LibGuides: PSY101-PTA : Psychology: Psychological Disorders

Affective (Mood) Disorders

Bipolar Disorder: Topic
Formerly manic-depressive disorder or manic-depression, severe mental disorder involving manic episodes that are usually accompanied by episodes of depression.
Depression: Topic
Depression is commonly used as a definition of an emotion like despondency, dejection or gloom.
Dysthymia
From Encyclopedia of Women's Health
Dysthymic disorder is a chronic mood disorder characterized by depressed mood (extreme irritability in children and teenagers) almost every day for most of the day for at least 2 years in adults and 1 year for children and teenagers.
Postpartum Depression: Topic
Shortly after the birth of a child, many women experience a period of dysphoria known as postpartum blues. It has been estimated that up to 80% of postpartum women experience symptoms of negative mood and affect that sharply contrast with expectations of feeling happy and a sense of accomplishment.
Premenstrual Syndrome
From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Any of various symptoms experienced by women of childbearing age in the days immediately preceding menstruation. It is most common in women in their twenties and thirties.
Seasonal Affective Disorder: Topic
Recurrent fall or winter depression characterized by excessive sleeping, social withdrawal, depression, overeating, and pronounced weight gain.

Compulsive Disorders

Anorexia: Topic
Lack of desire to eat, or refusal to eat, especially the pathological condition of anorexia nervosa, most often found in adolescent girls and young women.
Eating Disorders: Topic
The eating disorders are characterised by overvalued beliefs about the importance of body weight and shape.
Echolalia
From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
Echolalia is a strong, almost mandatory, tendency to repeat spontaneously what has been said by another person (Benson & Ardila, 1996).
Gambling: Topic
The wagering of either money or material goods of value on the outcome of a chance happening, such as roulette or dice-throwing, or where an element of skill can be used to judge the likelihood of an outcome, such as in horse racing or football.
Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD): Topic
Obsessions and compulsions are fairly common mental phenomena that most people have experienced, but they can become severe enough to interfere with one's functioning.
Tourette Syndrome: Topic
Tourette syndrome is a complex debilitating neurological disorder that arises during childhood or adolescence mostly affecting people under the age of 21.

Organic Disorders

Alzheimer's Disease: Topic
Common manifestation of dementia , thought to afflict 1 in 20 people over 65.
Aphasia
From Encyclopedia of Special Education
Everyone with the diagnosis of aphasia has an acquired language disorder, but the type of language disorder and the severity of these difficulties vary.
Delirium
From Encyclopedia of Nursing Research.
Delirium is an acute, fluctuating disturbance of attention with disorganized thinking and altered psychomotor activity (Meagher, MacLullich, & Laurila, 2008). It frequently accompanies acute physical illness and is found in all care settings and all ages.
Dementia
From The Columbia Encyclopedia
progressive deterioration of intellectual faculties resulting in apathy, confusion, and stupor. In the 17th cent. the term was synonymous with insanity, and the term dementia praecox was used in the 19th cent. to describe the condition now known as schizophrenia.
Epilepsy: Topic
A chronic disorder of cerebral function characterized by periodic convulsive seizures. There are many conditions that have epileptic seizures.
Mental Retardation: Topic
Below average level of intellectual functioning, usually defined by an IQ of below 70 to 75, combined with limitations in the skills necessary for daily living.
Parkinson's Disease: Topic
Degenerative disease of the brain characterized by a progressive loss of mobility, muscular rigidity, tremor, and speech difficulties. The condition is mainly seen in people over the age of 50.

