State Institutions: Nursing Homes

Now in its 6th Edition, ASSISTING IN LONG-TERM CARE is the complete learning solution for Certified Nursing Assistants! The user-friendly book delivers all required content to prepare you for the certification exam while developing career skills for long-term care and sub-acute hospital settings. Topics include professional communication, daily CNA responsibilities, residents' rights, nutrition and hydration, restorative care, resident mobility, and maintaining a safe environment�all according to federal OBRA standards for nursing home care. ASSISTING IN LONG-TERM CARE, 6th Edition also walks you through more than one hundred clinical procedures, detailing your role as a CNA in each. Available in hard copy and e-book formats, ASSISTING IN LONG-TERM CARE, 6th Edition's helpful study features include review questions and self-tests, icons that point out key material, and a robust package of interactive, supplemental learning tools.

Fundamentals of US Health Care: Principles and Perspectives takes the broad, complex topic of health care in the United States and presents it in a digestible, easy-to-read format. Focusing on some of the fundamental issues facing the health care system today, this book delivers simple, objective coverage of key topics including cost, access, quality, financing, manpower, and public health. By blending current, factual data, basic principles, and multiple perspectives on controversial issues, the book provides a balanced approach to the core issues facing the health care industry. Case studies and vignettes throughout allow readers to explore how these problems impact real-life situations and hone their critical thinking skills for their professional careers.

A comprehensive nursing assistant training textbook which includes information on long-term care, multiple chapters on home health care, and material on subacute and acute care. In addition it includes in-depth information on resident and client rights with sidebars that teach ways to promote independence and prevent abuse and neglect; a discussion of culture change; infection prevention; anatomy and physiology with an emphasis on normal changes of aging; updated nutrition information on MyPyramid, special diets, and feeding techniques; current information on legal issues, such as HIPAA and the Patient Self-Determination Act; 7 chapters on home health care, including information on medications, safety, infection prevention, mothers & newborns, and meal planning and preparation; a chapter containing subacute and acute care information, including pre- and post-operative care, as well as mechanical ventilation, chest tubes, and artificial airways.

Expanded and Revised, LEADING THE WAY: THE BUSY NURSE'S GUIDE TO SUPERVISION IN LONG-TERM CARE, 3rd Edition gives you the tools you need to experience and create success in any long-term care environment. This easy-to-read handbook applies proven methods from the latest research, and covers everything from mentoring and motivating employees to dealing with job stress and ethical dilemmas. Succinct yet thorough, LEADING THE WAY: THE BUSY NURSE'S GUIDE TO SUPERVISION IN LONG-TERM CARE, 3rd Edition delivers the essentials of management and leadership, such as team building, communication, staff development, performance issues, and organization, all with a specific, long-term care focus. New discussions on effectively managing conflict, diffusing tension with humor, and achieving work/life balance make this always-popular book even more useful for nursing professionals everywhere.

You’re no idiot, of course. You know that most people need long-term care at some time and that this care is expensive. However, most people are ill-prepared to pay for this care, which can average $50,000 or more per year, whether they’re at home, in an assisted-living facility, or in a nursing home. You don’t have to jeopardize your retirement if you or a family member needs long-term care. The Complete Idiot’s Guide® to Long-Term Care Planning will show you exactly what options are open to you-whether you are still working or are already retired, and whether you are healthy or not. In this Complete Idiot’s Guide®, you get: Vital information about government programs, including Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, and Veterans’ benefits. How to use the value of your home to cover homecare costs. The pros and cons of long-term care insurance offered by your employer or through an association. A step-by-step plan to structure a long-term care policy that meets your needs.  

This very popular full-color text, now in its Tenth Edition, combines theoretical nursing concepts, step-by-step skills and procedures, and clinical applications to form the foundation of the LPN/LVN course of study. This edition retains the well-liked organization and features of previous editions, including an impressive and comprehensive ancillary package for students and faculty, end-of-unit exercises, and specially displayed Gerontologic Considerations. In addition, it features new Nutrition Notes and Pharmacological Considerations written by renowned experts as well as thoroughly updated content on quality and safety and new technologies, as well as nursing practice, laws and ethics, recording and reporting, nutrition, fluid and chemical balance, asepsis, infection control, medication administration, cost-related issues, emerging healthcare settings, concept mapping, malpractice, documentation and reporting, HIPAA, and more. The accompanying for-sale Student Study Guide has been converted to a Student Workbook, with the answers available only to instructors online, to enhance the student's study experience. This product is truly a comprehensive curricular resource, especially when packaged with its sister publication, Introductory Medical-Surgical Nursing.

