The Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics takes in all branches of pure and applied mathematics, from algebra to mechanics and from number theory to statistics. Invaluable for students at all levels, it is also a useful and versatile source book for economists, business people, engineers, technicians and scientists of all kinds who use mathematics in the course of their work.
Do you shy away from using numbers? Basic Mathematics can help. An easy-to-follow guide, it will ensure you gain the confidence you need to tackle maths and overcome your fears.
In 50 Maths Ideas You Really Need to Know, Professor Tony Crilly explains in 50 clear and concise essays the mathematical concepts - ancient and modern, theoretical and practical, everyday and esoteric - that allow us to understand and shape the world around us.
Basic College Mathematics by
This text provides a foundation in basic college mathematics, covering whole numbers, fractions and decimals, ratio and proportion, percent, and measurement, and introducing geometry, statistics and probability, and algebra. Emphasis is on applications, interpretation, problem solving, writing, use
FINITE (with Mathematics CourseMate with EBook Printed Access Card) by
Created through a 'student-tested, faculty-approved' review process, FINITE is an engaging and accessible solution to accommodate the diverse lifestyles of today's learners. FINITE uses intriguing, real-world applications relevant to business, economics, life science, and social science majors. This practical approach to mathematics, along with the integration of graphing calculators and Excel spreadsheet explorations, exposes you to the tools you will encounter in future careers. An innovative combination of content delivery both in print and online provides a core text and a wealth of comprehensive multimedia learning assets, including end-of-chapter review cards, downloadable flashcards and practice problems, online video tutorials, solutions to exercises aimed at supplementing learning outside of the classroom. at supplementing learning outside of the classroom.
Fundamental Mathematics Through Applications by
KEY MESSAGE: Presented in a clear and concise style, the Akst/Bragg series teaches by example while expanding understanding with applications that are fully integrated throughout the text and exercise sets. Akst/Bragg's user-friendly design offers a distinctive side-by-side format that pairs each example and its solution with a corresponding practice exercise. The concise writing style keeps readers' interest and attention by presenting the mathematics with minimal distractions, and the motivating real-world applications demonstrate how integral mathematical understanding is to a variety of disciplines, careers, and everyday situations. KEY TOPICS: Whole Numbers, Fractions, Decimals, Basic Algebra: Solving Simple Equations, Ratio and Proportion, Percents MARKET: For all readers interested in Basic Mathematics
The Mathematical Palette by
Be successful in math with THE MATHEMATICAL PALETTE! Written with you in mind, the authors make mathematics enjoyable, relevant, understandable, and informative. Visually engaging, the text features full color pictures of fine art to bring mathematical concepts to life. Everyday applications are included to illustrate the evolution and practicality of math and parallel the creativity of liberal arts majors. Prepare for exams with numerous resources located online and throughout the text such as live online tutoring, tutorials, a book companion website, chapter-ending summaries, reviews, tests, and accurate answer sections.
Mathematics of Interest Rates, Insurance, Social Security, and Pensions by
Intending his textbook as a mathematical adjunct to such business topics as accounting, finance, management, marketing services, computer information systems, and economics, Muksian (mathematics, Bryant College) presents 11 chapters demonstrating the mathematics of simple interest and discount, prac
Mathematics with Applications by 
Math Study Skills by
This mathematics study skills workbook outlines good study habits and provides students with study strategies and tips to improve time management, organization, and test-taking skills.
The Teaching and History of Mathematics in the United States by 
501 Algebra Questions by
High school entrance/exit exams, PSAT, SAT, and GRE, as well as professional and civil service qualifying exams-use algebra questions to test math skills. Using a self-paced, multiple-choice approach that moves from basic questions to more difficult ones, this easy-to-use book can teach you to successfully prepare for all the different types of algebra questions on any standardized test. This book covers the full range of math concepts and properties, including exponents and radicals; algebraic expressions and integers; multiplying and factoring polynomials. There are also plenty of tips on how to avoid careless mistakes and easy to remember strategies for doing your best and improving your math scores.
