This module meets the American Culinary Federation certification standards for Safety & Sanitation and Supervision & Management. Students will concentrate on foundational concepts that reflect the structure in which a professional kitchen is operate. Topics of instruction will include culinary concepts, safety and sanitation, product identification, and cost management. Supervision, staffing, and leadership skills will be explored.
Credo Reference helps you start your research on food and nutrition with subject-specific dictionaries, culinary histories, and information on nutritional science.
Controlling Foodservice Costs by
Appropriate for Cost Control courses within Culinary Arts and Hospitality Management departments. A Competency Guide and exam which is focused on Controlling Foodservice Costs. This Competency Guide includes essential content focused on Controlling Foodservice Costs., plus learning activities, case studies, professional profiles, research topics and more. Designed to support a core textbook or function as a standalone text with ancillaries to provide students with marketable management skills for a career within the Culinary Arts and Foodservice industry. The exam can be taken in either a paper-and-pencil or online format. The exam format is selected at the time of purchase. The Competency Guide and exam is part of the NRAEF ManageFirst Programfrom the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation. This management training program is based on a set of competencies defined by the restaurant, hospitality and foodservice industry as those needed for success. This competency-based program includes 10 topics each with a Competency Guide, exam, Instructor Resources, certificate and credential.* sheet. If you would like to order the Competency Guide with an online exam voucher click here. For additional information about the NRAEF ManageFirstTM Program please visit www.prenhall.com/managefirst. *Certificate awarded upon successful exam completion. NRAEF ManageFirst ProfessionalaCredential awarded upon successful completion of five required ManageFirst exams and fulfillment of industry work experience requirement.
Cooking by
Key features of this new Sixth Edition include: * Over 100 new, fully tested recipes * A brand new chapter on vegetarian cuisine, featuring different types of vegetarian diets * Expanded and updated information, such as a con-temporary look at presenting and garnishing food and a detailed history of modern food service * Nearly 1,200 illustrations-including over 100 new photographs-highlight ingredients, step-by-step techniques, and plated dishes in splendid visual detail * Completely revised, updated, and expanded vegetable chapters feature additional product identification and cooking techniques, as well as new recipes * Revised and expanded Nutrition chapter features the new USDA nutritional guidelines * Stunning new design-helpful sidebars and dedicated chapters on menus, recipes, and cost management; cooking with legumes, grains, and pastas; breakfast preparation; dairy; and beverages * New culinarE-Companion recipe management software features user-friendly navigation and robust content
Culinary Competitions by
More than a book of rules and regulations, American CulinaryFederation Guide to Competitions provides an insider?slook at culinary competitions, endorsed by the American CulinaryFederation (ACF) and written by longtime member and leading forceon the ACF Culinary Team USA, Edward Leonard. Highly illustrativecoverage gives readers insights, hints, and expert techniques tohelp them achieve winning results at hot, cold, specialty, andsponsor competitions. American Culinary Federation Guide to Competitionsfeatures a full-color insert of competitive food displays anddozens of illustrations outlining plate and buffet presentation tosupplement exceptional coverage of every step of competing,including: The application process Practice and preparation Presentation Culinary techniques and fundamentals Culinary strategy for hot food competitions The market basket Judging Hosting a show Pastry displays Rules, guidelines, and categories The international arena
Leadership Lessons from a Chef by
"Chef Charles Carroll has answered our prayers and delivered abook, a bible, a life's journal shared by a real chef in today'smodern kitchen." ?Chef John Folse, CEC, AAC "From time to time, I buy motivational books for my managingpartners and chefs, and this book is my all-time favorite gift.What Chef Carroll has to say is the real thing." ?Johnny Carrabba, founder, Carrabba's Restaurant Leadership Lessons from a Chef is about creatingexcellence in the professional kitchen. Here the difference betweengood and great comes down to the details, and attention to thesedetails comes from the right attitude reaching across all staff. Agood culinary manager, according to author and award-winningCertified Executive Chef Charles Carroll, skillfully cultivatesthis attitude for success, and so leads the way toward kitchenexcellence. Using stories and examples drawn from his many years'experience, Chef Carroll gives you a leader's tour through theworking kitchen. Offering proven wisdom in plainspoken termsinstead of abstract management theories, the practical tools andideas found in this groundbreaking book can be used immediately tomotivate and develop an effective team environment among kitchenstaffs.
Profitable Menu Planning by
For sophomore/senior-level courses in Menu Planning, Food Production, Food Management. Exceptionally thorough, this text offers single-volume coverage of ALL aspects of menu planning--from determining who the customer is, to how to market the menu to them, available kitchen equipment, recipe costs, how to make a profit, figuring selling prices, menu analysis, nutrition, printing the menu (including desktop publishing), menu accuracy and all of the different types of menus (from fast food to fine dining). Hands-on and real-world in approach, it features accompanying interactive software with specific examples of costing, mark-ups and menu engineering.
Supervision in the Hospitality Industry by
* Covers all areas related to managing employees in foodservice and hotel operations, from communication, recruitment, and training to performance evaluation, discipline issues, and delegation. * Each chapter features new, up-to-date material. * Expanded coverage of hospitality organizations through case studies and hotel industry examples.
