LIRNPortal Search Boxes from LIRN on Vimeo.
The LIRNSearch boxes are a powerful part of your LIRNPortal, giving you the ability to quickly and easily search multiple subject-related databases at once. (1:14 min.)
Basic Keyword Searching in LIRNSearch from LIRN on Vimeo.
A basic keyword search in LIRNSearch will lead you to many results. Learn how to narrow your search to the most important concepts (= keywords) in your topic, as well as how to use truncation to search for word variations. While this is demoed in LIRNSearch, these search strategies can be used in many other databases. (1;32 min.)
Advanced Keyword Searching in LIRNSearch from LIRN on Vimeo.
An advanced keyword search in LIRNSearch will lead you to more relevant results. Here's how to nest keywords and synonyms to create an advanced search string. While this is demoed in LIRNSearch, these search strategies can be used in many other databases. (1:50 min.)
Looking at Results in LIRNSearch from LIRN on Vimeo.
As you review your LIRNSearch results, there are various tools on the page to help you. (1:29 min.)
Limit by Database in LIRNSearch from LIRN on Vimeo.
Instead of navigating to individual databases on your LIRNPortal, you can limit to individual databases within LIRNSearch. (2:32 min.)
LIRNSearch Limiters from LIRN on Vimeo.
When reviewing LIRNSearch results, you may wish to remove duplicate entries or specific entries from your results. (1:13 min.)
Looking at Records in LIRNSearch from LIRN on Vimeo.
When looking at individual records in your LIRNSearch results, there are ways to see more information. (1:30 min.)
Sharing and Saving in LIRNSearch from LIRN on Vimeo.
LIRNSearch has several tools to support the sharing and saving of results. (1:41 min.)
Navigating LIRNPortal from LIRN on Vimeo.
LIRNPortal collects all of the individual databases to which your institution subscribes, offering three views: alphabetical, subject, and vendor views. (1:40 min.)
Let’s take a look at one of the results in our search. As you can see below we can see the TITLE, AUTHOR, SOURCE, and further KEYWORDS and SUBJECTS to further refine your search results. Each of the underline terms will change the Result Page using these new terms. LIRN Library has duplicates articles available in the Gale databases and Open Access Resources. Results using LIRN Library can be saved, sent by email, exported or printed. For collaboration, taking Notes, saving to the Cloud, Sharing on Social Media, or accessing audio narration Text-to-Speech Options are available in inside the databases.
Click on the article TITLE to see more detailed information. Again, you can see the TITLE, AUTHOR, and SOURCE. By clicking the blue hyperlinks, users can search articles by the same author, Publication Index, related articles, and subject. An ABSTRACT is a brief summary of the article, allowing you to see what the article is about without reading the whole thing. DISPLAY OPTIONS include Language Translation, Changing the Font Size & color or listen to an audio file. Sources can be saved to the Cloud, emailed, downloaded or printed out. CITATIONS can be copy & pasted or exported into Reference Managers (i.e EasyBib, Zotero, etc.)
