State Institutions: Definitions

A series of articles expressing differing opinions about the effectiveness of America's prisons, their purposes, & alternatives.

Provides a short, accessible overview of the transformational and ongoing struggles against America's prison system.

Offering a comprehensive analysis, bestselling COMPARATIVE CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEMS, 5e compares the various criminal justice systems throughout the world using six model countries: China, England, France, Germany, Japan, and Saudi Arabia. The book illustrates the different types of law and justice systems while exploring the historical, political, economic, social, and cultural influences on each system. It examines important aspects of each type of justice system--common law, civil law, socialist law, and sacred (Islamic) law--to highlight the similarities and differences of each. Completely up to date, it provides expanded coverage of such high-profile topics as human trafficking, Internet pornography, identity theft, transnational policing, terrorism and more.

The goal of this text is to prepare students to be the managers and leaders of today's correctional organizations. Houston first introduces contemporary correctional management and reviews the evolution of management theory. He then discusses the impact of law, the media, and the community on the correctional organization. The text also explores the budget process, leadership, management of others, and ethical considerations.

Schmalleger and Bartollas’Juvenile Delinquencyis an up-to-date exploration of the causes and consequences of delinquent behavior based on the latest theoretical understandings of delinquency and on the real-life experiences of young people today.  The book brings together an author team renowned for quality writing and experienced in the field of delinquency prevention.

A market-leader, The Juvenile Justice System: Delinquency, Processing, and the Law, Fifth Edition, provides a detailed examination of the juvenile justice system. Known for its comprehensive coverage, the author explores all aspects of juvenile justice--including intake, adjudication, dispositions, juvenile probation, parole, and community corrections--and maintains a legal emphasis throughout. Up-to-date tables, figures and statistics give readers the most current perspective of juvenile justice trends. Chapter-opening scenarios, personality highlights and career snapshots use personal accounts to capture the essence of what it means to be part of the juvenile justice system

Student supplement for: ISBN 0132256940  9780132256940   Juvenile Justice in America, 5/e

This best-selling JUVENILE DELINQUENCY: THEORY, PRACTICE, AND LAW, Tenth Edition, text gives you timely coverage of theory, policy, and the latest research. Praised for its balanced approach and for the authors' engaging writing style, this text will help you understand the nature of delinquency and its causes, as well as current strategies being used to control or eliminate its occurrence. And JUVENILE DELINQUENCY: THEORY, PRACTICE, AND LAW, Tenth Edition, includes leading-edge learning aids! Study more effectively and achieve success in your course with chapter objectives, critical-thinking questions, and a helpful point-by-point summary in each chapter. Plus, the book's many accompanying resources, such as the Book Companion Website, get you ready for your next exam!

For juvenile justice/juvenile delinquency courses in Criminal Justice, Criminology and Sociology departments. Fully focused on the important issues, emerging trends, contemporary research, and special challenges facing juvenile justice today, this comprehensive exploration of the American juvenile justice system covers the history and philosophy of juvenile justice, the current practices for processing youthful offenders, the detention of juveniles, and the diversion of youth from the juvenile justice system. Unique in its approach, it gives students an up-close and personal view of the fascinating and sometimes tragic world of the juvenile offender--and the personal, psychological and thinking processes that characterize juvenile misbehavior.

Bearing Witness is the culmination of interviews
with people from Baltimore City about their experiences with the criminal justice system. Compared
to the rest of Maryland, Baltimore City faces a
concentrated impact of the criminal justice system. Approximately 61 percent of newly-incarcerated people in Maryland’s
prisons were from Baltimore City in fiscal year 2008.
Five themes emerge from the narratives and include: the
unique needs of women; the impact of parole and probation
policies; the need for a public health approach to drug addiction; the cost investing in prisons over other social institutions; and the potential that restorative justice has for healing
communities. Of particular n

This strong indictment of the current prison system, undertaken by two respected experts on behalf of the American Friends Service Committee, traces the history and features of our penal system, offers strong ethical and moral assessments of it, and lays out a whole new paradigm of criminal justice based on restorative justice and reconciliation. The book puts forward a 12-point plan for immediate changes. Beyond Prisons opens a long-needed national dialogue on our responsibilities as citizens and as a nation to provide remediation rather than mere retributive incarceration, answerable to the common good and the justice of God.

An engaging writer, Chuck Terry presents this powerful study on the tremendous obstacles that drug addicts drifting in and out of prison must overcome in order to get clean and "make it" in society. Thoroughly researched and based on sound theory, this text covers how societal reaction to drugs and addiction shape criminal policy and behavior. Terry's powerful voice as a writer brings each of "the fellas" to life as he tells their story on how they became addicts and documents their on going struggle with addiction---both in and out of prison. Terry follows the story of "the fellas" as they beat the odds, get clean, and try to make a better life for themselves. And, he tells the somber story of those who are not able to overcome the obstacles of drugs and prison.

