mesnier's instructions for the more complicated recipes, and there are sixteen stunning color photographs of finished desserts. Home cooks and professionals spend hundreds of dollars in formal cooking classes to learn what masters like Roland Mesnier have to teach. In Dessert University, Chef Mesnier has distilled the experience and expertise of an extraordinary career into one accessible, user-friendly volume. Whether you're a novice who has never picked up a rolling pin or an accomplished cook looking to hone and enhance your skills, this is truly a book you cannot do without.
