American cuisine influenced by its diverse people. Covers average consumption of various foods, eating habits and crops grown annually.
Illustrates the blend of people and cultures that have made Hawaii home. Covers settlement history and what plants were cultivated. Traditional method of cooking includes pig cooked over a spit, cooking in underground earth pits, and wrapping meat with leaves in a pit. Common foods include Spam produced in Hawaii since WW II, seafoos such as tuna, poi, Loco Moco, and Poke.
Provides illustrative history of Creole cuisine a blend of cultures Spanish, French, Italian, Native American and African. Same ingredients both Creole an cajun include shrimp, oysters, exotic foods, plants, rabbit, squirrel or alligator. Holy trinity of spices include bell pepper, celery and chopped onion. Specialties are Gumbo, Jambalaya and Crawfish boil.
California Cuisine uses fresh produce and fusions of other cuisines. Known for Wine Industry, the Salad Bowl of the United States and diverse urban areas. Common foods include sourdough bread, Cioppino, Shrimp & Crab Louie, Cobb Salad, Ranch Dressing, California Roll Sushi, California Mexican Burritos, fish tacos, and flour tortillas.
Confluence of Spanish, Mexican, Native American, and American cuisines. Difference between green versus red chiles. Common dishes are sopapillas and Fry Bread and Cheese Crisp,
New England Cuisine - Know about the famous foods of New England which includes Seafood, Maple Syrup, Baked Beans, Johnnycakes, Dairy, and many more.
Floribbean cuisine is a confluence fusion of cultures including Cuba, the Bahamas, Jamaica, Haiti, Colombia, Panama and Puerto Rico. Common dishes include conch fritters, mango salsa, citrus marinades, swamp cabbage, Arroz con pollo, cubano sandwich, and key lime pie.
The southern United States common foods include fried chicken, cheese, corn bread, pasta/macroni, pork, collard greens and fish. Popular foods include Country Hams, Pulled Pork, Sausage, Bacon, BBQ, Catfish, Shellfish, Shrimp. Soul Food African American dishes during slavery sorghum, rice, okra, pigs feed, chitlins, etc. Desserts include Moon pie, divinity, cobblers, sweet potato pie.
Pacific Northwest includes Alaska, Oregon and Washington. Common seafood include salmon, halibut, and crab. Common dishes include Stinkheads, Geoduck, Large Game Meat, Eskimo Pie,
United States of Mmmerica: Cuisine of the Midwest The Midwest, considered America's heartland, is home to many regional specialties and some of the most iconic foods of the United States. A surge of immigration beginning around the time of the Civil War brought Europeans, especially from Germany, Ireland, Scandinavia, and countries of eastern Europe, like Poland and Hungary, to the region. Common dishes include potato casseroles, loose meat sandwhich, Cincinnati chili, bars and Jello salad.
Credo Reference helps you start your research with background information from authoritative encyclopedias.
Credo Reference helps you start your research in agriculture with entries on historical and contemporary farming practices and guides to agricultural diseases and pests.
Azores by
Often described as the garden islands of the Atlantic, the Azores enjoy a warm climate and are rich in flora and fauna. This travel guide covers all nine of the volcanic islands.
Canary Islands by
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Canary Islands shows the Canary Islands at their sun-soaked best. From sandy beaches to craggy peaks, this uniquely visual guide provides cutaways and floor plans of all of the major sights. Special coverage of the islands' unique geography and the wildlife of the archipelago includes its volcanic rock formations and geysers, diverse flora, and marine life. No trip to the Canary Islands would be complete without joining revelers at one of its glorious carnivals; and with sights, beaches, markets and festivals listed town by town, you won't miss a thing. With a reliable selection of hotels, bars, and restaurants, and full-color, detailed maps of all the towns and regions, this is the perfect guide to help you experience the best of the islands. Additionally, this expanded DK Eyewitness Travel Guide brings to life the islands' culture and history, explaining the legends of the islands, revealing tales of Spanish, Portuguese, and Catalan conquests, and the story that the islands were once believed to be the lost land of Atlantis. DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Canary Islands — showing you what others only tell you.
Heart-Healthy Home Cooking African American Style : with Every Heartbeat is Life by 
Soul food : the surprising story of an American cuisine one plate at a time by 
The Spices of Life by
Love potions, cures for toothache or flatulence, tasty flavoring - spices have been a pungent presence down the ages. Long before Peter Piper picked his peck of pickled pepper, the Queen of Sheba sent spices to King Solomon and Emperor Nero burned Rome's annual supply of cinnamon at his wife's funeral. It's hard to imagine how these berries, seeds and barks once unleashed ferocious passion in European adventurers who fought tooth and claw to control the spice trade, causing chaos in the lives of people in the South. Spices still fascinate us... the way a pinch of chili powder zips a sober bean casserole into a hot experience-or how the scent of cinnamon wafting from a bakery triggers the appetite. The Spices of Life brings over 100 delicious recipes from Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Middle East using favorite spices like cloves, nutmeg, chilies, and pepper, as well as some less familiar ones. It comes complete with a Spice Guide to introduce the flavorings and give advice on how to use them. With some of the brightest foods from around the world, The Spices of Life is a great way to pep up your cooking. Over 100 easy-to-follow recipes from around the world A brief note on foods, cultures or countries with each recipe Illustrated spice guide Food facts Full-color photographs History of spices Glossary of foods Clear step-by-step cooking method Recipes fully adapted for you to cook at home Vegetarian section as well as meat and fish
Stirring the Pot by
U.S. and World Winner in the Best African Cuisine Book category, Gourmand World Cookbook Awards, 2010 Africa's art of cooking is a key part of its history. All too often Africa is associated with famine, but in Stirring the Pot, James C. McCann describes how the ingredients, the practices, and the varied tastes of African cuisine comprise a body of historically gendered knowledge practiced and perfected in households across diverse human and ecological landscape. McCann reveals how tastes and culinary practices are integral to the understanding of history and more generally to the new literature on food as social history. Stirring the Pot offers a chronology of African cuisine beginning in the sixteenth century and continuing from Africa's original edible endowments to its globalization. McCann traces cooks' use of new crops, spices, and tastes, including New World imports like maize, hot peppers, cassava, potatoes, tomatoes, and peanuts, as well as plantain, sugarcane, spices, Asian rice, and other ingredients from the Indian Ocean world. He analyzes recipes, not as fixed ahistorical documents,but as lively and living records of historical change in women's knowledge and farmers' experiments. A final chapter describes in sensuous detail the direct connections of African cooking to New Orleans jambalaya, Cuban rice and beans, and the cooking of African Americans' "soul food." Stirring the Pot breaks new ground and makes clear the relationship between food and the culture, history, and national identity of Africans.
