Administrative Medical Assisting a Workforce Readiness Approach by 
Comprehensive Medical Assisting Exam Review by
Prepare for the CMA, RMA, or CMAS certification examination with COMPREHENSIVE MEDICAL ASSISTING EXAM REVIEW, Third Edition. The book includes test information and preparation sections, review content on general, administrative, and clinical topics, and pre- and post-test exams. The new edition conforms to the latest content outlines from the AAMA and AMT. The accompanying CD-ROM includes over 1,600 questions and is fully customizable for individual study needs. Delmar is a part of Cengage Learning.
Computers in the Medical Office by
Computers in the Medical Office 7e is the best-selling text for training students using full-featured and current Medisoft Version 16 Patient Billing software. McGraw-Hill publishes the most titles to train students on Medisoft software. Our publishing relationship with Medisoft has been ongoing for 15 years. Computers in the Medical Office 7e offers medical office training using current, realistic medical office cases while building transferable computerized medical billing and scheduling skills. Students who complete this course will learn the appropriate terminology and skills to use any patient billing software program with minimal additional training. As students progress through Medisoft, they learn to gather patient information, schedule appointments and enter transactions. The practical, systematic approach is based on real-world medical office activities. Go with the best. Go with the tried and true. Go with the Medisoft titles that will give you and your students the training and support you need to be successful. Go with McGraw-Hill's Computers in the Medical Office 7e.
Contemporary Medical Office Procedures by
Contemporary Medical Office Procedures, Third Edition, is designed to provide learners with the knowledge and skills necessary for career success in administrative medical assisting. Entry-level administrative and general competency areas outlined in the Medical Assistant Role Delineation Chart of the AAMA are addressed. The book is divided into five parts: "Today's Medical Environment," "Patient Relations," "Computers and Information Processing in the Medical Office," "Automating Medical Office Financial Management," and "Becoming a Career Medical Assistant." Each part focuses on a major area that influences an administrative medical assistant's responsibilities.
Core Concepts in Pharmacology by 
Law and Ethics for Medical Careers by
Law and Ethics for Medical Careers, Fifth Edition, provides an overview of the laws and ethics you should know to help you give competent, compassionate care to patients that is within acceptable legal and ethical boundaries. The text can also serve as a guide to help you resolve the many legal and ethical questions you may reasonably expect to face as a student and, later, as a health care practitioner. The text features pertinent legal cases, anecdotes, and sidebars related to health-related careers. Content has been updated and special attention has been paid to legislation affecting health care.
Law and Ethics for the Health Professions by
Law and Ethics for the Health Care Professions illustrates the numerous legal and ethical issues that health care professionals face every day. The topics are derived from real-life experiences and dilemmas from a variety of health care practitioners. Through the use of Learning Outcomes, Key Terms, Ethics Issues, Chapter Reviews, Case Studies, Internet Activities, Court Cases, and Video Vignettes, students hear from health care practitioners in various locations throughout the United States as they encounter legal and ethical problems and situations. Students will practice critical thinking skills to decide how to resolve the real-life situations or theoretical scenarios, determine why the court made a particular ruling and decide how the issues are relevant to the health care profession they will practice.
Principles of Pharmacology for Medical Assisting by
PRINCIPLES OF PHARMACOLOGY FOR MEDICAL ASSISTING, 5E provides a comprehensive introduction to pharmacology for medical assistants and other allied health professionals. Beginning with a mathematics review, math concepts are presented in a clear and concise manner with step-by-step explanations and many examples, followed by practice problems for immediate reinforcement. Once mastered, learn about adult and pediatric dosage calculations, as well as current and commonly used practices, procedures, medications, and drug preparations in today's medical office.
Professionalism in Medical Assisting by
PROFESSIONALISM IN MEDICAL ASSISTING will give students a competitive edge in medical assisting by helping them achieve the level of professionalism that today's medical employers demand. Clear and easy to read, it guides students in working cohesively as team members, treating all patients with respect and kindness, and behaving with a strong moral and ethical compass. Chapters are organized to flow in succession for medical assistants who are completing classroom training, progressing into externships, and then seeking to enter the field. Case studies and role-play scenarios have been carefully crafted to help readers develop critical thinking skills, anticipate challenges, and prepare professional responses.
