Culinary Arts Diploma CAD: Wine & Viticulture

This enlarged and enhanced reference volume was written for both the discerning home chef and those who want to become more knowledgeable about good food and elegant dining. This 2nd edition is updated with new information to reflect the way we eat in today's world. The authors have taken into account our healthier lifestyles and more diverse palates.

Terms related to leisure, travel and tourism, ranging from hotels, catering, restaurants and customer service to general business, accounting and personnel concepts.

Covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology.

This 3-volume reference work comprehensively covers the important areas of agriculture and food science, covering important methods, practices and ideas in this growing discipline.

First published in 1983, this work by John Mariani has long been the go-to book on all things culinary. In addition to updates on food trends and other changes to American gastronomy since 1999, now includes biographical entries, both historical and contemporary, from Fanny Farmer and Julia Child to the Galloping Gourmet and James Beard to current high-profile players Mario Batali and Danny Meyer, among more than one hundred others.

Contains essays covering specific businesses that have shown evidence of significant growth in the recent past or potential for exemplary growth in the future. Students, entrepreneurs, investors, and job seekers alike will find information on technical subjects as arcane as optical sensing or encryption systems, and on topics as commonplace as gambling casinos.

This exhaustive four-volume set is the definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail.

Covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean from the arrival of the Spanish, colonization, and independence movements until the 1820s.

Provides clear, concise nutritional guidance about smart eating and lifestyle choices. Updated with the latest data and statistics, this A-to-Z resource is essential for learning the basics about how food choices can help maintain optimum health and beat diseases.

About Wine is a unique resource designed for those who require practical information on how to manage wine and wine sales for restaurants and the hospitality business. Unlike other texts on this subject, this text seeks first to give the reader background information on the origins of wine and how it is produced, and then builds upon this knowledge with information on the wine producing regions of the United States and the World. The numerous variations of wine produced in Europe, North America, and the Southern Hemisphere are presented. Special features of the text include detailed color diagrams and photographs, and useful appendices designed for use as a quick reference or a starting place for more research on topics of interest.

This book is the ideal armchair guide to the products of the great wine industry in America. It covers the history of wine in America as well as wine in general. There are also sections on the grape itself, how wine is made, wine tasting and serving, and glassware. The winery coverage is uniquely detailed so that it acts as a guide to the best of American wine. The book is fully illustrated. "American Wine's" authority and scope make it an indispensable companion for anyone interested in this most fascinating of subjects.

If you're interested in expanding your wine horizons to include the reds, such as Merlot, Pinot Noir, or Cabernet, Red Wine For Dummies will help you through the maze of red wines. Wine connoisseurs Ed McCarthy and Mary Ewing-Mulligan have tasted their way through the wine-growing regions of Northern California and France (as well as Oregon, Washington, New York, Australia, South America, and South Africa). The result of their ventures is a handy guide featuring more than 1,000 red wine recommendations, tips to help you pair red wine with food, a complete glossary of wine jargon, and a helpful wine vintage chart. You won't want to explore the world of red wine without this handy reference at your fingertips.

From Wine Spectator comes this handy guide filled with information you need to maximize your enjoyment and understanding of wine. This completely revised and updated edition includes a new vintage chart, as well as updated information on buying wine and pairing food and wine, so that you’ll get the most from every glass of wine.