Anjum's New Indian by
"The Indian Nigella Lawson" --Vogue
Authentic Recipes from Indonesia by
Cook delicious and surprisingly easy dishes with this beautifully illustrated Indonesian cookbook. Authentic Recipes from Indonesia includes over 60 easy-to-follow recipes with detailed descriptions of ingredients and cooking methods, enabling the reader to reproduce the flavors of authentic Indonesian food at home. The fabled Spice Islands of Indonesia encompass the most astonishing physical and cultural diversity in Asia. Authentic Recipes from Indonesia introduces a sampling of the most popular Indonesian food from across the archipelago. Included in this unique collection are spicy Padang favorites from West Sumatra, healthy Javanese vegetable creations, succulent satay and poultry dishes from Bali and Lombok, and unusual recipes from Kalimantan and the eastern isles of Flores and Timor. In addition to the range of exciting recipes, this book acquaints readers with Indonesia's varied cultural and culinary traditions. Featured Indonesian recipes include: Avacado Smoohies Balinese Style Chicken or Duck Satay Beef with Coconut Fragrant Chili Sambal Pork Stewed with Potatoes Shrimp in Hot Coconut Sauce And many more... Increasing numbers of travelers are discovering the rich cultural diversity of Indonesia, venturing off the beaten Bali-Java-Sumatra tourist track. Let Authentic Recipes take you on a voyage of culinary discover, exploring the unknown and revealing more about the already familiar.
Authentic Recipes from Malaysia by
Create flavorful and visually stunning dishes with this easy-to-follow Malaysian cookbook. Authentic Recipes from Malaysia presents over 62 easy-to-follow recipes with detailed descriptions of Malaysian cooking methods and ingredients, enabling you to reproduce the exotic flavors of Malaysia in your own kitchen. Malaysia's cuisine is an exciting blend of Malay, Chinese, Indian, and European cooking. Drawing on their multiethnic heritage, Malaysians have developed unique variations on Asian favorites like Malay Chicken Satay, Chinese Fried Kway Teow and Indian Chicken Curry Puffs. Added to these are exotic creations like the fiery Portuguese Baked Fish prepared by Malacca's Eurasian community, Kelantanese Nasi Ulam (rice blended with handfuls of freshly chopped herbs) and savory Butter Prawns--a dish that blends seasonings from all of Malaysia's major ethnic groups. This book provides a selection of unforgettable recipes, at the same time introducing the reader to the nation's diverse cultural and culinary traditions. Delicious Malaysian recipes include: Mango Chutney Borneo Fish Ceviche Snake Gourd and Lentils with Mustard Seeds Yen's Crispy Brown Noodles with Gravy Fiery Chicken Curry Devil Southern Indian Mutton Curry Black Pepper Crab Pancakes with Sweet Coconut Filling
Authentic Recipes from Korea by
Learn to create favorites like beef bulgolgi, chicken and ginseng, and spicy kimchi
Best-Ever Curry Cookbook : Over 150 Great Curries from India and Asia by 
Big Bowl Noodles and Rice by
When the first Big Bowl restaurant opened in 1997, its founding partners had one mission: to make good, authentic Asian food accessible to American diners. Tired of greasy takeout and soggy egg rolls, they created an entirely different kind of Asian menu-one based on healthy techniques, market-fresh ingredients, and vibrant, traditional flavors. From steaming bowls of handmade noodles to fiery curries and fragrant stir-fries, every dish at Big Bowl became a delicious celebration of homestyle Chinese, Vietnamese, and Thai cooking. Now Bruce Cost, the celebrated cook and a culinary partner behind Big Bowl's spectacular food, reveals how to prepare the house favorites in your own kitchen. Beginning with a basic explanation of Asian ingredients and cooking techniques, Cost's beautifully illustrated guide takes home cooks through the simple steps needed to create an Asian meal, whether it's a one-bowl dinner or a multicourse feast for family and friends. From Thai Chicken Noodle Salad to Blazing Big Rice Noodles with Beef to Shanghai Shrimp, all of Cost's recipes are incredibly flavorful yet easy enough for even the beginning cook to master. The instructions are clear, the ingredients are widely available, and the results are dramatic and delicious. So if you think Asian food at home means little white boxes, think again. Big Bowl Noodles and Rice will show you how to bring the fresh, authentic flavors of Asia to your table any night of the week. Hailed by Alice Waters as "one of the greatest cooks I have ever known," Bruce Cost is an award-winning restaurateur and chef, cooking teacher, and former food columnist for the San Francisco Chronicle. He currently serves as the culinary partner in Lettuce Entertain You's immensely popular chain of Big Bowl restaurants. Cost is also the author of Asian Ingredients, a comprehensive guide to Asian foodstuffs now available as a companion to this book.
Beyond the Great Wall by
WINNER OF THE 2009 JAMES BEARD FOUNDATION INTERNATIONAL COOKBOOK AWARD WINNER OF THE 2009 IACP BEST INTERNATIONAL COOKBOOK AWARD A bold and eye-opening new cookbook with magnificent photos and unforgettable stories. In the West, when we think about food in China, what usually comes to mind are the signature dishes of Beijing, Hong Kong, Shanghai. But beyond the urbanized eastern third of China lie the high open spaces and sacred places of Tibet, the Silk Road oases of Xinjiang, the steppelands of Inner Mongolia, and the steeply terraced hills of Yunnan and Guizhou. The peoples who live in these regions are culturally distinct, with their own history and their own unique culinary traditions. In Beyond the Great Wall, the inimitable duo of Jeffrey Alford and Naomi Duguid--who first met as young travelers in Tibet--bring home the enticing flavors of this other China. For more than twenty-five years, both separately and together, Duguid and Alford have journeyed all over the outlying regions of China, sampling local home cooking and street food, making friends and taking lustrous photographs. Beyond the Great Wall shares the experience in a rich mosaic of recipes--from Central Asian cumin-scented kebabs and flatbreads to Tibetan stews and Mongolian hot pots--photos, and stories. A must-have for every food lover, and an inspiration for cooks and armchair travelers alike.
