Skip to Main Content

ENG101 English: Home

An overview of the English course at the Institute of Technology.

Videos

Library Catalog

Search Library Catalog

Library Catalog Book Lists

Reading & Writing Databases

Purchase Request

All LibGuides

Overview

Upon successful completion of this course, students will be able to apply appropriate grammar, punctuation, capitalization, and word usage rules within a variety of writing and oral assignments. Written examples of English will be reviewed for the organization of clarity, format, style, and idiomatic appropriateness. The preparation and format of a research paper is included. Oral communication is included focusing on organizing and delivering various types of presentations, listening skills, and interpersonal responses.

Library of Congress Call Numbers

PN Literary History and Collections 

1-6790 Literary History and Collections (General)

80-99 Criticism

101-245  Authorship

441-1009.5  Literary History

1010-1551  Poetry

1560-1590  The Performing Arts, Show Business

1600-3307  Drama

1660-1693  Dramatic Composition

1865-1999  Special Types of Drama

2000-3307  Dramatic Representation, The Theater

3311-3503  Prose, Proce Fiction

4001-4355  Oratory, Elocution, Recitations, etc.

4400  Letters

4500  Essays

4699-5650  Journalism

6010-6790  Collections of General Literature

6080-6095  Quotations

6099-6110  Poetry

6110.5-6120  Drama

6120.15-6120.95  Fiction

6121-6129  Orations

6130-6140  Letters

6141-6145  Essays

6147-6231  Wit and Humor, Satire

6249-6790  Miscellaneous

RSS Feeds

  • From 10 Core Practices for Better Writing: Revising Your WritingThis link opens in a new window I’d like to share a few excerpts from my book 10 Core Practices for Better Writing. “Chapter Three: Revision” explores the importance of revising your work and includes tips and ideas for editing and proofreading. Enjoy! “The best writing is rewriting.” – E.B. White We use the terms first draft or rough draft when we...Read More The post From 10 Core Practices for Better Writing: Revising Your Writing first appeared on Writing Forward. Jul 1, 2025
  • 15 Quick and Dirty Writing TipsThis link opens in a new window The first time someone told me, “show, don’t tell,” I had no idea what they were talking about. Show what? Isn’t writing, by its very nature, telling? I was a young writer and didn’t yet understand the many elements of good writing. But I kept hearing that advice over and over: show, don’t tell. Then,...Read More The post 15 Quick and Dirty Writing Tips first appeared on Writing Forward. Jun 26, 2025
  • Journal Prompts to Tickle Your Funny BoneThis link opens in a new window Have you ever tried to write comedy? It’s not easy. Comics form the ranks of some of the most talented artists in the world. The gift of laughter is a rich one, and writing funny material can enrich your work. After all, art must reflect life and life is a balance of highs and lows....Read More The post Journal Prompts to Tickle Your Funny Bone first appeared on Writing Forward. Jun 24, 2025
  • Storytelling Exercise: Three ActsThis link opens in a new window Today’s storytelling exercise is an excerpt from my book, Story Drills, which is filled with fiction-writing exercises that impart basic techniques of storytelling. Today’s exercise is from chapter forty-five. It’s called “Three Acts.” Enjoy! The three-act structure is one of the simplest and most effective ways to outline or analyze a story and its structure....Read More The post Storytelling Exercise: Three Acts first appeared on Writing Forward. Jun 19, 2025
WebsiteThis link opens in a new window  |  FeedThis link opens in a new window
  • The Critic by Catharine BramkampThis link opens in a new window A reflection on the damage critics can cause to creativity and a call to value the courage it takes to create rather than to judge. The post The Critic by Catharine Bramkamp appeared first on Writer's Fun Zone. Jul 4, 2025
