The Caribbean, long referred to as the West Indies, includes more than 7,000 islands; of those, 13 are independent island countries (shown in red on the map), and some are dependencies or overseas territories of other nations.
Credo content related to African American Studies
Credo content related to Latin American Studies
Credo Reference helps you start your research on food and nutrition with subject-specific dictionaries, culinary histories, and information on nutritional science.
Credo Reference helps you start your research in agriculture with entries on historical and contemporary farming practices and guides to agricultural diseases and pests.
The Caribbean, Central & South American Cookbook : Tropical Cuisines Steeped in History : All the Ingredients and Techniques and 150 Ssensational Step-by-Step Recipes by 
Caribbean Companion : the A-Z Reference by 
Miami Spice by
The new star of the culinary galaxy is South Florida, declares The New York Times. And no wonder. Out of America's tropical melting pot comes an inventive cuisine bursting with flavor--and now Steven Raichlen, an award-winning food writer, shares the best of it in Miami Spice. With 200 recipes and firsthand reports from around the state, Miami Spice captures the irresistible convergence of Latin, Caribbean, and Cuban influences with Florida's cornucopia of stone crabs, snapper, plantains, star fruit, and other exotic native ingredients (most of which can be found today in supermarkets around the country). Main selection of the Book-of-the-Month Club's HomeStyle Books. Winner of a 1993 IACP/Julia Child Cookbook Award.
The Spices of Life by
Love potions, cures for toothache or flatulence, tasty flavoring - spices have been a pungent presence down the ages. Long before Peter Piper picked his peck of pickled pepper, the Queen of Sheba sent spices to King Solomon and Emperor Nero burned Rome's annual supply of cinnamon at his wife's funeral. It's hard to imagine how these berries, seeds and barks once unleashed ferocious passion in European adventurers who fought tooth and claw to control the spice trade, causing chaos in the lives of people in the South. Spices still fascinate us... the way a pinch of chili powder zips a sober bean casserole into a hot experience-or how the scent of cinnamon wafting from a bakery triggers the appetite. The Spices of Life brings over 100 delicious recipes from Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Middle East using favorite spices like cloves, nutmeg, chilies, and pepper, as well as some less familiar ones. It comes complete with a Spice Guide to introduce the flavorings and give advice on how to use them. With some of the brightest foods from around the world, The Spices of Life is a great way to pep up your cooking. Over 100 easy-to-follow recipes from around the world A brief note on foods, cultures or countries with each recipe Illustrated spice guide Food facts Full-color photographs History of spices Glossary of foods Clear step-by-step cooking method Recipes fully adapted for you to cook at home Vegetarian section as well as meat and fish
International Cuisine by
International Cuisine is the only available book that covers all of the major cuisines of the world in a single textbook with additional instructor resources to aid in instruction, such as comprehensive instructor�s manual, online companion, and robust electronic classroom manager, which includes PowerPoint slides, lesson plans, and a computerized testbank. Written for students and professional culinarians, this book fills the gap between the foundations laid by the introductory textbooks and reality in today�s diverse kitchens. Included are sections on the influences that have contributed to the development of each cuisine, foreign culinary terms commonly used, and sub regions found within the cuisines. The chapters are clearly organized providing detailed information about cuisines in an easy to follow manner. International Cuisine provides comprehensive coverage exposing students to major cuisines around the world.
Tropical Family Vacations by
Whether it's snorkeling through crystal-clear Caribbean waters, learning to surf at balmy Waikiki Beach, swimming with dolphins in Florida, or exploring Mayan ruins near the beaches of Cancun, an idyllic family trip is easy to plan with Tropical Family Vacations. Jam-packed with vacations for every family's taste in budget, this guide helps you find the best place for your family in the sun.To provide guidance in designing the perfect trip, Laura Sutherland, an experienced family travel writer, brings you Tropical Family Vacations. This information-packed guidebook includes: Coverage of South Florida, the Caribbean, Mexico and HawaiiExpert advice on the best places to stay--from glamorous resorts and spaccious condominiums to quiet cottages, beachfront campgrounds, and budget hotels.Activities for all ages, including submarine rides, volcano hikes, sand dune sliding, sailing, sea kayaking, and snorkeling tours.The scoop on resort kids' programs, from tots to teensTips on trip planning and keeping family adventures hassle-free Tropical family Vacations will prove to be an invaluable resources for parents who want a relaxing, carefree vacation and lifetime of memories for their families.
