LibGuides: Medical Billing and Office Administration (MBOA): Certification/Examination Guides

PCAT

The Pharmacy College Admission Test (PCAT®) is a specialized test that helps identify qualified applicants to pharmacy colleges. It measures general academic ability and scientific knowledge necessary for the commencement of pharmaceutical education. The PCAT is constructed specifically for colleges of pharmacy.

http://pcatweb.info/About-the-PCAT.php

Momentrix PCAT Practice Test Welcome to the PCAT practice test page. The links below will help you take our sample PCAT practice test. These PCAT practice questions will give you a better idea of what to study on your exam. Good luck with your studying. If you need additional practice questions get our PCAT study guide and flashcards.
PCAT Practice Questions Kaplan FREE PCAT® PRACTICE QUESTIONS If you don’t have time for a full PCAT practice test, and you need just a few sample PCAT questions to see where you stand, you’ve come to the right place.
PCAT Sample Questions
PCAT® Sample Questions
PCAT Test Study Guide The PCAT is indeed a difficult examination, and as such, it was required that media be chosen by which intellectual ability could be measured. In the case of the PCAT, math, reading, verbal, biology and chemistry were the selected media. While there is an ongoing, low-profile controversy about whether or not this test truly measure’s your abilities with regards to what you’ll need for pharmacy school, that is not the purpose of this book. The purpose is, however, to make sure that you’re able to achieve the best possible state of preparation, allowing you to maximize your score potential - no matter if your actual aptitude has been measured.

CMA

The CMA (AAMA) Exam is a rigorous exam that requires a thorough, broad, and current understanding of health care delivery.

The CMA (AAMA) Certification/Recertification Examination Content Outline provides an overview of the wide scope of knowledge required in general, clinical, and administrative categories.

The exam consists of 200 multiple-choice questions administered in four 40-minute segments.

http://www.aama-ntl.org/cma-aama-exam/about#.XJjS2CJKgdU

CMA (AAMA) Medical Assistant Practice Test Our certified medical assistant practice exam is designed to help you study for the AAMA exam, a 200 multiple-choice question test. It is an intense exam that requires a thorough and current understanding of healthcare delivery. Find a local or online medical assistant school.
CMA Medical Assistant Practice Tests Use our free CMA practice tests (updated for 2021) to prepare for your upcoming American Association of Medical Assistants certification (AAMA) exam. Studying with actual CMA questions and answers will help you pass the exam. The CMA medical assistant exam is used to certify that candidates have the knowledge and skills to perform the duties required of a medical assistant. The CMA exam has 180 question on various Medical Assistant job functions. Listed below are our free CMA practice tests. Our sample tests offer full answers and explanations to help you master the material.
CMA Test Prep This exam consists of 200 multiple choice questions administered in four 40-minute segments. The categories questions are pulled from are: General: 50 questions Administrative: 45 questions Clinical: 85 questions
more...less...
To be eligible to sit for the CMA exam, the candidate must be in one of the following three categories:

Category 1: Completing student or recent graduate of an accredited medical assisting program.

The CMA certification exam can be taken no earlier than 30 days of completing education, or
The exam is taken within 12 months of graduation.
Your program director is required to verify your program completion.
Category 2: A non-recent (greater than 12 months since graduation) graduate of an accredited medical assisting program.

Must submit an official transcript from an accredited medical assisting program.
Category 3: Recertifying candidate.

Provide your CMA (AAMA) certificate number and the most recent certification or recertification date on the application.
Five major organizations offer a medical assistant certification exam. Learn about each medical assistant certification option.

CMA Test Design
Free CMA Practice Problems One of the great resources from Varsity Tutors’ Learning Tools are the free online CMA Practice Tests. These tests are perfect for reviewing material or learning new concepts. They are easy to access and you can take them at a time which is convenient for you. This is perfect for people who have busy lives and need to squeeze a study session in among their daily responsibilities. The CMA example questions on the test are arranged by difficulty, and they cover a number of commonly asked questions that you can expect to see on test day. Not only are the CMA Practice Tests a great way to learn and review the material, but they can also help you psychologically prepare for the exam.
Medical Assistant Practice Test It doesn’t matter if you have chosen to take the CMA, RMA, NCMA, or CCMA medical assistant test—we have the free practice questions for any of these medical assistant tests to help you prepare! Our questions were taken from the content outlines of all four of these tests and cover all of the necessary topics. So, answer our questions and find out what you know and in which areas you might need to work a little more.

