The Essentials of Food Safety and Sanitation by
For undergraduate courses in Food Safety and Sanitation, Food & Beverage Management, and Hotel Operations where students are seeking national Food Service Certification. A fundamental overview of all the factors that affect the wholesomeness of food from its inception to the time it is eaten. Essentials of Food Safety and Sanitation, Updated 3rd Edition is based on the Food Code and is designed to serve as a workplace reference guide to safe food handling procedures. This book will serve as an effective learning tool for any food handling facility from supermarkets to care centers to restaurants. Use this book to prepare for any one of the national certification exams or as a teaching tool for training everyone on the basics of food safety. Also available in Spanish!
FDA in the Twenty-First Century by
In its decades-long effort to assure the safety, efficacy, and security of medicines and other products, the Food and Drug Administration has struggled with issues of funding, proper associations with industry, and the balance between consumer choice and consumer protection. Today, these challenges are compounded by the pressures of globalization, the introduction of novel technologies, and fast-evolving threats to public health. With essays by leading scholars and government and private-industry experts, FDA in the Twenty-First Century addresses perennial and new problems and the improvements the agency can make to better serve the public good. The collection features essays on effective regulation in an era of globalization, consumer empowerment, and comparative effectiveness, as well as questions of data transparency, conflicts of interest, industry responsibility, and innovation policy, all with an emphasis on pharmaceuticals. The book also intervenes in the debate over off-label drug marketing and the proper role of the FDA before and after a drug goes on the market. Dealing honestly and thoroughly with the FDA's successes and failures, these essays rethink the structure, function, and future of the agency and the effect policy innovations may have on regulatory institutions abroad.
Food Production by
Appropriate for Cooking Skills, Food Production or Introductory Cooking courses within Culinary Arts and Hospitality Management departments. NEW Exam Prep Guides for The ManageFirst(t) Program - An exam prep guide is available for each one of the ten ManageFirst(t) titles. Contents Include: * Test taking strategies * Practice exam questions written to the NRAEF test item writing guidelines * Explanations for answers with remediation to the competency guides * Glossary of key terms A brief competency guide which is focused on Food Quality. Designed to support a core textbook and provide students with marketable management skills for a career within the Culinary Arts and Foodservice industry. Introducing the ManageFirst ProgramTM from the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation (NRAEF). This new management training certification program is based on a set of competencies defined by the restaurant, foodservice and hospitality industry as those needed for success. This competency-based program includes 12 topics, each with a competency guide, exam, instructor resources and certificate. Students earn a certification for each exam passed.The topics and exams are aligned to typical on-campus courses. This competency guide includes a PENCIL/PAPER version of the examination sheet. NRAEF ManageFirst: Food Production w/ On-line Testing Access Code Card is also available. For additional information about the NRAEF ManageFirstTM Program please visit www.prenhall.com/managefirst If you are interesting in purchasing managefirst for your organization and you are NOT affiliated with a school or university, please email managefirst@pearson.com so we can have someone from our business and industry group contact you directly.
Health, Safety, and Nutrition for the Young Child by
Health, Safety and Nutrition for the Young Child, 7th edition addresses the contemporary health, safety and nutrition needs of infant through school-age children in one comprehensive volume. Extensive coverage of topics critical to the early identification of children's health conditions and the promotion of children's well-being reflects the latest research findings. Collaboration with families, sensitivity to individual differences and the critical importance of health, safety and nutrition education continue to be stressed. This time-proven book is written in a clear, concise and thought-provoking manner and is loaded with easy-to-access checklists, guidelines and lesson plans that no early childhood student or professional should be without!