Elementary and Intermediate Algebra by
"Elementary & Intermediate Algebra, 3e" is part of the latest offerings in the successful "Dugopolski" series in mathematics. The author's goal is to explain mathematical concepts to students in a language they can understand. In this book, students and faculty will find short, precise explanations of terms and concepts written in understandable language. The author uses concrete analogies to relate math to everyday experiences. For example, when the author introduces the Commutative Property of Addition, he uses a concrete analogy that "the price of a hamburger plus a Coke is the same as a Coke plus a hamburger". Given the importance of examples within a math book, the author has paid close attention to the most important details for solving the given topic."Dugopolski" includes a double cross-referencing system between the examples and exercise sets, so no matter which one the students start with, they will see the connection to the other. Finally, the author finds it important to not only provide quality, but also a good quantity of exercises and applications. "The Dugopolski" series is known for providing students and faculty with the most quantity and quality of exercises as compared to any other developmental math series on the market. In completing this revision, Dugopolski feels he has developed the clearest and most concise developmental math series on the market, and he has done so without comprising the essential information every student needs to become successful in future mathematics courses. The book is accompanied by numerous useful supplements, including McGraw-Hill's online homework management system, MathZone.
Elementary and Intermediate Algebra : a Combined Course by 
Intermediate Algebra and Analytic Geometry Made Simple by 
Intermediate Algebra for College Students by
For freshman-level, one- or two- semester courses in developmental algebra. Emphasis on the practical applications of algebra motivates students and encourages them to see algebra as an important part of their daily lives. The new edition emphasises problem solving, incorporating it as a theme throughout the texts.
100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design
1001 Inventions: The Enduring Legacy of Muslim Civilization
Bob Miller's Geometry for the Clueless, 2nd Edition by 
MATH for Liberal Arts (with Arts CourseMate with EBook Printed Access Card) by
Created through a 'student-tested, faculty-approved' review process, involving over 120 students and faculty members, MATH is an engaging and accessible solution that accommodates the busy lifestyles of today's learners at a value-based price. This paperback text offers a full suite of learning aids, including end-of-chapter review cards, downloadable flashcards and practice problems, online video tutorials, solutions to exercises and practice quizzes aimed at supplementing learning outside of the classroom. MATH presents concepts in a visual and approachable way, ideal for combating the math anxiety often found in Liberal Arts Math students. Also available is Cengage Learning's Enhanced WebAssign'a complete online homework management system for students and professors.
Schaum's Outline of Geometry, 5th Edition by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. This all-in-one-package includes more than 650 fully solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills. Plus, you will have access to 25 detailed videos featuring Math instructors who explain how to solve the most commonly tested problems--it's just like having your own virtual tutor! You'll find everything you need to build confidence, skills, and knowledge for the highest score possible. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you 665 fully solved problems Concise explanations of all geometry concepts Support for all major textbooks for geometrycourses Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time--and get your best test scores!
50 Maths Ideas You Really Need to Know by 
Calculus for the Utterly Confused by
An accessible approach to the dreaded subject of calculus. The text provides a logical, friendly, step-by-step guide to college-level calculus for students of business, economics, psychology of life sciences, for example. Key concepts are presented without long, theoretical discussion.
Contemporary Precalculus Through Applications by
The North Carolina School of Science and MathematicsContemporary Precalculus through Applications gives your students a solid grounding in the analysis of elementary functions, plus challenging and thought-provoking applications in realistic modeling situations. Data analysis and connections to discrete mathematics are integrated throughout the text.Students who complete Contemporary Precalculus through Applications can proceed to a calculus course, a statistics course, or to a finite mathematics course.
Functional Approach to Precalculus by 
Precalculus; Fundamentals of Mathematical Analysis by 
Basic Statistics for Business and Economics by
This title covers the essential topics of statistical tools and methods. The concepts are illustrated with solved applied examples. Modern computing tools and applications are introduced, but the text maintains a focus on presenting statistics content rather than technology or programming methods.
Elementary Statistics by
ELEMENTARY STATISTICS, Eighth Edition offers comprehensive coverage of elementary statistics in a language that speaks to today's students. This text goes beyond formulas, offering 'real-world' data and examples that present statistics as a useful tool in real-world applications, e.g. physical and social sciences, business, and engineering. The authors promote the learning of statistics in a context that relates to personal experience. ELEMENTARY STATISTICS features modern ideas by integrating the use of computer output and instruction for every exercise.
Interactive Statistics by
The Middle East Strategic Balance is prepared annually by the Jaffee Center for Strategic Studies, Tel Aviv University, to provide an authoritative and indispensable guide to strategic developments and military capabilities in the Middle East. MESB offers a comprehensive insightful assessment of the complex Middle East strategic environment. Governments and the media pay close attention to the data and analysis, and the work is quoted extensively. #133;Based on unique sources and professional assessment the 2003#150;2004 Strategic Balance presents the most accurate and comprehensive military posture of the countries in the Middle East. Up-to-date figures and information on defense budgets, procurement, equipment holdings, military deployments, WMD listings, and foreign aid; and key components of military force structures such as major changes to the orders of battle, and a survey of personnel, weapons and equipment holdings, non-conventional capabilities and ballistic missiles, are presented in accessible and easy to use formats.
