International Cuisine by
International Cuisine is the only available book that covers all of the major cuisines of the world in a single textbook with additional instructor resources to aid in instruction, such as comprehensive instructor�s manual, online companion, and robust electronic classroom manager, which includes PowerPoint slides, lesson plans, and a computerized testbank. Written for students and professional culinarians, this book fills the gap between the foundations laid by the introductory textbooks and reality in today�s diverse kitchens. Included are sections on the influences that have contributed to the development of each cuisine, foreign culinary terms commonly used, and sub regions found within the cuisines. The chapters are clearly organized providing detailed information about cuisines in an easy to follow manner. International Cuisine provides comprehensive coverage exposing students to major cuisines around the world.
The Traveler's Atlas by
Here in one big, handsome volume are more than 60 famous and fascinating places that every world traveler must see. From the dramatic fjiords of Norway to the ancient remains of the mysterious Inca city of Machu Pichu, the authors guide readers along highways and rough trails to the world's most spectacular places. It's a bonanza of inspiration and ideas for adventurous travelers on where to go next and how to get there--but the book's detailed maps and vivid full-color photographs make it nearly as much fun for the armchair traveler! Maps are matched with location shots, and points of major interest are listed with tips on best travel routes, background information, and the best ways to avoid crowds. It also contains a worldwide directory of national tourist organizations, embassies, and many other addresses to help world travelers get the most out of their adventures. Includes more than 300 photos plus 50 maps.
Tropical Family Vacations by
Whether it's snorkeling through crystal-clear Caribbean waters, learning to surf at balmy Waikiki Beach, swimming with dolphins in Florida, or exploring Mayan ruins near the beaches of Cancun, an idyllic family trip is easy to plan with Tropical Family Vacations. Jam-packed with vacations for every family's taste in budget, this guide helps you find the best place for your family in the sun.To provide guidance in designing the perfect trip, Laura Sutherland, an experienced family travel writer, brings you Tropical Family Vacations. This information-packed guidebook includes: Coverage of South Florida, the Caribbean, Mexico and HawaiiExpert advice on the best places to stay--from glamorous resorts and spaccious condominiums to quiet cottages, beachfront campgrounds, and budget hotels.Activities for all ages, including submarine rides, volcano hikes, sand dune sliding, sailing, sea kayaking, and snorkeling tours.The scoop on resort kids' programs, from tots to teensTips on trip planning and keeping family adventures hassle-free Tropical family Vacations will prove to be an invaluable resources for parents who want a relaxing, carefree vacation and lifetime of memories for their families.
The Best of Gourmet by
An anthology culled from issues of Gourmet magazine features menu plans for intimate and formal entertaining, and recipes for hors d'oeuvres, breads, soups, main dishes, side dishes, sauces, and desserts, as well as special presentations on the foods of specific areas.
The Cuisines of Mexico by 
Food and Culture by
Food touches everything important to people: it marks social difference and strengthens social bonds. Common to all people, it can signify very different things from table to table. Food and Culturetakes a global look at the social, symbolic, and political-economic role of food. The stellar contributors to this reader examine some of the meanings of food and eating across cultures, with particular attention to how men and women define themselves differently through their foodways. Crossing many subjects, this innovative, first-of-its-kind in the field includes the perspectives of anthropology, history, psychology, philosophy, politics, and sociology. This is the classic text in the field, updated for the first time in a decade, and hailed as the "bible" in the field. A must use for any course on the anthropology or sociology of food. This book comes with a companion website, which you can visit at www.routledge.com/textbooks/9780415977777
My Sweet Mexico by
Recipes for Authentic Pastries, Breads, Candies, Beverages, and Frozen Treats After years spent traveling and sampling sweets throughout her native Mexico, celebrated pastry chef Fany Gerson shares the secrets behind her beloved homeland's signature desserts in this highly personal and authoritative cookbook. Skillfully weaving together the rich histories that inform the country's diverse culinary traditions, My Sweet Mexico is a delicious journey into the soul of the cuisine.From yeasted breads that scent the air with cinnamon, anise, sugar, fruit, and honey, to pushcarts that brighten plazas with paletas and ice creams made from watermelon, mango, and avocado, Mexican confections are like no other.Stalwarts like Churros, Amaranth Alegrias, and Garibaldis-a type of buttery muffin with apricot jam and sprinkles-as well as Passion Fruit-Mezcal Trifle and Cheesecake with Tamarind Sauce demonstrate the layering of flavors unique to the world of dulces. In her typical warm and enthusiastic style, Gerson explains the significance of indigenous ingredients such as sweet maguey plants, mesquite, honeys, fruits, and cacao, and the happy results that occur when combined with Spanish troves of cinnamon, wheat, fresh cow's milk, nuts, and sugar cane.In chapters devoted to breads and pastries, candies and confections, frozen treats, beverages, and contemporary desserts, Fany places cherished recipes in context and stays true to the roots that shaped each treat, while ensuring they'll yield successful results in your kitchen. With its blend of beloved standards from across Mexico and inventive, flavor-forward new twists, My Sweet Mexico is the only guide you need to explore the delightful universe of Mexican treats.
