Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning HVAC: Books & eBooks

Updated to the latest ANSI, ISO, AWS, and ASME standards, this 50th Anniversary Edition helps individuals develop skills in reading and interpreting industrial drawings and in preparing simple technical sketches. It is written to be a consumable, interactive text/workbook that provides basic principles, concepts, ANSI and SI Metric drafting symbols and standards, terminology, manufacturing process notes, and other related technical information contained on a mechanical or CAD drawing. Each unit features a basic principle and at least one blueprint and assignment that encourages users to practice newly learned skills.

For introductory Blueprint Reading courses geared to students in the manufacturing trades, such as Machine Operators, General Machinists, and Tool and Die Machinists. This self-contained text is designed to be the only manual any student will need to learn the skills necessary to read manufacturing blueprints. Beginning with the basics of blueprint reading, the book presents each topic in a clear, straightforward manner so that no prior knowledge is necessary in order to understand the subject. The charts, tables, and glossary of terminology provided are all the source material a student needs to successfully complete the course work.

Learn how to read and use blueprints like a pro! Air conditioning drawings and hands-on exercises are the main focus of this new book, designed to help readers master the basics of blueprint reading and apply their new skills to work in the HVAC trade. Ideal for both technical students and entry-level HVAC field technicians alike, Blueprints and Plans for HVAC, 2E begins by reviewing basic mathematic procedures and safety considerations. Chapters that follow provide opportunities to gain first-hand experience in key areas, such as: using the architect's and engineer's scale, creating and using working and construction drawings, freehand sketching and drafting with instruments, and more! The final section of this all-inclusive book goes beyond basic concepts, enabling users to gain valuable skills in reading and interpreting architectural, ductwork, mechanical, electrical, and plumbing plans.

This exceptionally produced trainee guide features a highly illustrated design, technical hints and tips from industry experts, review questions and a whole lot more! Key content includes: Orientation to the Electrical Trade, Electrical Safety, Introduction to Electrical Circuits, Electrical Theory, Introduction to the National Electrical code®, Device Boxes, Hand Bending, Raceways and Fittings, Conductors and Cables, Basic Electrical Construction Drawings, Residential Electrical Services, and Electrical Test Equipment.   Instructor Supplements Instructors: Product supplements may be ordered directly through OASIS athttp://oasis.pearson.com. For more information contact your Pearson NCCER/Contren Sales Specialist at http://nccer.pearsonconstructionbooks.com/store/sales.aspx. Annotated Instructor's Guide (AIG) Paperback 0-13-604463-8 AIG Loose-Leaf 0-13-604464-6 AIG Paperback + Contren Connect Access Code PACKAGE 0-13-606160-5 AIG Contren Connect Access Code ONLY 0-13-605638-5 Computerized Testing Software 0-13-605533-8 Transparency Masters 0-13-605596-6 PowerPoint® Presentation Slides 0-13-605534-6 Additional Trainee Workbooks 0-13-606183-4

This exceptionally produced trainee guide features a highly illustrated design, technical hints and tips from industry experts, review questions and a whole lot more! Key content includes: Alternating Current, Motors: Theory and Application, Electric Lighting, Conduit Bending, Pull and Junction Boxes, Conductor Installations, Cable Tray, Conductor Terminations and Splices, Grounding and Bonding, Circuit Breakers and Fuses, and Control Systems and Fundamental Concepts.   Instructor Supplements Instructors: Product supplements may be ordered directly through OASIS at http://oasis.pearson.com. For more information contact your Pearson NCCER/Contren Sales Specialist at http://nccer.pearsonconstructionbooks.com/store/sales.aspx. Annotated Instructor's Guide (AIG) Paperback 0-13-604468-9 AIG Loose-Leaf 0-13-604469-7 AIG Paperback + Contren Connect Access Code PACKAGE 0-13-606162-1 AIG Contren Connect Access Code ONLY 0-13-605679-2 Computerized Testing Software 0-13-605535-4 Transparency Masters 0-13-605597-4 PowerPoint® Presentation Slides 0-13-605537-0 Additional Trainee Workbooks 0-13-606184-2

The revision of this highly popular trainee guide features a complete update to the 2008 NEC® and three new modules! In addition, Electrical Level 3 features a highly illustrated design, technical hints and tips from industry experts, review questions and a whole lot more! Key content includes: Load Calculations -- Branch Circuits, Conductor Selection & Calculations, Practical Applications of Lighting (NEW!), Hazardous Locations, Overcurrent Protection, Distribution Equipment, Transformers, Commercial Electrical Services (NEW!), Motor Calculations, Voice, Data, & Video (NEW!), and Motor Controls.