Interpreting Basic Statistics by
* Students get valuable practice in interpreting statistical reporting as it actually appears in journals. In each of the 62 exercises, your students will read a brief excerpt of statistical reporting from a published research article. * Each exercise begins with guidelines for interpreting the statistics in the excerpt. * The questions on the excerpts promote learning by requiring students to · interpret information in tables and figures, · perform simple calculations to further their interpretations, · critique data-reporting techniques, and · evaluate procedures used to collect data. * Each exercise covers a limited number of statistics, making it easy for you to coordinate the exercises with lectures and a main textbook. * The questions in each exercise are divided into two parts: (1) Factual Questions and (2) Questions for Discussion. The factual questions require careful reading for details, while the discussion questions show students that interpreting statistics is more than a mathematical exercise. These questions require them to apply good judgment as well as statistical reasoning in arriving at appropriate interpretations. * Thirteen new exercises interspersed throughout show how to interpret a greater array of statistical reporting.
Interpreting Economic and Social Data by
"Interpreting Economic and Social Data" aims at rehabilitating the descriptive function of socio-economic statistics, bridging the gap between today's statistical theory on one hand, and econometric and mathematical models of society on the other. It does this by offering a deeper understanding of data and methods with surprising insights, the result of the author's six decades of teaching, consulting and involvement in statistical surveys. The author challenges many preconceptions about aggregation, time series, index numbers, frequency distributions, regression analysis and probability, nudging statistical theory in a different direction. "Interpreting Economic and Social Data" also links statistics with other quantitative fields like accounting and geography. This book is aimed at students and professors in business, economics demographic and social science courses, and in general, at users of socio-economic data, requiring only an acquaintance with elementary statistical theory.
Just the Essentials of Elementary Statistics by 
Statistics for the Utterly Confused, 2nd Edition by
Statistics for the Utterly Confused, Second Edition When it comes to understanding statistics, even good students can be confused. Perfect for students in any introductory non-calculus-based statistics course, and equally useful to professionals working in the world, Statistics for the Utterly Confused is your ticket to success. Statistical concepts are explained step-by-step and applied to such diverse fields as business, economics, finance, and more. The message of Statistics for the Utterly Confused is simple: you don't have to be confused anymore. Updated and expanded to give you the latest changes in the field, this up-to-the-minute edition includes many new examples of Excel output, the most widely used of all statistics programs; a new chapter on Analysis of Variance (ANOVA); and 200 additions to the 700 self-testing questions and answers. The expert author's Web site also gives you tons of fresh examples, practice problems, and strategies--so you can go from utterly confused to totally prepared in no time! Inside, you'll discover how to: Grasp the meaning of everyday statistical concepts Find out what's probable and what isn't Read, understand, and solve statistics problems Improve your scores on exams Use your skills in any field
Understandable Statistics by
Reflecting Cengage Learning's commitment to offering value for students, these new hybrid versions feature the same content and coverage found in the full text while delivering end-of-section exercises online in Aplia. Access to Aplia is included with every new text, giving you an interactive learning experience with the convenience of a text that is both brief and affordable.UNDERSTANDABLE STATISTICS: CONCEPTS AND METHODS, Hybrid Package, Tenth Edition, is a thorough, yet accessible program designed to help readers overcome their apprehensions about statistics. The authors provide clear guidance and informal advice while showing the links between statistics and the world, while offering the convenience of a more brief and more affordable text. To reinforce this approach--and make the material interesting as well as easier to understand--the book integrates real-life data from a variety of sources, including journals, periodicals, newspapers, and the Internet. Readers also have opportunities to develop their critical thinking and statistical literacy skills through special features and exercises throughout the text. The use of graphing calculators, Excel®, MINITAB®, and SPSS® is covered for those who wish to learn about these helpful tools.
