Locate available Baking and Pastry Specialist (BPS) -related Resources using Visual Search Categories. Navigation and organization of Visual Search uses a seven-level outline to drill down to specific topics. Each Visual Category will open a prepopulated List of Keywords, Call Numbers, Subjects, Material Types, class-specified items, etc., or a further subclassification. Categories can be added, organized, or modified as needed. Icons are loaded from the Image Library or approved stock Images. Visual Search is a great tool for novice Library users, English Language Learners and Visual oriented students.
Locate available Culinary Arts Diploma (CAD)-related resources using Visual Search Categories. Navigation and organization of Visual Search uses a seven-level outline to drill down to specific topics. Each Visual Category will open a prepopulated List of Keywords, Call Numbers, Subjects, Material Types, class-specified items, etc., or a further subclassification. Categories can be added, organized, or modified as needed. Icons are loaded from the Image Library or approved stock Images. Visual Search is a great tool for novice Library users, English Language Learners and Visual oriented students.
Basic Nutrition Counseling Skill Development by
This book is a step-by-step guide to the fundamental skills of counseling strategies and protocol, complimented by action-based worksheets and practical case studies. Bauer and Sokolik's clear, competent style helps readers translate theoretical perspectives on nutrition counseling into actual effective dialogues between client and counselor.
Nutrition by
5 Stars! Doody's Review ServiceNutrition, Fourth Edition is an accessible introduction to nutritional concepts, guidelines, and functions. It brings scientifically based, accurate information to students about topics and issues that concern them--a balanced diet, weight management, and more--and encourages them to think about the material they're reading and how it relates to their own lives.Covering important biological and physiological phenomena, including glucose regulation, digestion and absorption, and fetal development - as well as familiar topics such as nutritional supplements and exercise - Nutrition, Fourth Edition provides a balanced presentation of behavioral change and the science of nutrition.
Nutrition by
NUTRITION: CONCEPTS AND CONTROVERIES, MYPYRAMID UPDATE TENTH EDITION focuses on nutrition principles and their application while offering outstanding coverage of the biological foundations of nutrition without assuming previous knowledge of them. With its new design, contemporary coverage, and engaging writing style, it remains the leading Nutrition text for the non-majors or mixed majors/non-majors introductory course. Drawing readers into the study of nutrition, the authors have created a number of learning tools that are both appealing and accessible. From the chapter content and new "Do You Ever..." sections to the "Food Feature" boxes and end-of-chapter "Controversies," students find the information they need to better understand important nutrition concepts and to make informed and responsible decisions about their own nutrition. Additionally, the "Do It" activities, now available online, on the student CD-ROM, and in a free booklet that can be packaged with the text, students can practice applying their nutrition knowledge. There is also the accompanying NUTRITION CONNECTIONS CD-ROM, a unique resource that includes animations, chapter quizzes, a comprehensive glossary, "Do It!" activities, and Web links. For instructors, we offer a newly redesigned Multimedia Manager that includes PowerPoint slides, animations, videos, and test questions. We also offer a new JoinIn(tm) on TurningPoint, a classroom resource to assess students' knowledge, take attendance, and more. So, whether looking for a text full of up-to-date information, a text that students enjoy reading, a text that offers a robust supplements package, or a text that can engage students and get them excited about studying, NUTRITION CONCEPTS AND CONTROVERSIES is the text for you!
Nutritional Sciences by
NUTRITIONAL SCIENCES: FROM FUNDAMENTALS TO FOOD presents the basics of nutrition with unique coverage of the fundamental science underlying it, including its foundation in anatomy, physiology, and biochemistry. It is organized and written in a clear narrative style, with a linear format that builds concepts, engages students, and promotes a more thorough understanding. It is comprehensive in its coverage, including the most current information, and also unique in its brevity, making it easier to cover the material in a semester or quarter's time. From its emphasis on the fundamental science to the impressive integrated visual and media, relevant and supportive pedagogical features, and extensive supplemental resources (i.e. Diet Analysis+ 8.0, PowerPoint, and JoinIn(tm) on TurningPoint), this text is a fresh presentation of nutrition concepts that instructors and students will praise.