Secrets from Lupe's Kitchen : Dishes of Aztec Land by 
Sunset Recipe Annual, 1994 by 
Guide to the Yucatan Peninsula by 
Mexican Coffee Culture and Tropical Farming by 
Costa Rica by
Now in a sixth edition, Lonely Planet's guide to Costa Rica includes an inspirational full-colour introduction featuring the country's highlights as well as a new outdoor adventure chapter profiling the best places for white-water rafting, surfing, hiking and wildlife watching. Lonely Planet offers more maps than any other guide to Costa Rica plus up-to-date bus schedules and crucial border-crossing information.- Detailed itineraries reveal classic and less-travelled routes- "Top 10" lists- Unmatched history, culture and background information, with expert author contributions- Easy-to-use maps with cross referencing to text"Down to earth accurate information for every budget, enthusiastically written."-Travel & Leisure
Explorer's Guide - Belize by
This guide brings travelers up to date on the dizzying diversity of this tiny territory. Packed with practical advice and inspiration, this new guide facilitates free-spirited journeys from reef to rainforest, waterfall to winding jungle trails. The ultimate guidebook for extraordinary adventures.
Guatemala, Belize and Yucatan by
Guatemala Belize & Yucatan, 6th Edition includes a new itineraries chapter with recommended overland routes to help travellers plan the perfect trip. The guide provides an emphasis on Mayan culture, including the region's spectacular Mayan ruins. A thorough language chapter covers Spanish and modern Mayan. - Up-front colour highlights section plus "top 10" lists- Detailed itineraries reveal classic and less-travelled routes- Unmatched history, culture and background information, with expert author contributions- Easy-to-use maps with cross referencing to text"Down to earth accurate information for every budget, enthusiastically written."-Travel & Leisure
Nicaragua in Focus by
Authoritative guide exploring the land, people, history, economy, culture and environment, and including tips on where to go and what to see.
Buenos Aires by
Travel + Leisure ranked Buenos Aires the number 7 city in the world for travelers. The city offers world-class dining and urban culture. Argentina has a favorable exchange rate. Listen to a free Frommers.com podcast about Buenos Aires featuring author Michael Luongo
Chile and Easter Island Travel Companion by 
Colombia by
This series deal with a particular foreign country, describing and analyzing its political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions, and examining the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by historical and cultural factors.
The Competitiveness of Tropical Agriculture by
The Competitiveness of Tropical Agriculture: A Guide to Competitive Potential with Case Studies describes and synthesizes existing methodologies for evaluating competitiveness in agriculture, introduces extensions and refinements, and provides a novel approach based on a combination of quantitative and qualitative methodologies. As exports of tropical fruit, nuts, and other high-value crops have been growing very rapidly from developing countries, but often encounter serious obstacles in their value chains, this book demonstrates how national agricultural policy is oftentimes not guided by considerations of inherent competitiveness. In addition, the book presents case studies that illustrate the application of these approaches using quantitative frameworks. A concluding chapter introduces policy considerations for competitiveness from work in Jordan, Colombia, Estonia, Peru, and elsewhere, also discussing the role of specific policies in raising competitiveness sustainably and its role in reducing rural poverty. Presents evaluations of 105 agricultural products, including crops, livestock outputs, aquaculture products, and forestry products Explores insights not found in other competitiveness studies, including spatial variation within a country for the same crop, relation to the use of skilled labor, and above all, the role of value chain issues in determining competitiveness Includes analysis of results, such as assessing sector-wide effects on employment and income of policies that help align the sector with its competitive advantage
Insight Pocket Guide Ecuador and Galapagos by
Itinerary-based guides focusing on the best places to see and things to do, picked by our local correspondents. They are ideal for visitors new to a destination and perhaps pressed for time. To help readers follow the routes easily, the books contain full-size pull-out maps.