One of the goals of Proposition 36 was to divert nonviolent defendants, probationers, and parolees from incarceration into community-based substance abuse treatment programs.

Criminal victimization trends provide useful insights by positioning annual data within a broader context. To estimate
these trends, researchers rely on two national sources of crime data: the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s Uniform
Crime Reporting Program (UCR) and the Bureau of Justice Statistics’s National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS). Both
the UCR and the NCVS have been collected for decades. While their methodologies and findings differ slightly, each
resource provides critical information necessary to understand crime and victimization in the United States. For more
information, see the Crime and Victimization in the United States fact sheet in this series.

Uniform Crime Reports
The Uniform Crime Reports (UCR) provide official crime counts for the United States since 1930. It is a program of the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The UCR Program is a voluntary city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement program that provides a nationwide view of crime based on the submission of statistics by law enforcement agencies throughout the country. Data is collected on known offenses and persons arrested.

National Crime Victimization Survey
The National Crime Victimization Survey is the Nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization. Each year, data are obtained from a nationally representative sample of 76,000 households comprising nearly 135,300 persons on the frequency, characteristics and consequences of criminal victimization in the United States. It is a program of the Bureua of Justice Statisticsand began in 1973.

Federal sentencing statistics by state, district, and circuit provided by the United States Sentencing Commission.

The edition of this comprehensive introduction to the basics of criminal justice research is substantially expanded and refined. The authors introduce simple research methodologies and proceed to complicated ones, describe elementary descriptive and inferential statistics, demonstrate research techniques, and examine the various scientific perspectives used in research. This approach encourages students to think critically about the research they encounter in their studies and also about the way they conduct their own research.

The purpose of  A Short Guide to Writing About Criminal Justice  is to help students navigate the writing process.  Criminal Justice courses are based upon theoretical, practical, experiential and policy-based issues, and students must understand how to think and write about issues from multiple perspectives. This book discusses the major approaches to writing in Criminal Justice and outlines for students how to think and write from various perspectives.  

The Complete Idiot's Guide® to Psychology, Fourth Edition provides an easy-to-understand look at both this history and modern practice of psychology. Interest in psychology extends well beyond the walls of academia. Sigmund Freud, Carl Jung, and William James are just a few examples of the many people in psychology whose works remain popular sellers, demonstrating an ongoing popular interest in this field. In the Fourth Edition of The Complete Idiot's Guide®to Psychology, readers will find- What treatment works best for what problem. How to use positive psychology to make one's life even better (one doesn't have to have a problem to use psychology). Alternative mental health treatments (for example, some parts of meditation can improve one's self-esteem and ward off depression). How the mind and the body work with each other-and how one can improve their communication.

This collection of recent and classic readings looks at crime in its many forms--corporate, street, and governmental--and examines how the police, courts, and prisons respond to crime.

To help writers create more credible and convincing criminal characters, this guide examines the basics of psychology and law, theories of criminality, and various disorders that can lead to criminal behaviour. It also explores the legal process, forensics, and treatment of offenders and victims.

What does a criminal reveal about himself by the way he commits a crime? A criminal may divulge what shoes he wore from his footprints. His blood type can be determined by any body fluids left at the scene. But he leaves more at the crime scene than these material traces. He also leaves psychological traces, telltale patterns of behavior that indicated the sort of person he is. These traces are more ambiguous and subtle than those examined by the biologist or physicist... They are more like shadows... Yet if they can be interpreted, criminals' shadows can indicate where investigators should look and what sort of a person they should look for.

The polygraph, often portrayed as a magic mind-reading machine, is still controversial among experts, who continue heated debates about its validity as a lie-detecting device. As the nation takes a fresh look at ways to enhance its security, can the polygraph be considered a useful tool? The Polygraph and Lie Detection puts the polygraph itself to the test, reviewing and analyzing data about its use in criminal investigation, employment screening, and counter-intelligence. The book looks at: The theory of how the polygraph works and evidence about how deceptiveness "and other psychological conditions "affect the physiological responses that the polygraph measures. Empirical evidence on the performance of the polygraph and the success of subjects (TM) countermeasures. The actual use of the polygraph in the arena of national security, including its role in deterring threats to security. The book addresses the difficulties of measuring polygraph accuracy, the usefulness of the technique for aiding interrogation and for deterrence, and includes potential alternatives "such as voice-stress analysis and brain measurement techniques.