Skip to Main Content
Hematology & Oncology National Statistics
Adolescent and Young Adult Cancer
Covers Types of Cancers in Young People, Finding a Doctor and Hospital
Treatment Choices, Coping and Support, After Treatment
End-of-Life Care , Organizations Serving AYAs
African Americans & Cancer
About 202,260 new cancer cases and 73,030 cancer deaths are expected to occur among Blacks in 2019. African Americans have the highest death rate and shortest survival of any racial and ethnic group in the US for most cancers. Since 1990, however, the overall cancer death rate has dropped faster in Blacks than whites among both men and women, largely driven by more rapid declines in Blacks for cancers of the lung, colorectum, and prostate. As a result of this progress, the Black-white disparity in cancer mortality has narrowed and more than 462,000 cancer deaths in Blacks were avoided over the past 25 years. Cancer facts such as these are presented in the updated edition of the American Cancer Society’s Cancer Facts and Figures for African Americans. This publication also provides the most recent data on cancer incidence, mortality, survival, screening, and risk factors.
American Cancer Society Infographics
Illustrating key facts, statistics, guidelines and more.
Blood Collection: Routine Venipuncture and Specimen Handling
This tutorial, from the University of Utah Health Sciences Library, shows the step-by-step process of collecting blood samples. The site also has a chart for quickly identifying blood sample tube types.
Blood Facts and Figures
31,000 pints of blood are used every day.
Our nation’s blood supply must cover every day needs. Blood must also be immediately available on the shelf for unexpected emergencies and disasters. It has a short shelf life span, and must be constantly replenished year-round to ensure availability whenever and wherever it is needed.
Most blood products are used for people being treated for:
cancers
organ and bone marrow transplants
inherited blood disorders
orthopedic surgeries
cardiovascular surgeries
Breast Cancer Facts and Figures
Breast cancer is the most common cancer diagnosed among US women and is the second leading cause of death among women after lung cancer. The Breast Cancer Facts & Figures report provides statistics about the occurrence of breast cancer, as well as information about risk factors, prevention, early detection, and treatment.
Breast Cancer Facts and Figures
Breast cancer is the most common cancer diagnosed among US women and is the second leading cause of death among women after lung cancer. The Breast Cancer Facts & Figures report provides statistics about the occurrence of breast cancer, as well as information about risk factors, prevention, early detection, and treatment.
Breast Cancer Statistics
Rates of breast cancer vary among different groups of people. Rates vary between women and men and among people of different ethnicities and ages. They vary around the world and across the U.S.
This section provides an overview of breast cancer statistics for many populations.
Cancer Data and Statistics Tools - CDC
Tools include United States Cancer Statistics: Data Visualizations, CDC WONDER, State Cancer Profiles, Small Area Health Insurance Estimates, Disability and Health Data System,
Databases Available to Researchers, United States Cancer Statistics: Restricted Access Data.
Cancer Statistics - National Cancer Institute
Cancer has a major impact on society in the United States and across the world. Cancer statistics describe what happens in large groups of people and provide a picture in time of the burden of cancer on society.
Cancer Trends Progress Report - NCI
The Trends-at-a-Glance offers an overview of trend direction measure by measure. Trends noted as stable or non-significant change (NSC) are not changing significantly. The difference between "stable" and "non-significant change" is based on statistical computations described in the Methodology for Characterizing Trends appendix.
Colorectal Cancer Facts and Figures - ACS
Colorectal cancer is third most commonly diagnosed cancer in men and women. It is the third leading cause of cancer death in both men and women, and the second overall when men and women are combined. The Colorectal Cancer Facts & Figures report provides a comprehensive overview of colorectal cancer in the US, including statistics on colorectal cancer occurrence, as well as information about risk factors, prevention, early detection, and treatment.
FastStats: Cancer - CDC
Morbidity, Ambulatory care visits, Long-term care services, Mortality, etc.
Hemophilia Data and Statistics
Hemophilia A affects 1 in 5,000 male births. About 400 babies are born with hemophilia A each year.
The exact number of people living with hemophilia in the United States is not known. Based on a recent study that used data collected on patients receiving care in federally funded hemophilia treatment centers during the period 2012-2018, as many as 33,000 males in the United States are living with the disorder.
Hispanics / Latinos and Cancer - ACS
According to estimates from the US Census Bureau, 57.5 million Americans, or 18% of the population in the continental US and Hawaii, identified themselves as Hispanic or Latino in 2016. In addition, more than 3 million Hispanic Americans reside in Puerto Rico, a US territory. Cancer is the leading cause of death among Hispanics, accounting for 21% of deaths. While Hispanics are less likely than non-Hispanic whites to be diagnosed with the most common cancers (lung, colorectal, breast, and prostate), they have a higher risk for cancers associated with infectious agents, such as liver, stomach, and cervix. However, there is much variation in the cancer burden among Hispanics by nativity, which is difficult to capture because most data are reported for this heterogeneous population in aggregate.