DAT

The DAT is a dental education admission test designed to provide dental education programs with a means to assess program applicants’ potential for success. It is administered year round by Prometric test centers in the United States, its territories (including Guam, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands) and Canada.

The DAT is comprised of multiple-choice test items presented in the English language. The test is developed according to established test specifications. The DAT consists of a battery of four tests on the following: Survey of the Natural Sciences, Perceptual Ability, Reading Comprehension, and Quantitative Reasoning. In the DAT, both the U.S. customary system and the metric system (Imperial System) of units are used.

https://www.ada.org/en/education-careers/dental-admission-test

DAT Practice Questions Kaplan FREE DAT® PRACTICE QUESTIONS If you don’t have time for a full DAT practice test, and you need just a few sample DAT questions to see where you stand, you’ve come to the right place.
DAT Practice Test Kick off your DAT prep with a FREE practice test. Try your hand at the type of questions you'll face on the actual exam, sharpen your testing skills, and build confidence. Knowing your results will help you focus your prep on the areas of the exam where you'll gain the most points.
DAT Practice Test Review The Dental Admission Test (DAT) is administered by the American Dental Association (ADA) and is taken by those who wish to attend dental school. There is no passing score for the DAT and the exam is just a single component of a prospective dental student’s entire application package.
DAT Program Sample Test Items How does one prepare for the DAT? There are no shortcuts to the process of learning, and these test preparation materials are not designed to provide the applicant with an opportunity to bypass the extensive process of absorbing basic information through class participation and months of study. These test preparation materials contain samples of the four tests used in the Dental Admission Testing Program. These are available to DAT applicants as a means of discovering possible areas of weakness in their comprehension of subjects covered by the test. They will also enable the candidates to become familiar with the types of material included in the test as well as with the general coverage and format of the various parts of the test battery. The entire DAT takes 4 hours and 45 minutes (including a 15-minute optional tutorial and break). In the real DAT, the time limit will be indicated in the upper right hand corner on the computer screen. Therefore, you will need to pace yourself as you proceed through each test in the Dental Admission Test. If you have time remaining for a section of the test, you can review your responses. When time expires, the computer screen will move to the next test or optional break period. The structure of the test is given below. You are encouraged to review the DAT Tutorial at www.ada.org/dat.aspx under Step 4 before taking the actual DAT. The tutorial provides some sample items and information on navigating through the test.
DAT Question of the Day

