The Caribbean, Central & South American Cookbook : Tropical Cuisines Steeped in History : All the Ingredients and Techniques and 150 Ssensational Step-by-Step Recipes by 
Cooking from the Heart of Spain by
For forty years, American-born freelance journalist and award-winning cookbook author Janet Mendel has made her home in Spain. Becoming a "local" has provided Mendel with the unique opportunity to explore the authentic foods of her adopted country, and to bring the best recipes to American kitchens. Now, in Cooking from the Heart of Spain, she turns her attention to the region of La Mancha. Mendel has taken part in the harvesting of saffron, wine grapes, and garlic. She has made marzipan in Toledo, joined in a partridge shoot, and prepared trout caught fresh from the streams in Cuenca. She tells stories of artisanal cheesemakers and wine producers. Her own home in an olive grove gives her special insight into world-class Spanish olive oil. Cooking from the Heart of Spain features traditional foods from the country's heartland, a region of vineyards, olive groves, and wheat fields. From here come Spain's most famous products -- Manchego cheese, saffron, serrano ham, and olive oil. These ingredients, along with its rich and diverse Moorish and Sephardic heritages, give Manchegan cooking an air of refinement and delicate complexity beyond its sturdy simplicity. The recipes in Cooking from the Heart of Spain include simple pisto, a medley of summer vegetables saut#65533;ed in olive oil; lamb stuffed with spinach and pine nuts; a robust peasant garlic soup; and a delightfully subtle saffron ice cream. Mendel also includes sophisticated dishes such as cheese and ham flan and partridge braised in wine sauce, as well as fun food, such as "fried milk," a sweet custard with a crisp-fried exterior. Oh, yes -- and Madrid tapas too. Laced with quotes from Cervantes' Don Quixote -- which had lots to say about the food of La Mancha -- Janet Mendel#65533;s cookbook provides recipes for delicious dishes, both traditional and modern.
Food Around the World by
For courses in cultural foods for dietetics / general education.Appreciation and understanding of cultures around the world and techniques for effective communication are the challenging goals of this text. Food is featured prominently because of its universal appeal and the meaningful ways that geography, climate, economics, and religion have combined with history and culture to define the ingredients and food patterns unique to countries and regions around the world. Dietetics students need this knowledge as they prepare to counsel clients in our increasingly inter-cultural milieu. All students require a sound fundamental knowledge of the world's nations and the uniqueness of today's rich cultural patterns as they prepare to become citizens of the world.
International Cuisine by
International Cuisine is the only available book that covers all of the major cuisines of the world in a single textbook with additional instructor resources to aid in instruction, such as comprehensive instructor�s manual, online companion, and robust electronic classroom manager, which includes PowerPoint slides, lesson plans, and a computerized testbank. Written for students and professional culinarians, this book fills the gap between the foundations laid by the introductory textbooks and reality in today�s diverse kitchens. Included are sections on the influences that have contributed to the development of each cuisine, foreign culinary terms commonly used, and sub regions found within the cuisines. The chapters are clearly organized providing detailed information about cuisines in an easy to follow manner. International Cuisine provides comprehensive coverage exposing students to major cuisines around the world.
Miami Spice by
The new star of the culinary galaxy is South Florida, declares The New York Times. And no wonder. Out of America's tropical melting pot comes an inventive cuisine bursting with flavor--and now Steven Raichlen, an award-winning food writer, shares the best of it in Miami Spice. With 200 recipes and firsthand reports from around the state, Miami Spice captures the irresistible convergence of Latin, Caribbean, and Cuban influences with Florida's cornucopia of stone crabs, snapper, plantains, star fruit, and other exotic native ingredients (most of which can be found today in supermarkets around the country). Main selection of the Book-of-the-Month Club's HomeStyle Books. Winner of a 1993 IACP/Julia Child Cookbook Award.
