LibGuides: PSY101-PTA : Psychology: Mental Health

Diagnosis and Treatment

Antidepressant: Topic
Any of a wide range of drugs used to treat psychic depression. They are given to elevate mood, counter suicidal thoughts, and increase the effectiveness of psychotherapy.
Art Therapy: Topic
“‘ I could draw it,’ a dreamer often says to us, ‘but I don’t know how to say it.’” So said Sigmund Freud (1963, p. 90). Considering that Freud regarded dreams to be “the royal road to the unconscious,” it is surprising that he did not ask his patients to do so.
Cognitive Behavioral Therapy: Topic
CBT is an extremely successful and popular method of psychotherapy, loosely based on cognitive principles.
Counseling: Topic
In an early attempt to define counseling, the Society of Counseling Psychology, which is Division 17 of the American Psychological Association, described counseling as a process of “helping individuals toward overcoming obstacles to personal growth, wherever these may be encountered, and toward achieving optimum development of personal resources”
Crisis Intervention: Topic
A crisis is a collapse in one’s ability to solve problems or cope with a situation in which the person’s existing strategies for coping do not work.
Drug: Topic
Any of a range of substances, natural or synthetic, administered to humans and animals as therapeutic agents: to diagnose, prevent, or treat disease, or to assist recovery from injury.
DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders): Topic
Efforts to categorize and describe “madness” date back to ancient Greece; however, interest in psychiatric categorization has intensified since the turn of the twentieth century.
Electroconvulsive (ECT) Therapy: Topic
In psychiatry, treatment of mood disorders by means of electricity; the broader term is "shock therapy.
Gestalt Therapy
From The Concise Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science
Gestalt therapy is an existential and phenomenological approach, emphasizing the principles of present-centered awareness and immediate experience.
Group Psychotherapy: Topic
A means of changing behavior and emotional patterns, based on the premise that much of human behavior and feeling involves the individual's adaptation and response to other people.
Hypnotism: Topic
[Gr.,=putting to sleep], to induce an altered state of consciousness characterized by deep relaxation and heightened suggestibility.
Marriage Counseling: Topic
Problems in marriage and other close relationships are widespread. For example, the divorce rate in the United States is approximately 50%. Relationship problems are also among the most common reasons for people seeking mental health services.
Music Therapy: Topic
Music affects people emotionally, physically, and aesthetically, and these responses provide the basis for the use of music in therapy.
Pharmacology: Topic
Pharmacology is the science and practice of developing and administering chemicals as agents in the treatment of diseases.
Psychoanalysis: Topic
Name given by Sigmund Freud to a system of interpretation and therapeutic treatment of psychological disorders.
Psychological Test: Topic
Any of a variety of testing procedures for measuring psychological traits and behavior, or for studying some specialized aspect of ability.
Psychopharmacology: Topic
In its broadest sense, the study of all pharmacological agents that affect mental and emotional functions.
Psychotherapy: Topic
Treatment of mental and emotional disorders using psychological methods. Psychotherapy, thus, does not include physiological interventions.
Rehabilitation: Topic
Whether one is talking about the latest actor, politician, or average person, the term rehabilitation is likely to pop up in casual conversation.

Testing and Mental Measurements

Achenbach Child Behavior Checklist
From Encyclopedia of Special Education
The purpose of the Child Behavior Checklist is to quickly collect standardized ratings on a broad spectrum of competencies and problems for children aged 6 to 18 years.
Beck Depression Inventory II
From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
The Beck Depression Inventory-II (BDI-II; Beck, Steer, & Brown, 1996) is a 21-item self-report instrument for measuring the severity of depression in adolescents and adults according to symptoms corresponding to the criteria for diagnosing major depressive disorders.
Burks' Behavior Rating
From Encyclopedia of Special Education
The Burks’ Behavior Rating Scales (BBRS), Preschool and Kindergarten Form and Grades One–Nine Form, are rating inventories used to identify the type and severity of problem behaviors exhibited by referred children ages 2 to 15.
Intelligence Test: Topic
Test that attempts to measure innate intellectual ability, rather than acquired ability.
Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI)
The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) is a widely used personality inventory (test) employed in vocational, educational, and psychotherapy settings. MBTI is used to evaluate personality type in adolescents and adults age 14 and older.
Psychological Test: Topic
Any of a variety of testing procedures for measuring psychological traits and behavior, or for studying some specialized aspect of ability.
Psychometrics
From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
The field of psychometrics generally considers quantitative psychological data. Such data normally emerges from test responses, although it may come from other measures.
Rorschach test

