LibGuides: World History in Credo: Asia

China

Yangtze River (China): Topic
Longest river of China and Asia, and third longest in the world, flowing about 6,300 km/3,900 mi from Qinghai on the Tibetan Plateau to the Yellow Sea. It is a major commercial waterway and, with its tributaries, is navigable for 30,000 km/18,640 mi; Yichang is considered the head of navigation, but ocean-going vessels can reach inland as far as Wuhan.
China: Topic
Since the 2d millennium B.C. a unique and fairly uniform culture has spread over almost all of China.
Chinese Dynasties: Topic
A table of the Chinese Dynasties from c. 2205 B.C.E. to the Qing Dynasty (1644–1912).
Warring States Period
From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
(475–221 BC) In Chinese history, a period in which small feuding kingdoms or fiefdoms struggled for supremacy.
Great Wall of China: Topic
Fortifications, c.1,500 mi (2,400 km) long, winding across N China from Gansu prov. to Hebei prov. on the Yellow Sea.
Opium Wars: Topic
Two wars, the First Opium War (1839–42) and the Second Opium War (1856–60), waged by Britain against China to enforce the opening of Chinese ports to trade in opium. Opium from British India paid for Britain's imports from China, such as porcelain, silk, and, above all, tea.
Chinese Revolution: Topic
Series of great political upheavals in China between 1911 and 1949 which eventually led to Communist Party rule and the establishment of the People's Republic of China.
Mao Zedong (1873–1976): Topic
Mao Zedong was a founding member of the Chinese Communist Party and the architect of China’s Communist revolution. Some of his socialist polices failed and caused much suffering and devastation for the people, but his legacy as a firm nationalist leader and the “founding father” of an independent China still inspires post-Mao generations.
Taiwan: Topic
An island nation which is part of China.
Tiananmen Square: Topic
Paved open space in central Beijing (Peking), China, the largest public square in the world. On 3–4 June 1989 more than 1,000 unarmed protesters were killed by government troops in a massacre that crushed China's emerging pro-democracy movement.

Japan

Japan: Topic
The divine design of the empire—supposedly founded in 660 B.C. by the emperor Jimmu, a lineal descendant of the sun goddess and ancestor of the present emperor—was held as official dogma until 1945.
Japanese: Topic
The citizens of Japan (capital Tokyo), who numbered over 127.5 million in 2002.
Samurai: Topic
The samurai was the professional warrior class that ruled Japan for almost 700 years, from the end of the 12th until the middle of the 19th century.
Ainu
From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Aborigines of Japan who may be descended from a Caucasoid people who once lived in N Asia. More powerful invaders from the Asian mainland gradually forced the Ainu to retreat to the northern islands of Japan and Sakhalin and the Kuril Islands in what is now the Russian Far East.
Hokkaido: Topic
It is the second largest, northernmost, and most sparsely populated of the major islands of Japan.
Honshu: Topic
The largest of the four main islands of Japan, between the Pacific and the Sea of Japan; regarded as the Japanese mainland.
Kyushu: Topic
An island of SW Japan: the southernmost of Japan's four main islands, with over 300 surrounding small islands; coalfield and chemical industries.
Shikoku
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Smallest of the four main islands of Japan, south of Honshu, east of Kyushu; area 18,800 sq km/7,250 sq mi; population (2000 est) 4,154,000.