The Spices of Life by
Love potions, cures for toothache or flatulence, tasty flavoring - spices have been a pungent presence down the ages. Long before Peter Piper picked his peck of pickled pepper, the Queen of Sheba sent spices to King Solomon and Emperor Nero burned Rome's annual supply of cinnamon at his wife's funeral. It's hard to imagine how these berries, seeds and barks once unleashed ferocious passion in European adventurers who fought tooth and claw to control the spice trade, causing chaos in the lives of people in the South. Spices still fascinate us... the way a pinch of chili powder zips a sober bean casserole into a hot experience-or how the scent of cinnamon wafting from a bakery triggers the appetite. The Spices of Life brings over 100 delicious recipes from Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Middle East using favorite spices like cloves, nutmeg, chilies, and pepper, as well as some less familiar ones. It comes complete with a Spice Guide to introduce the flavorings and give advice on how to use them. With some of the brightest foods from around the world, The Spices of Life is a great way to pep up your cooking. Over 100 easy-to-follow recipes from around the world A brief note on foods, cultures or countries with each recipe Illustrated spice guide Food facts Full-color photographs History of spices Glossary of foods Clear step-by-step cooking method Recipes fully adapted for you to cook at home Vegetarian section as well as meat and fish
Century 21 Accounting by 
Harrap's Spanish and English Dictionary by
For study, travel, or work--Harrap's is the only Spanish-English dictionary you'll need! Harrap's Spanish and English Dictionary successfully combines comprehensive coverage with clear presentation. Here you will find more than 115,000 references and 170,000 translations, as well as colloquial and idiomatic language, Spanish verb tables, a detailed grammar summary, and a guide to written communication. In addition, Harrap's Spanish and English Dictionary helps you gain a full understanding of Spanish and the Spanish-speaking world with: An extensive 100-page guide to all aspects of Spanish grammar Spanish verb tables that cross-reference to each verb entry to show correct conjugation Terms from specialized fields such as the media, education, science, finance, and the military Thorough coverage of the Spanish used in Mexico, Central and South America, and the Caribbean Great for school or the workplace, Harrap's Spanish and English Dictionary is the only reference you need to navigate easily between Spanish and English.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by
So much more than just a bestselling dictionary, Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 9th Edition is a one-stop reference to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. It features over 56,000 authoritative definitions, 45 appendixes, a color atlas of the human body, online resources, and more than 2,450 full-color illustrations - nearly three times more than any other dictionary available - making it an indispensable reference for students and professionals alike. UNIQUE! More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. A Color Atlas of Human Anatomy contains 43 pages of clearly labeled drawings for easy A&P review and reference. Over 56,000 comprehensive, authoritative, high-quality definitions - including expanded definitions for selected entries, particularly major diseases, disorders, and procedures - offer the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. 23 appendixes - 13 in the dictionary and 10 on the companion Evolve website - offer quick access to useful reference information, such as lab values, symbols and abbreviations, language translation guides, pharmacology, infection control standards, conversion tables, and clinical calculations. A strict, common-sense alphabetical organization with no subentries makes it easy to find key terms and definitions. NEW! Over 300 new and updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions and reflect current health care practice and equipment. NEW! Approximately 11,000 new and revised definitions reflect the latest developments in health care, drugs, and nursing terminology. NEW! Editor Marie O'Toole, EdD, RN, FAAN lends her expertise to this new edition, reviewing and revising all definitions and assembling a team of leading consultants and contributors.
Spanish for Getting Along by
B BASIC SPANISH FOR GETTING ALONG asic Spanish for Getting Along is a communication worktext that applies the grammar learned in Basic Spanish and puts it to practical use. The worktext presents realistic situations a learner could encounter in everyday life with dialogue completions, role plays, and realia-based activities. Basic Spanish for Getting Along contains two Lecciones preliminares(preliminary lessons), twenty lessons and four review sections (Repasos) to correlate with the Basic Spanish core text in structure and content. The second edition boasts a rich media package that allows students to access everything they need for their Spanish course. The Basic Spanish Resource Center houses a plethora of student and instructor assets including in-text audio MP3s, cultural activities, video based grammar tutorials, chapter quizzes, PowerPoint slides, in-text answer keys and much, much more! This invaluable product lets students complete worktext activities online while accessing the Basic Spanish eBook. iLrn offers diagnostic tests with auto-generate study plans so students can gauge their progress and focus their studies on their weak areas.
Spanish for Health Care by
What you need to know - now! Designed for beginning language students (no prior knowledge of Spanish is assumed), for whom success in the field is vitally important, Spanish for Health Care prepares you to use "real-life language" on the job, immediately. A focus on practical language learned in context makes Spanish accessible for the health professional.