The Professional Medical Assistant by
This new textbook uses a multidisciplinary, integrated approach to learning that truly reflects the real world in which MAs practice, whether they're focused on the front or back office. From beginning to end, it offers comprehensive, competency-based coverage, complemented by an emphasis on multiple learning styles to better meet the needs of your students. Mastery of all the knowledge and skills that lead to CMA(AAMA) or RMA certification, plus flexibility, versatility, teamwork, and professionalism in the workplace, are the hallmarks of a successful and rewarding career as a Medical Assistant. Our integrated front- and back-office approach provides the foundation for success... Classroom building blocks--medical terminology, body structure and function, and pharmacology. Lab and clinical--building skills through hands-on practice. How it Works... Integrated Approach - Teamwork based - Multiple Learning Styles Unique approach helps students better understand how front-office duties affect back-office decisions, and vice versa. Geared to all students and all learning styles: Solitary Learners Social Learners Auditory Learners Visual Learners Kinesthetic Learners Oral-Dependent Learners Writing-Dependent Learners A comprehensive approach that addresses all competences required by the AAMA and AMT Special focus on the attributes of a successful employee, need for teamwork and flexibility in the workplace, and importance of critical-thinking and problem-solving skills. Assessment exercises help students identify their own learning styles, and suggested study strategies for each style are included. Organized into three main sections: General/Transdisciplinary Administrative Clinical A step-by-step, chapter-by-chapter, body systems approach to clinical competencies that includes relevant examinations and procedures. FREE for Students and Instructors, from F.A. Davis and Amazing Charts... Learn More. View a Demo. EMR Software to accompany The Professional Medical Assistant Patient data embedded in user-friendly, Windows-based EMR software Patients come directly from The Professional Medical Assistant Software package includes... More than 100 documentation templates Complete ICD-9 database for coding Orders for tests E&M coding helper Printable CMS-1500 for billing Adopters receive patient-specific learning activities in PDF format.
Essential Healthcare Terminology for English Language Learners by 
Medical Terminology for Health Professions, Spiral Bound Version by
Emphasizing current, relevant, "need-to-know" terms that will help you succeed in the health care field, MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY FOR HEALTH PROFESSIONS, 8E simplifies the process of memorizing complex medical terminology by focusing on the important word parts--common prefixes, suffixes and root words--to provide a foundation for learning hundreds of medical terms. Organized by body systems, chapters begin with an overview of the terminology related to the body's structures and functions, proceed through diseases and disorders, and end with diagnostic procedures and treatments. A proven combination of learning principles and exercises helps you master the language necessary to describe how the human body works, what goes wrong with it, and how it is treated. An updated art program features the latest terms and procedures as well as multi-cultural/multi-generational photos that accurately portray the opportunities available in today's medical field.
Quick and Easy Medical Terminology by
Read, write, and speak medical terms in no time with Leonard's Quick & Easy Medical Terminology, 8th Edition. Ideal for one-semester courses and self-study, this clear, concise text covers disorders, diagnosis, and treatment with a strong focus on anatomy for an integrated discussion of each body system. Small bits of information are presented then immediately tested for comprehension using a combination of programmed and traditional review questions. With new case studies, terms, and photos, plus help from the companion Evolve site, Quick & Easy Medical Terminology provides you with simple tools for good communication in the health care environment. Brief explanations and a focus on basic word-building skills make this text perfect for shorter, one- or two-credit medical terminology courses or self-study. Moderate anatomy and physiology coverage offers just the right amount of anatomical information to support the terminology presented. Programmed learning improves your comprehension by offering immediate feedback. Review exercises integrated throughout lesson material enable you to test your knowledge and retention of material more frequently for quick reinforcement. Medical reports with review exercises allow you to study terminology in documents similar to those seen in the clinical setting - and practice using terms in real-life situations. Quick Tips located throughout the text provide fun facts and memory aids. Student Evolve resources include games; activities; flash cards; animations, pharmacology, CAM, and genetics appendices; audio terms, and mobile quizzes and flash cards that offer additional opportunities to quickly gauge strong and weak areas in a fun, interactive environment. NEW! 14 additional case studies with exercises let you practice medical terminology in context. NEW! Elsevier's Adaptive Learning (EAL) updated to accompany the text and provide an engaging, interactive learning experience that transforms textbook information into lasting knowledge. NEW and UPDATED! Terms, definitions, and procedures keep you up-to-date with healthcare advances. NEW! Photos and drawings illustrate difficult terms and procedures more clearly and consistently throughout the text.
Communication Skills for the Health Care Professional: Concepts, Practice, and Evidence by
Communication Skills for the Health Care Professional is the first text of its kind to address the connection between communication practices and quality patient care outcomes. It provides future and practicing patient caregivers in all specialties and services with basic communication knowledge and skills and is an invaluable resource for those in administrative functions as well. The Second Edition is a thorough revision that features five all new chapters covering: communicating with patients with low literacy; health communications and quality care; health communications to enhance behavioral change; the internet and communications between patient and provider; altering systems of care and implications for health care communications.