Becoming a Master Student by
A brief version of the best-selling BECOMING A MASTER STUDENT, the thirteenth edition of BECOMING A MASTER STUDENT: CONCISE, International Edition continues to lead the way in meeting the changing needs of today's learners. With over 150 less pages than the full edition and 2 fewer chapters, BECOMING A MASTER STUDENT: CONCISE contains the key features and tools of the bigger version, such as interactive journaling, a motivational writing style, the Discovery Wheel, Discovery and Intention Journal Entries, Power Process articles, Master Student Profiles, and the Kolb Learning Style Inventory (LSI), that have helped traditional adult learners to identify their strengths and weaknesses, set goals, and practice academic and life skills. In this latest edition, readers will find even more ways to deepen their knowledge of themselves and the world around them with the new Master Students in Action feature, end-of-chapter Skills Snapshot exercises, and new chapters focused directly on Memory and Health.
How Computers Really Work by
"Here at last is the easily-understood yet thoroughly detailed explanation of the inner-workings of microcomputers that you assumed existed but could never find. Every computer user - students, home enthusiasts, programmers; employees of hardware, chip or peripheral manufacturers - anyone who has ever been merely curious about what's inside the computer case - can learn from this jargon-free book. The author takes you on a journey-to-the-center of-the-earth-style tour of the microcomputer, using vivid analogies and illustrations to bring the material to life." "Covering the most basic electrical devices in the computer to the massive artificial intelligence programs which allow computers to reason like human beings, How Computers REALLY Work is the only book of its kind. It deconstructs the computer making it accessible to everyone from a computer professional to a 12 year-old child. How Computers REALLY Work is destined to become a basic title for every school, library, office, or personal reference shelf."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Introduction to Reasoning by 
Logic and Contemporary Rhetoric by MATH for Liberal Arts (with Arts CourseMate with EBook Printed Access Card) by
Created through a 'student-tested, faculty-approved' review process, involving over 120 students and faculty members, MATH is an engaging and accessible solution that accommodates the busy lifestyles of today's learners at a value-based price. This paperback text offers a full suite of learning aids, including end-of-chapter review cards, downloadable flashcards and practice problems, online video tutorials, solutions to exercises and practice quizzes aimed at supplementing learning outside of the classroom. MATH presents concepts in a visual and approachable way, ideal for combating the math anxiety often found in Liberal Arts Math students. Also available is Cengage Learning's Enhanced WebAssign'a complete online homework management system for students and professors.
Reasoning Skills for Law Enforcement Exams by 
The Web of Belief by 
Statistical Reasoning for Everyday Life by 
Calculate with Confidence by
Calculate with Confidence provides a clear consistent format with a step-by-step approach to the calculation and administration of drug dosages. It covers the ratio and proportion, formula, and dimensional analysis methods. This popular text focuses on enhancing the learning experience of students at all curricular levels by making content clinically applicable. Concepts relating to critical thinking, logical thinking, and nursing process are presented throughout. New practice problems have been added throughout this edition and rationales for the answers continue to be provided giving the students a better understanding of principles related to drug dosages. This fifth edition addresses the increasing responsibility of nurses in medication and administration; emphasizes the priority for client care, and presents material that reflects the current scope of the nursing practice. Tips for Clinical Practice boxes call attention to information critical to math calculation and patient safety. Safety Alert boxes highlight issues that may lead to mediation errors and empower you to identify actions that must be taken to avoid calculation errors Chapter review problems test all major topics presented in the chapter. Separate basic math review test allows you to assess and evaluate your understanding of basic math material covered in Unit 1, directing you to review chapters if you miss any of these test questions. Pre-test basic math review tests help you assess your basic math skills and identify areas of strength and weakness in competency of basic math. Comprehensive unit on basic math review offers complete coverage of basic math: roman numerals, fractions, decimals, ratio and proportion, and percentages. NEW! Integration of QSEN information related to patient safety in the Medication Administration chapter and throughout text. NEW! NCLEX-style questions on Evolve help prepare you for the NCLEX-RN Examination. NEW! Content additions and updates includes word problems involving dosages, Critical Thinking Scenarios, a discussion of the concepts regarding safety issues with medication administration, plus significant updates in the insulin, critical care and IV chapters. NEW! Reorganization of Answer Key features answers and the work to practice problems at the end of each chapter rather than in the back of the book.
Clinical Calculations by
This popular resource is still the only text to review all four major drug calculation methods: basic formula, ratio and proportion, fractional equation, and dimensional analysis. Practice problems help readers master each method so they can apply them effectively in practice. Completely updated throughout, this fourth edition provides the latest information on dosage calculations as well as the most current drug dosages.