  • Quick Tips for Writing Your Character’s IdentityThis link opens in a new window Quick Tips for Writing Your Character’s Identity – How To Write the Future podcast, episode 159 *** “Get to know the people, read the history, talk to the people as people. But not as... The post Quick Tips for Writing Your Character’s Identity appeared first on Writer's Fun Zone. Jun 30, 2025
  • Tiny Experiments: A Review and Interview with Anne-Laure Le Cunff by LA BourgeoisThis link opens in a new window Discover how Anne-Laure Le Cunff’s Tiny Experiments inspires creatives to grow through curiosity, small steps, and reflection. The post Tiny Experiments: A Review and Interview with Anne-Laure Le Cunff by LA Bourgeois appeared first on Writer's Fun Zone. Jun 27, 2025
  • 3 Copyright Myths by Kelley WayThis link opens in a new window Unveil the truth behind three copyright myths and learn what the law really says about ownership, credit, and contracts. The post 3 Copyright Myths by Kelley Way appeared first on Writer's Fun Zone. Jun 24, 2025
WebsiteThis link opens in a new window  |  FeedThis link opens in a new window
  • Joyce Carol Oates MasterClass Review: Will This Help You Perfect Your Short Stories?This link opens in a new window The article Joyce Carol Oates MasterClass Review: Will This Help You Perfect Your Short Stories? appeared first on The Write Practice. I was scrolling through social earlier today and discovered something amazing: Joyce Carol Oates is teaching a MasterClass! And on short stories, nonetheless, which happens to be my forte. I’m so excited to have the opportunity to take this MasterClass, learn from an unparalleled literary giant, and write a Joyce Carol Oates MasterClass review. The article Joyce Carol Oates MasterClass Review: Will This Help You Perfect Your Short Stories? appeared first on The Write Practice. The Write Practice - Transforming Aspiring Writers into Published Authors Sep 5, 2023
  • Hybrid Publishing: Is it the Right Choice For Your Book?This link opens in a new window The article Hybrid Publishing: Is it the Right Choice For Your Book? appeared first on The Write Practice. Have you been tirelessly searching for the perfect way to give your literary masterpiece the life it deserves? For ages, traditional publishing has been the shining lighthouse of success, while self-publishing has carved a unique trail for those who treasure their autonomy. But what if I told you there's another path that combines the best of both worlds? Welcome to the realm of hybrid publishing, a model that balances the creative liberty of self-publishing with the professional support of traditional publishing. The article Hybrid Publishing: Is it the Right Choice For Your Book? appeared first on The Write Practice. The Write Practice - Transforming Aspiring Writers into Published Authors Sep 1, 2023
  • 10 Writing Tips from Ursula Le GuinThis link opens in a new window The article 10 Writing Tips from Ursula Le Guin appeared first on The Write Practice. Le Guin was a "genre" writer who constantly pushed the boundaries of what we think of as genre. Besides sci-fi and fantasy, she wrote poetry, creative nonfiction, and literary fiction. I honestly believe she will go down in history as one of the greatest writers, literary or otherwise, of the 20th century. The article 10 Writing Tips from Ursula Le Guin appeared first on The Write Practice. The Write Practice - Transforming Aspiring Writers into Published Authors Aug 31, 2023
  • How to Waste Time: 5 Ways To Do It WellThis link opens in a new window The article How to Waste Time: 5 Ways To Do It Well appeared first on The Write Practice. If you've ever found yourself wasting time or just overwhelmed with time management in general, today's guest writer has an interesting perspective on how to waste time as a writer---and still invest in your personal growth and quality time with those people and things you want most.  The article How to Waste Time: 5 Ways To Do It Well appeared first on The Write Practice. The Write Practice - Transforming Aspiring Writers into Published Authors Aug 30, 2023
WebsiteThis link opens in a new window  |  FeedThis link opens in a new window
WebsiteThis link opens in a new window  |  FeedThis link opens in a new window