The Complete Asian Cookbook by
With over 800 recipes from 16 countries, Charmaine Solomon's The Complete Asian Cookbook is the perfect introduction to the food of Asia. Charmaine Solomon has tried and tested every recipe, ensuring that they are simple to prepare and that every ingredient and every preparation step are explained in easy-to-follow terms. This classic cookbook, in print for 30 years, ventures into culinary areas that are often overlooked: the sour-hot dishes of Thailand, the Nonya cooking of Singapore and Malaysia, the soul-warming hotpots of Korea; as well as excitingly different dishes from the lands of Burma, Laos and Cambodia.
Chinese Cookbook by 
Curry Lovers by
Curry Lovers is an informative and accessible guide to Indian cuisine with a mixture of simple recipes as well as more challenging dishes for the keen cook. The book is a celebration of Indian communities across the world showing how street food and regal feasts have been adapted and recreated for the home. The book is broken down into the following sections: Ingredients, Chutneys & salads, Chicken, Lamb, Fish, Vegetarian, and, Pulses and Lentils. Each section has basic techniques as well as a selection of mouth watering dishes which will enable the reader to create a sumptuous meal for all occasions.
Indonesia by
Fully colour-illustrated travel guides packed with information on the history and culture of a destination.
Chef Prudhomme's Louisiana Kitchen by
Here for the first time, the famous food of Louisiana is presented in a cookbook written by a great creative chef who is himself world-famous. The extraordinary Cajun and Creole cooking of South Louisiana has roots going back over two hundred years, and today it is the one really vital, growing regional cuisine in America. No one is more responsible than Paul Prudhomme for preserving and expanding the Louisiana tradition, which he inherited from his own Cajun background. Chef Prudhomme's incredibly good food has brought people from all over America and the world to his restaurant, K-Paul's Louisiana Kitchen, in New Orleans. To set down his recipes for home cooks, however, he did not work in the restaurant. In a small test kitchen, equipped with a home-size stove and utensils normal for a home kitchen, he retested every recipe two and three times to get exactly the results he wanted. Logical though this is, it was an unprecedented way for a chef to write a cookbook. But Paul Prudhomme started cooking in his mother's kitchen when he was a youngster. To him, the difference between home and restaurant procedures is obvious and had to be taken into account. So here, in explicit detail, are recipes for the great traditional dishes--gumbos and jambalayas, Shrimp Creole, Turtle Soup, Cajun "Popcorn," Crawfish Etouffee, Pecan Pie, and dozens more--each refined by the skill and genius of Chef Prudhomme so that they are at once authentic and modern in their methods. Chef Paul Prudhomme's Louisiana Kitchen is also full of surprises, for he is unique in the way he has enlarged the repertoire of Cajun and Creole food, creating new dishes and variations within the old traditions. Seafood Stuffed Zucchini with Seafood Cream Sauce, Panted Chicken and Fettucini, Veal and Oyster Crepes, Artichoke Prudhomme--these and many others are newly conceived recipes, but they could have been created only by a Louisiana cook. The most famous of Paul Prudhomme's original recipes is Blackened Redfish, a daringly simple dish of fiery Cajun flavor that is often singled out by food writers as an example of the best of new American regional cooking. For Louisianians and for cooks everywhere in the country, this is the most exciting cookbook to be published in many years.
Chez Helene : "House of Good Food" by 
New Orleans for Dummies by
Mardi Gras. Cajun cooking. Jazz. If you're looking for a great party, a great meal, or some great music, New Orleans is the place to be. But how do you find your way around? Relax! This easy-to-understand guide is all you need to find the best of the Big Easy. New Orleans For Dummies includes: The best hotels and restaurants for every budget Details on the must-see attractions Itineraries for those short on time or traveling with families Special Mardi Gras chapter Day trips to Cajun country, plantations, and the bayou
Tom Fitzmorris's Hungry Town by
Tom Fitzmorris covers the New Orleans food scene like powdered sugar covers a beignet. For more than thirty-five years he's written a weekly restaurant review, but he's best known for a long-running, daily radio talk show devoted to New Orleans restaurants and cooking. In Tom Fitzmorris's Hungry Town, Fitzmorris movingly describes the disappearance of New Orleans's food culture in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina and its triumphant comeback--an essential element in the city's recovery. He leads up to it with a recent history of New Orleans dining before the hurricane, from the Creole craze of the 1980s to the opening of restaurants by big-name chefs like Paul Prudhomme and Emeril Lagasse. Fitzmorris's coverage of the heroic return of the city's chefs after Katrina highlights the importance of local cooking traditions to a community. The book includes recipes for some of the dishes mentioned in the story, and numerous sidebars informed by Fitzmorris's long career writing about this delicious city."New Orleanians are passionate about a lot of things, especially food! Nobody understands this better than Tom Fitzmorris. In Hungry Town, Tom gives readers insight into this amazing and one-of-a-kind city, and shows how food and the restaurant industry helped the city to survive and thrive after Katrina." -- EMERIL LAGASSE, chef, restaurateur, and TV host"No city restaurant critic in U.S. history has written more, eaten more, or knows more of their cuisine than Tom Fitzmorris."-- JAMES CARVILLE, political commentator, New Orleanian, and food enthusiast "A delicious read, part autobiographical, with wonderful recipes and a comprehensive restaurant history. This is a great tribute to the indomitable spirit of the New Orleans restaurant community, which brought our city back from the devastation of Hurricane Katrina. Hungry Town is a must for both New Orleanians and lovers of New Orleans food."-- ANNE GOOCH, Galatoire's Restaurant and New Orleans Wine and Food Experience co-founder"This book is a must-have for any New Orleanian or anyone traveling to New Orleans. It's full of the juicy tidbits that you can't find anywhere else. His prose will leave you salivating after every chapter. What a delicious read!"-- JOHN BESH, Besh Restaurant Group chef/owner"From his cat-bird seat, Tom Fitzmorris shares with us the family feuds, delicious tidbits, and vicious bites that comprise the New Orleans food scene of the late twentieth century. Hungry Town is the Tom-tell-all we've all been waiting for!"-- POPPY TOOKER, Slow Food New Orleans founder and food activist
Best of California's Missions, Mansions, and Museums by
This two-color traveler’s companion features more than 130 of California’s best missions, mansions, and museums. In addition to insider information on many of the destinations, the guide features themed tours that will appeal to tourists and armchair travelers alike, history buffs, as well as teachers and parents. Every entry details the highlights of a particular place and includes operating hours, entrance fees, location, a phone number, and website information. Themed tours range from famous Californians, to lighthouses, ghost towns, and much more. This guidebook is a must-have for anyone interested in California's eclectic history.