The Rough Guide to Argentina by
The Rough Guide to Argentina is the definitive guide to this staggeringly diverse country. This updated fourth edition will effortlessly guide you through the country with in-depth coverage on eating and drinking, accommodation and transportation, plus the clearest maps available of any guide.The introductory full-colour section introduces Argentina's highlights from the sparkling emeralds and turquoise waters of the seven lakes, to climbing Acongagua and dolphin-spotting at Puerto Deseado. All areas are covered; from cosmopolitan Buenos Aires to the remote Argentine archipelago of Tierra del Fuego. The Rough Guide to Argentina also includes informed descriptions of the country's varied landscapes, from the pampas to Patagonia, plus practical advice on the best places for hiking, climbing, ski and rafting. Finally, the guide explores the country's rich history and culture; including detailed information on everything from the ascendancy of Eva Peron to its Jesuit architecture. Make the most of your time with The Rough Guide to Argentina.
What I Eat by
A stunning photographic collection featuring portraits of 80 people from 30 countries and the food they eat in one day. In this fascinating study of people and their diets, 80 profiles are organized by the total number of calories each person puts away in a day. Featuring a Japanese sumo wrestler, a Massai herdswoman, world-renowned Spanish chef Ferran Adria, an American competitive eater, and more, these compulsively readable personal stories also include demographic particulars, including age, activity level, height, and weight. Essays from Harvard primatologist Richard Wrangham, journalist Michael Pollan, and others discuss the implications of our modern diets for our health and for the planet. This compelling blend of photography and investigative reportage expands our understanding of the complex relationships among individuals, culture, and food.
Cuba by
4th edition. Edited by Rex A. Hudson. Prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. Research completed April 2001. Describes and analyzes the economic, national security, political, and social systems and institutions of Cuba. Other related products: Foreign Country Studies collection can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/catalog/international-foreign-affairs/foreign-...
Dominican Republic and Haiti by 
Food First: Selected Writings from 40 Years of Movement Building by
This book looks back on forty years of writings from the Oakland-based Institute for Food and Development Policy, better known as Food First, on the occasion of its 40th anniversary. The book highlights the breadth and depth of the organization’s published works, addressing issues such as hunger, international trade, US foreign policy, the Green Revolution, agroecology, climate justice, land reform, food and farm workers' rights, and food sovereignty.
Stark's History and Guide to the Bahama Islands : containing a description of everything on or about the Bahama Islands of which the visitor or resident may desire information. Including their history, inhabitants, climate, agriculture, geology, governmen by 
U.S. Virgin Islands : a guide to national parklands in the United States Virgin Islands by 
Tunisia by
Center of Military History Publication 72 12. Discusses the Tunisia campaign which took place from November 17, 1942 to May 13, 1943. Illustrated with color maps, the reproduction of a painting, and black and white photographs. Includes suggestions for further reading.