Library Event Calendar

Corporate Librarian

Profile Photo
Laura Haberstich
she/her/hers

Contact:
564 West Herndon Avenue
Clovis, CA 93612
559-326-1784
Website
Subjects: Consciousness; Cognition, Exercise Therapy, Tutorials & Database Guides, Abused men, Abused women, Academic Integrity, Acupuncture, Administrative Office Professional AOP, Adolescence Psychology, Adulthood, Aesthetics, Afghan War, 2001-, African/Black Studies, Ageism, AI (Artifical Intelligence), Air Conditioning A/C, Alabama, Alaska, Algae Culture, Algebra, Allied Health Personnel, Alternative and Holistic Medicine, American Literature, American Regional Cuisine, Anarchism, Andorra, Animal Culture, Animal Experimentation, Anthropology, Applied Psychology, Aquaculture & Fisheries, Arab Studies, Archaeology & Ancient History, Architecture & Construction Engineering, Archives and Special Collections, Arizona, Arkansas, Armenia, Aromatherapy, Art & Art History, Art Therapy, Arts & Crafts, Ashkenazi Jews (Ashkenazim), Asian Studies, Astrology, Atlases, Atomic Physics, Audio Recordings, Australia, Austria & Austro-Hungarian Empire, Authorship, Automotive Technology & Metals, Baking and Patisserie, Balkan Peninsula, Balneology (Baths), Barbering, Basic Biological and Medical Research, Beauty & Fashion, Behaviorism (Psychology), Belgium, Bibliography, Biography, Biology, Botany, British America, Buddhism, Building Construction, Business & Finance, Business Ethics & Business Etiquette, Calculators, Calculus, Calendars & Technical Chronology, Canis (Canidae), Capital Punishment, Careers & Employment Skills Training, Chad (Tchad), Chakra (Hinduism), Chemical Industries, Chemical Technology, Chemistry, Chicano/Latino Studies, Child Abuse, Child Development, Child Psychology, Child, Youth & Family Studies, China, Chiropractic, Chondrichthyes, Chordates, Christian Denominations, Christianity, Civil Rights/Human Rights, Civil War Period, 1861-1865, Clinical Endocrinology, Clinical Medicine, Clinical Psychology, Clinical Simulations, Cloud Computing (Web Services), Collections of General Literature, Colonial History (1607-1775), Colorado, Comedy, Commerce, Communication/Speech, Communism, Computer Science, Computer Simulation (Virtual Reality), Confectionery Industries, Conflict Resolution, Connecticut, Construction Industry, Consumer News and Advice, Contemporary Issues, Cooking, Correctional Institutions, Corrections, Cosmetology, Cosmology, Country Profiles, Crime, Criminal Investigations, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Crisis Intervention (Mental Health Services), Cryptogams, Curiosities & Wonders, Cycle of Abuse (Social Psychology), Czechoslovakia (Czech Republic), Data & Statistics, Delaware, Denmark, Dental, Dentistry, Dermatology, Developmental Psychology, Difference (Psychology), Disabilities and Genetic Issues, Discovery of America and Early Explorations, Disease (Communicable and Noninfectious) and Public Health, Diseases of the Blood and Blood-forming Organs, Diseases of the Breast, Diseases of the Circulatory (Cardiovascular) System, Diseases of the Connective Tissues, Diseases of the Digestive System (Gastroenterology), Diseases of the Genitourinary System (Urology), Diseases of the Musculoskeletal System, Diseases of the Respiratory System, District of Columbia. Washington, Domestic Violence, Drug Abuse; Drug Habits, Early Nineteenth Century, 1801/1809-1845, Eating Disorders, eBooks, Economics, Education, Education Sciences, Educational Sociology, Egypt, EI Emotional Intelligence (EQ Emotional Quotient), Elder Abuse, Electrical Engineering, Electricity and Magnetism, Emergency Management, Emigration & Immigration, Emotions, Employment Interviewing, Energy Industries, Energy Medicine and Healing, Engineering, English & Composition, English Literature, Environmental Quality, Environmental Radioactivity, Environmental Technology; Sanitary Engineering, Epistemology (Theory of Knowledge) , Evidence-based Medicine, Example, Experimental Psychology, Family Relations, Fermentation Industries, Field Crops, Finland, Florida, Folklore, Food Safety & Sanitation, Food Science & Nutrition, Forensic Medicine, Forensic Sciences, France, General Bibliography, General Education, General/Multidisciplinary, Genetics, Georgia, Geriatrics, Germany, Great Britain, Great Depression, 1929-1939, Great Lakes Region, Great Plains, Greco-Roman World, Greece, Gulf States, Gynecology and Obstetrics, Hallucinations and illusions, Hawaii, Health Facilities, Health Information Technology, Heating and Ventilation, Higher Education, Hinduism, History, History & Criticism, History of Civilization, History of Oceania (South Seas), History of Spain, History of the United States, Holiday Cooking, Homeopathy, Horses, Human Anatomy, Human Ecology and Anthroppogeography, Human Embryology, Hungary, Hunting