From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
The grandfather of all projective tests, designed and developed by the Swiss psychiatrist Hermann Rorschach. The administration of the test consists of a structured interview using a series of ten standardized, bilaterally symmetrical inkblots.

Mental Health Careers

The Roles and Functions of Professional Counselors
From The Professional Counselor's Desk Reference
Counseling involves a professional relationship that empowers diverse individuals, families, and groups to accomplish mental health, wellness, education, and career goals
Developmental Counselor
From Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
Developmental counseling is a collaborative and catalytic relationship formed between a professional counselor, who is trained in both counseling and human development, and a client, who is currently experiencing or is expected to experience problems that impede progress toward mastering personally and/or culturally valued functions.
Pediatric psychologist
From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
The past two decades have been a period of significant professional growth for pediatric psychology. In general, the number of psychologists in medical settings has increased rapidly and the scope of their activities has widened enormously.
Psychiatrist
From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
A person trained in medicine who specializes in the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional disorders.
Psychologist
From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
Determining to just whom this term applies is no simple matter. The difficulties stem from the fact that some who claim it do so because they practise psychology, others because they apply it, others because they teach it and still others because they research it.
Psychotherapist
From Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
A person who professes to carry out psychological treatments according to a particular theoretical model (as in psychodynamic psychotherapist, behavioural psychotherapist, etc.).
Social Work: Topic
Organized effort to help individuals and families to adjust themselves to the community, as well as to adapt the community to the needs of such persons and families.

Occupational Outlooks

Psychologists
From Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $77,030 per year, $37.03 per hour
School and Career Counselors
From Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $55,410 per year, $26.64 per hour
Marriage and Family Therapists
From Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $48,790 per year, $23.45 per hour
Recreational Therapists
From Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $47,680 per year, $22.92 per hour
Substance Abuse, Behavioral Disorder, and Mental Health Counselors
From Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $43,300 per year, $20.82 per hour
Psychiatric Technicians and Aides
From Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $29,330 per year, $14.10 per hour