Library Catalog

Selected Books

The Certification Step by Carol J. Buck
Call Number: RB 115 .B824 2004
ISBN: 0721602096
Publication Date: 2003-12-19
In an easy-to-follow, general outline format, this review focuses on passing coding certification exams. It covers anatomy and terminology for each body area, reimbursement issues, and an overview of CPT, ICD-9-CM, and HCPCS Coding. The accompanying CD-ROM contains a timed, scored, 150-question practice exam that is modeled on the actual certification exams and is designed to be taken twice - once as a pre-test and once as a post-test. In tutorial mode, specific sections of questions can be reviewed with instant feedback for study and extra practice. An additional final exam must be taken with paper and pencil, to simulate the experience of the actual examinations. Instructor resources are available; please contact your Elsevier sales representative for details. Best-selling coding author Carol Buck has a Master's degree in adult education and has been teaching in medical secretarial programs for 25 years. The CD-ROM allows users to track their learning through Pre- and Post-tests, and the Tutorial mode provides extra practice in specific problem areas. A basic outline format provides figures for reference as needed, making the text easy to use and understand. Essential information for the AAPC (CPC) exam is provided, with important aspects of physician coding highlighted throughout the text.
Certified Professional Coder (CPC) Examination Study Guide by Hyde; Jennifer; American Academy of Professional Coders
Call Number: RB 115 .A13 C1 2007
ISBN: 9781932760792
Publication Date: 2007
Coding Review for National Certification by Mary Harmon
Call Number: RB 115 .H37 2010
ISBN: 0073373982
Publication Date: 2009-01-21
More Info...
"Coding Review for National Certification: Passing the CPC and CCS-P Exams" is for the student who has completed a formal education in medical coding or an individual with at least three years full-time medical coding experience who is seeking certification. The goal of the textbook is three-fold. First, it guides through an overall review of the CPT and ICD-9 manuals, their guidelines, modifiers, coding conventions and specific notations to coding descriptors. Secondly it provides many practice problems throughout the text, coding problems at the end of each chapter, and a mock examination at the end of the text. Thirdly it helps students to "think like a coder." Learning to think through every coding problem or question in an analytical, organized, sequential approach teaches students to attack the "problem" in a consistent manner, which in turn, provides consistent accuracy in coding.
Family Practice Specialty Credential Study Guide 2007 by American Academy of Professional Coders
Call Number: R 123 .A12 F1 2007
ISBN: 9781934512050
Publication Date: 2007
Medical Assisting Exam Review : Preparation for the CMA and RMA Exams by J. Cody
Call Number: 9781435498693
ISBN: 9781435498693
Publication Date: 2010-03-22
More Info...
Prepare for the CMA or RMA certification examination with MEDICAL ASSISTING EXAM REVIEW. The book includes test information and preparation sections, review content on general, administrative, and clinical topics, and pre- and post-test exams for each test type. The new edition conforms to the latest content outlines from the AAMA and AMT. The accompanying CD-ROM includes over 1,600 questions and is fully customizable for individual study needs. Delmar is a part of Cengage Learning.
Medical Coding Specialist's Exam Review by Lynette Olsen
Call Number: RB 115 .O476 2006
ISBN: 1401837506
Publication Date: 2005-10-17
More Info...
National coding exams are challenging and require intensive study. Medical Coding Specialist's Exam Review Hospital provides direction and valuable information to successfully pass the exams. This resource includes time-tested concepts developed over many years of working with coders who have passed the exam. This is the only book that covers both AHIMA's and AAPC's hospital-based coding examinations!
Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam Review by Lorraine C. Zentz
Call Number: RS 122.95 .A585 2012
ISBN: 9781428320628
Publication Date: 2011-03-29
More Info...
PHARMACY TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION EXAM REVIEW, 3E is a comprehensive, all inclusive study tool to help prepare your students to become certified pharmacy technicians on a national level. This book mirrors content covered on the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE) and provides both exam content review and practice opportunities in a variety of formats. Ideal for review courses and for individual study, this book is a must-have tool for anyone preparing to take the PTCB and ExCPT exams. Sections are structured to help your students focus on critical topic areas outlined by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board; including 14 chapters specifically on mathematics with examples and end-of-chapter review questions. This new edition also includes greatly expanded chapters on pharmacology, updated end-of-chapter practice questions, two cumulative tests at the end of the book, and solutions to all chapter review questions and practice exams.For even more practice, the back-of-book CD offers 600 additional review questions to create timed exams that simulate the actual PTCE!
Professional Review Guide for the CCA Examination, 2013 Edition (Book Only) by Patricia Schnering
Call Number: RA 976 .P76 2015
ISBN: 9781133608363
Publication Date: 2013-01-18
The PROFESSIONAL REVIEW GUIDE FOR THE CCA EXAMINATION, 2013 EDITION, is an essential, effective preparation tool for the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) Certified Coding Associate (CCA) exam. This comprehensive learning package includes a reader-friendly, content-rich book, along with access to online assets featuring additional interactive quizzing and useful resources.Thorough and up-to-date, this invaluable guide covers critical information to help you pass the exam and prepare for professional success, including material on current code sets and AHIMA standards; recent changes to ICD-9-CM, CPT, ICD-10-CM, and ICD-10-PCS; electronic medical records; HIPAA requirements; and relevant laws, standards, and procedures. In addition to mock exams modeled closely to actual AHIMA exams, the guide includes study tips, coding case studies, quizzes and activities linked to AHIMA competencies to help you hone your skills by assigning codes to diagnoses and procedures for a variety of patient settings.
Professional Review Guide for the RHIA and RHIT Examinations by Patricia Schnering
Call Number: RA 976.5 .P764 2008
ISBN: 9781435419339
Publication Date: 2008-01-16
More Info...
Are you ready for your exam? Use this book and the Interactive CD-ROM now to help prepare for the AHIMA Clinical Registered Health Information Administrator (RHIA) and Registered Health Information Technician (RHIT) certification examinations. This packed resource provides strategies, test-taking skills, and a great comprehensive mock examination to practice. A total of over 1,600 review questions have been compiled for you -