Sports, HVAC Industry, Hydrotherapy, Hypnotism, Iceland, Idaho, Illinois, Inclusive Education, Indiana, Indonesia (Dutch East Indies), Industries, Infant Psychology, Information Literacy, Inscriptions & Epigraphy, Insects, Internal Medicine, International Relations, Invertebrates, Iow, Iraq (Assyria, Babylonia, Mesopotamia), Iraq War, 2003-2011, Italy, Japan, Journalism & Media, Judaic Studies, Kansas, Kentucky, Kinesiology, Korean War, 1950-1953, Labor, Ladino Language and Literature, Land Use, Late Nineteenth Century, 1865-1900, Later Twentieth Century, 1961-2000, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Learning Strategies, Lebanon (Phenicia), Legal Medicine, LGBTQIA+, Libraries, Library Resources, Library Science, Library Services, Literature & Language, Logic, Louisiana, Lower Mississippi Valley, Luxembourg, Maine, Malta (Maltese Islands), Mammals, Management, Manicuring, Manners and Customs, Manual Therapy, Maps, Mardi Gras (Carnival), Maryland, Masculinity, Massachusetts, Massage Therapy, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering and Machinery, Medical Billing and Coding, Medical Billing and Office Administration (MBOA), Medical Ethics, Medical Informatics, Medical Jurisprudence, Medical Offices, Medical Records Management, Medicine, Meditation, Men (Human Males), Mental Diseases & Disorders, Mental Healing, Metaphysics, Mexico, Michigan, Microbiology, Middle Atlantic States, Middle Nineteenth Century, 1845/1848-1861, Military Administration, Mind and Body, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Missouri River and Valley, Mobile Apps, Monaco, Montana, Museums, Mythology, Naval Art and Science, Nebraska, Nervous System, Netherlands (Holland), Neuromuscular Rehabilitation, Neurophysiology & Neuropsychology, Neuroses, Nevada, New England, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New Southwest, New York, New Zealand, News & Current Events, Newspapers, North American Studies, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Europe; Scandinavia, Norway, NPTAE (National Physical Therapist Assistant Examination), Numismatics, Nursing, Occult Sciences, Occupational Therapy, Ohio, Oklahoma, Old Northwest Territory, Oncology, Online Learning and Distance Education, Oregon, Organizational Psychology, Orthopedics, Osteopathy, Other Systems of Medicine, Pacific Islands Studies, Pacific States, Paleography, Paleozoology, Palliative Treatment, Parapsychology, Pathology, Patient Care & Management, Pediatrics, Pennsylvania, Persian Gulf War, 1991, Personal Health and Hygiene, Personality Disorders., Pharmaceutical Industry, Pharmacology, Pharmacy Technician, Philology and Linguistics, Philosophy, Phlebotomy, Phototherapy, Physical Anthropology; Somatology, Physical Education & Sport Science, Physical Geography, Physical Therapist Assistant PTA, Physical Therapy, Physical Therapy Ethics, Physics, Physiognomy and Phrenology , Physiology, Plagiarism, Plumbing and Pipefitting, Podiatry, Poetry, Poland, Police, Polish Studies, Political Theory, Portugal, Preventive Medicine, Professional Development, Professional Ethics, Professional Medical Assistant, Programmed Instruction, Psychiatry, Psychoanalysis, Psychology, Psychology of Sex; Sexual Behavior, Psychoses, Psychotherapy, Public Institutions, Public Relations (PR), Radiology, Refrigeration and Refrigerating Machinery, Regional and Area Studies, Rehabilitation Therapy, Reiki (Healing System), Religion, Research & Writing, Revolution to the Civil War, 1775/1783-1861, Rhode Island, Rocky Mountains, Russia (Soviet Union); Soviet Republics, Scientific Apparatus and Instruments, Seals, Self-realization, Sephardi Jews (Sephardim), Shamanism, Shellfish Fisheries; Shellfish Culture, Slavery and Antislavery Movements, Sleep, Slovakia, Social and Public Welfare, Social Aspects of Education, Social Classes, Social Influence (Social Pressure), Social Media, Social Pathology, Social Psychology, Social Sciences, Socialism, Sociology, South Atlantic States, South Carolina, South Dakota, Special Situations and Conditions, Specialties of Internal Medicine, Speculative Philosophy, Spiritualism, Sports, Suicide, Surgery, Surgical Nursing, Sweden, Switzerland, Technology, Tennessee, Terminology, Texas, Theology, Theory and Practice of Education, Therapeutics, Toxicology, Transportation & Communications, Trauma, Trigonometry, True Crime, Twentieth Century, Twenty-First Century, Types of Education, Urban Sociology, Utah, Utopias; The Ideal State, Vegetables, Vermont, Veterans, Victimology, Vietnam War, 1961-1975, Violence against women, Virginia, War of 1898 (Spanish-American War), Washington State, Welding, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Witchcraft, World History, World War I (1914-1918), World War II (1939-1945), Wyoming, Zen Buddhism