Credo Reference helps you start your research with background information from authoritative encyclopedias.
Basic Keyboarding for the Medical Office Assistant, Spiral Bound Version by
This is a basic keyboarding book for medical assistants, medical secretaries and transcriptionists that include medical terminology case histories, technical information, and medical timed writings that is needed for any medical facility and all personnel. New material includes in depth exercises for punctuation, grammar, and additional medical reports. The medical documents illustrate how to develop reports for the medical facility that includes consultation reports, pathology reports, history and physical reports, operative reports, and also how to format each document. Basic Keyboarding for the Medical Office Assistant includes a free CD-ROM that contains medical dictation that users can practice transcribing. The answers to the exercises are all within Unit 12 of the text, which allows for users to check their work.
Case Studies for Use with Computers in the Medical Office by
This capstone simulation using Medisoft Patient Billing Software, Version 17, gives students enhanced training that fosters superior qualifications for a variety of medical office jobs. Extensive hands-on practice with realistic source documents teaches students to input information, schedule appointments, and handle billing, reports, and other essential tasks. The simulation is recommended for students who have completed the study of Medisoft Advanced Version 17 using Computers in the Medical Office.
Computers in the Medical Office by
Computers in the Medical Office 7e is the best-selling text for training students using full-featured and current Medisoft Version 16 Patient Billing software. McGraw-Hill publishes the most titles to train students on Medisoft software. Our publishing relationship with Medisoft has been ongoing for 15 years. Computers in the Medical Office 7e offers medical office training using current, realistic medical office cases while building transferable computerized medical billing and scheduling skills. Students who complete this course will learn the appropriate terminology and skills to use any patient billing software program with minimal additional training. As students progress through Medisoft, they learn to gather patient information, schedule appointments and enter transactions. The practical, systematic approach is based on real-world medical office activities. Go with the best. Go with the tried and true. Go with the Medisoft titles that will give you and your students the training and support you need to be successful. Go with McGraw-Hill's Computers in the Medical Office 7e.
Essentials of Medical Transcription by
This modular-based text builds competence for entry-level medical transcription through scenario drills and a building block format. It was conceived as a result of classroom experiences with student frustration. Simulations provide students the opportunity to gain confidence and competence before they enter the workplace. A free CD-ROM is included with the text. It provides realistic experiences through actual transcription exercises and personalized feedback from an automated error analysis chart and production for pay summary sheet. Students experience the real-world accountability of earning a paycheck.
General Office Procedures by 
Medical Filing by
This revised medical filing book serves as a reference to medical records specialists who utilize or want to learn numeric and alphabetic filing, cross referencing, color coding, records control or computer assisted filing.
Microsoft Excel 2010 for Medical Professionals by
Designed for students in medical office administration and allied health programs, MICROSOFT EXCEL 2010 FOR MEDICAL PROFESSIONALS teaches introductory Microsoft Excel 2010 skills. This book includes real world examples and projects within a case study related to the medical industry, providing you with the Excel skills necessary to successfully support the front or back office of a clinic, hospital, or medical practice.
Office Procedures and Technology for Colleges by 
Contemporary Medical Office Procedures by 
Insurance Handbook for the Medical Office by
The realistic, hands-on exercises in this workbook prepare students to work effectively in the managed care environment with all types of insurance claims. It presents self-study review questions and complete, competency-based tests. There are also easily removable sample practice forms, as well as case study information and practice exercises. Study icons help students identify and categorize assignment types (such as self-study, Internet assignments, and critical thinking exercises). New to this edition is a point system included in the workbook so that students can test themselves and gauge their understanding on a valued system. Emphasizes procedural (CPT and HCPCS) and diagnostic (ICD-9-CM) coding and documentation since they are the keystones to obtaining maximum reimbursement. Updated to reflect recent changes in the industry including more HIPAA Alerts throughout the text and a revised EDI chapter.
