LGBTQIA+ Pride Month: Websites

Located in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, the place of Andy Warhol’s birth, The Andy Warhol Museum holds the largest collection of Warhol’s artworks and archival materials. We are one of the most comprehensive single-artist museums in the world and the largest in North America.

Founded in 1985, the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender (GLBT) Historical Society is recognized internationally as a leader in the field of LGBTQ public history. The GLBT Historical Society collects, preserves, exhibits and makes accessible to the public materials and knowledge to support and promote understanding of LGBTQ history, culture and arts in all their diversity.

The Leslie-Lohman Museum is a dynamic and safe space where the LGBTQIA+ community and its allies engage in meaningful and authentic art experiences that foster empowerment and community building.

The Green Book was a publication that provided travel safety information for African Americans traveling during the days of Jim Crow laws.

Website of the major Holocaust museum located in Washington, D.C.

The idea for the World AIDS Museum grew out of the Fort Lauderdale based group, POZitive Attitudes, a topic driven support group for people living with or affected by HIV/AIDS.. Steve Stagon, the facilitator, who would later become the Museum’s founder, started creating historical HIV/AIDS exhibits as topics for the group. In the early days, these were displayed at the Pride Center of South Florida. and Blanche Ely High School. Other members of the Pozitive Attitudes group showed interest and on September 20, 2011, the World AIDS Museum was incorporated as a non-profit organization and later was determined as a 501(c)(3) organization in 2013. The Museum opened its doors on May 15, 2014.

AQA holds the largest collection of material relating to Australian LGBTIQ+ life, and the largest collection of non-Australian LGBTIQ+ material in Australia. Since its establishment in 1978 the collection has grown to over 600 shelf metres holding over 200,000 items of archive, library, museum and gallery material.

The ArQuives aspires to be a significant resource and catalyst for those who strive for a future world where LGBTQ2+ people are accepted, valued, and celebrated.

The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.

This archive is IHLIA’s guarantee for preserving the information of yesterday and today for tomorrow: that will keep LGBTI history alive for target groups in the future. Its function as a heritage organisation is to promote the social acceptance of LGBTIs. IHLIA focuses on LGBTI-related themes with regard to the lives of individuals and the LGBTI community in order to contribute to a balanced image of the entire society and to social well-being.

The Leather Archives & Museum was founded by Chuck Renslow and Tony DeBlase in 1991 as a community archives, library, and museum of leather, kink, fetish, and BDSM history and culture.

The Lesbian Herstory Archives founded in the 1970s when a group of women involved in the Gay Academic Union realized that Lesbian history was “disappearing as quickly as it was being made.” The mission is to gather and preserve records of Lesbian lives and activities so that future generations can access materials relevant to their lives.

The collections at ONE Archives at the USC Libraries are primarily national in scope, with special focus on LGBTQ histories in the Los Angeles region. The archives also include a number of international materials, such as books, periodicals, and posters.

The mission is to collect, preserve, and promote an active knowledge of the history, arts, and culture of metropolitan Washington DC’s diverse LGBTQ communities.

The Stonewall National Museum and Archives and Library (SNMAL) is one of the largest LGBTQ+ archives and libraries in the United States, founded in 1972 by Mark Silber. SNMAL is a safe, welcoming place that inspires and promotes understanding through collecting, preserving and sharing the proud culture of lesbian, gay, bisexual transgender and queer people of all stories, and their significant role in U.S. society. This portal contains a digitized selection from our physical archive, comprising of over 2,700 linear feet and over 6 million pages of materials documenting LGBTQ+ political, cultural and social history.

Word of Mouth showcases the Trans Activism Oral History collection. It tells some of the story about how Trans+ communities & networks developed in North America throughout the latter half of the 20th century.

The Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony collects and makes available the oral histories of people who presently or at one time identified as same-sex and same-gender attracted women.Lesbians and queer women have been excluded from the official historical record, but their experiences tell a great deal about the past. They reveal what it meant for a woman to desire and love other women, and to survive and resist against a culture that treated them as sinful and deviant. Their stories open a window onto a world that once was, and help us imagine a world that might yet be.

In 2011, the Center for the Study of Gender and Sexuality launched Closeted/Out in the Quadrangles, a project documenting lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, queer and questioning (LGBTQ) life at the University of Chicago from the early twentieth century through the present day. In Spring 2015, the project culminated in an exhibition in the Special Collections Research Center at Regenstein Library and a permanent oral history archive that can be accessed by future generations of researchers and community members.

The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Religious Archives Network (LGBTQ-RAN) coordinates and supports the identification, collection and preservation of personal papers and organizational records from lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender religious movements. To encourage scholarly research and historical study of these important movements for social change, LGBTQ-RAN disseminates information about these records and provides and facilitates access to them, using digital technology when possible.

Queer Newark Oral History Project is working to tell our community's stories in the words of its trailblazers and legends, by collecting audio-recorded oral history interviews.

erving in the military is an experience unique to each veteran. Our mission at the Veterans History Project (VHP) is to collect, preserve, and make accessible these stories of service for future generations. Whether these narratives take the form of oral history interviews or original manuscript and photograph materials, they are a treasure trove of individual feelings, personal recollections, and primary source materials representing the voices of those who took an oath to serve our nation.