LibGuides: Professional Medical Assistant PMA: Anatomy and Physiology

Library Catalog

The Library's Books are shelved according to the Library of Congress' classification system.

Want to browse the shelves?

The Library of Congress classification for Anatomy and Physiology is Subclass Q (Science) section M (QM).

QM 1-695 Human Anatomy

QP 1-981 Physiology

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
A timely, comprehensive resource for consumers interested in health information.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
4th edition; covers topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Useful for all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
A single source for information on the human brain covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.
Britannica Concise Encyclopedia by Encyclopaedia Britannica
Publication Date: 1994-2017
The Britannica Concise Encyclopedia has comprehensive coverage on a variety of subjects including, arts, business, geography, history, literature, philosophy, politics, pop culture, science, sports, and more. With an easy-to-use format, pronunciation help, relevant tables, and international maps, this is the reference source that will be used over and over.

American Heritage Medical Dictionary
A comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery. Clear, concise definitions are included, covering diseases and conditions, treatments, and microorganisms. Hundreds of entries for commonly prescribed and over-the-counter medications are also featured.
Black's Medical Dictionary, 43rd Edition
A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.
Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary
A concise, up-to-date guide to the essential language of medicine. Contains More than 38,000 entries and covers the latest brand names and generic equivalents of common drugs.
Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution
Packed with descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, covers a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology, and zoology.

Brain Book: An illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders
A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.
Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders
Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.
Key Concepts in Health Psychology
Aims to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of the key issues, theories, models, and methods in contemporary health psychology.
The Visual Guides: Understanding The Human Body
Answers the most important questions on the human body through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.

Reading LC Call Numbers

QM 23.2

.M348

2001

QM - describes the broad subject or Main Class and subclass. Within class Q for Science, for example, QM represents the subclass Human Anatomy
23.2 is the classification number, which defines the subject matter more finely
.M348 - is the cutter number and usually describes the author's last name or title of work though it may also represent further subject subdivision or geographic area. Sometimes there are double Cutters. Read in alphabetical order, then the number as a decimal.
2001 - date of publication: read in chronological order