General Format:
2. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, Title of Work (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page(s).
For Example:
2. Barbara Brooks Tomblin, The Civil War on the Mississippi: Union Sailors, Gunboat Captains, and the Campaign to Control the River (Lexington, Kentucky: The University Press of Kentucky, 2016), 15-24.
Shortened Notes:
13. Tomblin, Civil War on the Mississippi, 50.
14. Tomblin, 50.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Tomblin, Barbara Brooks. The Civil War on the Mississippi: Union Sailors, Gunboat Captains, and the Campaign to Control the River. Lexington, Kentucky: The University Press of Kentucky, 2016.
General Format:
5. AuthorFirstNameA AuthorLastNameA and AuthorFirstNameB AuthorLastNameB, Title of Work (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page(s).
OR
6. AuthorFirstNameA AuthorLastNameA, AuthorFirstNameB AuthorLastNameB, and AuthorFirstNameC AuthorLastNameC, Title of Work (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page(s).
For Example:
5. John Dooley and Robert Emmett Curran, John Dooley's Civil War: An Irish American's Journey in the First Virginia Infantry Regiment (Knoxville: Univ Tennessee Press, 2012), 34.
Shortened Notes:
15. Dooley and Curran, John Dooley's Civil War, 49.
16. Dooley and Curran, 64-9.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Dooley, John, and Robert Emmett Curran. John Dooley's Civil War: An Irish American's Journey in the First Virginia Infantry Regiment. Knoxville: Univ Tennessee Press, 2012.
General Format:
9. AuthorFirstNameA AuthorLastNameA and AuthorFirstNameB AuthorLastNameB, Title of Work (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page(s).
For Example:
9. Nandini Sundar and Aparna Sundar, Civil Wars in South Asia: State, Sovereignty, Development (Los Angeles: Sage Publications Pvt. Ltd, 2014), 102-124.
Shortened Notes:
17. Sundar and Sundar, Civil Wars in South Asia, 93.
18. Sundar and Sundar, 92-9.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Sundar, Nandini, and Aparna Sundar. Civil Wars in South Asia: State, Sovereignty, Development. Los Angeles: Sage Publications Pvt. Ltd, 2014.
General Format:
11. AuthorFirstNameA AuthorLastNameA et al., Title of Work (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page(s).
For Example:
11. George Folsom et al., History of Libraries (Manchester, NH: Shapiro Library Press, 2017), 24.
Shortened Notes:
19. Folsom et al., History of Libraries, 99.
20. Folsom et al., 83.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Folsom, George, Virginia Smith, Thomas Pepe, and Linda Burns. History of Libraries. Manchester, NH: Shapiro Library Press, 2017
General Format:
6. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, “Title of Chapter,” in Title of Book (PublicationLocation: Publisher, Year), page(s).
For Example:
6. G. J. Meyer, “A Revolution in the Making,” in The Tudors: The Complete Story of England's Most Notorious Dynasty (New York: Delacorte Press, 2010), 116-134.
Shortened Notes:
21. Meyer, “Revolution in the Making,” 130.
22. Meyer, 123-9.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Meyer, G. J. “A Revolution in the Making.” In The Tudors: The Complete Story of England's Most Notorious Dynasty, 116-134. New York: Delacorte Press, 2010.
General Format:
1. ContributorFirstName ContributorLastName, “Chapter Title,” in Title of Book, ed. EditorFirstName EditorLastName (PublicationLocation: Publisher, Year), page(s).
For Example:
1. Neil Qullliam, “Saudi Arabia and the Politics of Oil,” in Saudi Arabian Foreign Policy: Conflict and Cooperation, ed.Neil Partrick (London: I.B.Tauris, 2016), 30-51.
Shortened Notes:
23. Qullliam, “Saudi Arabia and the Politics of Oil,” 32.
24. Qullliam, 45-9.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Qullliam, Neil. “Saudi Arabia and the Politics of Oil.” In Saudi Arabian Foreign Policy: Conflict and Cooperation, edited by Neil Partrick, 30-51. London: I.B.Tauris, 2016.
General Format:
4. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, Title of Work, ed. EditorFirstName EditorLastName, # vols., (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year).
For Example:
4. Thomas Babington Macaulay, The History of England from the Accession of James the Second, ed. Charles Harding Firth, 8 vols., (New York: AMS Press, 1968).
Shortened Notes:
25. Macaulay, History of England.
26. Macaulay.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Macaulay, Thomas Babington, The History of England from the Accession of James the Second. ed. Charles Harding Firth. 8 vols. New York: AMS Press, 1968.
General Format:
8. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, Title of Work, ed. EditorFirstName EditorLastName, vol. #, Title of Volume (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), vol#: page(s).
OR
8. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, Title of Work, vol. #, Title of Volume (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page(s).
OR
9. EditorFirstName EditorLastName, ed., Title of Work. (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), vol#: page(s).
OR
9. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, Title of Work. (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), vol#: page(s).
For Example:
8. Will Durant, The Story of Civilization, vol. 5, The Renaissance: A History of Civilization in Italy from 1304-1576 A.D. (New York: Simon and Schuster, 1953), 67-72.
Shortened Notes:
27. Durant, The Story of Civilization, 67.
28. Durant, 69-70.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Durant, Will. The Story of Civilization. Vol. 5, The Renaissance: A History of Civilization in Italy from 1304-1576 A.D. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1953.
See note 1
General Format:
2. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, Title of Work (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page(s), DatabaseName or URL.
For Example:
2. Barbara Brooks Tomblin, The Civil War on the Mississippi: Union Sailors, Gunboat Captains, and the Campaign to Control the River (Lexington, Kentucky: The University Press of Kentucky, 2016), 92, eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Shortened Notes:
29. Tomblin, Civil War on the Mississippi, 93.
30. Tomblin, 49-56.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Tomblin, Barbara Brooks. The Civil War on the Mississippi: Union Sailors, Gunboat Captains, and the Campaign to Control the River. Lexington, Kentucky: The University Press of Kentucky, 2016. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
See note 2
1 There are multiple ways to cite one volume depending on different variables including whether the volume has authors and editors, a different title, and a different publication date. See 14.118: Citing a particular volume in a note for more information.
2 The Chicago Manual of Style states that if the URL brings a user to resources only available to subscribers, such as a library database, that you can list the name of the database not use the URL. See 14.161: Books consulted online for more information.