Baking and Pastry Specialist BPS: Food and Nutrition

By providing an up-to-date and visually appealing understanding of important issues around global food and agriculture, this text maps out broad areas of investigation--contamination of food and water, overnutrition, micronutrient deficiency, processing, farming, and trade--to offer a concise overview of today's food and farming concerns.

In this lively book, Meg Muckenhoupt traces cabbage's culinary paradox, exploring the cultural and chemical basis for its smelly reputation and enduring popularity.

This enlarged and enhanced reference volume was written for both the discerning home chef and those who want to become more knowledgeable about good food and elegant dining. This 2nd edition is updated with new information to reflect the way we eat in today's world. The authors have taken into account our healthier lifestyles and more diverse palates.

Gives short definitions of terms, many of non-English origin, so that the chef and the amateur enthusiast, the gastronome and the student may quickly determine the meaning.

Michael Owen Jones traces the transportation of corn to the Old World by Christopher Columbus, and its rapid distribution throughout Europe, Africa, and Asia that followed.

Follow the story from the prehistoric up to the present day, discovering how the oyster became the food of both paupers and kings, contributed to the building of empires and the demise of ecosystems, and why it may be the creature to help save the world's dying coastal shorelines and reefs.

In this globe-trotting book, Davison discovers how pickles have been omnipresent in our common quest, not only to conserve, but to create foods with relish.

Looks at how something made from water, sugar and soda became big business but also became deeply important to people; fizzy drinks' symbolic meanings are far more complex than the water, gas and sugar from which they are made.

From marzipan pigs and nutty nougat to bubblegum and bonbons, Sweets and Candy looks behind the glamour and sparkle to explore the sticky history of confectionery.

First published in 1983, this work by John Mariani has long been the go-to book on all things culinary. In addition to updates on food trends and other changes to American gastronomy since 1999, now includes biographical entries, both historical and contemporary, from Fanny Farmer and Julia Child to the Galloping Gourmet and James Beard to current high-profile players Mario Batali and Danny Meyer, among more than one hundred others.

Provides comprehensive coverage of the taxonomy, botany, chemistry, functional properties, medicinal uses, culinary uses and safety issues relating to over 250 species of herbs and spices. These herbs and spices constitute an important agricultural commodity; many are traded globally and are indispensable for pharmaceuticals, flavouring foods and beverages, and in the perfumery and cosmetic industries.

Fungipedia presents a delightful A--Z treasury of mushroom lore.

Most comprehensive reference work on the idea of the sweet ever published, with entries on all aspects of sweetness, including chemical, technical, social, cultural, and linguistic.

Sarah Worth asserts that taste is a sense that needs educating, for the real pleasures of eating only come with an understanding of what one really likes.

This QA International series provides a valuable overview through videos and animations of modern nutrition, with contributions from experts in the field.

This Visual Guide answers the most important questions on plants through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.

Reviews the latest findings, results from on-the-ground programs and interventions, and recent policy experiences from countries around the world that are bringing the agriculture and nutrition sectors closer together.

Beginning with the science underpinning food fermentations, the author looks at the relevant aspects of microbiology and microbial physiology before covering individual foodstuffs and the role of fermentation in their production, as well as the possibilities that exist for fermentation's future development and application.

Presents authoritative, comprehensive information on special diets, popular diets, dietary concerns, nutrition basics, and effects of dietary choices on health. All entries are presented in a standardized and balanced format. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influenced the practice, and any public and regulatory concerns associated with the diet.

Explains the often confusing (and sometimes contradictory) language and measurements on food labels and in food marketing, and provides information in a more reader-friendly way than an FDA report can.

Provides clear, concise nutritional guidance about smart eating and lifestyle choices. Updated with the latest data and statistics, this A-to-Z resource is essential for learning the basics about how food choices can help maintain optimum health and beat diseases.

Created with a nationally recognized advisory board of medical professionals and leading figures in natural healing fields, this text covers topics ranging from the familiar to the new and promising: from mint tea for a stomachache to onion juice for a bee sting, from using baking soda as a kitchen cleanser to finding quiet in a crowded world, from adding turmeric to fight arthritis to practicing aromatherapy at home.

From herbs, oils and vitamins to yoga, healing remedies, and belly laughs, this book explores hundreds of ancient remedies, natural therapies, and nature's medicine cabinet. This comprehensive guide to nature-based health and well-being includes the most current knowledge, information, and science behind a natural diet and lifestyle to promote wellness.

Thousands of entries provide coverage on every possible food, its history, cultural significance, and culinary usage.

Terms related to leisure, travel and tourism, ranging from hotels, catering, restaurants and customer service to general business, accounting and personnel concepts.

This is the first full length dictionary of Leisure Studies. It examines the key concepts, assesses the work of central figures, and helps students zero-in on essential issues and conceptual distinctions.

Covers all of the relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from both a sectoral level (including: Lodging, Restaurants, Clubs, Time-shares, and Conventions), as well as a functional one (covering Accounting & finance, Marketing, Human resources, Information technology and Facilities management).

Provides a student-friendly guide to the key debates in leisure studies.