LibGuides: Culinary Arts Diploma CAD: Statistics

Grape and Wine Statistics -- United States and World

2018 SVB Wine Report
Rob McMillan, EVP and founder of Silicon Valley Bank’s Wine Division, writes one of the wine industry’s most authoritative annual reports that assesses current conditions and provides a unique forecast based on micro- and macroeconomic and behavioral trends. Provides useful links and information for those new to the industry.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Published by Cambridge University Press. View the PDFs of reports or use advanced features to chart or analyze data.
Use broad search terms such as "wine" or "grape".
International Organisation of Vine and Wine
The Databases and Statistics section provides the option to compare wine related data on dried grapes, table grapes, wines and total grapes to surface area of vineyards for various countries. The organization also publishes the Statistical Report on World Vitiviniculture.
The U.S. Wine Market: Impact Databank Review and Forecast
Profiles the performance of the U.S. wine market. Reports wine consumption by type and origin; wine volume consumption by state; brand data and analysis; wine retail expenditures; wine advertising expenditures; wine consumer demographics; and wine market trends.
The Wine Institute
Wine Institute is the voice for California wine representing 1,000 wineries and affiliated businesses from the beautiful and diverse wine regions throughout the state. They are the largest advocacy and public policy association for California wine, and the only group representing the industry at the state, federal and international levels.

Grape and Wine Statistics -- California State

California Agricultural Statistics
Compiled by USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service and CA Ag and Markets. Links to QuickStatsa searchable database and the Census of Agriculture for California.
California Annual Statistics Bulletin
Compiled by USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service, the Bulletin is issued annually and includes data for a five year period on major crops and livestock. Also includes county data on grapes and wine.

Business & Statistics Government Resources

American Factfinder
Part of Census.gov, includes population, housing, economic, and geographic data. NOTE: Some performance issues with IE 8.0 and higher than Firefox 3.6
Census Bureau Economic Statistics
Census Bureau Economic Statistical Programs including The Economic Census & Economic Indicators, provide statistics about U.S. businesses and governments. Each description includes links to data products, related programs and additional information. "Programs" are major data collection, business list and research data operations, including some funded by other agencies or sponsors.
Census Business Builder (CBB)
The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.
Census Business Builder: Small Business Edition
Small Business Edition is built primarily for small business owners who need key data for their business plan or to better understand their potential market. It presents data for a single type of business and geography at a time.
Consumer Expenditure Surveys
"The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States."
Division of Corporation Finance: Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Code List
from the FEC
more...less...
The Standard Industrial Classification Codes that appear in a company's disseminated EDGAR filings indicate the company's type of business. These codes are also used in the Division of Corporation Finance as a basis for assigning review responsibility for the company's filings.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Codes
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Code Description
Text Files from the Census Bureau for the manuals, 1988-1997 & 1986-1987
Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB)
SUSB is an annual series that provides national and subnational data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry.
more...less...
SUSB covers most of the country's economic activity. The series excludes data on nonemployer businesses, private households, railroads, agricultural production, and most government entities.
Tabulations providing data by employment size of enterprise have been assembled as far back as 1989. These data were developed in cooperation with, and partially funded by, the Office of Advocacy of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Price Indexes
The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
U.S. Small Business Administration
Business Guide: Plan, Launch, Manage, Grow. Funding Programs including SBA guaranteed business loans; Local Assistance & Free business counseling.
more...less...
The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) was created in 1953 as an independent agency of the federal government to aid, counsel, assist and protect the interests of small business concerns, to preserve free competitive enterprise and to maintain and strengthen the overall economy of our nation. We recognize that small business is critical to our economic recovery and strength, to building America's future, and to helping the United States compete in today's global marketplace. Although SBA has grown and evolved in the years since it was established in 1953, the bottom line mission remains the same. The SBA helps Americans start, build and grow businesses. Through an extensive network of field offices and partnerships with public and private organizations, SBA delivers its services to people throughout the United States, Puerto Rico, the U. S. Virgin Islands and Guam.
United States Census Data
Provides access to many kinds of demographic data about peoples in the United States, Puerto Rico, and other U.S. territories.
United States Wine Statistics
Produced by the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, US Dept of the Treasury, the site provides monthly production and bottling statistics on the wine industry along with information on regulations, labeling, importing and exporting. NOTE: Recommended browsers for this site are Chrome and Internet Explorer.
USDA Economic Research Service (ERS) Food Service Industry Overview
ERS research examines:
- the size of the foodservice market
- the major market segments
USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
Provides access to hundreds of reports based on surveys from the USDA. The Data & Statistics section links to data on the state and county level. Information on grape production can be found using the subject Crops and Plants.