Spanish for Hospitality and Foodservice by
This basic practical volume provides readers with the tools to become more confident, effective and service oriented employees. The training program is designed to empower readers with the communication and cross-cultural leadership skills—using industry specific vocabulary, key cultural differences, and team building tips—necessary to be successful working in an organization with a diverse staff so they can provide their guests with excellent service. The author provides a complete examination of the front office, employees and guests, the family and work personnel, rapport building phases, housekeeping, laundry, catering/banquet and engineering departments, the restaurant, the kitchen, entrees and produce and the bar, beverages and service station. For individuals in the hospitality and food/beverage service industry.
Working Spanish for Teachers and Education Professionals by 
The Christmas Encyclopedia
Cultural Studies: Holidays Around the World
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
National Geographic Almanac of World History
The Plain Truth about Living in Mexico by 
Religious Holidays and Calendars by 
Latin American History and Culture: Encyclopedia of Early Modern Latin America (1820s to 1900)
An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History
Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
Freshwater inflow action agenda for the Gulf of Mexico : first generation-management committee report. by 
Geography of the World
Glencoe World Geography : A Physical and Cultural Approach World Geography. by 
Historical Seismology by Isthmus of Tehuantepec by 
Volcanic Hazards in Central America by 
Buenos Aires by
Travel + Leisure ranked Buenos Aires the number 7 city in the world for travelers. The city offers world-class dining and urban culture. Argentina has a favorable exchange rate. Listen to a free Frommers.com podcast about Buenos Aires featuring author Michael Luongo
Chile Insight Guide by 
Dominican Republic and Haiti by 
Guatemala, Belize and Yucatan by 
Insight Pocket Guide Ecuador and Galapagos by 
Jamaica and Barbados by 
The Rough Guide Directions St Lucia by
Slim, stylish and pocketable, Rough Guides Directions St Luciahas all you need to get the most out of your trip to the island. Pirate hangouts, glorious beaches and lush rainforests are all covered in detail, as are the bustling Castries and the many nature reserves. The guide's hand-picked accommodation and eating recommendations cover all the main resorts and inland villages, revealing plenty of hidden gems, all indicated on a series of useful maps. With a full-colour section packed with suggestions for things to do and see, from spectacular snorkelling to local festivals, you'll never be stuck for ideas.
501 Must-Visit Cities by
ncludes index.
Introduction -- Europe & the Middle East / Arthur Findlay, Kieran Fogarty and Sarah Oliver -- Asia / Jackum Brown, Arthur Findlay, Jo Archer, Sarah Oliver and Cathy Lowne -- Africa / Jackum and David Brown -- Australia & New Zealand / Hermione Pakenham, Joe Toussaint and Cathy Lowne -- Index.
Complete Idiot's Guide to Mexico's Beach Resorts by 
National Geographic Traveler: Mexico by 
The Traveler's Atlas by
Here in one big, handsome volume are more than 60 famous and fascinating places that every world traveler must see. From the dramatic fjiords of Norway to the ancient remains of the mysterious Inca city of Machu Pichu, the authors guide readers along highways and rough trails to the world's most spectacular places. It's a bonanza of inspiration and ideas for adventurous travelers on where to go next and how to get there--but the book's detailed maps and vivid full-color photographs make it nearly as much fun for the armchair traveler! Maps are matched with location shots, and points of major interest are listed with tips on best travel routes, background information, and the best ways to avoid crowds. It also contains a worldwide directory of national tourist organizations, embassies, and many other addresses to help world travelers get the most out of their adventures. Includes more than 300 photos plus 50 maps.
Tropical Family Vacations by
Whether it's snorkeling through crystal-clear Caribbean waters, learning to surf at balmy Waikiki Beach, swimming with dolphins in Florida, or exploring Mayan ruins near the beaches of Cancun, an idyllic family trip is easy to plan with Tropical Family Vacations. Jam-packed with vacations for every family's taste in budget, this guide helps you find the best place for your family in the sun.To provide guidance in designing the perfect trip, Laura Sutherland, an experienced family travel writer, brings you Tropical Family Vacations. This information-packed guidebook includes: Coverage of South Florida, the Caribbean, Mexico and HawaiiExpert advice on the best places to stay--from glamorous resorts and spaccious condominiums to quiet cottages, beachfront campgrounds, and budget hotels.Activities for all ages, including submarine rides, volcano hikes, sand dune sliding, sailing, sea kayaking, and snorkeling tours.The scoop on resort kids' programs, from tots to teensTips on trip planning and keeping family adventures hassle-free Tropical family Vacations will prove to be an invaluable resources for parents who want a relaxing, carefree vacation and lifetime of memories for their families.
The World's Best by 