Best Places Northern California by 
California by
Lonely Planet: The world's leading travel guide publisher Lonely Planet Discover California is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Go star-spotting in Hollywood, marvel at soaring redwood forests, or sample vintages in Wine Country; all with your trusted travel companion. Discover the best of California and begin your journey now! Inside Lonely Planet's Discover California: Full-color maps and images throughout Highlightsand itinerarieshelp you tailor your trip to your personal needs and interests Insider tipsto save time and money and get around like a local, avoiding crowds and trouble spots Essential infoat your fingertips- hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, transit tips, prices Honest reviews for all budgets- eating, sleeping, sight-seeing, going out, shopping, hidden gems that most guidebooks miss Cultural insightsgive you a richer, more rewarding travel experience - history, family travel, visual art, cinema, literature, music, architecture, cuisine, wine, landscapes, wildlife. Over 40 color maps CoversLos Angeles, San Francisco, Northern California, Wine Country, Yosemite & the Sierra Nevada, San Diego & the Deserts, Disneyland & Orange County and more The Perfect Choice: Lonely Planet's Discover California,our easy-to-use guide, filled with inspiring and colorful photos, focuses on California's most popular attractions for those looking for the best of the best. Looking for a comprehensive guide that recommends both popular and offbeat experiences, and extensively covers all California has to offer? Check out Lonely Planet's Californiaguide. Looking for a guide for Los Angeles or San Francisco? Check outLonely Planet's Los Angeles guideand theSan Franciscoguide for a comprehensive look at all these cities have to offer; or Pocket Los Angeles andSan Francisco,handy-sized guides focused on the can't-miss sights for a quick trip. Looking for more extensive coverage? Check out Lonely Planet's Western USAguide for a comprehensive look at all the region has to offer. Authors: Written and researched by Lonely Planet, Sara Benson, Andrew Bender, Alison Bing, Celeste Brash, Tienlon Ho, Beth Kohn, Adam Skolnick and John A Vlahides. About Lonely Planet: Since 1973, Lonely Planet has become the world's leading travel media company with guidebooks to every destination, an award-winning website, mobile and digital travel products, and a dedicated traveler community. Lonely Planet covers must-see spots but also enables curious travelers to get off beaten paths to understand more of the culture of the places in which they find themselves.
California Bed and Breakfast Cookbook by
The California Bed & Breakfast Cookbook is book #6 in the best-selling Bed & Breakfast Cookbook Series (which also includes CO, New England, NC, TX, VA and WA). Each book includes great recipes for breakfast, brunch, appetizers, entrees and desserts from the state's B&B's and Country Inns. The books also serve as a travel guide to a state's B&B's with contact information and a decription of each inn or the area in which it resides, such as notable architecture, travel information, history, etc. The books are hardcover with a hidden wire-o binding so they lay flat on the kitchen counter.
The California Coastal Access Guide by
The California coast, from its majestic redwoods and rocky shores to its palm trees and sandy beaches, is an area of unsurpassed beauty. The new fifth edition of the California Coastal Access Guide is an essential handbook for anyone exploring the 1,100 miles of one of the world's most diverse and spectacular shorelines. With up-to-date maps and information, this is an indispensable guide for all beachgoers--hikers, campers, swimmers, divers, wheelchair users, joggers, and boaters. Details on where to go, how to get there, and what facilities and type of environment to expect are readily accessible. The handbook also contains articles on a broad range of topics, including natural history, marine and coastal wildlife, environmental issues, and sports and recreation.
California Fresh Cookbook by 
The Founders of American Cuisine by
This work describes the lives, careers and significance of seven chefs and authors who had profound influences on the creation of American cuisine: Amelia Simmons, author of the first known American cookbook; Mary Randolph, whose The Virginia Housewife is considered the first regional American cookbook; Miss Leslie and her bestselling 19th century work; former slave Mrs. Abby Fisher and her book on Southern cooking; Lafcadio Hearn's La Cuisine Creole; Charles Ranhofer's influence on the role of the modern chef; and Victor Hirtzler and his California cuisine. The second section includes selected recipes from each author's books, with notes to aid adaptation by the modern cook. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here.
The Guide: To Dining & Pleasure for California's Central Valley
Hollywood by
Created by local writers and photographers, Compass American Guides are the ultimate insider's guides, providing in-depth coverage of the history, culture, and character of America's most spectacular destinations. Covering everything there is to see and do as well as choice lodging and dining, these gorgeous full-color guides are perfect for new and longtime residents as well as vacationers who want a deep understanding of the region they're visiting.Outstanding color photography, plus a wealth of archival imagesTopical essays and literary extractsDetailed color mapsGreat ideas for things to see and doCapsule reviews of hotels and restaurants
Monterey's Cooking Secrets by
Falling in love with the Monterey Peninsula is easy, especially when one savors the secret hideaways and recipes from those unique, romantic restaurants and inns that make this corner of America such an unforgettable place.
Ocean Friendly Cuisine by
In an era of depleted oceans and endangered fisheries, this book introduces delectable and ethical seafoods that should be selected when dining out or cooking at home. The abundant and well-managed species of fresh and saltwater fish, crustaceans and mollusks featured in Ocean Friendly Cuisine can be eaten not only with a clean conscience but with culinary delight using 100 gloriously designed and photographed recipes from the world's finest chefs. This timely and attractive book is endorsed by the Monterey Bay Aquarium whose highly-lauded Seafood Watch program continues to educate millions of consumers and chefs on choosing ethical seafood options.