Electricity, Electronics and Wiring Diagrams for HVACR is a complete, simple, and up-to-date guide to the essentials of electricity and electronics for technicians working in today's HVACR field. Part I gives students a firm foundation in the electrical and electronics concepts utilized in HVACR. Then, using these concepts, Part II presents a wide variety of practical circuits and systems, addressing the challenges HVACR technicians are likely to encounter most often. Building on the diagrams and solutions provided here, students will be able to address even the most complex circuits and problems they will encounter in the field. New topics in this edition include Kirchoff's Law, Vector Analysis of AC Circuits, high-efficiency ECM motors, and remote control thermostats. Designed for simplicity, this text presents clear objectives, easy-to-understand explanations, and well-focused review questions.

Electricity for HVACR was written to help aspiring technicians with no electrical experience or training to understand the operation of HVACR electrical circuits. The text avoids theoretical discussions of circuits in order to focus on its main goal-showing students how to diagnose and solve electrical problems in HVACR systems. Using the spiral-learning concept, each new unit of the text builds on content learned from the previous unit. From how to use diagnostic tools and instruments safely to understanding diagrams and even coverage of the green ECM motor, the text's many examples, tips, and step-by-step instruction help students learn to apply troubleshooting skills to real electrical problems.

After 16 textbooks, 26 editions, and 19 years of front-line education experience, best selling author Nigel Cook's new book makes the world of electronics easily accessible in one complete guide. Employing his now renowned reader-friendly practical approach, this single volume provides comprehensive coverage of the three electronics fundamental courses; DC/AC, DEVICES and DIGITAL. An introductory unit overviews the electronics industry, details the product development process, and outlines responsibilities and requirements of different technician job types. For individuals interested in the study of DC/AC, devices, and digital electronics.

Now in paperback--the extraordinary New York Times bestselling guide packed with 2,000 time and money saving tips on everything from laundry to gardening, pet care to pest control, painting to plumbing--topped off with the unique Easy-Find index for finding answers fast.

How to stay cool when customers get hot.

Modern Plumbing provides students with information on the design, installation, and service of today's sophisticated plumbing systems. The text provides basic information about safety, tools, materials, equipment, procedures, and career opportunities in the plumbing field. To enhance learning, the text is written in simple language and is heavily illustrated. * Thorough coverage of piping materials and their installation. * Expanded chapters on maintaining and repairing DWV and water supply systems. * Full-color illustrations used throughout.

Created with a clear-cut vision of necessary knowledge, this groundbreaking text provides comprehensive coverage of heating, ventilating, air conditioning, and refrigeration. Lauded as a reader-friendly text that delivers fundamental concepts, the most current trends, and practical applications with simple language and skillfully presented concepts, F undamentals of HVACR, 2nd edition boasts carefully selected artwork and the right amount of detail. This book is everything readers need to know to install, service, and maintain HVACR systems.

This manual prepares HVAC-R technicians with the knowledge needed to respond professionally to current and future environmental challenges. It begins with discussion of HVAC fundamentals and core topics, such as: refrigerant chemistry, oils, ozone depletion, global warming, and the Montreal protocol. Subsequent sections, each conveniently organized around a specific certification type, allow readers to delve into specific technical information, regulations, and procedures pertaining to small appliances; recovery, recycling, and reclaim; and chillers. Relevant forms, logs, and reports, plus a comprehensive glossary, are also included in handy appendices. In a field where technology change is the norm, and regulations are increasingly requiring HVAC-R technicians to adopt new procedures in order to contend with environmental problems, this manual serves as both an effective test preparation guide and an indispensable professional field reference.