Anxiety and Trauma Disorders

Agoraphobia: Topic
Agoraphobia is a psychiatric illness in which individuals are anxious about being in situations where escape may be difficult or embarrassing.
Anxiety: Topic
Anticipatory tension or vague dread persisting in the absence of a specific threat. In contrast to fear, which is a realistic reaction to actual danger, anxiety is generally related to an unconscious threat.
Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID): Topic
According to conventional definitions, it occurs when an individual acquires separate, multiple identities, some of which may be amnesic for others and some of which may have full awareness of the others.
Hysteria: Topic
In psychology, a disorder commonly known today as conversion disorder, in which a psychological conflict is converted into a bodily disturbance.
Panic Disorder: Topic
A panic attack is the sudden onset of intense apprehension, fearfulness, or terror, often associated with feelings of impending doom.
Phobias
From Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
A phobia involves intense fear, triggered by the presence or anticipation of a particular stimulus. Many different kinds of phobias have received special names, including acrophobia (fear of heights), agoraphobia (fear of public places), and claustrophobia (fear of confined spaces).
Post-traumatic Stress Disorder: Topic
(PTSD), mental disorder that follows an occurrence of extreme psychological stress, such as that encountered in war or resulting from violence, childhood abuse, sexual abuse, or serious accident.

Psychotic Disorders

Schizophrenia: Topic
Group of severe mental disorders characterized by reality distortions resulting in unusual thought patterns and behaviors.
Psychosis: Topic
In psychiatry, a broad category of mental disorder encompassing the most serious emotional disturbances, often rendering the individual incapable of staying in contact with reality.
Catatonia
From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Mental state generally characterized by statuesque posturing, muscular immobility, mutism, and apparent stupor. The muscles are held in a pliant state called waxy flexibility, and the catatonic person obediently permits himself to be rearranged into awkward positions that he may subsequently hold for hours.
Thought Disorder
From Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
Thought disorder is typically diagnosed when a patient’s speech is incoherent and unintelligible to the listener. Eugen Bleuler, (1911/1950), who coined the term ‘schizophrenia’, believed it to be the consequence of ‘loosening of the associations’, which he argued is a fundamental symptom of the disorder.

Developmental Disorders

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder: Topic
(ADHD), formerly called hyperkinesis or minimal brain dysfunction, a chronic, neurologically based syndrome characterized by any or all of three types of behavior: hyperactivity, distractibility, and impulsivity.
Autism: Topic
One of a spectrum of disorders defined by problems with communication, imagination, and social interaction. The symptoms may be present from birth or may develop in early childhood, around the third year.
Cerebral Palsy: Topic
Disability caused by brain damage before or during birth or in the first years, resulting in a loss of voluntary muscular control and coordination.
Developmental Disabilities
From Encyclopedia of Special Education
A term representing an umbrella category referring to a diverse group of physical, cognitive, psychological, sensory, and speech impairments that begin anytime during an individual’s development up to 22 years of age.
Dyslexia
From Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
Although the majority of children learn to read without difficulty, a substantial minority (between 4 and 10 percent) have significant problems.
Learning Disabilities
From Encyclopedia of Special Education
Children and adults classified as learning disabled (LD) are those individuals who are of normal intelligence but suffer mental information processing difficulties.
Selective Mutism
From Encyclopedia of Special Education
Selective mutism is a psychological disorder of childhood characterized by total and persistent lack of speech in at least one specific environment (such as the classroom), despite the presence of normal speech in other environments.