Recommended Country Inns by 
Sacramento Restaurants by
Discover the culinary treasures Sac-Town has to offer from Downtown to East Sacramento. This brand-new pocket guide includes Zagat's signature ratings and reviews for over 150 restaurants throughout Sacramento. Based on the opinions of savvy diners, this guide will help locals and tourists find the perfect spot for any occasion.
San Francisco Encore by
Based on fresh ingredients and designed for easy preparation, these 500 recipes feature the unique regional cuisine that has made San Francisco famous with connoisseurs. Full-color illustrations
Sonoma Valley by
This indispensable guide transforms the tourist into the informed visitor with insider tips on how and where to experience the very best of Sonoma Valley's food, wine, and culture. Whether you explore by car or on foot, local experts Kathleen and Gerald Hill will take you step-by-step up to and through the front doors of the most interesting restaurants and wineries to meet the people who live, labor, cultivate, and cook in this area of rich culinary tradition. You'll also discover where the locals go, where to find real bargains, and where to splurge magnificently. Book jacket.
Sunset Cook Book of Favorite Recipes by 
Windows on the World Complete Wine Course by
Zraly shows how to build a fine wine collection, serve wine at home and order it at restaurants - including a step by step tour of the tasting ritual. He also presents a guide to the ten best wine-growing regions, with best bets for recent vintages.
Discover the Beaches of Fort Myers & Sanibel by 
Frommer's Portable Cayman Islands by
Frommer's Portable Guides are for the short-term traveler who insists on value and doesn't want to pack a full-size guidebook. The Portables have the same commitment to accuracy and detail as the Frommer's Complete Guides, with the same broad demographic appeal, from budget to deluxe. Frommer's Portable Cayman Islands includes complete information for all three of the Cayman Islands- Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman- in one easy-to-carry guide. We currently publish a complete guide to Frommer's Caribbean that includes coverage of the Caymans. This new portable guide will be geared toward travelers visiting only islands in the Caymans and will feature more detailed information on the islands than is found in Frommer's Caribbean.
Miami Spice by
The new star of the culinary galaxy is South Florida, declares The New York Times. And no wonder. Out of America's tropical melting pot comes an inventive cuisine bursting with flavor--and now Steven Raichlen, an award-winning food writer, shares the best of it in Miami Spice. With 200 recipes and firsthand reports from around the state, Miami Spice captures the irresistible convergence of Latin, Caribbean, and Cuban influences with Florida's cornucopia of stone crabs, snapper, plantains, star fruit, and other exotic native ingredients (most of which can be found today in supermarkets around the country). Main selection of the Book-of-the-Month Club's HomeStyle Books. Winner of a 1993 IACP/Julia Child Cookbook Award.
The San Juan Islands by
The popular guide to boating and other recreational activities in Washington's San Juan Islands, updated and including new quick-access features.*New sidebars on wildlife and history*New tables listing the author's favorites; best side trips; and the best places and best times to view birds, wildlife, wildflowers, and intertidal life*Driving directions and other data reformatted for "find it at a glance"
Dominican Republic and Haiti by 
Buenos Aires by
Travel + Leisure ranked Buenos Aires the number 7 city in the world for travelers. The city offers world-class dining and urban culture. Argentina has a favorable exchange rate. Listen to a free Frommers.com podcast about Buenos Aires featuring author Michael Luongo
The Caribbean, Central & South American Cookbook : Tropical Cuisines Steeped in History : All the Ingredients and Techniques and 150 Ssensational Step-by-Step Recipes by 
Chile and Easter Island Travel Companion by 
The Cuisines of Mexico by 
Explorer's Guide - Belize by
This guide brings travelers up to date on the dizzying diversity of this tiny territory. Packed with practical advice and inspiration, this new guide facilitates free-spirited journeys from reef to rainforest, waterfall to winding jungle trails. The ultimate guidebook for extraordinary adventures.
Guide to the Yucatan Peninsula by 
Insight Pocket Guide Ecuador and Galapagos by
Itinerary-based guides focusing on the best places to see and things to do, picked by our local correspondents. They are ideal for visitors new to a destination and perhaps pressed for time. To help readers follow the routes easily, the books contain full-size pull-out maps.
International Cuisine by
International Cuisine is the only available book that covers all of the major cuisines of the world in a single textbook with additional instructor resources to aid in instruction, such as comprehensive instructor�s manual, online companion, and robust electronic classroom manager, which includes PowerPoint slides, lesson plans, and a computerized testbank. Written for students and professional culinarians, this book fills the gap between the foundations laid by the introductory textbooks and reality in today�s diverse kitchens. Included are sections on the influences that have contributed to the development of each cuisine, foreign culinary terms commonly used, and sub regions found within the cuisines. The chapters are clearly organized providing detailed information about cuisines in an easy to follow manner. International Cuisine provides comprehensive coverage exposing students to major cuisines around the world.
My Sweet Mexico by
Recipes for Authentic Pastries, Breads, Candies, Beverages, and Frozen Treats After years spent traveling and sampling sweets throughout her native Mexico, celebrated pastry chef Fany Gerson shares the secrets behind her beloved homeland's signature desserts in this highly personal and authoritative cookbook. Skillfully weaving together the rich histories that inform the country's diverse culinary traditions, My Sweet Mexico is a delicious journey into the soul of the cuisine.From yeasted breads that scent the air with cinnamon, anise, sugar, fruit, and honey, to pushcarts that brighten plazas with paletas and ice creams made from watermelon, mango, and avocado, Mexican confections are like no other.Stalwarts like Churros, Amaranth Alegrias, and Garibaldis-a type of buttery muffin with apricot jam and sprinkles-as well as Passion Fruit-Mezcal Trifle and Cheesecake with Tamarind Sauce demonstrate the layering of flavors unique to the world of dulces. In her typical warm and enthusiastic style, Gerson explains the significance of indigenous ingredients such as sweet maguey plants, mesquite, honeys, fruits, and cacao, and the happy results that occur when combined with Spanish troves of cinnamon, wheat, fresh cow's milk, nuts, and sugar cane.In chapters devoted to breads and pastries, candies and confections, frozen treats, beverages, and contemporary desserts, Fany places cherished recipes in context and stays true to the roots that shaped each treat, while ensuring they'll yield successful results in your kitchen. With its blend of beloved standards from across Mexico and inventive, flavor-forward new twists, My Sweet Mexico is the only guide you need to explore the delightful universe of Mexican treats.
