Culinary Arts Diploma CAD: Websites

The Napa Valley Wine Library is an alliance devoted to sharing and preserving information about viticulture, enology and wine lore, particularly in the Napa Valley. The extensive collection of books, magazines, interviews, clippings and other materials is housed at the St. Helena Public Library. The Wine Library is part of the Solano Napa and Partners (SNAP) Consortium. Students can check out materials using their NVC Library Card. While most of the this material does circulate, older and unique items are available for reference only in the Rare Book Room.

The National Agriculture Library (NAL) is a major international source for agriculture and related information. This site provides access to NAL's many resources and a gateway to its associated institutions. AGRICOLA is a searchable bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature holdings of the National Agriculture Library and items catalogued by other libraries not held in NAL's colelction. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines. Although AGRICOLA does not contain materials, thousands of AGRICOLA records are linked to online full-text documents, with new links being added every day.

The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance.

The Biblioteca Vinaria Sonoma draws from the Sonoma County Wine Library's collection of historic books and documents, primarily from the 16th to early 20th century. The collection covers all aspects of viticulture and winemaking, ranging from proclamations of George III on wine regulations to letters describing the grape production in Sonoma Valley vineyards, and from temperance operas to nursery catalogs.

The Wine Photography Collection primarily draws from the Sonoma County Wine Library holdings, with additional contributions from the Sonoma County History & Genealogy Library. The collection includes images of historical interest of the Sonoma County wine industry from the 1870s through the present. These images portray the wine makers and companies of Sonoma County, past and present. They document the early wineries, wine families and workers, the vineyards and wine production, and the many varieties of wine created in Sonoma County.

Useful information and examples of designing winery websites for effective marketing.When starting a website redesign, our winery clients often ask us to show them some examples of great winery websites. To some degree this is a matter of opinion, yet there certainly are some characteristics that are universally accepted as being excellent in web design.

The National Grape Registry (NGR) contains information about varieties of wine, juice, and table grapes, raisins, and grape rootstocks available in the United States.

Wine Country Classifieds and its website, WinerySite.com, is the premier provider of classified advertising services for the North American wine industry. Our website now offers advanced search capabilities, and “mouse over” functions allowing ease in ad browsing. For the advertiser, our site offers an account management system allowing users a much easier method for placing and updating ads.
With a weekly readership of over 20,000 key winery and vineyard industry members, Wine Country Classifieds and WinerySite.com has been a valuable wine industry tool since 1992.

Wine Institute is the voice for California wine representing 1,000 wineries and affiliated businesses from the beautiful and diverse wine regions throughout the state. They are the largest advocacy and public policy association for California wine, and the only group representing the industry at the state, federal and international levels.

The Australian Wine Research Institue was established in 1955 and aims to be the world's premier wine research institute through the delivery of world class research, development, extension and service activities. The site provides information about the institutes research activities, its organization, research interest and conferences. AWRI publications can be purchased through the site.

Cool Climate Oenology and Viticulture Institute (CCOVI) was established in 1996 as a centre for cool-climate grape and wine research. The institute provides leadership in enhancing and coordinating research and technology important to the grape and wine industry. The website provides information about the Institute and its staff, and research articles by staff at CCOVI related to viticulture and icewine making in particular. Links to Web resources are included. The Institute is a partnership between Brock University and the Ontario grape and wine industry.

Tables of contents and abstracts for the Journal of Wine Research, published by Carfax Publishing, part of the Taylor and Francis Group. It is an international refereed journal, which publishes recent research on all aspects of viticulture, enology and the wine trade, and was founded by the Institute of Masters of Wine to enhance and encourage scholarly and scientific interdisciplinary research in these fields. Tables of contents and abstracts are available from April 2000 onwards. Full-text access to articles (in PDF, requiring Adobe Acrobat Reader) is available to subscribers or on a pay-per-view-basis.

Homepage of the American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV), a non-profit scientific society that was formed in 1950 and is dedicated to the interests of enologists, viticulturists, and others in the fields of wine and grape research and production thoughout the world. Information is provided on the Society, its organization, membership procedures, publications, aims and activities. ASEV publishes the American Journal of Enology and Viticulture and abstracts from 2001 onwards can be viewed. In addition, a selection of 'best articles' from the journal are freely available in full-text.

The American Vineyard Foundation (AVF) is a non-profit California corporation organized in 1978 by the American Scoeity of Enology and Viticulture to raise funds for research in viticulture and enology. The site provides a history of the foundation and summaries of reports on viticulture and enology projects carried out from 1996 to present, with full reports available to be ordered via the website. It also provides survey results, a list of research contacts, and details of the benefits gained from individual research projects.

Homepage of the Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology (ASVO), a scientific society that was formed in 1980 to serve the interests of practicing winemakers and viticulturists by encouraging the exchange of technical information. Information is provided on the Society and its activities, membership, proceedings and publications, and research scholarships and awards funded by the Society.

The CWA consists of Carneros winegrowers partnering with winemakers to select the best vines for the most appropriate soil and climate. The site includes basic-winemaking step-by-step, a hyperlinked list of winery members, maps and appellation as well as links to the Carneros Land Stewardship Foundation.

This website is produced by the Iowa State University's Department of Horticulture. It provides a wide range of information about viticulture. The site contains links to resources on the Web organized by topic, as well as links to various trade organizations. There are also lists of relevant publications and research projects being carried out at ISU. Some documents are available online as PDFs.

From the website: "The Napa Valley Grapegrowers has played a vital role in strengthening Napa Valley's reputation as a world-class wine-growing region for over 34 years. Their mission is to preserve Napa Valley's grapegrowing heritage, strengthen the wine industry's economic viability, promote environmentally and socially sustainable agriculture, and communicate the quality and character of Napa Valley vineyards. NVG represents over 600 Napa County grapegrowers and associated businesses." A calendar of events provides the latest information on viticulture education, current research topics and community activities."

In their eighth decade, the Napa Valley Vintners (NVV) is a non-profit trade association responsible for promoting and protecting the Napa Valley Appellation as a a winegrowing region. NVV is committed to the preservation and enhancement of the Valley's land, wine, and community for future generations. The Napa Valley Vintners Association addresses the shared interests of nearly 500 member wineries. The site provides a comprehensive list of wineries by category, by city, and by name, including maps. Tastings and market visits, local community programs, Napa Valley events and professional development opportunities are featured as well as a Napa Valley vintners blog.

From the website: "Founded in 1994 by growers and vintners in tribute to the legacy of the grape growing and winemaking forebearers. The Society's mission is to encourage and promote the highest quality standards in grape growing and winemaking in the Rutherford Viticultural Area."

The Sonoma County Winegrape Commission (SCWC) represents farmers who grow grapes for wine in Sonoma County. The site provides information on wines and grapes, growing regions, and markets. Various video illustrations are provided including a live webcam from Ladd Vineyard, the monthly wine grape chronicles, and the "life of a winegrape", which shows how vineyards change from one season to another. Additionally, the home page of the site highlights latest news items and SCWC resources.

The Wine Grape Network website, hosted by Pennsylvania State University, provides a wide range of information aimed at assisting vineyard operators in the production of high quality wine grapes. The site is organized by topic in a way that is designed to aid the site's users in finding answers to any questions they may have. The topics range from 'Growing Grapes' to 'Making Wine' and 'Marketing Products'. Industry news, information about the site and events listings are organized in the same way.