In recent years hospice care has gone from a little-known medical alternative to a major movement in health care. By emphasizing palliative care and pain management rather than curative treatment, hospices allow the terminally ill to spend the last days, week, or months of their lives in their own homes, cared for by their families under the supervision of a team of specially trained hospice workers that includes doctors, nurses, social workers, and volunteers. The Hospice Handbook assures us that the terminally ill do have options, and the quality of their lives can still be within their control.

Key Concepts in Palliative Care provides just this in a compact, fifty-concept guide to the field. Taking account of the government's "End of Life Care Strategy", contributors set out the key issues affecting practice across a range of health and social care contexts.

This sensitively written book offers a wealth of insight and practical advice for nurses in every specialty and setting providing end-of-life care. Nurses will learn how to address patients' spiritual concerns, ensure that physical needs are met, help patients maintain their dignity, and provide emotional support to grieving families. Nurses will also learn how to cope with their own feelings about dying and end-of-life care. Coverage includes stages of dying, nursing interventions for palliative care, pain control, alternative therapies, physical and psychological signs of grieving, and more. Vignette insights from the well-known end-of-life specialist Joy Ufema offer advice on giving compassionate care.

Law and Ethics for the Health Care Professions illustrates the numerous legal and ethical issues that health care professionals face every day. The topics are derived from real-life experiences and dilemmas from a variety of health care practitioners. Through the use of Learning Outcomes, Key Terms, Ethics Issues, Chapter Reviews, Case Studies, Internet Activities, Court Cases, and Video Vignettes, students hear from health care practitioners in various locations throughout the United States as they encounter legal and ethical problems and situations. Students will practice critical thinking skills to decide how to resolve the real-life situations or theoretical scenarios, determine why the court made a particular ruling and decide how the issues are relevant to the health care profession they will practice.

Taking Sides volumes present current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. Each issue is thoughtfully framed with an issue summary, an issue introduction, and a postscript or challenge questions. Taking Sides readers feature an annotated listing of selected World Wide Web sites. An online Instructor's Resource Guide with testing material is available for each volume. Using Taking Sides in the Classroom is also an excellent instructor resource. Visit www.mhhe.com/takingsides for more details.

Issues of Life and Death such as abortion, assisted suicide, capital punishment and others are among the most contentious in many societies. Whose rights are protected? How do these rights and protections change over time and who makes those decisions? Based on the author's award-winning and hugely popular undergraduate course at the University of Texas, this book explores these questions and the fundamentally sociological processes which underlie the quest for morality and justice in human societies. The Author's goal is not to advocate any particular moral "high ground" but to shed light on the social movements and social processes which are at the root of these seemingly personal moral questions. This book is also broken down into four smallernbsp;How Ethical Systems Change volumes: Abortion and neonatal care: www.routledge.com/9780415504492/ Lynchingnbsp;and capital punishment: www.routledge.com/9780415505192/ Eugenics, the Final Solution, and Bioethics www.routledge.com/9780415501620/ Tolerable Suffering and Assisted Dying: www.routledge.com/9780415505161/ nbsp;

FINDING SOMEONE TO DO AN EVALUATION/TREATMENT/AND MANAGEMENT.

If someone you love has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's, you may not know where to turn. The early stages can be the most difficult time for relatives and friends because they often don't know much about the disease, or how they can be of help. This compassionate and practical book fills the information gap. It is divided into sections on how Alzheimer's begins, how to help a loved one with the disease, and how families and caregivers can help themselves. This new edition contains updated information on risk factors, treatments and potential means of prevention. A new chapter, "Voices of Experience" contains reflections by family members about what works and what doesn't in handling someone with Alzheimer's. This edition also includes information about two drugs approved since 1999 and the recent decision by the government to cover the cost of counseling and other health related services through Medicare. Resources are updated. Straightforward and pragmatic, yet encouraging, this book is invaluable for anyone with a loved one in the early stages of Alzheimer's disease.

Do You Have An Aging Parent Who -- Blames you for everything that goes wrong? Cannot tolerate being alone, wants you all the time? Is obsessed with health problems, real, or imagined? Make unreasonable and/or irrational demands of you? Is hostile, negative and critical? Coping with these traits in parents is an endless high-stress battle for their children. Though there's no medical defination for "difficult" parents, you know when you have one. While it's rare for adults to change their ways late in life, you can stop the vicious merry-go-round of anger, blame, guilt and frustration. For the first time, here's a common-sense guide from professionals, with more than two decades in the field, on how to smooth communications with a challenging parent. Filled with practical tips for handling contentious behaviors and sample dialogues for some of the most troubling situations, this book addresses many hard issues, including: How to tell your parent he or she cannot live with you. How to avoid the cycle of nagging and recriminations How to prevent your parent's negativity from overwhelming you. How to deal with an impaired parent who refuses to stop driving. How to asses the risk factors in deciding whether a parent is still able to live alone.