Egypt by
Fodor's Exploring Egypt 3rd ed."Authoritatively written and superbly presented...Worthy reading before, during, or after a trip." -- Philadelphia Inquirer"Absolutely gorgeous. Fun, colorful, and sophisticated." -- Chicago TribuneFodor's Exploring Guides are the most up-to-date, full-color guidebooks available. Covering destinations around the world, these guides are loaded with photos, essays on culture and history, descriptions of sights, and practical information. Full-color photos make these great guides to buy if you're still planning your itinerary (let the photos help you choose!), and they are perfect companions to general guidebooks, like Fodor's Gold Guides.What to SeeExtraordinary coverage of history and cultureItineraries, walks and excursions, on and off the beaten pathArchitecture and artWhere to StayQuick tips in every price rangeWhere to EatSavvy picks for all budgetsThe BasicsGetting there and getting aroundWhen to go & what to pack
Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by 
Calendar: by
The adventure spans the world from Stonehenge to astronomically aligned pyramids at Giza, from Mayan observatories at Chichen Itza to the atomic clock in Washington, the world's official timekeeper since the 1960s. We visit cultures from Vedic India and Cleopatra's Egypt to Byzantium and the Elizabethan court; and meet an impressive cast of historic personages from Julius Caesar to Omar Khayyam, and giants of science from Galileo and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking. Our present calendar system predates the invention of the telescope, the mechanical clock, and the concept ol zero and its development is one of the great untold stories of science and history. How did Pope Gregory set right a calendar which was in error by at least ten lull days? What did time mean to a farmer on the Rhine in 800 A.D.? What was daily life like in the Middle Ages, when the general population reckoned births and marriages by seasons, wars, kings'' reigns, and saints' days? In short, how did the world The adventure spans the world from Stonehenge to astronomically aligned pyramids at Giza, from Mayan observatories at Chichen Itza to the atomic clock in Washington, the world's official timekeeper since the 1960s. We visit cultures from Vedic India and Cleopatra's Egypt to Byzantium and the Elizabethan court; and meet an impressive cast of historic personages from Julius Caesar to Omar Khayyam, and giants of science from Galileo and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking. Our present calendar system predates the invention of the telescope, the mechanical clock, and the concept ol zero and its development is one of the great untold stories of science and history. How did Pope Gregory set right a calendar which was in error by at least ten lull days? What did time mean to a farmer on the Rhine in 800 A.D.? What was daily life like in the Middle Ages, when the general population reckoned births and marriages by seasons, wars, kings'' reigns, and saints' days?
Eat Here by
Eating locally is a growing movement that is good for your health--but even better for the planet. Everyone everywhere depends increasingly on long-distance food. Since 1961 the tonnage of food shipped between nations has grown fourfold. In the United States, food typically travels between 1,500 and 2,500 miles from farm to plate--as much as 25 percent farther than in 1980. For some, the long-distance food system offers unparalleled choice. But it often runs roughshod over local cuisines, varieties, and agriculture, while consuming staggering amounts of fuel, generating greenhouse gases, eroding the pleasures of face-to-face interactions, and compromising food security. Fortunately, the long-distance food habit is beginning to weaken under the influence of a young, but surging, local-foods movement. From peanut-butter makers in Zimbabwe to pork producers in Germany and rooftop gardeners in Vancouver, entrepreneurial farmers, start-up food businesses, restaurants, supermarkets, and concerned consumers are propelling a revolution that can help restore rural areas, enrich poor nations, and return fresh, delicious, and wholesome food to cities.
Global Sociology: Introducing Five Contemporary Societies by
An effective supplement to any standard sociology text, this broad and comprehensive sociological description of five diverse contemporary societies with wide geographic distribution - Japan, Mexico, Egypt, Germany and the San peoples of Namibia - is organized around basic sociological topics: culture, social structure, group life, socialization, deviance, social institutions, social stratification, and social change. Fictional vignettes of individuals in each country help students experience first-person viewpoints on life in five very different societies. By comparing other societies with their own, students read about the range of social variation, learn what makes their own society distinctive, and gain a unique and fascinating vantage point on what sociology offers in a world of rapid social change.
The Traveler's Atlas by
Here in one big, handsome volume are more than 60 famous and fascinating places that every world traveler must see. From the dramatic fjiords of Norway to the ancient remains of the mysterious Inca city of Machu Pichu, the authors guide readers along highways and rough trails to the world's most spectacular places. It's a bonanza of inspiration and ideas for adventurous travelers on where to go next and how to get there--but the book's detailed maps and vivid full-color photographs make it nearly as much fun for the armchair traveler! Maps are matched with location shots, and points of major interest are listed with tips on best travel routes, background information, and the best ways to avoid crowds. It also contains a worldwide directory of national tourist organizations, embassies, and many other addresses to help world travelers get the most out of their adventures. Includes more than 300 photos plus 50 maps.
