Helps learners evaluate and select images that are appropriate for research assignments. (1:26 min.)
Encourages students to use neutral terminology to retrieve the most objective and relevant sources. Directs students to seek a balanced understanding of their research topic by consulting a variety of sources. (1:03 min.)
Encourages students to seek out multiple sources of information in order to gain a fuller understanding of their research topic Reminds students not to analyze information in isolation. Instead, students are encouraged to make connections between sources to get a sense of the full picture. (.037 sec.)
Presents search as a process that requires flexibility and open-mindedness. Includes strategies to help students navigate towards the most relevant results. (0.57 sec.)
Reminds students that research is a process that requires flexibility and curiosity. Includes strategies to make connections between ideas and form a focused research question. (.49 sec.)
Reminds students to make use of a variety of source types and background resources to fully understand their research topic. Includes strategies for locating related sources and other avenues of research.(1:00 min.)
Provides overview on sythesis - the process of finding connections between different perspectives and sources of evidence to come up with an accurate, evidence-based conclusion or explanation. (1:24 min.)
Introduces students to strategies for refining the scope of a research topic. Encourages students to engage in reflection and revision based on the analysis of their search results. (1:02 min.)
When presenting your research findings, you can quote, paraphrase, or summarize to capture the original meaning of your sources. This video takes a look at the process. (1:14 min.)
Overview of the research gathering process used to support a thesis or hypothesis. Includes questions students may ask to draw conclusions based on their research findings. (.43 sec.)
This tutorial shows you how to narrow a research topic within Infobase Credo Reference.
Infobase Credo Reference - How to navigate and use. Offers summary of the database. (27;10 min.)
Credo Reference's Mind Map helps you visualize connections between search terms and topics and view relevant sources for those topics. The current search term is in the center, surrounded by terms. that show up with the greatest amount of frequency with the central term in the Credo collections. Clicking on a related term will place it at the center of the map and alter the result page around the new topic. To enlarge the Mind Map cl;ick the box in the lower-right corner of the map. Mind Maps can be embedded or exported as a PDF. Mind Maps are accessible on the home page, in the dropdown menu next to the Credo logo. To create a Double Mind Map click Mind Map on the drop-down Menu. Perform a search and click Add Term to Mind Map from the Map. Articles with both terms will appear on the right. Next On the Springshare LibGuides, look for the embedded Credo Reference: Mind Map Search Box, hyperlinks, and on the Gallery Media boxes.
VIDEO: What is the Mind Map? Explains what Mind Maps are, where to locate them, and navigation. (1:37 min.)
Let’s take a look at one of the results in our search. As you can see below, we can see a summary definition of Critical Thinking, the MIND MAP for related terms, ARTICLES definitions from other sources in the Credo Collection, IMAGES related to Critical Thinking, MORE LIBRARY RESOURCES including subscribed LIRN Library databases, Open Content and resources found in the IOT Library Catalog. In addition to FILTER OPTIONS and access to the Springshare LibChat the Ask the Librarian Service to communicate with the Library Team.
Click on the article TITLE to see more detailed information. By clicking the SOURCE users can search within the source. The DISPLAY TOOLBAR has options for saving the article, sharing the content, choosing Citation Styles, listening to the MP3 Audio file, linking to Google Classroom or Copying the Page Link. RELATED SEARCHES are additional terms that will perform a new search using that term. RELATED ARTICLES are dictionary and encyclopedia definitions of the search result. SEARCH OTHER SITES are links to the databases and sources provided on the prior result page.