Subject Guide

Laura Haberstich

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

564 West Herndon Avenue
Clovis, CA 93612

559-326-1784

Subjects: Consciousness; Cognition, Exercise Therapy, Infant Psychology, Tutorials & Database Guides, Academic Integrity, Acupuncture, Administrative Office Professional AOP, Adolescence Psychology, Adulthood, Aesthetics, Afghan War, 2001-, African/Black Studies, Ageism, AI (Artifical Intelligence), Air Conditioning A/C, Alabama, Alaska, Algae Culture, Algebra, Allied Health Personnel, Alternative and Holistic Medicine, American Literature, Anarchism, Andorra, Animal Culture, Animal Experimentation, Anthropology, Applied Psychology, Aquaculture & Fisheries, Arab Studies, Archaeology & Ancient History, Architecture & Construction Engineering, Archives and Special Collections, Arizona, Arkansas, Armenia, Art & Art History, Art Therapy, Arts & Crafts, Ashkenazi Jews (Ashkenazim), Asia Studies, Astrology, Atlases, Atomic Physics, Audio Recordings, Australia, Austria & Austro-Hungarian Empire, Authorship, Automotive Technology & Metals, Baking and Patisserie, Balkan Peninsula, Balneology (Baths), Barbering, Basic Biological and Medical Research, Beauty & Fashion, Behaviorism (Psychology), Belgium, Bibliography, Biography, Biology, Botany, British America, Buddhism, Building Construction, Business & Finance, Business Ethics & Business Etiquette, Calculators, Calculus, Calendars & Technical Chronology, Canis; Canidae, Capital Punishment, Careers & Employment Skills Training, Chad (Tchad), Chakra (Hinduism), Chemical Industries, Chemical Technology, Chemistry, Chicano/Latino Studies, Child Development, Child Psychology, Child, Youth & Family Studies, China, Chiropractic, Chondrichthyes, Chordates. Vertebrates , Christian Denominations, Christianity, Civil Rights/Human Rights, Civil War Period, 1861-1865, Clinical Endocrinology, Clinical Medicine, Clinical Psychology, Clinical Simulations, Cloud Computing (Web Services), Collections of General Literature, Colonial History (1607-1775), Colorado, Comedy, Commerce, Communication/Speech, Communism, Computer Science, Computer Simulation (Virtual Reality), Confectionery Industries, Conflict Resolution, Connecticut, Construction Industry, Consumer News and Advice, Contemporary Issues, Cooking, Correctional Institutions, Corrections, Cosmetology, Cosmology, Country Profiles, Crime, Criminal Investigations, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Crisis Intervention (Mental Health Services), Cryptogams, Curiosities & Wonders, Czechoslovakia (Czech Republic), Data & Statistics, Delaware, Denmark, Dental, Dentistry, Dermatology, Developmental Psychology, Difference (Psychology), Disabilities and Genetic Issues, Discovery of America and Early Explorations, Disease (Communicable and Noninfectious) and Public Health, Diseases of the Blood and Blood-forming Organs, Diseases of the Breast, Diseases of the Circulatory (Cardiovascular) System, Diseases of the Connective Tissues, Diseases of the Digestive System; Gastroenterology, Diseases of the Genitourinary System. Urology, Diseases of the Musculoskeletal System, Diseases of the Respiratory System, District of Columbia. Washington, Drug Abuse; Drug Habits, Early Nineteenth Century, 1801/1809-1845, Eating Disorders, eBooks, Economics, Education, Education Sciences, Educational Sociology, Egypt, EI Emotional Intelligence (EQ Emotional Quotient), Electrical Engineering, Electricity and Magnetism, Emergency Management, Emigration & Immigration, Emotions, Employment Interviewing, Energy Industries, Energy Medicine and Healing, Engineering, English & Composition, English Literature, Epistemology (Theory of Knowledge) , Evidence-based Medicine, Example, Experimental Psychology, Fermentation Industries, Field Crops, Finland, Florida, Folklore, Food Science & Nutrition, Forensic Medicine, Forensic Sciences, France, General Education, General/Multidisciplinary, Genetics, Georgia, Geriatrics, Germany, Great Britain, Great Depression, 1929-1939, Great Lakes Region, Great Plains, Greco-Roman World, Greece, Gulf States, Gynecology and Obstetrics, Hallucinations, Hawaii, Health Facilities, Health Information Technology, Heating and Ventilation, Higher Education, Hinduism, History, History & Criticism, History of Civilization, Holiday Cooking, Horses, Human Anatomy, Human Ecology and Anthroppogeography, Human Embryology, Hungary, Hunting Sports, HVAC Industry, Hydrotherapy, Hypnotism, Iceland, Idaho, Illinois, Inclusive