Geography

Asia: Topic
the world's largest continent with about 3.3 billion people, nearly three fifths of the world's total population.
Cambodia: Topic
A Constitutional Monarchy, Cambodia is bordered by Thailand on the west and north, by Laos on the north, by Vietnam on the east, and by the Gulf of Thailand on the south.
Indonesia: Topic
Country in southeast Asia, made up of 13,677 islands situated on or near the Equator, between the Indian and Pacific oceans. It is the world's fourth most populous country, surpassed only by China, India, and the USA.
Korea: Topic
A peninsula, 600 mi (966 km) long, Korea separates the Sea of Japan on the east from the Yellow Sea. On the south it is bounded by the Korea Strait (connecting the Sea of Japan and the Yellow Sea) and on the north its land boundaries with China and Russia.
Malaysia: Topic
independent federation in Southeast Asia. T
Mongolia: Topic
Country in east-Central Asia, bounded north by Russia and south by China.
Singapore: Topic
Country in southeast Asia, off the tip of the Malay Peninsula.
Thailand: Topic
Occupying a central position on the Southeast Asia peninsula, Thailand is bordered by Myanmar on the west and northwest, by Laos on the north and east, by Cambodia on the southeast, and by the Gulf of Thailand and Malaysia on the south.
Laos: Topic
A landlocked nation, Laos is bordered by China on the north, by Vietnam on the east, by Cambodia on the south, and by Thailand and Myanmar on the west.
Vietnam: Topic
Occupying the eastern coastline of the Southeast Asian peninsula, Vietnam is bounded by China on the north, by Laos and Cambodia on the west, and by the Gulf of Tonkin and the South China Sea on the east and south.
Central Asian Republics: Topic
Geographical region covering the territory of five nation-states: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. These republics were part of the Soviet Union before gaining their independence in 1991.
Southeast Asia: Topic
This region has 10 independent countries: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Conflicts & Movements of Asia

Korean War: Topic
The Korean War—considered the forgotten war by some because it fell between the “good” war, World War II, and the “bad” war, Vietnam—was the first time in the nuclear age when the United States committed its forces to combat.
Vietnam War: Topic
Beginning in the aftermath of World War II and lasting into the 1970s, U.S. involvement in Vietnam, indeed throughout Southeast Asia, grew progressively from an advisory effort into a major war.

India

Ganges River: Topic
THE GANGES RIVER, 1,557 miles in length, flows eastward along the border separating the Himalayan complex and the flat expanse of the Indian subcontinent.
Indus Valley Civilization: Topic
Ancient civilization that flourished from about 2500 B.C. to about 1500 B.C. in the valley of the Indus River and its tributaries.
Sanskrit Literature: Topic
Literary works written in Sanskrit constituting the main body of the classical literature of India.
Mohandas “Mahatma” Gandhi (1869-1948): Topic
Gandhi’s significance as a twentieth-century philosopher, pilgrim, world leader, and writer lies in his uncompromising reliance on ahimsa—the Hindi and Buddhist doctrine of nonviolence and restraint from harming all forms of life—as a moral force for reforming and transforming unjust established authority.