Substance Abuse

Addiction: Topic
State of dependence caused by frequent and regular use of drugs, alcohol, or other substances. It is characterized by uncontrolled craving, tolerance, and symptoms of withdrawal when access is denied.
Alcoholism: Topic
Disease characterized by impaired control over the consumption of alcoholic beverages.
Amphetamine: Topic
Any one of a group of drugs that are powerful central nervous system stimulants. Amphetamines have stimulating effects opposite to the effects of depressants such as alcohol, narcotics, and barbiturates.
Cannabis: Topic
Psychoactive substances obtained from Cannabis sativa or Indian hemp are the oldest euphoriants. Also called marijuana, these substances do not usually result in physical DEPENDENCE, but chronic abuse leads to passivity, apathy and inertia
Cocaine: Topic
Alkaloid drug derived from the leaves of the coca shrub. A commonly abused illegal drug, cocaine has limited medical uses.
Designer Drugs
From The Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors
Although there is a long list of drugs that are banned by the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) as Schedule I illegal drugs, underworld chemists constantly seek to develop new drugs that create the same effects of stimulants or hallucinogens or other drugs, but whose chemical formulation has not yet been banned. These are called “designer drugs.”
Ecstasy: Topic
An illegal recreational drug in increasing use since the 1980s. It is a modified amphetamine with mild psychedelic effects, and works by releasing large a mounts of serotonin (a neurotransmitter) from the brain.
Hallucinogens
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Any substance that acts on the central nervous system to produce changes in perception and mood and often hallucinations. Hallucinogens include LSD, peyote, and mescaline. Their effects are unpredictable and they are illegal in most countries.
Heroin: Topic
opiate drug synthesized from morphine (see narcotic). Originally produced in 1874, it was thought to be not only nonaddictive but useful as a cure for respiratory illness and morphine addiction, and capable of relieving morphine withdrawal symptoms.
LSD: Topic
lkaloid synthesized from lysergic acid, which is found in the fungus ergot (Claviceps purpurea). It is a hallucinogenic drug that intensifies sense perceptions and produces hallucinations, mood changes, and changes in the sense of time.
Mescaline
From Black's Medical Dictionary, 42nd Edition
Derived from the Mexican peyote cactus, Anhalonium lewinii, this is a hallucinogen used for many centuries by Indian tribes in Mexico as an intoxicant to produce ecstatic states for religious celebrations. In recent times its ability to produce temporary psychotic symptoms has been used to investigate the mechanism of PSYCHOSIS.
Methamphetamine: Topic
Methamphetamine, or “meth,” is an addictive central nervous system (CNS) stimulant with limited medical value.
Opioid Abuse: Topic
Following an increase in the prevalence of chronic pain and campaigns denouncing inadequate treatment of pain, the past two decades have culminated in what researchers and healthcare advocates are calling an “opioid epidemic” in Canada and the United States where prescription opioid consumption is highest worldwide.
Opium: Topic
Substance derived by collecting and drying the milky juice in the unripe seed pods of the opium poppy, Papaver somniferum. Opium varies in color from yellow to dark brown and has a characteristic odor and a bitter taste.
Overdose
From Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
An overdose is the accidental or intentional use of a drug or medicine in an amount that is higher than normally used or prescribed.

