PMA08-3 Pharmacology and Hematology: Pharmacology Websites

Responsible for protecting the public health by assuring that foods (except for meat from livestock, poultry and some egg products which are regulated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture) are safe, wholesome, sanitary and properly labeled; ensuring that human and veterinary drugs, and vaccines and other biological products and medical devices intended for human use are safe and effective

The American Board of Clinical Pharmacology (ABCP) provides Board Certification in two domains. The first, Clinical Pharmacology (Must be Licensed M.D., at time of exam) and the second, is relevant to research certification in Applied Pharmacology (common applicants: MD, PhD, PharmD, RPh). Each year, our board certification exams are offered through the months of July and August.

Advancing clinical pharmacology, translational science, and therapeutics for the benefit of patients and society.

The website for Family Physicians and You
Drug and Illness information
Complete, reliable and authoritative information on hundreds of common illnesses, thousands of prescription drugs, and a wide range of herbal and dietary supplements

Information provided for each drug includes the description, clinical pharmacology, indications and dosage, side effects and drug interactions, warnings and precautions, drug overdosage contraindications, and patient information. Words in the articles and descriptions that may need to be defined for the layperson or student are hyperlinked to Taber's online medical dictionary.

Hopkins ABX Guide is a guide to disease-causing bacteria, the most common bacterial infections, rare but potentially life-threatening conditions and other things you always wanted to know about bacteria and their impact on human health. Signs and symptoms of the infection, factors that put you at increased risk of developing the infection, complications, treatment options, etc. Everything is covered and everything presented in an easy to understand manner.

American Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ web page about the safe and effective use of pharmaceuticals.

A member of the “Allied Vaccine Group” , “The Vaccine Page” offers news, a database for searching reliable information about vaccines, and links to the official web pages on vaccines by country, organization, provider or the public, as well as to some full-text articles.

Includes “Drug Directories” which covers , NMT Weekly Trial Results, Drugs Currently in Clinical Research, and PDR Family Guides Drug Information. Also includes “Drugs in Clinical Trials” encompassing the Drugs in Clinical Trials Database.