Designed to provide a basic, straightforward overview of the concepts and principles of HVAC and refrigeration, this book is ideal for readers with a limited amount of experience in the field. Refrigeration Principles, Practices and Performance begins with an introduction to the basics of refrigeration and HVAC, and then quickly progresses into specific equipment components, eliminating overly technical and lengthy information that is found in many traditional industry books. The focus on presenting the essentials with a simple, easy-to-understand approach makes this book valuable for any reader seeking to master and apply basic refrigeration and HVAC principles.

Now in full-color, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Technology 3E covers virtually every type of system, providing not only an exceptional teaching tool but a vital reference long after a course is completed. Starting with the basics, each chapter builds the reader s knowledge to a professional level, offering extensive full-color illustrations, step-by-step instructions and an array of tips and case studies for use on the job.

Practical Problems for Heating And Cooling Technicians, 6th Edition gives you the essential quantitative skills to get ahead in the HVAC field today! This text condenses critical mathematical theories into short, easily understood sections, and illustrates every concept with multiple examples and practice problems drawn from tasks technicians perform on the job every day. Loaded with helpful visual features and study aids, Practical Problems for Heating And Cooling Technicians, 6th Edition puts key information at your fingertips with critical formula conversion charts, a glossary of the latest HVAC-specific terms, hands-on exercises, and optional supplemental tools designed to build your skills and confidence.

Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Technology, 6th Edition, a time-honored best seller, has been updated and revised to provide superior hands-on information needed to successfully maintain and troubleshoot today's complex heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration systems. The new sixth edition contains units updated to include advances or changes in technology, procedures, and or equipment. Over 250 new images have been added to emphasize the practical application approach to the book. It fosters a solid foundation and understanding of environmental problems and their solutions, and displays a depth and detail of theory, diagnostics, and repair procedures that make this a fitting book for basic HVAC-R education as well as upgrading and certification training for technicians in the field.

Develop the knowledge and skills you need to maintain and troubleshoot today's complex heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration systems with REFRIGERATION AND AIR CONDITIONING TECHNOLOGY, 8th Edition. This practical, easy-to-understand book provides hands-on guidance, practical applications, and the solid foundation you need to fully understand today's HVAC service and repair, its environmental challenges, and their solutions. Focused on sustainable technology in today's HVAC/R industry with an emphasis on new technologies and green awareness, the 8th Edition covers the latest advances in the industry and the all-important soft skills and customer relations issues that impact customer satisfaction and employment success. Memorable examples, more than 260 supporting photos, and unique Service Call features bring concepts to life and help you develop the critical skills you need for success in your future career.Now available with this text is The Complete HVAC Lab Manual, which features over 250 lab exercises, covering 15 topic areas. See the supplements section for more details.

Electricity for HVACR was written to help aspiring technicians with no electrical experience or training to understand the operation of HVACR electrical circuits. The text avoids theoretical discussions of circuits in order to focus on its main goal-showing students how to diagnose and solve electrical problems in HVACR systems. Using the spiral-learning concept, each new unit of the text builds on content learned from the previous unit. From how to use diagnostic tools and instruments safely to understanding diagrams and even coverage of the green ECM motor, the text's many examples, tips, and step-by-step instruction help students learn to apply troubleshooting skills to real electrical problems.

Electricity, Electronics and Wiring Diagrams for HVACR is a complete, simple, and up-to-date guide to the essentials of electricity and electronics for technicians working in today's HVACR field. Part I gives students a firm foundation in the electrical and electronics concepts utilized in HVACR. Then, using these concepts, Part II presents a wide variety of practical circuits and systems, addressing the challenges HVACR technicians are likely to encounter most often. Building on the diagrams and solutions provided here, students will be able to address even the most complex circuits and problems they will encounter in the field. New topics in this edition include Kirchoff's Law, Vector Analysis of AC Circuits, high-efficiency ECM motors, and remote control thermostats. Designed for simplicity, this text presents clear objectives, easy-to-understand explanations, and well-focused review questions.