Cultural Competency for the Health Professional reviews the importance of the implementation of cultural competency by allied health professionals, and the process of assessment, training and evaluation. This comprehensive text includes a clear and concise overview of the necessary tools to apply cultural competency processes as well as systematic and disciplined approaches to the process of achieving it. Attention is also given to some of the reservations that may exist in various health professions with interests in moving in the direction of cultural competency such as associated costs, limited time, and beyond. Cultural Competency for the Health Professional provides health professions students with key cultural competency information and practical insight into how to apply this knowledge in their day-to-day work environments as they deal with patients on a clinical basis.Interview With Dr. ShalalaChapter 10 includes an interview with Dr. Shalala conducted by the author of this text. Dr. Donna Shalala is currently the President of the University of Miami, in Florida. She has been in this position since 2001. Prior to her current role, she was appointed by President Clinton to serve as U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) and held this position for 8 years which amounted to the longest serving HHS Secretary in U.S. history to date. She was responsible for a budget of almost $600 billion, overseeing a number of programs such as Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, Child Care and Head Start, Welfare, the Public Health Service, the National Institute of Health (NIH), The Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) (Shalala,2011).FEATURESOverview of the demographic changes in the United StatesAccreditation requirements (programmatic, specialized and institutional) Cultural nuances of specific groupsComprehensive view of the Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) standards with an emphasis on the clinical aspect of various allied health professionsAttitudinal survey with established reliability and validityINSTRUCTOR RESOURCES* PowerPoint Slides* Over 150 Test Questions* Case StudiesSTUDENT RESOURCESCompanion Site including:o Additional Case Studieso Crossword Puzzleso Interactive Glossaryo Flashcardso Matching Exerciseso Web Linkso Acronyms Glossaryo Acronyms Flashcards

Elder Rage, or Take My Father... Please: How to Survive Caring for Aging Parents--is a riveting true story as well as an extensive self-help book, with solutions for effective management, medically and behaviorally, of challenging elders who resist care. Jacqueline Marcell's poignant and often-humorous story of caring for her challenging elderly father and sweet but frail mother, addresses issues like how to get an obstinate elder to: give up driving, accept a caregiver, see a different doctor, take medication, go to adult day care, move to a new residence, etc. Includes: Behavior Modification Guidelines, 25 Q&A's=How Do I Handle My Elderly Loved One Who...', Long-Term Care Insurance, Ten Warning Signs of Alzheimer's, How is Alzheimer's Diagnosed, Three Stages of Alzheimer's, Startling Statistics, Other Diseases That Act Like Alzheimer's, Jacqueline's Top Ten Recommendations, Hope For The Future, The Search for the Cure, Valuable Resources, Recommended Reading. Internationally known dementia specialist, Rodman Shankle, MS MD, contributes the Addendum: A Physician's Guide to Treating Dementia. Over 50 endorsements include: Hugh Downs, Regis Philbin, Dr. Dean Edell, Duke University Center for Aging, Dr. Nancy Snyderman/ABC News, Leeza Gibbons, Senator John D. Rockefeller IV, Rudy Tanzi/Harvard Medical School, and The Johns Hopkins Memory Clinic. http://www.elderrage.com

"The bible of eldercare"--ABC World News. "An indispensable book"--AARP. "A compassionate guide of encyclopedic proportion"--The Washington Post. And, winner of a Books for a Better Life Award. How to Care for Aging Parents is the best and bestselling book of its kind, and its author, Virginia Morris, is the go-to person on eldercare for the media, appearing on Oprah, TODAY, and Good Morning America, among many other outlets. How to Care for Aging Parents is an authoritative, clear, and comforting source of advice and support for the ever-growing number of Americans--now 42 million--who care for an elderly parent, relative, or friend. And now, in its third edition, it is completely overhauled and updated, chapter-by-chapter and page-by-page, with the most recent medical findings and recommendations. It includes a whole new chapter on fraud; details on the latest "aging in place" technologies; more helpful online resources; and everything you need to know about current laws and regulations. Also new are fill-in worksheets for gathering specifics on medications; caregivers' names, schedules, and contact info; doctors' phone numbers and addresses; and other essential information in one handy place at the back of the book. From having that first difficult conversation to arranging a funeral and dealing with grief--and all of the other important issues in between--How to Care for Aging Parents is the essential guide.

