LibGuides: LIRN Library: A Database Guide: Citation Tools

LIRN Library Citation Related Videos

Sharing and Saving in LIRNSearch

Sharing and Saving in LIRNSearch from LIRN on Vimeo.

LIRNSearch has several tools to support the sharing and saving of results. (1:41 min.)

LIRNPortal Link Encoder

LIRNPortal Link Encoder from LIRN on Vimeo.

The LIRN link encoder, found under the “Tools” tab of your LIRNPortal, encodes the link and applies a prefix that directs users to your institution's login for access. (4:33 min.)

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free reference manager that can help you store, organize, note, share and cite references and research data:：

Automatically generate bibliographies
Collaborate easily with other researchers online
Easily import papers from other research software
Find relevant papers based on what you're reading
Access your papers from anywhere online

Mendeley Support Center

Mendeley Cite
Seamlessly insert references and bibliographies into your document using our citation add-in for Microsoft® Word.
Mendeley Data
Mendeley Data is a free and secure cloud-based communal repository where you can store your data, ensuring it is easy to share, access and cite, wherever you are.
Mendeley Reference Manager
Mendeley Reference Manager simplifies your workflow, so you can focus on achieving your goals.
Mendeley Web Importer
Import papers, web pages and other documents directly into your reference library from search engines and academic databases. Mendeley Web Importer is available for all major web browsers.

Getting started with Mendeley Cite
This guide helps you start using Mendeley Cite to speed up the process of referencing when writing
Getting started with Mendeley Desktop
This guide will provide you with the basics to get you up and running fast.
Getting started with Mendeley Reference Manager
This guide helps you start using Mendeley Reference Manager to save time managing your references
Using the Citation Plugin
In addition to helping you manage your materials and organise your research, Mendeley can significantly speed up the process of writing your own papers. The Citation Plugin allows you to quickly and easily cite materials that you’ve added to your Mendeley library - as well as generating a full bibliography of the materials you’ve referenced in the paper. Best of all, it allows you to completely restyle all of the references you’ve inserted into a paper with just a couple of clicks.
more...less...
• It is a free, simple plugin for Microsoft Word (Windows, Mac) or Libre Office (All platforms).
• Allows you to quickly and easily insert styled citations to reference materials from your Mendeley Library.
• Automatically generates a bibliography for your paper using all the materials you’ve cited.
• Pick from a huge and growing library of citation styles and easily restyle all citations in a paper with a few clicks.
CSL Editor
Use Mendeley's CSL Editor to modify and create citation style languages - allowing you to style your citations and bibliography to your precise requirements.
Mendeley Groups
Mendeley's groups offer a number of enhanced features to aid collaboration. Groups allow you to share the full text of PDF documents you add to the group. This allows other group members to look at exactly the same documents as you - useful when working together on a project.
Citation Hub
Learn how to write references with our series of guides on APA, MLA 8 and Harvard citation. Our guides cover both in-text and reference list citations for a range of source types including books, articles, websites, and more. Our ultimate cheat sheet brings all these guides together into an easy-to-use, comprehensive document.

U.S. Section 508 Standards of the Federal Rehabilitation Act
IT Accessibility Laws and Policies.
more...less...
https://www.mendeley.com/accessibility
World Wide Web Consortium's Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.1 Level AA.
Mendeley features, content and functions are designed to be accessible by all users and devices. Our Mendeley team consists of developers and user-centered designers who conduct usability testing and accessibility assessments of navigation, flow, labels and consistency. We test Mendeley on a variety of devices and with assistive technology including JAWS screen reader, NVDA, keyboard-only and a variety of browser testing tools.
Mendeley VPAT
For a detailed review of how Mendeley supports of each of the WCAG 2.0 and Section 508 criteria, please refer to our Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT) document.
Elsevier's Accessibility Policy
Elsevier owns Mendeley
Elsevier Accessibility Checklist Tool
Use the Elsevier Accessibility Checklist Tool help test your organization's sites for compliance.
Access Text Network
The AccessText Network is a conduit between the publishing world and colleges and universities across the country, with a shared mission to ensure students with disabilities have equal access to their textbooks in an electronic format and in a timely manner. Founded and supported by the Association of American Publishers and leading textbook publishers, AccessText works with its members to ensure its services meet the needs of students, publishers, colleges, and other stakeholders.
more...less...
accessibility@elsevier.com

Mendeley Videos

Mendeley Minutes

A quick tutorial on how to organize your Mendeley library (3: min.)

How To Use Mendeley 2023 (Including Web Importer & Cite) - Full Tutorial With Examples

Learn how to use Mendeley reference manager, Mendeley Web Importer and Mendeley Cite - all in less than 20 minutes! This comprehensive, up-to-date tutorial will provide you with everything you need to get started with Mendeley. We explain all the functionality in simple terms and use loads of examples so that you can see Mendeley reference manager in action. (21:17 min.)

Comparing EndNote, Mendeley, and Zotero

Choosing citation management software and something to organize research materials requires a bit of thought. This video will provide brief overviews of the strengths and weaknesses of three popular options: EndNote, Mendeley, and Zotero. (5:40 min.)