The Rough Guide to Argentina by
The Rough Guide to Argentina is the definitive guide to this staggeringly diverse country. This updated fourth edition will effortlessly guide you through the country with in-depth coverage on eating and drinking, accommodation and transportation, plus the clearest maps available of any guide.The introductory full-colour section introduces Argentina's highlights from the sparkling emeralds and turquoise waters of the seven lakes, to climbing Acongagua and dolphin-spotting at Puerto Deseado. All areas are covered; from cosmopolitan Buenos Aires to the remote Argentine archipelago of Tierra del Fuego. The Rough Guide to Argentina also includes informed descriptions of the country's varied landscapes, from the pampas to Patagonia, plus practical advice on the best places for hiking, climbing, ski and rafting. Finally, the guide explores the country's rich history and culture; including detailed information on everything from the ascendancy of Eva Peron to its Jesuit architecture. Make the most of your time with The Rough Guide to Argentina.
The Spices of Life by
Love potions, cures for toothache or flatulence, tasty flavoring - spices have been a pungent presence down the ages. Long before Peter Piper picked his peck of pickled pepper, the Queen of Sheba sent spices to King Solomon and Emperor Nero burned Rome's annual supply of cinnamon at his wife's funeral. It's hard to imagine how these berries, seeds and barks once unleashed ferocious passion in European adventurers who fought tooth and claw to control the spice trade, causing chaos in the lives of people in the South. Spices still fascinate us... the way a pinch of chili powder zips a sober bean casserole into a hot experience-or how the scent of cinnamon wafting from a bakery triggers the appetite. The Spices of Life brings over 100 delicious recipes from Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Middle East using favorite spices like cloves, nutmeg, chilies, and pepper, as well as some less familiar ones. It comes complete with a Spice Guide to introduce the flavorings and give advice on how to use them. With some of the brightest foods from around the world, The Spices of Life is a great way to pep up your cooking. Over 100 easy-to-follow recipes from around the world A brief note on foods, cultures or countries with each recipe Illustrated spice guide Food facts Full-color photographs History of spices Glossary of foods Clear step-by-step cooking method Recipes fully adapted for you to cook at home Vegetarian section as well as meat and fish
Tropical Family Vacations by
Whether it's snorkeling through crystal-clear Caribbean waters, learning to surf at balmy Waikiki Beach, swimming with dolphins in Florida, or exploring Mayan ruins near the beaches of Cancun, an idyllic family trip is easy to plan with Tropical Family Vacations. Jam-packed with vacations for every family's taste in budget, this guide helps you find the best place for your family in the sun.To provide guidance in designing the perfect trip, Laura Sutherland, an experienced family travel writer, brings you Tropical Family Vacations. This information-packed guidebook includes: Coverage of South Florida, the Caribbean, Mexico and HawaiiExpert advice on the best places to stay--from glamorous resorts and spaccious condominiums to quiet cottages, beachfront campgrounds, and budget hotels.Activities for all ages, including submarine rides, volcano hikes, sand dune sliding, sailing, sea kayaking, and snorkeling tours.The scoop on resort kids' programs, from tots to teensTips on trip planning and keeping family adventures hassle-free Tropical family Vacations will prove to be an invaluable resources for parents who want a relaxing, carefree vacation and lifetime of memories for their families.
Cooking from Quilt Country by 
Illinois/Indiana by
This trip planner introduces travelers to the highlights with itineraries for sight-seeing -- of the best of Michigan With its miles of sandy beaches, Michigan means vacation for millions of travelers. This guide can help them plan and enjoy a Michigan vacation that fits their individual needs, interests, and time constraints. Michigan Travel-Smart "TM" Trip Planner presents 16 different itineraries travelers can follow, adapt, or mix-and-match to see the best of the state. It suggests a trip to Detroit, including visits to the Detroit Institute of Arts; Motown Historical Museum; the Henry Ford Museum; a show at the Detroit Repertory Theater; and, during spring and summer, a Detroit Tigers baseball game. If tourists are planning a trip to Ann Arbor, they are encouraged to check out the world-renowned University of Michigan, the State Street neighborhood with its book and record stores, or picnic at the Waterloo Recreation Area. For visitors wishing to enjoy Michigan's lakeshores and forests, the book lists routes featuring the state's Southern Tier, Western Shore, and Mid-Mitten and Grand Traverse Bay areas. Also included are trips to the Straits, Mackinac Island, Copper Country, Isle Royale National Park, the Superior Shore, Sunrise Coast, Saginaw Valley, and the Thumb. Each itinerary includes a topographical map, sight-seeing highlights, and food and lodging recommendations. The book also features a full-color fold-out map of the state in the inside front cover, mileage information, climate charts, and local travel resources.
The Madison County Cookbook by 
The Presidents' Cookbook : Practical Recipes from George Washington to the Present, by 
Vegetable Brassicas and Related Crucifers by
The Brassica crops provide the greatest diversity of products derived from a single genus. As vegetables they deliver leaves, flowers, stems and roots that are used either fresh or in processed forms. This book covers the Occidental crops derived from B. oleracea (cole or cabbage group) and Oriental types from B. rapa (Chinese cabbage and its relatives). Both groups are of immense importance for human nutrition, containing vital vitamins and cancer preventing substances.
What I Eat by
A stunning photographic collection featuring portraits of 80 people from 30 countries and the food they eat in one day. In this fascinating study of people and their diets, 80 profiles are organized by the total number of calories each person puts away in a day. Featuring a Japanese sumo wrestler, a Massai herdswoman, world-renowned Spanish chef Ferran Adria, an American competitive eater, and more, these compulsively readable personal stories also include demographic particulars, including age, activity level, height, and weight. Essays from Harvard primatologist Richard Wrangham, journalist Michael Pollan, and others discuss the implications of our modern diets for our health and for the planet. This compelling blend of photography and investigative reportage expands our understanding of the complex relationships among individuals, culture, and food.