Subject Guide

Laura Haberstich

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

564 West Herndon Avenue
Clovis, CA 93612

559-326-1784

Subjects: Consciousness; Cognition, Exercise Therapy, Infant Psychology, Tutorials & Database Guides, Academic Integrity, Acupuncture, Administrative Office Professional AOP, Adolescence Psychology, Adulthood, Aesthetics, Afghan War, 2001-, African/Black Studies, Ageism, AI (Artifical Intelligence), Air Conditioning A/C, Alabama, Alaska, Algae Culture, Algebra, Allied Health Personnel, Alternative and Holistic Medicine, American Literature, Anarchism, Andorra, Animal Culture, Animal Experimentation, Anthropology, Applied Psychology, Aquaculture & Fisheries, Arab Studies, Archaeology & Ancient History, Architecture & Construction Engineering, Archives and Special Collections, Arizona, Arkansas, Armenia, Art & Art History, Art Therapy, Arts & Crafts, Ashkenazi Jews (Ashkenazim), Asia Studies, Astrology, Atlases, Atomic Physics, Audio Recordings, Australia, Austria & Austro-Hungarian Empire, Authorship, Automotive Technology & Metals, Baking and Patisserie, Balkan Peninsula, Balneology (Baths), Barbering, Basic Biological and Medical Research, Beauty & Fashion, Behaviorism (Psychology), Belgium, Bibliography, Biography, Biology, Botany, British America, Buddhism, Building Construction, Business & Finance, Business Ethics & Business Etiquette, Calculators, Calculus, Calendars & Technical Chronology, Canis; Canidae, Capital Punishment, Careers & Employment Skills Training, Chad (Tchad), Chakra (Hinduism), Chemical Industries, Chemical Technology, Chemistry, Chicano/Latino Studies, Child Development, Child Psychology, Child, Youth & Family Studies, China, Chiropractic, Chondrichthyes, Chordates. Vertebrates , Christian Denominations, Christianity, Civil Rights/Human Rights, Civil War Period, 1861-1865, Clinical Endocrinology, Clinical Medicine, Clinical Psychology, Clinical Simulations, Cloud Computing (Web Services), Collections of General Literature, Colonial History (1607-1775), Colorado, Comedy, Commerce, Communication/Speech, Communism, Computer Science, Computer Simulation (Virtual Reality), Confectionery Industries, Conflict Resolution, Connecticut, Construction Industry, Consumer News and Advice, Contemporary Issues, Cooking, Correctional Institutions, Corrections, Cosmetology, Cosmology, Country Profiles, Crime, Criminal Investigations, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Crisis Intervention (Mental Health Services), Cryptogams, Curiosities & Wonders, Czechoslovakia (Czech Republic), Data & Statistics, Delaware, Denmark, Dental, Dentistry, Dermatology, Developmental Psychology, Difference (Psychology), Disabilities and Genetic Issues, Discovery of America and Early Explorations, Disease (Communicable and Noninfectious) and Public Health, Diseases of the Blood and Blood-forming Organs, Diseases of the Breast, Diseases of the Circulatory (Cardiovascular) System, Diseases of the Connective Tissues, Diseases of the Digestive System; Gastroenterology, Diseases of the Genitourinary System. Urology, Diseases of the Musculoskeletal System, Diseases of the Respiratory System, District of Columbia. Washington, Drug Abuse; Drug Habits, Early Nineteenth Century, 1801/1809-1845, Eating Disorders, eBooks, Economics, Education, Education Sciences, Educational Sociology, Egypt, EI Emotional Intelligence (EQ Emotional Quotient), Electrical Engineering, Electricity and Magnetism, Emergency Management, Emigration & Immigration, Emotions, Employment Interviewing, Energy Industries, Energy Medicine and Healing, Engineering, English & Composition, English Literature, Epistemology (Theory of Knowledge) , Evidence-based Medicine, Example, Experimental Psychology, Fermentation Industries, Field Crops, Finland, Florida, Folklore, Food Science & Nutrition, Forensic Medicine, Forensic Sciences, France, General Education, General/Multidisciplinary, Genetics, Georgia, Geriatrics, Germany, Great Britain, Great Depression, 1929-1939, Great Lakes Region, Great Plains, Greco-Roman World, Greece, Gulf States, Gynecology and Obstetrics, Hallucinations, Hawaii, Health Facilities, Health Information Technology, Heating and Ventilation, Higher Education, Hinduism, History, History & Criticism, History of Civilization, Holiday Cooking, Horses, Human Anatomy, Human Ecology and Anthroppogeography, Human Embryology, Hungary, Hunting Sports, HVAC Industry, Hydrotherapy, Hypnotism, Iceland, Idaho, Illinois, Inclusive