Cultural Competency for the Health Professional by
Cultural Competency for the Health Professional reviews the importance of the implementation of cultural competency by allied health professionals, and the process of assessment, training and evaluation. This comprehensive text includes a clear and concise overview of the necessary tools to apply cultural competency processes as well as systematic and disciplined approaches to the process of achieving it. Attention is also given to some of the reservations that may exist in various health professions with interests in moving in the direction of cultural competency such as associated costs, limited time, and beyond. Cultural Competency for the Health Professional provides health professions students with key cultural competency information and practical insight into how to apply this knowledge in their day-to-day work environments as they deal with patients on a clinical basis.Interview With Dr. ShalalaChapter 10 includes an interview with Dr. Shalala conducted by the author of this text. Dr. Donna Shalala is currently the President of the University of Miami, in Florida. She has been in this position since 2001. Prior to her current role, she was appointed by President Clinton to serve as U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) and held this position for 8 years which amounted to the longest serving HHS Secretary in U.S. history to date. She was responsible for a budget of almost $600 billion, overseeing a number of programs such as Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, Child Care and Head Start, Welfare, the Public Health Service, the National Institute of Health (NIH), The Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) (Shalala,2011).FEATURESOverview of the demographic changes in the United StatesAccreditation requirements (programmatic, specialized and institutional) Cultural nuances of specific groupsComprehensive view of the Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) standards with an emphasis on the clinical aspect of various allied health professionsAttitudinal survey with established reliability and validityINSTRUCTOR RESOURCES* PowerPoint Slides* Over 150 Test Questions* Case StudiesSTUDENT RESOURCESCompanion Site including:o Additional Case Studieso Crossword Puzzleso Interactive Glossaryo Flashcardso Matching Exerciseso Web Linkso Acronyms Glossaryo Acronyms Flashcards
Empathy and the Practice of Medicine by 
Therapeutic Communication for Health Professionals by
Interpersonal Skills and Health Professional Issues, third edition, prepares students for effective communication in a health professional role. The text provides the skills and strategies needed for health professionals to engage and better motivate patients. The text offers an ideal model for nonverbal communication and emphasizes how to read the “unspoken message”. Interpersonal Skills and Health Professional Issues is unique in its comprehensiveness, covering the communications and emotional experiences of the patient world and a framework for multicultural understanding. Case studies and exercises enhance the textbook experience, providing readers with a deeper understanding of how to reach patients and their families.
Health Literacy and Numeracy by
Although health literacy is commonly defined as an individual trait, it does not depend on the skills of individuals alone. Health literacy is the product of the interaction between individuals' capacities and the health literacy-related demands and complexities of the health care system. Specifically, the ability to understand, evaluate, and use numbers is important to making informed health care choices. "Health Literacy and Numeracy" is the summary of a workshop convened by The Institute of Medicine Roundtable on Health Literacy in July 2013 to discuss topics related to numeracy, including the effects of ill health on cognitive capacity, issues with communication of health information to the public, and communicating numeric information for decision making. This report includes a paper commissioned by the Roundtable, "Numeracy and the Affordable Care Act: Opportunities and Challenges," that discusses research findings about people's numeracy skill levels; the kinds of numeracy skills that are needed to select a health plan, choose treatments, and understand medication instructions; and how providers should communicate with those with low numeracy skills. The paper was featured in the workshop and served as the basis of discussion.
Medical Assisting Made Incredibly Easy: Law and Ethics by
This new addition to the Medical Assisting Made Incredibly Easy series is the first law and ethics textbook tailored specifically to medical assisting students. A host character guides students through the material in an enjoyable, readable, and extremely practical manner that makes teaching and learning fun. Boxes with eye-catching icons provide practical advice about workplace scenarios and other topics. More than 140 illustrations enhance visual learning. ABHES and CAAHEP competencies covered in each chapter are listed. Each chapter ends with a ten-question quiz.
Patient Education: a Practical Approach by
Patient Education: A Practical Approach, Second Edition is included in the 2015 edition of the essential collection of Doody's Core Titles.Patient Education: A Practical Approach, Second Edition offers students and practitioners a straight-forward approach to patient education, coupled with simple tools and resources to use when meeting with patients about their conditions. With over 350 figures and illustrations, and including patient education handouts, this concise guide is practical for classroom learning and application in the clinician setting.