The Foods of Israel Today by
"Joan Nathan has created a masterful blend of food and culture. She takes her reader on an extraordinary journey through the history of the land of Israel and the development of modern Israeli food. I was delighted to visit all the different ethnic communities that have contributed to Israeli cuisine, and my mouth watered just imagining the feast that Joan Nathan describes." --Teddy Kollek, former mayor of Jerusalem In this richly evocative book, Joan Nathan captures the spirit of Israel today by exploring its multifaceted cuisine. She delves into the histories of the people already settled in this nearly barren land, as well as those who immigrated and helped to quickly transform it into a country bursting with new produce. It is a dramatic and moving saga, interlarded with more than two hundred wonderful recipes that represent all the varied ethnic backgrounds. Every recipe has a story, and through these tales the story of Israel emerges. Nathan shows how a typical Israeli menu today might include Middle Eastern hummus, a European schnitzel (made with native-raised turkey) accompanied by a Turkish eggplant salad and a Persian rice dish, with, perhaps, Jaffa Orange Delight for dessert. On Friday nights she visits with home cooks who may be preparing a traditional Libyan, Moroccan, Italian, or German meal for their families, the Sabbath being the focal point of the week throughout Israel (all her recipes are accordingly kosher). And she takes us to markets overflowing with vegetables, fruits, herbs, and spices. To gather the recipes and the stories, Nathan has been traveling the length and breadth of Israel for many years--to a Syrian Alawite village on the northern border for a vegetarian kubbeh and to Bet She'an for potato burekas; to the Red Sea for farmed sea bream and to the Sea of Galilee for St. Peter's fish; to Jerusalem's Bukharan Quarter for Iraqi pita bread baked in a wood-fired clay oven, to the Nahlaot neighborhood for Yemenite fried pancake-like bread, and to a Druse village for paper-thin lavash; to a tiny restaurant in Haifa for Turkish coconut cake and to a wedding at Kibbutz May'ayan Baruch in the upper Galilee for Moroccan sweet couscous; and to many, many other places. All the while, she seeks out biblical connections between ancient herbs and vegetables and their modern counterparts, between Esau's mess of pottage and today's popular taboulleh, and she delights us with tales of all she encounters. Throughout, Joan Nathan shows us how food in this politically turbulent land can be a way of breaking down barriers between Jews, Moslems, and Christians. Generously illustrated with colorful photographs, this enormously engaging book is one to treasure, not only as a splendid cookbook but also as a unique record of life in Israel.
Modern Kosher Meals : Recipes and Menus Arranged for Each month of the year based on current food supplies, by 
Soup Through the Ages by
As cooking advanced from simply placing wild grains, seeds, or meat in or near a fire to following some vague notion of food as a pleasing experience, soup--the world's first prepared dish--became the unpretentious comfort food for all of civilization. This book provides a comprehensive and worldwide culinary history of soup from ancient times. Appendices detail vegetables and herbs used in centuries-old soup traditions and offer dozens of recipes from the medieval era through World War II.
The Art of Syrian Cookery by 
Jerusalem by
Chronicles the 3,000-year history of the city which Jews, Christians, and Muslims all consider sacred, and looks at the ongoing conflict between the Palestinians and the Israelis and the United States' role in the peace process.
The Gaza Kitchen by
The Gaza Kitchen is a richly illustrated cookbook that explores the distinctive cuisine of the area known prior to 1948 as the Gaza District--and that of the many refugees who came to Gaza in 1948 and have been forced to stay there ever since. In summer 2010, Laila El-Haddad and Maggie Schmitt traveled throughout the Gaza Strip to collect the recipes and shoot the stunning photographs presented in the book. The Gaza Kitchen's 130 recipes codify this little-known part of the Middle Eastern culinary canon for the first time ever-- in any language. But this is not just a cookbook. In its pages, women and men from Gaza tell their stories as they relate to cooking, farming, and the food economy: personal stories, family stories, and descriptions of the broader social and economic system in which they live. Former Senior Food Writer for the New York Times Nancy Harmon Jenkins introduces the book, and Gaza's cuisine, in her very well-informed Foreword.