Subject Guide

Laura Haberstich

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

564 West Herndon Avenue
Clovis, CA 93612

559-326-1784

Subjects: Consciousness; Cognition, Exercise Therapy, Infant Psychology, Tutorials & Database Guides, Academic Integrity, Acupuncture, Administrative Office Professional AOP, Adolescence Psychology, Adulthood, Aesthetics, Afghan War, 2001-, African/Black Studies, Ageism, AI (Artifical Intelligence), Air Conditioning A/C, Alabama, Alaska, Algae Culture, Algebra, Allied Health Personnel, Alternative and Holistic Medicine, American Literature, Anarchism, Andorra, Animal Culture, Animal Experimentation, Anthropology, Applied Psychology, Aquaculture & Fisheries, Arab Studies, Archaeology & Ancient History, Architecture & Construction Engineering, Archives and Special Collections, Arizona, Arkansas, Armenia, Art & Art History, Art Therapy, Arts & Crafts, Ashkenazi Jews (Ashkenazim), Asia Studies, Astrology, Atlases, Atomic Physics, Audio Recordings, Australia, Austria & Austro-Hungarian Empire, Authorship, Automotive Technology & Metals, Baking and Patisserie, Balkan Peninsula, Balneology (Baths), Barbering, Basic Biological and Medical Research, Beauty & Fashion, Behaviorism (Psychology), Belgium, Bibliography, Biography, Biology, Botany, British America, Buddhism, Building Construction, Business & Finance, Business Ethics & Business Etiquette, Calculators, Calculus, Calendars & Technical Chronology, Canis; Canidae, Capital Punishment, Careers & Employment Skills Training, Chad (Tchad), Chakra (Hinduism), Chemical Industries, Chemical Technology, Chemistry, Chicano/Latino Studies, Child Development, Child Psychology, Child, Youth & Family Studies, China, Chiropractic, Chondrichthyes, Chordates. Vertebrates , Christian Denominations, Christianity, Civil Rights/Human Rights, Civil War Period, 1861-1865, Clinical Endocrinology, Clinical Medicine, Clinical Psychology, Clinical Simulations, Cloud Computing (Web Services), Collections of General Literature, Colonial History (1607-1775), Colorado, Comedy, Commerce, Communication/Speech, Communism, Computer Science, Computer Simulation (Virtual Reality), Confectionery Industries, Conflict Resolution, Connecticut, Construction Industry, Consumer News and Advice, Contemporary Issues, Cooking, Correctional Institutions, Corrections, Cosmetology, Cosmology, Country Profiles, Crime, Criminal Investigations, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Crisis Intervention (Mental Health Services), Cryptogams, Curiosities & Wonders, Czechoslovakia (Czech Republic), Data & Statistics, Delaware, Denmark, Dental, Dentistry, Dermatology, Developmental Psychology, Difference (Psychology), Disabilities and Genetic Issues, Discovery of America and Early Explorations, Disease (Communicable and Noninfectious) and Public Health, Diseases of the Blood and Blood-forming Organs, Diseases of the Breast, Diseases of the Circulatory (Cardiovascular) System, Diseases of the Connective Tissues, Diseases of the Digestive System; Gastroenterology, Diseases of the Genitourinary System. Urology, Diseases of the Musculoskeletal System, Diseases of the Respiratory System, District of Columbia. Washington, Drug Abuse; Drug Habits, Early Nineteenth Century, 1801/1809-1845, Eating Disorders, eBooks, Economics, Education, Education Sciences, Educational Sociology, Egypt, EI Emotional Intelligence (EQ Emotional Quotient), Electrical Engineering, Electricity and Magnetism, Emergency Management, Emigration & Immigration, Emotions, Employment Interviewing, Energy Industries, Energy Medicine and Healing, Engineering, English & Composition, English Literature, Epistemology (Theory of Knowledge) , Evidence-based Medicine, Example, Experimental Psychology, Fermentation Industries, Field Crops, Finland, Florida, Folklore, Food Science & Nutrition, Forensic Medicine, Forensic Sciences, France, General Education, General/Multidisciplinary, Genetics, Georgia, Geriatrics, Germany, Great Britain, Great Depression, 1929-1939, Great Lakes Region, Great Plains, Greco-Roman World, Greece, Gulf States, Gynecology and Obstetrics, Hallucinations, Hawaii, Health Facilities, Health Information Technology, Heating and Ventilation, Higher Education, Hinduism, History, History & Criticism, History of Civilization, Holiday Cooking, Horses, Human Anatomy, Human Ecology and Anthroppogeography, Human Embryology, Hungary, Hunting Sports, HVAC Industry, Hydrotherapy, Hypnotism, Iceland, Idaho, Illinois, Inclusive