Sickle Cell and Medical Costs
There are fewer than 100,000 cases of sickle cell disease in the United States annually. Sickle cell disease is a lifelong disease and the severity varies widely from one person to another. While there are effective treatments that can reduce symptoms and prolong life, our panel of experts will discuss the challenges and emerging agents for the treatment of sickle cell disease.
Sickle Cell Disease Data & Statistics - CDC
ickle cell disease (SCD) affects millions of people throughout the world and is particularly common among those whose ancestors came from sub-Saharan Africa; Spanish-speaking regions in the Western Hemisphere (South America, the Caribbean, and Central America); Saudi Arabia; India; and Mediterranean countries such as Turkey, Greece, and Italy.
Treatment and Survivorship Fact and Figures
Cancer Treatment & Survivorship Facts & Figures, provides cancer prevalence estimates for the United States, as well as information about treatment patterns, survival, and common concerns for the most prevalent cancers, including side effects of treatment.
Von Willebrand Disease
Von Willebrand disease (VWD) occurs with equal frequency among men and women, affecting up to 1% of the general population.1,2 However, women are more likely to experience symptoms of VWD because of the increased bleeding it causes during their menstrual periods, during pregnancy, and after childbirth. Between 2012 and 2016, more than 14,600 men, women, and children were seen at hemophilia treatment centers for treatment of VWD. About 2/3 were women and girls.
Hematology & Oncology Global Statistics
Blood Safety and Availability - WHO
Blood transfusion saves lives and improves health, but many patients requiring transfusion do not have timely access to safe blood. Providing safe and adequate blood should be an integral part of every country’s national health care policy and infrastructure. In 2018,72 % of reporting countries, or 123 out of 171, had a national blood policy. Overall, 64% of reporting countries, or 110 out of 171, have specific legislation covering the safety and quality of blood transfusion, including:
79% of high-income countries
63% of middle-income countries
39% of low-income countries.
Blood Safety and Donation
Globally, more than half a million women die each year during pregnancy, childbirth or in the postpartum period – 99% of them in the developing world. An estimated 25% of those deaths are caused by severe bleeding.
Of the 20 countries with the highest maternal mortality ratios, 19 are in sub-Saharan Africa where the lifetime risk of maternal death is 1 in 16, compared with 1 in 2 800 in rich countries.
Severe bleeding during delivery or after childbirth is the most common cause of maternal mortality and contributes to around 34% of maternal deaths in Africa, 31% in Asia and 21% in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Blood Transfusion Facts: Worldwide
Blood transfusion saves lives and improves health, but many patients requiring transfusion do not have timely access to safe blood. The need for blood transfusion may arise at any time in both urban and rural areas. The unavailability of blood has led to deaths and many patients suffering from ill-health. An adequate and reliable supply of safe blood can be assured by a stable base of regular, voluntary, unpaid blood donors. Regular, voluntary, unpaid blood donors are also the safest group of donors as the prevalence of bloodborne infections is lowest among these donors.
Cancer's Global Footprint
Cancer is often considered a disease of affluence, but about 70% of cancer deaths occur in low- and middle-income countries. Explore this interactive map to learn about some cancers that disproportionately affect poorer countries.
Global Cancer Facts and Figures
The American Cancer Society projects the numbers of new cancer cases and deaths expected each year in order to estimate the contemporary cancer burden, because cancer incidence and mortality data lag three to four years behind the current year.
GLOBOCAN: Worldwide Cancer Statistics
The Global Cancer Observatory (GCO) is an interactive web-based platform presenting global cancer statistics to inform cancer control and research.
Worldwide Cancer Statistics (WHO)
Cancer is a generic term for a large group of diseases that can affect any part of the body. Other terms used are malignant tumours and neoplasms. One defining feature of cancer is the rapid creation of abnormal cells that grow beyond their usual boundaries, and which can then invade adjoining parts of the body and spread to other organs, the latter process is referred to as metastasizing. Metastases are a major cause of death from cancer.
Clinical Trails
Cancer Clinical Trials
Clinical trials are research studies that involve people. Any time you or a loved one need treatment for cancer, clinical trials are an option to think about.
Clinical Trials
Clinical studies sponsored primarily by the National Institutes of Health. For each study, there is a summary outlining the purpose, the disease or condition, the particular drug or therapy under study, the phase of the trial, the recruiting status...
Clinical Key - Patient Education
Patient information on the use of prescription drugs, treatments & conditions in English & Spanish.