For many families, a diagnosis of dementia is an ending. For Deborah Shouse, it was a beginning, "My mother taught me how to celebrate and appreciate what we have right now." Through her mother's dementia, Deborah discovered compassion, deepening love, and increased connection with her mother and her family.Love in the Land of Dementia offers hope to family members, friends, and care partners of people who are living with memory loss. Strong, fluid organization and tender writing distinguish this purposeful and compelling read, which is filled with practical suggestions, compassionate support, and unexpected insights. Deborah Shouse's writing has appeared in theWashington Post,Christian Science Monitor,Reader's Digest,Newsweek,Woman's Day,Hemispheres,Family Circle,Spirituality & Health,Chicago Tribune, andMs. She writes a weekly column on love stories for theKansas City Star, and has co-authoredWorking Woman's Communications Survival Guide, which is in its fifth printing, andAntiquing for Dummies. She has written several memoirs and business books and has been featured in more than a dozenChicken Soup books.

"Dementia is a life-altering diagnosis for patients and loved-ones alike. The progressive disease causes cognitive, emotional, and behavioral changes that can frustrate the efforts of even the most dedicated caregivers. Given the uniquely personal nature of dementia symptoms, treatment can be a supremely challenging experience, even for seasoned health care professionals. In this book, authors Susan McCurry and Claudia Drossel present a clear and practical blueprint for psychologists, physicians, nurses, social workers, and other health care professionals who work with dementia patients and their families. Their evidence-based contextual model of dementia care lays out broad intervention strategies, and encourages readers to use their own creativity and inner resources to develop appropriate solutions for each unique situation and individual. The chapters present a rich variety of vignettes that illustrate common quality-of-life concerns in dementia patients, including medical co-morbidities, patient/caregiver relationships, caregiver burnout, and interactions with health care professionals. Throughout, the authors combine a comprehensive knowledge of the literature with their own extensive clinical experience in advocating a compassionate and open-minded stance that respects the individuality, preferences, and dignity of dementia patients. Health care professionals at all levels of experience, from outpatient to assisted living to residential care settings, will find Treating Dementia in Context an inspirational resource for clinical practice"--Publicity materials. (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2011 APA, all rights reserved).

Medicaid fills in the gaps in Medicare's benefit package for many low-income Medicare enrollees. These "dual eligibles" are individuals who are entitled to Medicare who are also eligible for some level of assistance from their state Medicaid program. Such assistance ranges from help paying for Medicare's premiums and cost-sharing, to coverage of benefits not offered under Medicare, such as hearing, vision, dental, and long-term care. Because dual eligibles have significant medical needs and a much higher per capita cost than other beneficiaries, they are of great interest to both Medicare and Medicaid policymakers and to the state and federal governments that finance and manage the programs. This brief provides an update of the share of total Medicaid enrollment and spending attributable to dual eligibles using data through 2007. It also provides state-level estimates of Medicaid enrollment and expenditures for dual eligibles, together with a breakdown of dual eligible Medicaid expenditures by service category, as well as by age group and Medicaid eligibility group (elderly or disabled under age 65).

Fundamentals of US Health Care: Principles and Perspectives takes the broad, complex topic of health care in the United States and presents it in a digestible, easy-to-read format. Focusing on some of the fundamental issues facing the health care system today, this book delivers simple, objective coverage of key topics including cost, access, quality, financing, manpower, and public health. By blending current, factual data, basic principles, and multiple perspectives on controversial issues, the book provides a balanced approach to the core issues facing the health care industry. Case studies and vignettes throughout allow readers to explore how these problems impact real-life situations and hone their critical thinking skills for their professional careers.

What senior citizens need to know in changing times. How will the economy affect Social Security? How will new legislation affect Medicare?(USA Medicare) These and many other urgent questions are addressed in the third edition of The Complete Idiot's Guide(r) to Social Security and Medicare. Completely revised and updated with the latest 2008 statistics by an expert in the field, this guide incorporates the latest information on these important social programs-how they work, how they are changing with the current administration, and what the future holds. Completely new chapters on Medicare and the Medicare Drug Programs. Thoroughly revised resource section. Completely new chapter on the effects of the current financial climate on benefits.

The author, cofounder of a third-party pension administration firm and public speaker, discusses how 401(k) plans work, how to assess the quality of a plan, and how to redesign it to be better. Of likely interest to company decision-makers and active 401(k) plan participants.