Jamaica and Barbados by 
Cuba by
4th edition. Edited by Rex A. Hudson. Prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. Research completed April 2001. Describes and analyzes the economic, national security, political, and social systems and institutions of Cuba. Other related products: Foreign Country Studies collection can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/catalog/international-foreign-affairs/foreign-...
Frommer's Portable Cayman Islands by
Frommer's Portable Guides are for the short-term traveler who insists on value and doesn't want to pack a full-size guidebook. The Portables have the same commitment to accuracy and detail as the Frommer's Complete Guides, with the same broad demographic appeal, from budget to deluxe. Frommer's Portable Cayman Islands includes complete information for all three of the Cayman Islands- Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman- in one easy-to-carry guide. We currently publish a complete guide to Frommer's Caribbean that includes coverage of the Caymans. This new portable guide will be geared toward travelers visiting only islands in the Caymans and will feature more detailed information on the islands than is found in Frommer's Caribbean.
Cuba by
4th edition. Edited by Rex A. Hudson. Prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. Research completed April 2001. Describes and analyzes the economic, national security, political, and social systems and institutions of Cuba. Other related products: Foreign Country Studies collection can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/catalog/international-foreign-affairs/foreign-...
Islands of the Commonweath [sic Commonwealth] Caribbean : a regional study by 
The Rough Guide Directions St Lucia by
Slim, stylish and pocketable, Rough Guides Directions St Luciahas all you need to get the most out of your trip to the island. Pirate hangouts, glorious beaches and lush rainforests are all covered in detail, as are the bustling Castries and the many nature reserves. The guide's hand-picked accommodation and eating recommendations cover all the main resorts and inland villages, revealing plenty of hidden gems, all indicated on a series of useful maps. With a full-colour section packed with suggestions for things to do and see, from spectacular snorkelling to local festivals, you'll never be stuck for ideas.
Moon Aruba by
Make your Escape with Moon Aruba! With its intense blue sea and some of the most stunning beaches in the Caribbean, Aruba is nearly heaven. Find your version of paradise withMoon Aruba. What You'll Find inMoon Aruba: Curated advice from local author Rosalie Klein, who shares her adventurous expertise and love of her adopted country Full-color, vibrant, helpful photos Detailed directions and mapsfor exploring on your own In-depth coverage of Oranjestad, Eagle Beach and Manchebo Beach, Palm Beach, Malmok, and Noord, North Coast, San Nicolas, Savaneta, and Pos Chiquito Activities and ideas for every traveler: Go off-roading through the outback, or go snorkeling through the calm turquoise waters. See incredible geological formations and native birds with startlingly bright plumage at Arikok National Park, or experience the festivities of Carnival with the locals. Try local favorites like keshi yena (filled cheese) or cabrito stoba (stewed goat), or taste the freshest ceviche while dining beachfront. Strategic itineraries in an easy-to-navigate format, such as The Best of Aruba, Best Beaches, Explore the Outback, and Best Bets for the Budget-Conscious Current background information on the landscape, culture, history, and environment Essential insightfor travelers on health and safety, recreation, transportation, and accommodations from resorts to beachy bungalows, packaged in a book light enough to fit in your beach bag WithMoon Aruba's practical tips, myriad activities, and an insider's view on the best things to do and see, you can plan your trip your way. Looking for more fun in the Caribbean sun? Check outMoon Jamaica orMoon Dominican Republic.
The Tupperware Book of Picnics, Parties & Snacks Around the World. by 
Officially Republic of Cuba, republic (2005 est. pop. 11,347,000), 42,804 sq mi (110,860 sq km), consisting of the island of Cuba and numerous adjacent islands, in the Caribbean Sea. Havana is the capital and largest city.
An island and state in the Caribbean: colonized by the Spanish from 1494 onwards.
An independent republic in the Caribbean, occupying the two southernmost islands of the Lesser Antilles.