Education, Indiana, Indonesia (Dutch East Indies), Industries, Information Literacy, Inscriptions & Epigraphy, Insects, Internal Medicine, International Relations, Invertebrates, Iow, Iraq (Assyria, Babylonia, Mesopotamia), Iraq War, 2003-2011, Italy, Japan, Journalism & Media, Judaic Studies, Kansas, Kentucky, Kinesiology, Korean War, 1950-1953, Labor, Ladino Language and Literature, Land Use, Late Nineteenth Century, 1865-1900, Later Twentieth Century, 1961-2000, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Learning Strategies, Lebanon (Phenicia), Legal Medicine, LGBTQIA+, Library Resources, Library Science, Library Services, Literature & Language, Logic, Louisiana, Lower Mississippi Valley, Luxembourg, Maine, Malta (Maltese Islands), Mammals, Management, Manicuring, Manners and Customs, Manual Therapy, Maps, Mardi Gras (Carnival), Maryland, Massachusetts, Massage Therapy, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering and Machinery, Medical Billing and Coding, Medical Billing and Office Administration (MBOA), Medical Ethics, Medical Informatics, Medical Jurisprudence, Medical Offices, Medical Records Management, Medicine, Meditation, Mental Diseases & Disorders, Metaphysics, Mexico, Michigan, Microbiology, Middle Atlantic States, Middle Nineteenth Century, 1845/1848-1861, Military Administration, Mind and Body, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Missouri River and Valley, Mobile Apps, Monaco, Montana, Museums, Mythology, National Physical Therapy Examination PTAExam, Naval Science, Nebraska, Nervous System, Netherlands (Holland), Neuromuscular Rehabilitation, Neurophysiology & Neuropsychology, Neuroses, Nevada, New England, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New Southwest, New York, New Zealand, News & Current Events, Newspapers, North American Studies, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Europe; Scandinavia, Norway, Numismatics, Nursing, Occult Sciences, Occupational Therapy, Oceania, Ohio, Oklahoma, Old Northwest Territory, Oncology, Online Learning, Oregon, Organizational Psychology, Orthopedics, Other Systems of Medicine, Pacific Islands Studies, Pacific States, Paleography, Paleozoology, Palliative Treatment, Parapsychology, Pathology, Patient Care & Management, Pediatrics, Pennsylvania, Persian Gulf War, 1991, Personal Health and Hygiene, Personality Disorders., Pharmaceutical Industry, Pharmacology, Pharmacy Technician, Philology & Linguistics, Philosophy, Phlebotomy, Phototherapy, Physical Anthropology; Somatology, Physical Education & Sport Science, Physical Geography, Physical Therapist Assistant PTA, Physical Therapy, Physical Therapy Ethics, Physics, Physiognomy and Phrenology , Physiology, Plumbing and Pipefitting, Podiatry, Poetry, Poland, Police, Polish Studies, Political Theory, Portugal, Professional Development, Professional Ethics, Professional Medical Assistant, Programmed Instruction, Psychiatry, Psychoanalysis, Psychology, Psychology of Sex; Sexual Behavior, Psychoses, Psychotherapy, Public Institutions, Public Relations, Radiology, Refrigeration and Refrigerating Machinery, Regional and Area Studies, Rehabilitation Therapy, Reiki (Healing System), Religion, Research & Writing, Revolution to the Civil War, 1775/1783-1861, Rhode Island, Rocky Mountains, Russia (Soviet Union); Soviet Republics, Scientific Apparatus and Instruments, Seals, Self-realization, Sephardi Jews (Sephardim), Shamanism, Shellfish Fisheries; Shellfish Culture, Slavery and Antislavery Movements, Sleep, Slovakia, Social and Public Welfare, Social Aspects of Education, Social Classes, Social Influence (Social Pressure), Social Media, Social Pathology, Social Psychology, Social Sciences, Socialism, Sociology, South Atlantic States, South Carolina, South Dakota, Spain, Special Situations and Conditions, Specialties of Internal Medicine, Speculative Philosophy, Spiritualism, Sports, Suicide, Surgery, Sweden, Switzerland, Technology, Tennessee, Terminology, Texas, Theology, Theory and Practice of Education, Therapeutics, Transportation & Communications, Trauma, Trigonometry, True Crime, Twentieth Century, Twenty-First Century, Types of Education, United States, Urban Sociology, Utah, Utopias; The Ideal State, Vegetables, Vermont, Veterans, Victimology, Vietnam War, 1961-1975, Virginia, War of 1898 (Spanish-American War), Washington State, Welding, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Witchcraft, World History, World War I (1914-1918), World War II (1939-1945), Wyoming, Zen Buddhism