Cooking with Spices and Herbs by 
Eyewitness Travel Guide - Turkey by
Packed with color photographs, illustrations and detailed maps discover Turkey region by region; from the labyrinthine Grand Bazaar and Blue Mosque of Istanbul to the famous Roman remains at Ephesus. Eyewitness Travel Guide: Turkey provides tips every visitor needs, from the invigorating outdoor activities on offer in the Black Sea area to shopping for carpets, with comprehensive listings of the best hotels, resorts, restaurants, shops, and nightlife in each region for all budgets. There are 3D cutaways and floor-plans of all the must-see sites plus street-by-street maps of all the major Turkish cities and towns. With up-to-date information on getting around by train, tram, bus, car and foot and all the sights, beaches, markets and festivals listed town by town, Eyewitness Travel Guide: Turkey explores the rich layers of culture, history, architecture and art of this diverse country not forgetting the best scenic routes and the country's magnificent bazaars, mosques and ruins.
Food Around the World by
For courses in cultural foods for dietetics / general education.Appreciation and understanding of cultures around the world and techniques for effective communication are the challenging goals of this text. Food is featured prominently because of its universal appeal and the meaningful ways that geography, climate, economics, and religion have combined with history and culture to define the ingredients and food patterns unique to countries and regions around the world. Dietetics students need this knowledge as they prepare to counsel clients in our increasingly inter-cultural milieu. All students require a sound fundamental knowledge of the world's nations and the uniqueness of today's rich cultural patterns as they prepare to become citizens of the world.
When You're Entertaining Internationally by 
Rick Steves' Greece : Athens & the Peloponnese by 
Contemporary Pasta : 40 Wonderful Classic Pasta Recipes by 
Hellenic Cuisine : A Collection of Greek Recipes. by 
The Frugal Gourmet Cooks Three Ancient Cuisines by 
Southern Living Annual Recipes, 1996 by International Cuisine by
International Cuisine is the only available book that covers all of the major cuisines of the world in a single textbook with additional instructor resources to aid in instruction, such as comprehensive instructor�s manual, online companion, and robust electronic classroom manager, which includes PowerPoint slides, lesson plans, and a computerized testbank. Written for students and professional culinarians, this book fills the gap between the foundations laid by the introductory textbooks and reality in today�s diverse kitchens. Included are sections on the influences that have contributed to the development of each cuisine, foreign culinary terms commonly used, and sub regions found within the cuisines. The chapters are clearly organized providing detailed information about cuisines in an easy to follow manner. International Cuisine provides comprehensive coverage exposing students to major cuisines around the world.
Eyewitness Travel Guide - Greek Islands by
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Greek Islands is your indispensable guide to this beautiful part of the world. The fully updated guide includes unique cutaways, floor plans, and reconstructions of the must-see sights, plus street-by-street maps of cities and towns. DK's insider travel tips and essential local information will help you discover the best of the Greek Islands, from local festivals and markets to day trips around the countryside. Detailed listings will guide you to hotels, restaurants, bars and shops for all budgets, while practical information will help you to get around by train, bus, or car. With hundreds of full-color photographs, hand-drawn illustrations, and custom maps that brighten up every page, DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Greek Islands truly shows you around this destination as no one else can.
