LibGuides: Professional Medical Assistant PMA: Medical Industry Professional Resources

Useful Links

For the Record
A bi-weekly news and recruitment magazine with job search feature. Affiliated with AHIMA.
Healthcare Informatics Standards (Health Level 7)
Includes links and coding standards.
HealthIT.gov The Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC) is at the forefront of the administration’s health IT efforts and is a resource to the entire health system to support the adoption of health information technology and the promotion of nationwide health information exchange to improve health care. ONC is organizationally located within the Office of the Secretary for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
Medical Record Privacy
Resources on electronic privacy issues from EPIC.
US Health Information Privacy (HIPAA and PSQIA) The Office for Civil Rights enforces the HIPAA Privacy Rule, which protects the privacy of individually identifiable health information; the HIPAA Security Rule, which sets national standards for teh security of electronic protected health information; and the confidentiality provisions of the Patient Safety Rule, which protect identifiable information being used to analyze patient safety events and improve patient safety.
National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
Government agency site that provides health services research; including Practice guidelines and technology assessments to healthcare practitioners and policy makers.

Organizations and Associations

Understanding Medicaid
Though Medicaid began as a means of providing health coverage to government welfare recipients, it has grown to cover not only low-income citizens but also certain sectors of the elderly and disabled populations.
Understanding Health Insurance
Explore some of the fundamental concepts that govern the health insurance industry, as well as some of the most common sources of health coverage.
Navigating Healthcare for the Uninsured
Many U.S. citizens into the Medicaid coverage gap and remain uninsured. Fortunately, options are available for these citizens, both for catastrophic and preventive care.
Understanding the Affordable Care Act
The Affordable Care Act consists of two separate bills; the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services: Laws & Regulations
The U.S. Department of Health & Human Services provides information about Laws & Regulation.

Healthcare Billing & Management Association (HBMA)
The HBMA message boards are one of the most valuable resources we have; ask anything from general questions regarding coding, research and billing, to the most specific inquires related to the billing field. Our industry-expert members waste no time in assisting you with their invaluable experience and can point in the direction of others who have assisted on similar topics in the past as well. All of HBMA;s events and services work together to keep you in touch with billing professionals just like you. Through our national membership directory, our members-only message board, and at our educational events, HBMA members make and keep valuable connections with our others professionals who know what this industry demands, and who want to know more."
American Association of Healthcare Administrative Management (AAHAM)
The American Association of Heatlhcare Administrative Management (AAHAM) is he premier professional organization in healthcare administrative management. Your one-stop resource center for information, education and advocacy in the areas of reimbursement, admitting and registration, data management, medical records, patient relations and so much more. Professional development of its members is one of the primary goals of the association. Publications, conferences and seminars, bench marking, professional certification and networking offer numerous opportunities for increasing the skills and knowledge that are necessary to function effectively in today's health care environment.
American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE)
An international professional society of 40,000 healthercare executives leading hospitals, healthcare systems, and other healthcare organizations. ACHE is known for its educational programs, as well as its groundbreaking research.
American Registry of Medical Assistants
A Registered Medical Assistant is one duly certified by the American Registry of Medical Assistants as a fully qualified member of a Medical Team. Maintenance of membership depends upon fulfillment of the minimum required 12 Continuing Educational Units (CEU's) per year and submittal of the annual renewal form.
Association for Healthcare Administrative Professionals (AHCAP)
AHCAP is a not-for-profit healthcare organization dedicated to executive assistants, administrative assistants, and other professionals who support our nation's healthcare leaders. By supporting them, we support the industry- and strive to enhance the healthcare experience on every level.

American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) The American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) is the leading voice and authority in health information, wherever it is found. Our people work at the intersection of healthcare, technology, and business.
Health Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS)
HIMSS North America, a business unit within HIMSS, positively transforms health and healthcare through the best use of information technology in the united states and Canada. As a cause-based non-profit, HIMSS North America provides thought leadership, community building professional development, public policy, and events.
The American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA)
AMIA is the professional home of leading informaticians; clinicians, scientists, researchers, educators, students, and other informatics professionals who rely on data to connect people, information, and technology. AIMA (the American Medical Informatics Association) is the center of action for more than 5,000 health care professionals, informatics researchers, and thought-leaders in bio medicine, health care and sciences. AMIA is an unbiased, authoritative sources within the informatics community and the health care industry. AMIA and its members are transforming healthcare through trusted science, education, and practice in bio medical and health informatics.