Nutrition and Diet Therapy by
The fourth edition of this popular nutrition text continues to be thebest on the market for introducing the beginning student to thefundamentals of nutrition. Developed jointly by a nurse and adietitian, Nutrition and Diet Therapy Evidence-Based Applications, 4th Edition, effectivelycombines nursing care with solid nutritional information. Clearlywritten and visually appealing, this 4th edition is filled with updatedcontent on a variety of contemporary issues that add to thetitle's continued emphasis on clinical application. Additional Resources at DavisPlus (http://davisplus.fadavis.com/):Clearer Labeling of AllergensDiet Analysis Tools MyPyramid for KidsMyPyramid TrackerUSDA Nutritional InformationUSDA Child Care Nutritional ResourceNutrient Data Laboratory SystemNutrition Facts & Calorie Counter
Nutrition and Functional Foods for Healthy Aging by
Nutrition and Functional Foods for Healthy Aging aims to equip anyone studying geriatric nutrition or working with aging adults with the latest scientific reviews of critical topics. The major objective of this book is to review, in detail, the health problems of the aged and how normal food, lifestyle, or nutritional and dietary supplements can help treat them. Nutrient requirements for optimum health and function of aging physiological systems are often quite distinct from those required for young people. The special nutrition problems of the aged are intensively researched and tested, especially as the elderly become a larger percentage of the population. Many chronic diseases and cancers are found with higher frequency in the aged, and it is also widely known that many elderly people use foods and nutrients well above the recommended daily allowance, which can be detrimental to optimal health. Explains the evidence supporting nutritional interventions relevant to age-related diseases Reviews the macro- and micro-nutrient requirements of aging adults and their variables Describes how alcohol, drugs, and caffeine can impact deficiencies, also exploring functional food and dietary supplements that can be used for prevention and treatment
Nutrition Essentials for Nursing Practice by
Master the nutrition content you need for success with Nutrition Essentials for Nursing Practice , a practical reference you can use throughout your education and into practice. Throughout the book, the author demonstrates the importance of nutrition to all aspects of nursing practice and emphasizes what you really need to know about nutrition. The Seventh Edition reflects the latest evidence-based practice and nutrition recommendations, while maintaining its nursing process focus and emphasis on patient teaching. Prepare for the board exam with each chapter's NCLEX-style study questions. Apply nutrition concepts to real world scenarios through intriguing case studies in every chapter. Get involved in real world clinical challenges with 24 online Disease-Oriented Interactive Case Studies . Each case study ends with ten NCLEX - style test questions and five open-ended critical thinking questions. Be ready for teachable moments with patients through the popular Quick Bites features that offer short, compelling food details and facts. Test your knowledge with chapter-opening True/False questions tied to chapter Objectives. (An answer key appears at the end of the chapter). Access a range of useful tools, including Sample Diets , Dietary Reference Intakes , dietary guidelines for the United States and other countries, MyPyramid for Moms , and coverage of nutritional needs throughout the life cycle. Learn to think on your feet in challenging clinical situations with chapter-ending How Do You Respond? sections. Master the content of the course with key terms defined in the margins and chapter-ending key concepts , as well as easy-to-understand tables, and visuals. Find the most up-to-date and reliable nutrition resources online using chapter-ending Web addresses. You can also access the latest research through the wide range of current journal articles posted on thePoint .
The Daniel Plan Study Guide by
Feast on Something Bigger than a Fad This six-session video-based small group study (DVD/digital video sold separately) from Rick Warren, Dr. Daniel Amen, and Dr. Mark Hyman is centered on five essentials that will launch your journey to health: faith, food, fitness, focus, and friends. With support from medical and fitness experts, Pastor Rick Warren and thousands of people from his congregation started on a journey to transform their own lives. It's called The Daniel Plan and it works for on simple reason: God designed your body to be healthy and He provided everything you need to thrive and live an abundant life. This small group study is a vital component of The Daniel Plan because it emphasizes the powerful community component of the program. As Dr. Mark Hyman says, "community is the cure" for healthy living. The Daniel Plan small group study teaches simple ways to incorporate healthy choices into your daily lifestyle. This study guide includes biblical inspiration from Pastor Rick, instruction from our doctors and wellness experts, practical food and fitness tips, and much more. Sessions include: Faith: Nurturing Your Soul Food: Enjoying God's Abundance Fitness: Strengthening Your Body Focus: Renewing Your Mind Friends: Encouraging Each Other Living the Lifestyle Designed for use with The Daniel Plan Video Study 9780310824459 (sold separately).
Foods That Cause You to Lose Weight by 
The Gold Coast Cure by
Finally, the diet that slims and tones and also heals the immune system and prevents degenerative diseases!It's rare that a diet book comes along that matters. Not one that just helps you fit into your jeans but also changes your life. The Gold Coast Cure is that kind of diet. It will slim your waistline and keep you healthy. And if you’re not healthy now, it can reverse your symptoms.That’s what it did for Ivy Larson, whose multiple sclerosis left her wearing a catheter and unable to walk up a flight of stairs. Undeterred, she and her husband, Dr. Andrew Larson, devised an anti-inflammatory whole foods diet and exercise plan to heal her. It worked. Today, her MS is in remission and she has the extra energy to keep up with their healthy toddler.The Cure is changing lives. Let it tone your body, improve your appearance and prevent or reverse the following: obesity heart artery disease type II diabetes multiple sclerosis asthma allergies osteoarthritis fibromyalgia osteoporosis vascular dementia high blood pressure high cholesterolThe book will also include a bonus DVD featuring the Cure's resistant-training workout. The workout can be completed in 10-minute, 15-minute or 30-minute intervals.Also includes: Over 75 Recipes A Complete Pantry Makeover A Brand-Name Shopping Guide A Daily Vitamin PlannerThis extraordinary plan is: Family Friendly -Safe for Kids; Doesn't require Calorie Counting or Complicated Phases; Allows you to enjoy Coffee, a Sweet Treat and a Glass of Wine a Day.Discover the Gold Coast Cure and Transform your body in just 5 weeks!
Harnessing the Healing Power of Fruit by 
Jane Brody's Good Food Book by 
Jim Fobels Diet Feasts by 
The Ultimate Weight Solution by 
Zone Food Blocks by
Over two million people worldwide are already experiencing the health and performance benefits of the Zone diet. Based on the hormonal consequences of food rather than caloric content, the Zone treats food like a powerful drug. Properly administered, this drug allows you to maintain peak mental alertness throughout the day, increase your energy, and reduce the likelihood of chronic disease栬l while losing body fat. Now, in this essential new Zone reference guide, Barry Sears, provides you with the Zone resources and Food Block information you need to make every meal you eat a Zone meal, including: How to use and adjust Zone Food to fit your own biochemistry Zone Food Blocks for every ingredient, including vegetarian and nondairy sources of protein Zone Food Blocks for fast food and prepackaged supermarket meals Rules for modifying prepared foods to make them Zone-perfect The Ten Zone Commandments for staying in the Zone Think better, perform better, look better, and live better榥t into the Zone.