Adventures in Italian Cooking by Food and Culture by
Food touches everything important to people: it marks social difference and strengthens social bonds. Common to all people, it can signify very different things from table to table. Food and Culturetakes a global look at the social, symbolic, and political-economic role of food. The stellar contributors to this reader examine some of the meanings of food and eating across cultures, with particular attention to how men and women define themselves differently through their foodways. Crossing many subjects, this innovative, first-of-its-kind in the field includes the perspectives of anthropology, history, psychology, philosophy, politics, and sociology. This is the classic text in the field, updated for the first time in a decade, and hailed as the "bible" in the field. A must use for any course on the anthropology or sociology of food. This book comes with a companion website, which you can visit at www.routledge.com/textbooks/9780415977777
International Cuisine by
International Cuisine is the only available book that covers all of the major cuisines of the world in a single textbook with additional instructor resources to aid in instruction, such as comprehensive instructor�s manual, online companion, and robust electronic classroom manager, which includes PowerPoint slides, lesson plans, and a computerized testbank. Written for students and professional culinarians, this book fills the gap between the foundations laid by the introductory textbooks and reality in today�s diverse kitchens. Included are sections on the influences that have contributed to the development of each cuisine, foreign culinary terms commonly used, and sub regions found within the cuisines. The chapters are clearly organized providing detailed information about cuisines in an easy to follow manner. International Cuisine provides comprehensive coverage exposing students to major cuisines around the world.
Italian: The Essence of Mediterranean Cuisine by 
Italy's 500 best ever Recipes by 
Why Italians Love to Talk about Food by
Italians love to talk about food. The aroma of a simmeringragú, the bouquet of a local wine, the remembrance of a past meal: Italians discuss these details as naturally as we talk about politics or sports, and often with the same flared tempers. InWhy ItaliansLove to Talk About Food, Elena Kostioukovitch explores the phenomenon that first struck her as a newcomer to Italy: the Italian "culinary code," or way of talking about food. Along the way, she captures the fierce local pride that gives Italian cuisine its remarkable diversity. To come to know Italian food is to discover the differences of taste, language, and attitude that separate a Sicilian from a Piedmontese or a Venetian from a Sardinian. Try tasting Piedmontesebagna cauda, then a Lombardcassoela, then lambala Romana: each is part of a unique culinary tradition. In this learned, charming, and entertaining narrative, Kostioukovitch takes us on a journey through one of the world's richest and most adored food cultures. Organized according to region and colorfully designed with illustrations, maps, menus, and glossaries,Why Italians Love to Talk About Foodwill allow any reader to become as versed in the ways of Italian cooking as the most seasoned of chefs. Food lovers, history buffs, and gourmands alike will savor this exceptional celebration of Italy's culinary gifts.
French Country Favorites by 
Chevre! the Goat Cheese Cookbook by 
Picnics of Provence by 
Wolfgang Puck's Modern French Cooking by
One of America's most talented and visible chefs demonstrates his culinary philosophy, skill, and imagination.
Cooking of Spain and Portugal by 
Ferran by
The first-ever biography of Ferran Adrià, the chef behind Spain's renowned El Bulli restaurant, by one of the world's foremost food authorities. More than just the most influential chef of the late-twentieth and early-twenty- first century, Ferran Adrià is arguably the greatest culinary revolutionary of our time. Hailed as a genius and a prophet by fellow chefs, worshipped (if often misunderstood) by critics and lay diners alike, Adrià is imitated and paid homage to in professional kitchens, and more than a few private ones, all over the world. A reservation at his one and only restaurant, El Bulli, is so coveted that scoring a table is harder than nabbing fifty-yardline tickets to the Super Bowl. In his lively close-up portrait of Adrià, award-winning food writer Colman Andrews traces this groundbreaking chef's rise from resort-hotel dishwasher to culinary deity, and the evolution of El Bulli from a German-owned beach bar into the establishment voted annually by an international jury to be "the world's best restaurant." Taking the reader from Adrià's Franco-era childhood near Barcelona through El Bulli's wildly creative "disco-beach" days and into the modern-day creative wonderland of Adrià's restaurant kitchen and the workshop- laboratory where his innovations are born and refined, Andrews blends sweeping storytelling with culinary history to explore Adrià's extraordinary contributions to the way we eat. Through original techniques like deconstruction, spherification, and the creation of culinary foams and airs, Adrià has profoundly reimagined the basic characteristics of food's forms, while celebrating and intensifying the natural flavors of his raw materials. Yet, argues Andrews, these innovations may not be his most impressive achievements. Instead, Adrià's sheer creativity and courageous imagination are his true genius-a genius that transcends the chef's métier and can inspire and enlighten all of us. Entertaining and intimate, Ferran brings to life the most exciting food movement of our time and illuminates the ways in which Adrià has changed our world- forever altering our understanding and appreciation of food and cooking. Watch a Video
Great Dishes of the World in Color by 
Masterpieces of the J. Paul Getty Museum: Illuminated Manuscripts by
These lavish volumes feature highlights of five of the collections in the J. Paul Getty Museum. Each volume contains between seventy-five and one hundred objects, handsomely reproduced in full color and described by members of the curatorial staff.
