When using the Gale databases the following Subject Terms represent the largest search Result Lists:
Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia of American Literature by 
The Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates by
"Here, in one handy volume, are more than 15,000 facts, dates, and events that trace and illuminate all facets of the American experience from early exploration to modern technology, sports to science, fashion to politics, religion to the arts. Covering more than 1,000 years of U.S. history, The Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates records eveiything from the Norse explorers of 986 to Bill Clinton's election in November 1992." "Uniquely arranged in four parallel columns for each year, the book covers: I. Exploration and Settlement, Wars, Government, Civil Rights, Statistics; II. Publishing, Arts and Music, Popular Entertainment, Architecture, Theater; III. Business and Industry, Science, Education, Philosophy and Religion; IV. Sports, Social Issues and Crime, Folkways, Fashion, Holidays." "When you read down the columns you learn about events in chronological order in a single area. When you read across the columns you get a picture of all the important events in all areas for any given year. This dual method of providing information is further supplemented by a superbly detailed and fully cross-referenced index." "Containing a wealth of information - including key dates, vital statistics, important firsts, and more - the Encyclopedia provides, in short, all the details of American life. Most important, it doesn't only give you the facts; it also provides the important background information needed to place those facts in perspective." "The Encyclopedia of American Facts & Dates has been a standard work of American history since it was first published in 1956. Now in its ninth edition, it remains the only chronologically arranged book of American history with both encyclopedic detail and comprehensive coverage. It is the book to turn to for information on all aspects of American life."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science by 
The Handy Math Answer Book by 
Merriam-Webster's Biographical Dictionary by 
Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature by 
Plunkett's Biotech and Genetics Industry Almanac by
Plunkett's Biotech & Genetics Industry Almanac is a complete reference guide to the business side of biotechnology, genetics, proteomics and related services. This new book contains complete profiles of the leading biotech companies, in-depth chapters on trends in biotech, technology, finances and careers, a handy glossary and thorough indexes. New discoveries in biotech and genetics technologies will revolutionize health care in the early 21st Century. Plunkett's Biotech & Genetics Industry Almanac, our easy-to-understand reference to the biotech and genetics industry is an absolutely vital addition to your office. For the first time, in one carefully-researched volume, you'll get all of the data you need including: complete basics, descriptions and statistics, research and development, growth companies, proteomics, genomics, The Human Genome Project, emerging technology, international companies and industry trends. Statistical tables include total patents, funding by source, R&D expenditures and much more-a total of 15 major tables. The book also includes complete profiles on the "Biotech & Genetics 400," our own unique list of companies that are the leaders in biotechnology. These are the 400 largest, most successful corporations in all facets of this exploding business. All of the information is indexed and cross-indexed, including contact names, addresses, Internet addresses, fax numbers, toll-free numbers, plus growth and hiring plans, finances, research, marketing, technology, acquisitions and much more for each firm! Purchasers of either the book or PDF version can request a free copy of the company profiles database on CD-ROM, enabling export of contact names, addresses and more.