Essentials of Nursing by
This readable and user-friendly textbook presents the most essential material from Barbara Kuhn Timby’s market-leading textbook, Introductory Medical-Surgical Nursing, Eighth Edition. Essentials of Nursing contains essential medical-surgical content and also includes two units on maternity nursing and pediatric nursing. More than 250 full-color illustrations complement the text. Essentials of Nursing offers LPN/LVN students an easy-to-digest overview of medical-surgical nursing, and is an excellent supplement to Timby’s Fundamental Nursing Skills and Concepts.
Henke's Med-Math by
Now in its Fourth Edition, this renowned text continues to serve the nursing student and practicing nurse by effectively teaching dosage calculation methods. With a systematic, organized approach that progresses from simple to complex problems. Features include self-tests at the end of each new area, with answers provided; and proficiency tests featured at the end of each chapter. The core of the book covers dosage calculation andending chapters cover information basic to drug administration, such as legal and ethical considerations and pharmacokinetics. New features to this edition include full-color illustrations; an accompanying interactive CD-ROM with practice problems; enhanced content on the ratio-proportion method; and, critical thinking case studies.
Math and Meds for the Nurse by
Using a programmed approach, this new book provides essential aides in learning and reviewing basic math and calculations of drugs and solutions. Its five units include: mathematics review, measuring systems and abbreviations, oral and parenteral medications, intravenous medications and fluids, and applications and review. The book also covers the popular ratio-proportion method of calculation.
Mathematics for Health Sciences by
Select topics according to your mathematical ability and chosen health care profession. Begin with a basic math review or move right to deeper concepts, including algebra and geometry, linear equations and graphing, dilutions, solutions, and concentrations, dosage calculations and more! Learn at your own pace with this easy to use math text specifically for the health sciences.
Practical Problems in Mathematics for Health Occupations by
This is an excellent source for practical problems in math for all health careers. The word problems provide actual applications for problems encountered while practicing any of a wide variety of health care careers. Whole numbers, fractions, decimals, metrics, pharmacology, solutions and business concepts of health care are covered. Detailed instructions are offered for each unit as they progressively present problems from simple to complex. This book offers an excellent opportunity for review of required math for licensure and certification examinations in health care careers. This book is authored by our best-selling Diversified Health Occupations author and is ideal as a stand-alone text or to supplement a developmental math book or health occupations text such as Diversified Health Occupations by Louise Simmers. Hints are provided to assist the reader in utilizing the information provided in order to solve the problem successfully. An instructor's guide provides the answers to all problems as well as two comprehensive tests. Supplements Instructor's Manual 0-8273-6772-4 - 8" x 9 1/4", 256 pages, 1 color, paperbound
Quick and Easy Dosage Calculations by
This text applies dimensional analysis to dosage calculations, allowing students and professionals to calculate dosage, intravenous drip rates, patient's daily fluid intakes/requirements and more without having to memorize formulas. Content includes a step-by-step, "how-to" approach, introducing the dimensional analysis method before students begin using it and building on previous chapters' information. Provides numerous examples of dosage calculations using dimensional analysis with commonly prescribed medications as well as actual drug labels. Prevention methods for the common pitfalls associated with dimensional analysis are also presented.
Assessing the Potential of National Strategies for Electronic health Records for Population Health Monitoring and Research by 
Case Studies for Use with Computers in the Medical Office by
This capstone simulation using Medisoft Patient Billing Software, Version 17, gives students enhanced training that fosters superior qualifications for a variety of medical office jobs. Extensive hands-on practice with realistic source documents teaches students to input information, schedule appointments, and handle billing, reports, and other essential tasks. The simulation is recommended for students who have completed the study of Medisoft Advanced Version 17 using Computers in the Medical Office.
Health Information Management Technology by 
Information Management for Health Care Professions by
This valuable resource provides health care professionals with an understanding of the functions of health information management systems, management concepts and practices in the age of the computer-based patient record. It includes coverage of database approaches to health data storage, retrieval, and management of data quality.
Medical Office Management and Technology by
From A to Ziesemer, Medical Office Management and Technology is the text to help student's navigate through their medical office management courses, whether as part of a health information technology, medical administration, or any other allied health program. This text starts at the beginning, with an introduction to new students not familiar with this topic, and works thorugh even the most advanced topics in medical office management. With a special focus on leadership, and a logical progression through the topics, this has the makings of a faculty member's most trusted resource for this course.
Reading LC Call Numbers
QM 23.2
.M348
2001