Ocean Friendly Cuisine by
In an era of depleted oceans and endangered fisheries, this book introduces delectable and ethical seafoods that should be selected when dining out or cooking at home. The abundant and well-managed species of fresh and saltwater fish, crustaceans and mollusks featured in Ocean Friendly Cuisine can be eaten not only with a clean conscience but with culinary delight using 100 gloriously designed and photographed recipes from the world's finest chefs. This timely and attractive book is endorsed by the Monterey Bay Aquarium whose highly-lauded Seafood Watch program continues to educate millions of consumers and chefs on choosing ethical seafood options.
The Pure Gold of Spain : The First Olive Oil Cook Book by 
Rick Steves' Mediterranean Cruise Ports by
In this guide, Rick Steves focuses on some of the grandest sights in Europe. As always, he has a plan to help you have a meaningful cultural experience while you're there--even with just a few hours in port. Rick Steves' Mediterranean Cruise Ports explains how to get into town from the cruise terminal, shares sightseeing tips, and includes self-guided walks and tours. You'll learn which destinations are best for an excursion--and which you can confidently visit on your own. You'll also get tips on booking a cruise, plus hints for saving time and money on the ship and in port. You can count on Rick Steves to tell you what youreally need to know when cruising the Mediterranean. Inside you'll find one-day itineraries for sightseeing at or near the major Mediterranean ports of call, including: Barcelona, Marseille, Toulon, Nice, Villefranche-sur-Mer, and Monaco Florence, Rome, Naples, and Venice Dubrovnik, Split, Athens, Mykonos, and Santorini Istanbul and Ephesus
Rick Steves' Spain 2014 by
You can count on Rick Steves to tell you what youreally need to know when traveling in Spain. In this guide, you'll find an inviting mix of exciting cities and cozy towns. Explore the lively cities of Madrid, Barcelona, and Sevilla, and follow the Route of the White Hill Towns in Andalucía's sun-drenched countryside. Experience the works of the great masters--from El Greco to Picasso to Dalí--and learn how to avoid the lines at the most popular museums. Self-guided walks lead you through the castles, cathedrals, and villages of this ancient but modern land.End your day with a glass of Rioja wine and a plate of tapas--then join the locals for an evening of flamenco. Rick's candid, humorous advice will guide you to good-value hotels and restaurants. He'll help you plan where to go and what to see, depending on the length of your trip. You'll get up-to-date recommendations about what is worth your time and money. More than just reviews and directions, a Rick Steves guidebook is a tour guide in your pocket.
Cooking of Spain and Portugal by 
Rick Steves Portugal by
You can count on Rick Steves to tell you what youreally need to know when traveling in Portugal. With this guide, you'll explore this relaxed country at the western edge of Europe. Tour Lisbon's cobbled lanes and grand squares, reminders of Portugal's seafaring glory days. Step back into history at the palaces in Sintra and the bone chapel of Évora. Soak up the sun at the Algarve beach of your dreams. When evening comes, enjoy a dinner of fresh seafood stew, and raise a glass of port wine in a toast. Rick's candid, humorous advice will guide you to good-value hotels and restaurants. He'll help you plan where to go and what to see, depending on the length of your trip. You'll get up-to-date recommendations about what is worth your time and money. More than just reviews and directions, a Rick Steves guidebook is a tour guide in your pocket.
Traditional Portuguese Recipes from Provincetown by 
Understanding Global Cultures by
The First Edition of this book introduced a new method, the cultural metaphor, for understanding the cultural mindset of a nation and comparing it to other nations. This new edition develops the method and applies it to a fascinating range of 23 case studies of countries in Europe, the Middle East, Asia and North and South America.