American Academy of Professional Coders (AAPC) AAPC is the world's largest training and credentialing organization for the business of healthcare, with members worldwide working in medical coding, billing, auditing, compliance, clinical documentation improvement, revenue cycle management, and practice management.
American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) The American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) is the leading voice and authority in health information, wherever it is found. Our people work at the intersection of healthcare, technology, and business.
Healthcare Billing & Management Association (HBMA)
The HBMA message boards are one of the most valuable resources we have; ask anything from general questions regarding coding, research and billing, to the most specific inquires related to the billing field. Our industry-expert members waste no time in assisting you with their invaluable experience and can point in the direction of others who have assisted on similar topics in the past as well. All of HBMA;s events and services work together to keep you in touch with billing professionals just like you. Through our national membership directory, our members-only message board, and at our educational events, HBMA members make and keep valuable connections with our others professionals who know what this industry demands, and who want to know more."
Medical Association of Billers (MAB)
The Medical Association of Billers is the premier training and credentialing association for medical billing and coding. The MAB curriculum has been approved and licensed by the Commission for Post Secondary Education and MAB is an approved vendor for Federal Agencies.
The Professional Association of Healthcare Coding Specialists (PAHCS)
The Professional Association of Healthcare Coding Specialists (PAHCS) is a communications network and member support system dedicated to enhancing the compliance, documentation, and reimbursement capabilities of healthcare coders. Through increased knowledge of coding principles, changes in coding policies, and the experiences of fellow coders in resolving coding challenges, PAHCS members confidently code for maximum and honest reimbursement.

Health Information Technology (Health IT)
Health Information Technology (Health IT) has become a top priority in the US. The use of technology to electronically use and exchange health information securely between healthcare stakeholders will improve the overall quality, safety, and efficiency of health care delivery. Standards and interoperability are key. NIST is conducting research to help enable a health IT network that is correct, complete, secure, usable, and testable.
Occupational Safety & Health Administration - Data & Statistics
Links to datasets and statistics from OSHA.
The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook
Like the charts you see in the doctor's office, this collection offers a head-to-toe look at structures. Definitely more for lay person.

Computing Research Association (CRA)
CRA's mission is to enhance innovation by joining with industry, government and academia to strengthen research and advanced education in computing. CRA executes this mission by leading the computing research community, information policymakers and the public, and facilitating the development of strong, diverse talent in the field.
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) ACM, the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession. ACM provides the computing field's premier Digital Library and serves its members and the computing profession with leading-edge publications, conferences, and career resources.
Association for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T)
The Association for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T) is the only professional association that bridges the gap between information science practice and research. For over 75 years, ASIS&T has been leading the search for new and better theories, techniques, and technologies to improve access to information.
Association for Women in Computing (AWC)
We are a national professional organization for professionals involved with information and technology, dedicated to the advancement of women in the technology fields. We offer camaraderie with like-minded professionals through our chapters and a growing network of independent members. Our chapters provide member outreach and networking across a wide variety of computing and technology job functions, business segments, and personal interests. In addition, our members find valuable tools such as continuing education opportunities through association programs and opportunities to develop career enhancing mentoring relationships with other members.
Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP)
In individual chapters and as a national associations, AITP seeks to advance the IT Profession through professional development, support of IT education, and national polices on IT that improve society as a whole.
Information Systems Security Association (ISSA)
The Information Systems Security Association (ISSA) is a not-for-profit, international organizations of information security professional and practitioners. It provides educational forums, publications, and peer interaction opportunities that enhance the knowledge, skill, and professional growth of its members.
International Association of Computer Science and Information Technology (IACSIT)
IACSIT seeks to encourage regional and international communication and collaboration; promote professional and lifelong learning; recognize outstanding contributions of individuals and organizations; encourage scholar researchers to pursue studies and careers in Computer Science and Information Technology. We also welcome research that highlights successful modern applications of Computer Science and Information Technology, such as Agriculture, Bio-medicine, Bioinformatics, Business, Chemical, Environment, Education, E-Learning, Geography, Mathematics and Physics.
EDM Council
The Enterprise Data Management Company (EDM) is a non-profit association that is dedicated to the development of data content standards and data management best practices.

Gale Directory Library

Gale Directory Library
Gale is the trusted source for authoritative directories on companies, publishers, associations and more. These directories are now available online in the Gale Directory Library. This online resource takes these references off the shelf and makes them available at the click of a mouse 24/7.

How to Evaluate Websites - Quick Tips

Evaluate websites that have information you would like to use in your assignments.

Look on each website for an "About Us" page to answer some of the following questions:

Who is the author?
What are his/her qualifications?
Why was the website created?
When was it last updated?
How reliable is the information?

Google Scholar

Better Googling

	("affordable care act" OR obamacare) AND seniors site:.gov
	174,000 results

	How does the affordable care act effect seniors?
	3,150,000 results

Here's how to craft a better search to get fewer and more relevant results:

Identify the main ideas in your research question.
How does the affordable care act effect seniors?
Connect the main ideas with AND.
affordable care act AND seniors
Use quotation marks around 2 or more words that need to be together.
"affordable care act" AND seniors
Use OR between synonyms/related terms.
("affordable care act" OR obamacare) AND seniors
Limit your search to a specific domain, such as .edu, .gov, or .org.
("affordable care act" OR obamacare) AND seniors site:.gov