Wisconsin Cheesecyclopedia Cheese at Foodservice Study Guide by 
New England Cooking by 
Better Homes and Gardens Easy Skillet Meals by 
Brewpub Explorer of the Pacific Northwest by 
Breakfast in Bed by
Here is the opportunity to re-create the romance and warmth of a bed-and-breakfast in your own home. Carol Frieberg has gathered over 100 delicious recipes from some of the finest bed-and-breakfast inns in Washington, Oregon, Northern California, and British Columbia.
Pacific Northwest Flavors by
The distinctive cooking of the Pacific Northwest is lavishly chronicled in full-color photographs and 150 delicious recipes based on the area's indigenous foods. Photographer Michael Skott and writer Lori McKean capture the flavors, the spirit, and the unique life-style that make this area so appealing. Full-color photographs.
Epicurean Delight by
The author of 22 books, James Beard encouraged and instructed an entire generation of cooks, both fledgling and professional. Now comes an anecdotal biography of one of the most influential and beloved of America's cooks--complete with his own favorite recipes. 50 photographs.
American Cooking: The Great West by 
Food Around the World by
For courses in cultural foods for dietetics / general education.Appreciation and understanding of cultures around the world and techniques for effective communication are the challenging goals of this text. Food is featured prominently because of its universal appeal and the meaningful ways that geography, climate, economics, and religion have combined with history and culture to define the ingredients and food patterns unique to countries and regions around the world. Dietetics students need this knowledge as they prepare to counsel clients in our increasingly inter-cultural milieu. All students require a sound fundamental knowledge of the world's nations and the uniqueness of today's rich cultural patterns as they prepare to become citizens of the world.
Hawai'i's Island Cooking by 
South Pacific, 1990-1991 by 
The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook by
The finest guidebook ever written for Kauai. This brand new fifth edition has more useful information, the most up to date maps and scores of hidden gems listed nowhere else. This book and a rental car are all you need to discover what makes the Garden Island so special. Book jacket.
When You're Entertaining Internationally by 
History of Bread by 
Candyfreak by
A self-professed candyfreak, Steve Almond set out in search of a much-loved candy from his childhood and found himself on a tour of the small candy companies that are persevering in a marketplace where big corporations dominate. From the Twin Bing to the Idaho Spud, the Valomilk to the Abba-Zaba, and discontinued bars such as the Caravelle, Marathon, and Choco-Lite, Almond uncovers a trove of singular candy bars made by unsung heroes working in old-fashioned factories to produce something they love. And in true candyfreak fashion, Almond lusciously describes the rich tastes that he has loved since childhood and continues to crave today. Steve Almond has written a comic but ultimately bittersweet story of how he grew up on candy-and how, for better and worse, the candy industry has grown up, too. Candyfreak is the delicious story of one man's lifelong obsession with candy and his quest to discover its origins in America.
Sunset Recipe Annual, 1994 by 
BBQ P. D. Q. by
This versatile cookbook brings over 190 flavoured ways to cook on the grill -- allowing you to choose the recipe that fits the time you have. Opt for rubs and marinades that let you season foods ahead and grill them at the last minute. Quickly stir together brush-ons to coat foods as they cook. Or grill foods plain and team them with spunky sauces, salsas, relishes, or condiments. The choice is yours Each flavour-boosting recipe has eye-catching circles that tell you at a glance whether the recipe is recommended for beef, pork, lamb, ham, poultry, seafood, or fish. After you've teamed your meat, poultry, or fish with a recipe, check the Grilling Charts for the grilling method, temperature, and cooking time to use. And, for answers to grilling questions, turn to the Grilling Basics section or the Glossary.
The Heritage of Southern Cooking by
One of the South's foremost cooking authorities assembles more than 150 down-home dishes inspired by the gracious traditions, regional cooking techniques, and mouthwatering ingredients of her Southern heritage. ¿ From Hearty Chicken and Ham Gumbo to Kentucky Spiced Beef, from Old-fashioned Greens with Bacon to New Orleans Praline Ice Cream, the recipes in this lusciously illustrated, easy-to-use cookbook are rich with nostalgia and inspired in their blend of hearty Southern flavors and textures. Appetizers, soups, salads, meats, poultry, fish, vegetables, breads, grains, desserts--they are all here in abundance, and they all add up to beautifully orchestrated meals any cook would be proud to serve. The rich photographs, specially commissioned for this updated volume, and helpful sidebars--covering such subjects as how to shuck an oyster and how to roast a chicken to perfection--assure success to cooks at every level. It's a true cook's tour of the American South, guided by a the deft hand of a master cook and entertainer.
My Mother's Southern Kitchen by
The food and wine editor for Town and Country presents a collection of 265 simple, no-nonsense Southern recipes--everything from Barbecued Spareribs to Sweet Potato Biscuits. Intertwined with colorful family lore, bits of nostalgia, and cooking tips, the recipes are drawn from Martha Pearl Villas' sacred black cookbook, compiled over decades.
New Southern Kitchen by
The author of Classical Southern Cooking returns with a guide to regional Southern cuisine, serving up 160 recipes for everything from Baked Pecan-Crusted Goat Cheese with Warm Peach Chutney to Asparagus Shortcake, Green Tomato Gumbo, and Sweet Potato Ice Cream. 30,000 first printing.