Education, Indiana, Indonesia (Dutch East Indies), Industries, Information Literacy, Inscriptions & Epigraphy, Insects, Internal Medicine, International Relations, Invertebrates, Iow, Iraq (Assyria, Babylonia, Mesopotamia), Iraq War, 2003-2011, Italy, Japan, Journalism & Media, Judaic Studies, Kansas, Kentucky, Kinesiology, Korean War, 1950-1953, Labor, Ladino Language and Literature, Land Use, Late Nineteenth Century, 1865-1900, Later Twentieth Century, 1961-2000, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Learning Strategies, Lebanon (Phenicia), Legal Medicine, LGBTQIA+, Library Science, Literature & Language, Logic, Louisiana, Lower Mississippi Valley, Luxembourg, Maine, Malta (Maltese Islands), Mammals, Management, Manicuring, Manners and Customs, Manual Therapy, Maps, Mardi Gras (Carnival), Maryland, Massachusetts, Massage Therapy, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering and Machinery, Medical Billing and Coding, Medical Billing and Office Administration (MBOA), Medical Ethics, Medical Informatics, Medical Jurisprudence, Medical Offices, Medical Records Management, Medicine, Meditation, Mental Diseases & Disorders, Metaphysics, Mexico, Michigan, Microbiology, Middle Atlantic States, Middle Nineteenth Century, 1845/1848-1861, Military Administration, Mind and Body, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Missouri River and Valley, Mobile Apps, Monaco, Montana, Museums, Mythology, National Physical Therapy Examination PTAExam, Naval Science, Nebraska, Nervous System, Netherlands (Holland), Neuromuscular Rehabilitation, Neurophysiology & Neuropsychology, Neuroses, Nevada, New England, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New Southwest, New York, New Zealand, News & Current Events, Newspapers, North American Studies, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Europe; Scandinavia, Norway, Numismatics, Nursing, Occult Sciences, Occupational Therapy, Oceania, Ohio, Oklahoma, Old Northwest Territory, Oncology, Online Learning, Oregon, Organizational Psychology, Orthopedics, Other Systems of Medicine, Pacific Islands Studies, Pacific States, Paleography, Paleozoology, Palliative Treatment, Parapsychology, Pathology, Patient Care & Management, Pediatrics, Pennsylvania, Persian Gulf War, 1991, Personal Health and Hygiene, Personality Disorders., Pharmaceutical Industry, Pharmacology, Pharmacy Technician, Philology & Linguistics, Philosophy, Phlebotomy, Phototherapy, Physical Anthropology; Somatology, Physical Education & Sport Science, Physical Geography, Physical Therapist Assistant PTA, Physical Therapy, Physical Therapy Ethics, Physics, Physiognomy and Phrenology , Physiology, Plumbing and Pipefitting, Podiatry, Poetry, Poland, Police, Polish Studies, Political Theory, Portugal, Professional Development, Professional Ethics, Professional Medical Assistant, Programmed Instruction, Psychiatry, Psychoanalysis, Psychology, Psychology of Sex; Sexual Behavior, Psychoses, Psychotherapy, Public Institutions, Public Relations, Radiology, Refrigeration and Refrigerating Machinery, Regional and Area Studies, Rehabilitation Therapy, Reiki (Healing System), Religion, Research & Writing, Revolution to the Civil War, 1775/1783-1861, Rhode Island, Rocky Mountains, Russia (Soviet Union); Soviet Republics, Scientific Apparatus and Instruments, Seals, Self-realization, Sephardi Jews (Sephardim), Shamanism, Shellfish Fisheries; Shellfish Culture, Slavery and Antislavery Movements, Sleep, Slovakia, Social and Public Welfare, Social Aspects of Education, Social Classes, Social Influence (Social Pressure), Social Media, Social Pathology, Social Psychology, Social Sciences, Socialism, Sociology, South Atlantic States, South Carolina, South Dakota, Spain, Special Situations and Conditions, Specialties of Internal Medicine, Speculative Philosophy, Spiritualism, Sports, Suicide, Surgery, Sweden, Switzerland, Technology, Tennessee, Terminology, Texas, Theology, Theory and Practice of Education, Therapeutics, Transportation & Communications, Trauma, Trigonometry, True Crime, Twentieth Century, Twenty-First Century, Types of Education, United States, Urban Sociology, Utah, Utopias; The Ideal State, Vegetables, Vermont, Veterans, Victimology, Vietnam War, 1961-1975, Virginia, War of 1898 (Spanish-American War), Washington State, Welding, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Witchcraft, World History, World War I (1914-1918), World War II (1939-1945), Wyoming, Zen Buddhism