Culinary Arts Diploma CAD: Agriculture & Food Science

By providing an up-to-date and visually appealing understanding of important issues around global food and agriculture, this text maps out broad areas of investigation--contamination of food and water, overnutrition, micronutrient deficiency, processing, farming, and trade--to offer a concise overview of today's food and farming concerns.

In this lively book, Meg Muckenhoupt traces cabbage's culinary paradox, exploring the cultural and chemical basis for its smelly reputation and enduring popularity.

This enlarged and enhanced reference volume was written for both the discerning home chef and those who want to become more knowledgeable about good food and elegant dining. This 2nd edition is updated with new information to reflect the way we eat in today's world. The authors have taken into account our healthier lifestyles and more diverse palates.

Gives short definitions of terms, many of non-English origin, so that the chef and the amateur enthusiast, the gastronome and the student may quickly determine the meaning.

Michael Owen Jones traces the transportation of corn to the Old World by Christopher Columbus, and its rapid distribution throughout Europe, Africa, and Asia that followed.

Follow the story from the prehistoric up to the present day, discovering how the oyster became the food of both paupers and kings, contributed to the building of empires and the demise of ecosystems, and why it may be the creature to help save the world's dying coastal shorelines and reefs.

In this globe-trotting book, Davison discovers how pickles have been omnipresent in our common quest, not only to conserve, but to create foods with relish.

Looks at how something made from water, sugar and soda became big business but also became deeply important to people; fizzy drinks' symbolic meanings are far more complex than the water, gas and sugar from which they are made.

From marzipan pigs and nutty nougat to bubblegum and bonbons, Sweets and Candy looks behind the glamour and sparkle to explore the sticky history of confectionery.

First published in 1983, this work by John Mariani has long been the go-to book on all things culinary. In addition to updates on food trends and other changes to American gastronomy since 1999, now includes biographical entries, both historical and contemporary, from Fanny Farmer and Julia Child to the Galloping Gourmet and James Beard to current high-profile players Mario Batali and Danny Meyer, among more than one hundred others.

Provides comprehensive coverage of the taxonomy, botany, chemistry, functional properties, medicinal uses, culinary uses and safety issues relating to over 250 species of herbs and spices. These herbs and spices constitute an important agricultural commodity; many are traded globally and are indispensable for pharmaceuticals, flavouring foods and beverages, and in the perfumery and cosmetic industries.

This QA International series provides a valuable overview through videos and animations of modern nutrition, with contributions from experts in the field.

Fungipedia presents a delightful A--Z treasury of mushroom lore.

Covers the terms used in wine production, and describes grape varieties, wine regions and wine-growers around the world, wine styles and tasting terms. Because wine-producing is a science as well as a craft, it explains the basic chemistry that can make or mar a great wine.

Sarah Worth asserts that taste is a sense that needs educating, for the real pleasures of eating only come with an understanding of what one really likes.

Presents authoritative, comprehensive information on special diets, popular diets, dietary concerns, nutrition basics, and effects of dietary choices on health. All entries are presented in a standardized and balanced format. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influenced the practice, and any public and regulatory concerns associated with the diet.

Explains the often confusing (and sometimes contradictory) language and measurements on food labels and in food marketing, and provides information in a more reader-friendly way than an FDA report can.

Provides clear, concise nutritional guidance about smart eating and lifestyle choices. Updated with the latest data and statistics, this A-to-Z resource is essential for learning the basics about how food choices can help maintain optimum health and beat diseases.

Created with a nationally recognized advisory board of medical professionals and leading figures in natural healing fields, this text covers topics ranging from the familiar to the new and promising: from mint tea for a stomachache to onion juice for a bee sting, from using baking soda as a kitchen cleanser to finding quiet in a crowded world, from adding turmeric to fight arthritis to practicing aromatherapy at home.

From herbs, oils and vitamins to yoga, healing remedies, and belly laughs, this book explores hundreds of ancient remedies, natural therapies, and nature's medicine cabinet. This comprehensive guide to nature-based health and well-being includes the most current knowledge, information, and science behind a natural diet and lifestyle to promote wellness.

Reviews the latest findings, results from on-the-ground programs and interventions, and recent policy experiences from countries around the world that are bringing the agriculture and nutrition sectors closer together.

Brings together a wide range of invasive plant specialists from the Asia-Pacific region to share their experience in addressing the problem and delivering solutions.

This 3-volume reference work comprehensively covers the important areas of agriculture and food science, covering important methods, practices and ideas in this growing discipline.

Enables people to identify some of the alien plant species that are invasive, potentially invasive, or naturalized in East Africa (Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda) and Ethiopia, and to enable them to learn more about the impacts of these species and about possible options for managing and controlling such plants.

Serves as an invaluable aid in the identification, mapping, monitoring, and management of alien plant species that are already present in Association of Southeast Asian Nations member states, or which may become problematic in the future, due to increased trade and travel, economic development and climate change.

This Visual Guide answers the most important questions on plants through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.

Emphasizes practical and concrete solutions to address the challenges, such as lack of access to resources and infrastructure, lack of household decision-making power, and gender biases in policymaking and leadership, still faced by women in agriculture around the world.

Authoritative yet accessible, catalogs everything from aardvarks to zebras with special focus on the superlatives that appeal to children: biggest, fastest, strongest, and strangest. Stunning action photography puts our animal neighbors in context and shows them in their natural habitats, interacting with other animals and taking part in amazing migrations, feeding frenzies, and more.

A bestseller for over seventy years, this is an essential reference tool for all with a professional or leisure interest in the care of animals.

There are more than 33,000 species of living fishes, accounting for more than half of the extant vertebrate diversity on Earth. This unique and comprehensive reference showcases the basic anatomy and diversity of all 82 orders of fishes and more than 150 of the most commonly encountered families, focusing on their distinctive features.

The most comprehensive and accessible reference book on mammals available. Unsurpassed in scope and stunningly illustrated, this book covers every known living species, from aardvarks to zorros.

Provides descriptions and identification keys for all the known genera of fishes that inhabit Greater Amazonia, a vast and still mostly remote region of tropical rainforests, seasonally flooded savannas, and meandering lowland rivers.

Provides an engaging introduction to the roughly 4,000 different bee species found in the United States and Canada, dispelling common myths about bees while offering essential tips for telling them apart in the field.

The first comprehensive guide to North American bumble bees to be published in more than a century. Richly illustrated with color photographs, diagrams, range maps, and graphs of seasonal activity patterns, this guide allows amateur and professional naturalists to identify all 46 bumble bee species found north of Mexico and to understand their ecology and changing geographic distributions.

Covers all aspects of insect anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease, as well as issues of exploitation, conservation, and management, this book sets the standard in entomology.

Comprehensive, multi-author treatise on the social insects of the world, with some auxiliary attention to such adjacent topics as subsocial insects and social arachnids.

2nd edition, the most comprehensive guide to the common insects, mites, and other "bugs" found in the backyards and gardens of the United States and Canada.

Summarizing the current scientific understanding of our flower fly fauna, this is an indispensable resource for anyone, amateur naturalist or scientist, interested in discovering the beauty of these insects.

Revised 2nd edition of a groundbreaking photographic field guide to the butterflies of Mexico and Central America. Written by Jeffrey Glassberg, the pioneering authority on the field identification of butterflies, the guide covers more than 2,000 species.

Revised 2nd edition of the most detailed, comprehensive, and user-friendly photographic field guide to the butterflies of North America. Written by Jeffrey Glassberg, the pioneering authority on the field identification of butterflies, the guide covers all known species.