Education, Indiana, Indonesia (Dutch East Indies), Industries, Information Literacy, Inscriptions & Epigraphy, Insects, Internal Medicine, International Relations, Invertebrates, Iow, Iraq (Assyria, Babylonia, Mesopotamia), Iraq War, 2003-2011, Italy, Japan, Journalism & Media, Judaic Studies, Kansas, Kentucky, Kinesiology, Korean War, 1950-1953, Labor, Ladino Language and Literature, Land Use, Late Nineteenth Century, 1865-1900, Later Twentieth Century, 1961-2000, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Learning Strategies, Lebanon (Phenicia), Legal Medicine, LGBTQIA+, Library Science, Literature & Language, Logic, Louisiana, Lower Mississippi Valley, Luxembourg, Maine, Malta (Maltese Islands), Mammals, Management, Manicuring, Manners and Customs, Manual Therapy, Maps, Mardi Gras (Carnival), Maryland, Massachusetts, Massage Therapy, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering and Machinery, Medical Billing and Coding, Medical Billing and Office Administration (MBOA), Medical Ethics, Medical Informatics, Medical Jurisprudence, Medical Offices, Medical Records Management, Medicine, Meditation, Mental Diseases & Disorders, Metaphysics, Mexico, Michigan, Microbiology, Middle Atlantic States, Middle Nineteenth Century, 1845/1848-1861, Military Administration, Mind and Body, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Missouri River and Valley, Mobile Apps, Monaco, Montana, Museums, Mythology, National Physical Therapy Examination PTAExam, Naval Science, Nebraska, Nervous System, Netherlands (Holland), Neuromuscular Rehabilitation, Neurophysiology & Neuropsychology, Neuroses, Nevada, New England, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New Southwest, New York, New Zealand, News & Current Events, Newspapers, North American Studies, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Europe; Scandinavia, Norway, Numismatics, Nursing, Occult Sciences, Occupational Therapy, Oceania, Ohio, Oklahoma, Old Northwest Territory, Oncology, Online Learning, Oregon, Organizational Psychology, Orthopedics, Other Systems of Medicine, Pacific Islands Studies, Pacific States, Paleography, Paleozoology, Palliative Treatment, Parapsychology, Pathology, Patient Care & Management, Pediatrics, Pennsylvania, Persian Gulf War, 1991, Personal Health and Hygiene, Personality Disorders., Pharmaceutical Industry, Pharmacology, Pharmacy Technician, Philology & Linguistics, Philosophy, Phlebotomy, Phototherapy, Physical Anthropology; Somatology, Physical Education & Sport Science, Physical Geography, Physical Therapist Assistant PTA, Physical Therapy, Physical Therapy Ethics, Physics, Physiognomy and Phrenology , Physiology, Plumbing and Pipefitting, Podiatry, Poetry, Poland, Police, Polish Studies, Political Theory, Portugal, Professional Development, Professional Ethics, Professional Medical Assistant, Programmed Instruction, Psychiatry, Psychoanalysis, Psychology, Psychology of Sex; Sexual Behavior, Psychoses, Psychotherapy, Public Institutions, Public Relations, Radiology, Refrigeration and Refrigerating Machinery, Regional and Area Studies, Rehabilitation Therapy, Reiki (Healing System), Religion, Research & Writing, Revolution to the Civil War, 1775/1783-1861, Rhode Island, Rocky Mountains, Russia (Soviet Union); Soviet Republics, Scientific Apparatus and Instruments, Seals, Self-realization, Sephardi Jews (Sephardim), Shamanism, Shellfish Fisheries; Shellfish Culture, Slavery and Antislavery Movements, Sleep, Slovakia, Social and Public Welfare, Social Aspects of Education, Social Classes, Social Influence (Social Pressure), Social Media, Social Pathology, Social Psychology, Social Sciences, Socialism, Sociology, South Atlantic States, South Carolina, South Dakota, Spain, Special Situations and Conditions, Specialties of Internal Medicine, Speculative Philosophy, Spiritualism, Sports, Suicide, Surgery, Sweden, Switzerland, Technology, Tennessee, Terminology, Texas, Theology, Theory and Practice of Education, Therapeutics, Transportation & Communications, Trauma, Trigonometry, True Crime, Twentieth Century, Twenty-First Century, Types of Education, United States, Urban Sociology, Utah, Utopias; The Ideal State, Vegetables, Vermont, Veterans, Victimology, Vietnam War, 1961-1975, Virginia, War of 1898 (Spanish-American War), Washington State, Welding, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Witchcraft, World History, World War I (1914-1918), World War II (1939-1945), Wyoming, Zen Buddhism