Paula Deen and Friends by
A comprehensive and delicious collection of crowd-pleasing recipes that will bring family and friends together for all kinds of occasions. Sharing a delicious meal is everyone's favorite way of bringing together friends and loved ones. In her new cookbook, Paula Deen & Friends: Living It Up, Southern Style, Paula Deen--author, restaurateur, and Food Network star--turns to her friends to share their stories, ideas for entertaining Southern style, and, most important, more than 150 of the prized recipes they serve to their family and friends. With the trademark Southern charm that has made her beloved by fans everywhere, Paula's new book features delicious, down-home entertaining menus, with recipes that are guaranteed to be instant crowd-pleasers. Whether you're planning an intimate family dinner, hosting an elegant cocktail party, or feeding a hungry crowd for lunch, these mouthwatering meals are the perfect way to share any occasion with good friends--and have fun doing it! From a tailgate picnic to a bridge supper, a christening to a camping trip, and a family dinner to an ice cream social, there are recipes to delight any gathering. Throw a down-home Birthday Bash with Beer-in-the-Rear Chicken, Bacon-Wrapped Grilled Corn on the Cob, and Buttermilk Pound Cake with Strawberries and Whipped Cream. Or host a casual Cookie Swap with friends and watch those Peanut Butter Brownie Cupcakes and Rolled Oatmeal Cookies disappear! An outdoor lunch wouldn't be complete without real Southern Fried Chicken and Buttermilk Corn Bread. And comfort foods like Quick Crab Stew, Shrimp and Wild Rice Casserole, and Black Bottom Pie are soul-satisfying dishes that warm the heart and soothe the spirit. There are also recipes for refreshing cocktails and beverages, from the Southern traditional favorites, like Plantation Iced Tea and Mint Juleps, to Lemonade and Hot Cranberry Cider. Entertaining Southern style is about much more than the food; it's about spending time with the people you care about. Paula and her friends are the experts when it comes to creating delightful meals that are easy to prepare, so you, too, can relax and enjoy the fun with your guests. Each chapter is filled with helpful tips and time-saving techniques, as well as the memorable cooking stories that inspired Paula and her friends to create these recipes. You'll be inspired to share memorable meals and occasions with family and friends, as Paula Deen & Friends invites you to live it up, Southern style.
The Southern Heritage Company's Coming Cookbook by
Southern hospitality is offered for special guests, potluck dinners, family gatherings, seasonal specialties. Traditional & ethnic menus add variety & spice.
The Southern Heritage Cookie Jar Cookbook by 
The Southern Heritage Family Gatherings Cookbook by
Recipes for any family occasion; family reunions, holidays, birthdays, anniversaries, or graduations.
The Southern Living Cookbook by 
The Complete Chicken Breast Cookbook by
Chicken breasts, both fresh and frozen, are an enormously popular grocery item and a staple food in many household kitchens. Marge Poore helps cooks in their search for creative new chicken dishes with tantalizing recipes like Breast of Chicken with Basil Cream Sauce, Chicken with Tomatoes, Wine, and Cream Sauce, and Picata Style Chicken with Lemon and Capers.
Marcia Adam's Heirloom Recipes by
Marcia Adams, one of America's most beloved television chefs, presents a cross-country tour of the United States. Including more than 250 delicious, old-fashioned recipes, her book conveys the serendipitous delights of travel and illuminates how and why many food traditions began--and how they are being kept alive today.Full-color photographs.
Morning Fires, Evening Lights : The Marlboro Country Cookbook. by 
New Southwestern Cooking by
In over 200 recipes--from appetizers to desserts--the authors give traditional Mexican & Indian combinations new interpretations with light, fresh, local ingredients & modern cooking techniques.
The Pioneer Woman Cooks--Food from My Frontier by
#1 New York Times Bestseller "Drummond invites fans into her world with irresistible recipes and photos." --People Accidental ranch wife, beloved multiple Bloggie Award-winning blogger, and #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Pioneer Woman Cooks, Ree Drummond is back with a second helping of irresistible recipes, down home wit, and warm remembrances. With The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food from My Frontier, Ree serves up a feast of delicious, soul-satisfying, cowboy-approved comfort food that the whole family will enjoy--from glazed doughnuts to restaurant-style salsa to spicy Dr. Pepper pulled pork to the best grilled cheese ever!
The American Peoples Cookbook by
The American People's Cookbook, 1956 1st Edition. This cookbook is a result of a contest among the membership of the Peoples Book Club and the Sears Readers Club - the combined 300,000 members were invited to submit their best recipes. This is a hardcover book with 600 pages.
American Regional Cooking for Eight or Fifty by
"After 200 years of evolution, American regional cooking stands strong and tall and is able to challenge the international cuisines in the arena we call the Culinary Olympics. Over the past 20 years, American chefs have competed with European chefs and have won countless awards. Surprisingly enough, American food prepared by American chefs has won more gold medals than any European cuisine. It is time we revere American regional cooking with the same enthusiasm so often held for European cuisine. The time has come for us to spotlight American cooking traditions, styles, and innovations. Why should we make pilgrimages to Europe in search of the latest food trends, when we have exceptional cuisine right here in the United States'...American chefs should be commended for their freedom of expression. It is this freedom of expression, this imagination and creativity, which has propelled American regional cooking into the forefront of the great world cuisines and shifted the center of gastronomy away from Europe to the United States." -from American Regional Cooking for 8 or 50
American Regional Cuisine by
"What follows is insight into, and details of, what makes each American culinary region unique. Once you prepare these dishes and take a bite, the flavors and tastes will reinforce everything you read. It's a history, anthropology, and cooking class all in one!" --From the Foreword by Chef Martin Yan, TV host of Yan Can Cook This remarkable new edition of American Regional Cuisine celebrates the diversity, distinction, and delectable essences of American cooking--from New England Clam Chowder to Carolina Pulled Pork Barbecue, from Floribbean Grouper with Black Bean, Jicama, and Corn Salsa to San Francisco Cioppino. This Second Edition features a wealth of fascinating history about each region, and more than forty color photographs showing cooking techniques and finished dishes. American Regional Cuisine, Second Edition is both a goldmine of attention-getting recipes and a guidebook to the finest regional American cooking. It features over 250 savory and sweet recipes of the most popular and memorable dishes from eleven regional culinary traditions--including Cajun and Creole cuisine, Tex-Mex cuisine, and the cuisines of California and Hawaii. Organized by region, these recipes are drawn from every part of the menu, offering a range of complete meals for each culinary style. Everyone from professional chefs and culinary students to serious home cooks will find that the clear, easy-to-follow instructions leave nothing to chance when preparing these mouthwatering recipes.
The Art of Eating In by 
Betty Crocker's Casual Country Cooking by 
Cooking with Bon Appetit by
Collection of more than 200 recipes that celebrates the diversity of our regional dishes -- from Chesapeake Oysters & Smithfield Ham en Brochette to Sweet Potato Pecan Torte with Maple Cream.
The New American Cuisine by 
