LibGuides: State Institutions: Administrative Agencies

About Administrative Boards & Departments

California
Oregon

Since the first institutions were established by the State of California a variety of boards and departments have provided oversight to them. Among the administering boards and departments are:

California Bureau of Firearms
Established in 1972 the Bureau of Firearms serves the people of California through education, regulation, and enforcement actions regarding the manufacture, sales, ownership, safety training, and transfer of firearms. Bureau of Firearms staff will be leaders in providing firearms expertise and information to law enforcement, legislators, and the general public in a comprehensive program to promote legitimate and responsible firearms possession and use by California residents.
California Bureau of Investigation (CBI)
Established in 1918 as the California Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (CBCII).
California Bureau of Narcotic Enforcement (BNE)
Established in 1927 is the lead drug enforcement agency in California, providing leadership, coordination and support to local and regional law enforcement agencies to combat drugs, illegal weapons and violent crime in the state.

Established in 1927, BNE is the oldest narcotic enforcement bureau in the United States. BNE programs target major drug dealers, violent career criminals, clandestine drug manufacturers and violators of prescription drug laws.
California Division of Medi-Cal Fraud and Elder Abuse
Established in 2021 To protect our most vulnerable citizens and help safeguard the state's Medi-Cal program, the Attorney General's Division of Medi-Cal Fraud and Elder Abuse works aggressively to investigate and prosecute those who would defraud taxpayers of millions of dollars and divert scarce health care resources from the needy. The Division of Medi-Cal Fraud and Elder Abuse also works aggressively to protect residents in nursing homes and other long-term care facilities from abuse or neglect. These dedicated efforts have earned national recognition for the Division of Medi-Cal Fraud and Abuse.
California Office of the Attorney General
Created in 1850 he law enforcement and criminal investigative capabilities of the CA DOJ were not fully established until the early 20th century.
California Rangers
California's first statewide law enforcement agency, formed in 1853 to deal particularly with the outlaw gangs troubling the Gold Country during the early 1850s, and was commanded by Captain Harry Love. The California Rangers were also considered to be part of California's early state militia, one of the predecessors to the current California Army National Guard, with its members holding rank within that state military force. The original posse disbanded following their success in bringing the violent Five Joaquins gang to justice.
Criminal Justice Information Services Division, or CJIS,
n the summer of 1924, the FBI created an Identification Division (informally called “Ident” in the organization for many years to come) to gather prints from police agencies nationwide and to search them upon request for matches to criminals and crime evidence. The CJIS Division was established in February 1992 out of the former Identification Division to serve as the focal point and central repository for criminal justice information services in the FBI. It is the largest division in the FBI.
Office for Victims of Crime (OVC),
Established in 1988 OVC is charged by Congress with administering the Crime Victims Fund (the Fund). Through OVC, the Fund supports a broad array of programs and services that focus on helping victims in the immediate aftermath of crime and continuing to support them as they rebuild their lives.
California Division of Public Rights
The mission of the Division of Public Rights is to safeguard the state’s environment, lands, and natural resources; maintain competitive markets; prevent fraudulent business practices; protect consumers; monitor Indian and Gaming practices; preserve charitable assets, and protect the civil rights of all Californians

Since the first institutions were established by the State of Oregon variety of boards and departments have provided oversight to them. Among the administering boards and departments are:

Oregon Office of Attorney General
Established in 1891 The attorney general is the chief legal officer of the state and heads the Department of Justice. The attorney general controls and supervises all court actions and legal proceedings in which the state of Oregon is a party or has an interest, including all elected and appointed officials, agencies, boards and commissions.
Oregon Department of Justice
Established by the Legislature in 1947 and is the equivalent of the state's law firm.
Oregon State Board of Control 1851-1977
Covers Agency History, Record Series Descriptions, Organization Chart, State Hospital, State Penitentiary, School for the Blind, School for teh Deaf, etc.
Oregon Department of Corrections, 1854-1983
Covers Agency History, Record Series and Slideshow.

State Portal

California State Portal
Find California State Agencies, State Services and Common Questions
Find an Oregon Agency, Entity or Local Jurisdiction
Oregon's state government is composed of three government branches: Executive, Legislative, and Judicial, as well as a system of commissions wherein citizens are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.
Find information on Jobs & Businesses, Government, Public Safety, Education, Recreation, and Living.

Online Archive of California OAC
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Minerva Online Catalog
Minerva provides access to summary descriptions of the vast documentary treasures maintained by the California State Archives. A division of the Office of the Secretary of State, the California State Archives is responsible for the management and preservation of state government records. Within the more than 300 million items in its collections are documents from the state's first constitutional convention in 1849, land grant records of the Spanish and Mexican eras, campaign contribution statements, State Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal case files, legislative committee files, original laws, papers of many of the state's leading politicians, and large collections of photographs, maps, drawings, and audio/visual materials.
California State Library
Established in 1850, the California State Library is the central reference and research library for state government and the Legislature. The library collection includes more than 4 million titles, 6,000 maps, and 250,000 photographs. It has an extensive collection of documents from and about the state’s rich history and is one of the major genealogical reference libraries on the West Coast. It also holds significant collections from Mexico, the United Kingdom and Europe, with manuscripts dating back to the 13th and 14th centuries. The State Library is both a State and Federal Depository Library, providing free and open access to government information, and is a U.S. Patent and Trademark Resource Center. It is home to the Bernard E. Witkin State Law Library and the Braille and Talking Book Library. It also directs state and federal funds to support local public libraries and statewide library programs and services.

Oregon Blue Book
The Oregon Blue Book is the official state fact book about all levels of government in Oregon... and more. Published since 1911, it is produced by the Oregon State Archives, a division of the Secretary of State's Office

Oregon State Archives
Find resources on Business, Voting & Elections, Historical Records and audits.
State Library of Oregon
The State Library of Oregon was established as the Oregon Library Commission in 1905 and today provides information services to over 37,000 state government employees. The State Library also circulates library materials in digital and Braille format to approximately 5,200 print-disabled Oregonians and provides grants and assistance to help develop and improve library services, and to foster greater cooperation among all of Oregon's libraries.

State Institutions: Administrative Agencies

Suggested Administrative Agency Links

About Administrative Boards & Departments

State Portal

State Archives