Managing Managed Care in the Medical Practice by 
Medical Assisting by 
Medical Office Handbook by 
Medical Office Practice by 
Medical Office Procedures by
Thoroughly revised and updated, Medical Office Procedures is a text-workbook that introduces and describes the tasks of a medical office assistant's career; teaches records management, medical communications, and scheduling skills; and describes procedures for preparing patients' charts and bills. Practice management, electronic health records, and finances are also addressed. Multi-day simulations provide real-world experience with physician dictation. Managerial skills are also included.
Office Procedures for the 21st Century by 
Forrest General Medical Center Advanced Medical Transcription Course by
The third edition of Forrest General Medical Center provides relevant, realistic learning materials for advanced medical transcriptionists. This book may be used in a traditional classroom setting or as a self-paced resource for practitioners who wish to upgrade their medical transcription and terminology skills. Whether you work in an allied health or court-reporting field, a medical office or a business office, this educational package presents learning activities that will develop and refine transcription skills to a competitive level.This book is organized by medical specialty; each chapter includes an overview of the specialty, relevant abbreviations, anatomic illustrations, important terminology and pronunciations, transcription tips, and useful web links. Each chapter also includes a critical thinking challenge that enhances the skills and professionalism of the advanced student.Audio transcription exercises are also available for practice with live dictation. The audio exercises are available in several different formats including audio tape and audio files you can download from the internet right to your computer!
Hillcrest Medical Center by
This best-selling transcription book is now printed in full color, enhancing the anatomical illustrations presented. The book and practice software create a simulation approach, giving learners a working knowledge of the medical reports most commonly used in hospital and ambulatory care settings. Learners transcribe a variety of reports from inpatient case studies taken from actual medical reports. Organized by body system, reports transcribed include history and physical examination, operative, pathology, radiology, and discharge summary.
Simulating the Medical Office by
Simulating the Medical Office is a generic, step-by-step, open entry/open exit simulation program that emphasizes a learn-by-doing approach to training. Students learn the skills necessary to manage a medical front office by performing activities that simulate office duties. The modular format makes it possible for students to start instruction at the beginning of the course or in the middle. After completing the course, students will have transferable skills they can apply to any software program.Computer Requirements486/33 or higher processor with Microsoft Windows 95, 98, or 2000, or NT operating system; 8 MB RAM (16 recommended); One 3-1/2-inch high-density disk drive or a CD-ROM drive; 4 MB free hard disk space; monitor capable of 480 x 640 pixels (for optimal operation); printer.
Virtual Medical Office for Insurance Handbook for the Medical Office by
Gain realistic experience in a physician's office without leaving the classroom! By using Elsevier's Virtual Medical Office learning system - an Elsevier textbook, a study guide, and interactive software - students will develop critical thinking and decision-making skills they'll need on the job. Each study guide lesson directs the student through the textbook and software and presents exercises offering practice in coding procedures and diagnoses, filing insurance claims, troubleshooting rejected claims, catching common coding errors, evaluating the office's compliance with HIPAA, keeping the policy manual up to date, and much more. These exercises - in combination with a simulated medical practice - bridge the gap between the classroom and the real world. Money-saving package with the textbook is also available. Search ISBN 1-4160-3037-9. 15 unique cases set up specific exercises relating to different payers, different billing situations, and common coding errors. More than two hours of video clips offer comparisons of what is documented to what actually happens. Software matches the computer experience level of billing and coding students. Realistic information resources are shown, such as medical records for each case, an office policy manual, a fee schedule, a daysheet, and more. A study guide: Complements textbook content through lessons that correlate reading assignments with patients in the virtual practice. Promotes active learning as students collect information from a variety of sources to make coding and billing decisions. Contains common coding errors that students must spot and correct, as in real practice. Augments knowledge of HIPPA by directing students to compare the policy manual, the contents of each case's medical record, and what actually happens in the videos. Makes lessons available online, allowing students to complete their assignments and submit them electronically to their instructor.