Medical Billing and Office Administration (MBOA): HCPCS

Students entering today's medical office as employees must be ready to work. Administrative Medical Assisting by Houser prepares students to be workforce ready--prepared to work, understand and project professional behavior, and perform both technical and soft skills. Students will understand the most up-to-date information, such as EHRs, Red Flag Rule, conversion from ICD-9-CM to ICD-10-CM, and be workforce ready. Using a one-column design with a larger typeface, Houser is more engaging and easier to read and comprehend. Houser also includes more procedures that provide more detail for completing day-to-day activities required in the medical office. Together, the textbook and the Student Study Guide form a complete learning package. Administrative Medical Assisting: A Workforce Readiness Approach will prepare your students to enter the administrative medical assisting field with the knowledge and skills necessary to become a useful resource to patients and a valued asset to employers and to the administrative medical assisting profession.

For courses in Introduction to Healthcare Billing and Medical Coding.   COMPREHENSIVE HEALTH INSURANCE: BILLING, CODING & REIMBURSEMENT, 2/e provides students with the knowledge and skills needed to work in a variety of medical billing and coding positions in the medical field. Comprehensive in approach, it covers the foundations of insurance, billing, coding and reimbursement. Students learn not only the submission of claims to the insurance carrier, but also reviewing medical records, verifying patient benefits, submitting a secondary claim, posting payments and appealing the insurance carrier's decision. This edition includes new chapters devoted to HIPAA and ICD-10-CM Medical Coding, as well as outstanding coverage of electronic records. Numerous case studies and patient files are included throughout and demonstrate refunds and appeals, auditing and compliance, Medicare calculations and professionalism.

Accurately report supplies and services for physician, hospital outpatient, and ASC settings with the INGENIX HCPCS LEVEL II. Use this comprehensive reference for the HCPCS code set that focuses on management of reimbursement. This user-friendly book will guide any coder confidently through current modifiers, code changes, additions and deletions with information as dictated by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

Medical Coding Fundamentals provides a fresh approach to medical coding that reflects the way real medical coders succeed in their jobs. An introductory chapter refreshes students on the basics of A&P and medical terminology. Authentic examples clearly illustrate key areas, from the basics of CPT, ICD and HCPCS through complex topics such as modifiers and E/M. In order to train students to become proficient, accurate coders who are well-prepared to take the steps towards coding certification, exercises throughout each chapter and the entire final chapter provide plenty of coding practice, as well as critical thinking to prepare the next generation of coders. Don’t worry about ICD-10, either. Medical Coding Fundamentals tackles the transition head on, providing you with just the right blend of coverage.

UNDERSTANDING PROCEDURAL CODING: A WORKTEXT, Second Edition is a comprehensive, hands-on worktext that will help your students gain confidence in procedural coding. Procedures are illustrated to clarify concepts and practice exercises are provided throughout so your students can test themselves as they progress. Used in conjunction with their CPT® and HCPCS Level II manuals, this learning resource will help your students master procedural coding for all medical specialties. UNDERSTANDING PROCEDURAL CODING: A WORKTEXT, Second Edition allows your students to answer questions right in the book, making it both a learning tool and a personalized resource. 30-day free trial of Ingenix's EncoderPro included.

Practice your coding skills with this practical workbook! Corresponding to the chapters in Carol J. Buck's bestselling Step-by-Step Medical Coding, this workbook offers coding review and practice with more than 1,200 theory, practical, and reporting questions (odd-numbered answers provided in appendix), including 100 original source documents to familiarize you with reports similar to those you will encounter on the job. It's a complete review of all the code sets covered in the text! UNIQUE! 100 real-world coding reports (cleared of all confidential information), provide experience with reports similar to those you will encounter in practice. Theory exercises include fill-in-the-blank, multiple choice, and true or false questions. Practical exercises offer additional practice with line coding. Coding answer format mirrors the main text (including "multiple codes needed" icons) Answers to only the odd numbered questions are available in Appendix B to check your accuracy. NEW! Updated content includes the latest coding information available.

You Code It! Abstracting Case Studies Practicum provides extensive coding practice for students to expand their training and experience. The case studies and patient records provide exercises and sample patient records for more than 25 specialties for focused coding practice. In addition, students can use this book for preparation to sit for a national certification exam or going to a job interview. This workbook provides extensive, hands-on practice for learning to code. The cases in this book are real patient charts (redacted) from physicians’ offices and hospitals in different parts of the country. It is a student-friendly workbook presenting case studies for the practice of abstracting health care professionals’ documentation and accurately translating the facts into the best, most accurate codes.

This book gives instruction on how to use an encoder product "on the job" in a medical office setting. While there is discussion of how to code manually, the focus is on the use of encoder software. Screen shots from encoder product provide visual examples throughout the text, and exercises using the encoder software appear throughout the text. This text includes a free trial CD of EncoderPro by Ingenix.