Cuaderno de SERVSAFE Para el Gerente by 
Servsafe Manager Book-W/Exam S
ServSafe® Essentials by 
Human Resource Management in the Hospitality Industry by 
Human Resources Management and Supervision by
Appropriate for Customer Service courses within Culinary Arts and Hospitality Management departments. A brief competency guide which is focused on Customer Service. Designed to support a core textbook and provide students with marketable management skills for a career within the Culinary Arts and Foodservice industry. Introducing the ManageFirst ProgramTM from the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation (NRAEF). This new management training certification program is based on a set of competencies defined by the restaurant, foodservice and hospitality industry as those needed for success. This competency-based program includes 12 topics, each with a competency guide, exam, instructor resources and certificate. Students earn a certification for each exam passed. The topics and exams are aligned to typical on-campus courses. This competency guide includes a PENCIL/PAPER version of the examination sheet. On-line testing is also available. For additional information about the NRAEF ManageFirstTM Program please visit www.prenhall.com/managefirst
Managerial Accounting by
The NRAEF is introducing a new program as part of its strategic focus on recruitment and retention. This new management training certificate program is based on a set of competencies defined by the restaurant, foodservice and hospitality industry as those needed for success. NRAEF ManageFirst Program leads to a new credential, ManageFirst Professional (MFP), which is part of our industry career ladder. This competency-based program includes 12 topics, each with a competency guide, exam, instructor resources and certificate. Students earn a certificate for each exam passed. The topics and exams are aligned to typical on-campus courses. For example, the Controlling Foodservice Costs Competency Guide is designed to align with a Cost Control or Operations Management course. Competency Guides and Textbooks:Most guides are 150-200 pages in length and are designed to be used with traditional textbooks for each course area. Each guide contains the essential content for that topic, learning activities, assessments, case studies, suggested field trips & research projects, professional profiles and testimonials. Instructor resources are available electronically and include competency guide content, notes indicating points to be emphasized, recommended activities and discussion questions, and answers to all activities and case studies. Exams:Exams accompany each topic covered in the competency guides. Pencil and paper and online exam formats are offered. They typically are proctored on campus at the end of a course by faculty.Certificates:The NRAEF provides a certificate to students upon successfully passing each exam. The certificates are endorsed by the NRAEF and feature the student’s name and the exam passed. The certificates are a lasting recognition of a student’s accomplishment and a signal to the industry that the student has mastered the competencies covered within a particular topic.Credential:Upon successful completion of five NRAEF ManageFirst Program exams (including three predefined core topics, one foundation topic, and ServSafe Food Safety) a student is awarded the NRAEF ManageFirst Professional (MFP) credential. There is no additional charge for the credential. The program is targeted at the academic community. The program is flexible for use at two-year or four-year restaurant, foodservice and hospitality programs, proprietary schools and technical/vocational career education schools.
Successful Restaurant Management : from Vision to Execution by
This comprehensive text on owning and operating a successful restaurant is designed to teach every aspect of the restaurant business. Successful Restaurant Management includes comprehensive coverage of important topics including site selection, construction and design, menu engineering and development, sanitation management, finance, marketing, human resource management and much, much more. The principles of accounting are discussed and information on the purpose of a business plan, the contents of a business plan, and business structure are presented. Forms, checklists, training guides, employee manuals, job descriptions, and tips on using the internet are all included in this comprehensive resource. In addition, real life scenarios present real-world applications of key concepts.
Supervision in the Hospitality Industry by
This Fifth Edition provides comprehensive coverage of the principles, theories, human relations techniques, and decision-making skills that are required to manage a workforce to profitable results. It helps managers satisfy obligations to owners, customers, and employees while maintaining a positive work climate, developing job expectations, disciplining marginal employees, and addressing workplace diversity.
The World of Culinary Supervision, Training, and Management by
Written by one of this country's 51 Certified Master Chefs, this #1-rated resource gives aspiring chefs, sous chefs, chefs de cuisine, and executive chefs the necessary knowledge, skills, and attitudes required to lead, supervise and manage foodservice workers--identifying those key areas that will lead qualified individuals into the chef positions of the future, and providing reasonable solutions to situations that typically evolve from them. Outlines in clear terms those elements crucial to success in today's quality driven foodservice industry--detailing the elements of supervision and total quality management; examining all aspects of training as it affects the chef supervision; and providing practical, step-by-step discussions on crucial management skills and functions involving a chef supervisor--from management to customer relations, menu planning, communication, team-building, goal-setting, problem-solving, supervision, training, discipline, and performance appraisal, and the training and motivation of the production/service team. Integrates unique " Chef Talk" segments written by leading U.S. chefs, and includes a new chapter " Building Teamwork in the Kitchen" . For those in the culinary, hospitality & travel/tourism professions; ideal for use in training seminars and for those studying for certification for the American Culinary Federation Educational Institute.