Developing Critical Thinkers by 
Learning Strategies by 
Learning Strategies for Allied Health Students by 
Learning to Think Things Through by
Since the mid-1980s, Gerald Nosich has been committed to teaching Critical Thinking across the curriculum and throughout the disciplines. He believes that in the final analysis the only way for students to master content in any course is to think their way through it. And the only way to effectively control their own lives and choices is by learning to think more critically about them. Built on Richard Paul's model of critical thinking, Learning to Think Things Through was written to help students engage in critical thinking within the discipline or subject matter they are studying. In addition, students will better appreciate the power of the discipline they are studying, see its connections to other fields and to their day-to-day lives, maintain an overview of the field so they can see the parts in terms of the whole, and become active learners rather than passive recipients of information. Learning to Think Things Through is ideal for instructors addressing the critical thinking component in composition courses, sciences, humanities, the professions-in any field.
Saunders 2018-2019 Strategies for Test Success by
Get more than just practice questions; get comprehensive test and nursing school preparation that's proven to help you succeed! Written by the most trusted expert in NCLEX exam prep, Saunders 2018-2019 Strategies for Test Success: Passing Nursing School and the NCLEX Exam, 5th Edition is an invaluable guide that teaches you how to master the things that matter most on the NCLEX exam and your nursing school exams: critical thinking, problem solving, and time management. In this guide you'll find not only 1,200 practice questions and rationales that reflect the latest NCLEX-RN and NCLEX-PN test plans, but you'll also get a wealth of proven tips and real-world hints to help you overcome text anxiety, develop effective study habits, and confidently evaluate and identify the correct answer for a variety of test question types, including alternate item formats. It's a must-have resource for any nursing student who needs not just practice, but well-rounded preparation! A Reducing Test Anxiety chapter offers simple strategies to control test-induced stress and gain the confidence needed to pass exams. A Developing Study Skills chapter provides helpful tips on improving time management for more efficient exam preparation. 1,200 review questions are included in the book and online, providing a 2-in-1 approach to learning strategies and test-taking skills UNIQUE! Student-to-Student Hints highlight real life strategies that have helped other students graduate from nursing school and pass the NCLEX exam. Helpful Tips for the Nursing Student highlight the most important concepts needed for exam success. Online practice questions let you apply the strategies learned from the text in a realistic electronic testing environment. Emphasis on comprehensive test preparation helps you develop, refine, and apply the reasoning skills you need to succeed throughout nursing school and on the NCLEX examination. Priority concepts for each question help you link your concept-based classes and NCLEX prep. Chapters on specific question content - such as prioritization, pharmacology, triage/disaster management, and delegation - offer numerous examples to prepare you for higher-level questions. A fun, 4-color design features cartoons and bold designs to help engage visual learners. NEW! Thoroughly updated content reflects the most current NCLEX-RN and NCLEX-PN test plans. NEW! Experience level coding for questions designates each question as beginning, intermediate, or experienced to help focus your learning throughout all points of your nursing school career. NEW! Increased focus on clinical judgement incorporates strategies for clinical judgement, question data, and question abnormalities into the NCLEX-style questions. NEW! Expanded client-centered options address the increasing import of the patient-centered care QSEN competency on the NCLEX Exam. NEW! Additional coverage of interprofessionalism is incorporated.
Student Success for Health Professionals Made Incredibly Easy by
This unique guide shows health professions students how to "win at the game of school." Working with content that is fun and easy to learn, you'll gain the skills needed to succeed in your studies and in your career as a health professional. This book introduces you to four main characters: three students and one health professional. You'll easily identify with the challenges these characters face in trying to manage their time, discover their personal learning styles, make the most of their studying, and prepare for tests. By mimicking their actions, you can overcome any obstacle that stands in your way to success. Features to Help You Succeed— Playing for real scenarios show how chapter content is applied to real-life situations in the classroom and in clinical practice. Tips from the pros offer expert advice and proven strategies for overcoming study and test-taking problems. Keeping score questions at the end of each chapter challenge you to consider how you will apply the chapter content. Winning strategy lists at the beginning of each chapter set forth the objectives you should meet upon completing the chapter. The finish line summaries at the end of each chapter highlight the key concepts and skills that you need to master. A companion Website on thePoint#65533;, LWW's innovative online learning site, offers a host of extra features, including a student planner, sample resumes, and links to health career sites. LiveAdvise Student Success, an online tutoring service, lets students connect with experienced educators for help with studying, doing homework, and preparing for exams. The Self-Paced Online Course is offered for free with purchase of the text. This online course walks students through the content of each chapter by utilizing visual and auditory content, as if having the content presented by an instructor. Each online chapter integrates fun learning activities such as flashcards, process/ordering drag and drops, jeopardy, and other activities. The Self-Paced Online Course concludes with a randomized final exam based on all the content in the text. Each exam will generate a certificate that can be either printed or e-mailed to instructors as proof that the students have mastered the student success skills.