LibGuides: Heating, Ventilation &amp; Air Conditioning HVAC: Internet Resources

Gale Directory Library

Gale Directory Library
Gale is the trusted source for authoritative directories on companies, publishers, associations and more. These directories are now available online in the Gale Directory Library. This online resource takes these references off the shelf and makes them available at the click of a mouse 24/7.

HVAC News & Connections

Air Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration News
HVACR's weekly magazine that rovides air conditioning, heating and refrigeration resources from all branches of the industry, including residential, commercial and industrial. Established in 1926.
Contractor Magazine
Find articles, information and best practices for many topics. Sample topics are plumbing, piping, hydronics systems, heating, geothermal.
HPAC Engineering
Find articles covering the latest information on HVACR technologies, techniques and tools.
HVAC Web Connection
A community of seven HVAC and plumbing networks where you can find industry specific content such as current news, new products, industry events, training opportunities and more.

Federal and State Resources

California Department of Consumer Affairs DCA
The Department of Consumers Affairs (DCA) administers more than 3.9 million licenses in more than 280 license types including certificates, registrations and permits, from architects to accountants, dentists to veterinarians. DCA protects and serves consumers in many ways:
California Energy Commission Data
Databases - Energy Consumption Database - Power Generation and Sources - Energy Almanac - Energy Maps of California - Wind Energy in California
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations. You can search it online using the link above, and you can also find this book in print behind the reference desk in the Business and Career Center at the Central Library.
Oregon BCD Licensing
Oregon does not have an HVAC-specific license. Instead, the Oregon Construction Contractors Board requires HVAC technicians and installers to hold a Limited Energy Class B (LE/B) license. As an LE/B, you must work for an electrical contractor, a limited energy contractor, or for an employer in an industrial plant.
Refrigeration Service Engineers Society (RSES)
Since 1933, RSES has been a leader in training and education for professional HVACR technicians and contractors. The ACC HART Department is a member of RSES.

General HVAC/R Sites

Here are some general HVAC/R sites of interest that you may want to visit.

HVAC Directory

HVAC/R Companies

Sometimes manufacturers' web pages can be good sources for the latest information on a product. A wide array of information can be found at such sites, such as training information, contact information, and specs of the merchandise. Here are some of the major HVAC/R companies:

HVAC/R Organizations

A good source of information about careers and developments in the HVAC/R industry are the various professional organizations that have been created to support the industry. Take a look at the following national and regional organizations. Also two regional ACCA Chapters in Texas are listed. They have good links to information too.

Air Conditioning, Heating & Refrigeration Institute (AHRI)
The trade association representing more than 350 manufacturers of air conditioning, heating and commercial refrigeration equipment.
The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)
ASHRAE advances technology to serve humanity and promote a sustainable world. Membership is open to any person associated with the field.
Basic HVAC Controls and Energy Codes
Helpful guide on how to apply HVAC control requirements found in building energy codes.
The International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO)
The International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials has been protecting the public’s health and safety for more than eighty years by working in concert with government and industry to implement comprehensive plumbing and mechanical systems around the world. The ACC HART Department is a member of IAPMO.
North American Technician Excellence (NATE)
NATE is an independent, third-party non-profit certification body for HVAC and HVAC/R technicians. Some of the study materials for NATE tests are available in the ACC library.
Refrigeration Service Engineers Society (RSES)
Since 1933, RSES has been a leader in training and education for professional HVACR technicians and contractors. The ACC HART Department is a member of RSES.

Library Databases A-Z

Evaluating Information

How can you tell if a web site is trustworthy or not? It's not always easy, but there are things that you can look for that will help you decide.

Who is the author? Are they qualified to talk about this subject?
How accurate is the information? You may need to compare what you find with another source to answer this question.
Who is the audience? This can influence how much detail is included.
What point of view is being represented? All sites have a bias, but is it obvious or are they trying to hide something?
How up to date is the site? Older information may no longer be accurate.