Merck Manuals: World History

A curated set of educational videos covering topics of importance in History, the Humanities and Literature.

A unique and comprehensive historical guide to the world's peoples, from the earliest times to the present. Covers myriad discrete ethnic and cultural groupings that have inhabited our planet over the past 6000 years: from the Assyrians of the ancient Middle East to the modern-day Armenians, from the Belgae of ancient Europe to the modern-day Basques.

Contains entries providing clear and authoritative coverage of the most significant people, ideas and events of world history.

In this accessible, comprehensive retelling, Carole K. Fink provides new insights and perspectives on key events with an emphasis on people, power, and ideas, along with cultural coverage "from the Beetle to the Beatles." Cold War goes beyond US-USSR relations to explore the Cold War from an international perspective, including key events and developments in Africa, Asia, and Latin America.

This intriguing reference provides detailed entries that define the major conspiracies, both proven and unproven, throughout history. From the "inheritance powder" of the Medicis to the U.N. oil-for-food scandal, this encyclopedia investigates the broad history of conspiracies and their impact on global affairs and everyday life.

Provides exceptional in-depth, comparative coverage of empires throughout human history and across the globe.

Encyclopedia of Historical Treaties and Alliances, Second Edition brings together extensive excerpts from the treaties of hundreds of international agreements.

Provides readers with comprehensive coverage of the medieval world, from the fall of Rome to the European Renaissance, including Western and non-Western cultures and civilizations.

Historic Documents is renowned for the well-written and informative background, history, and context it provides for each document. Each volume begins with an insightful essay that sets the year's events in context, and each document or group of documents is preceded by a comprehensive introduction that provides background information on the event.

Historic Documents is renowned for the well-written and informative background, history, and context it provides for each document. Each volume begins with an insightful essay that sets the year's events in context, and each document or group of documents is preceded by a comprehensive introduction that provides background information on the event.

Historic Documents is renowned for the well-written and informative background, history, and context it provides for each document. Each volume begins with an insightful essay that sets the year's events in context, and each document or group of documents is preceded by a comprehensive introduction that provides background information on the event.

A chronology of world history through March 2018.

This dictionary gives an enormous amount of basic information on the Third Reich era by listing, and often depicting, German terms connected to Nazism and the Germany of World War II.

From the first civilizations to the 21st century this wide-ranging, compulsively readable book encompasses all of world history: great ages and monumental events; the rise and fall of cultures; names, dates, and statistics, and stories galore.

This new series from Grey House offers in-depth, single volumes that follow the debate, or path, to a decision on a controversial topic as it evolved throughout history. Each volume offers a wide range of opinion essays and editorials, speeches, and journal articles and expert analysis.

Provides timely, thorough, and accurate political information with more in-depth coverage of current political controversies and political parties than any other reference guide.

Political Handbook of the World provides timely, thorough, and accurate political information with more in-depth coverage of current political controversies and political parties than any other reference guide.

From hand tools to holidays to weapons to washing machines, a freewheeling reference to hundreds of customs, notions, and inventions that reflect human ingenuity throughout history.

Draws on contributions from an international panel of experts. Their writings explore the growth the field has experienced in the past three decades and offer observations on challenges and opportunities for the future.

Best-selling guide to all UNESCO World Heritage sites. The list is managed by the World Heritage Committee with strict criteria, and only the world's most spectacular and extraordinary sites make it onto the list.

Reviews the important interrelations between the industry, local communities and conservation work, bringing together the various opportunities and challenges for different destinations.

The ultimate resource for World History, this 6 volume work covers hundreds of topics on great events, notable people throughout history, and more.

The definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail. Primary sources in this title

Examines the causes, course and consequences of warfare in twentieth century Africa, a period which spanned colonial rebellions, both World Wars, and the decolonization process.

The Ardennes Battlefields includes details of what can be seen on the ground today - hardware, memorials, museums, and cemeteries - using a mixture of media to provide an overview of the campaign; maps old and new highlight what has survived and what hasn't; then and now photography allows fascinating comparisons with the images taken at the time; aerial photos give another angle to the story.

Provides a comprehensive study of the literature on the causes, course, and consequences of the Korean War, 1950-1953. Aimed primarily at readers with a special interest in military history and contemporary conflict studies, the authors summarize and analyze the key research issues in what for years was known as the 'Forgotten War.'

From the cunning, calculating, government-trained warriors to the psychopathic, homegrown freelancers, you can find them all in this text.

In this accessible, comprehensive retelling, Carole K. Fink provides new insights and perspectives on key events with an emphasis on people, power, and ideas, along with cultural coverage "from the Beetle to the Beatles." Cold War goes beyond US-USSR relations to explore the Cold War from an international perspective, including key events and developments in Africa, Asia, and Latin America.

This authoritative, well-organized, clearly written volume will prove invaluable for a variety of readers, including high school students, military historians, members of the armed forces, history buffs, and hobbyists, and will be a useful resource for both university and public library reference collections.

Provides crucial and contemporary information about antagonism and reconciliation within both the public and private realms. Addresses topics in the field of violence, peace, and conflict studies, with coverage of issues as disparate as peace education, trends in warfare, mental illness, and violence towards animals. Covers topics of concern to contemporary society, such as ethnic conflict, hate crimes, drug control policies, and child abuse.

From ferocious tribes to charismatic leaders and daring militias, this new edition explores the origins and leadership of these powerful combat forces, chronicles their conquests and accomplishments, examines the circumstances surrounding their decline or disbanding, and assesses their influence on the groups and methods of warfare that followed.

This dictionary gives an enormous amount of basic information on the Third Reich era by listing, and often depicting, German terms connected to Nazism and the Germany of World War II.

Spanning continents and centuries, Protest! presents a major new chronological look at protest graphics.

Covers important battles from the Fall of Jericho (ca. 8000 BCE) - the earliest recorded example of organized warfare - to the wars of the Chalukya Dynasty in the sixth century, which successfully established Chalukya hegemony over about a third of the Indian subcontinent.

Covers wars from the Korean War (1950-1953) to ongoing wars in Syria, the Ukraine, and Libya, among others.

Covers a period dominated by two wars that for the first time in history encompassed nearly every nation in the world, as well as numerous regional and local conflicts that nevertheless caused the death of millions of people.

Based largely upon new research, this book explores the history of repeating and multi-fire weapons, beginning with the Chinese repeating crossbow in the 4th century BCE, and ending with the world's most common firearm, the Kalashnikov AK-47.

Examines the varied and multifaceted scholarship surrounding the topic of peace and engages in a fruitful dialogue about the global history of peace since 1750. Interdisciplinary in nature, the book includes contributions from authors working in fields as diverse as history, philosophy, literature, art, sociology, and Peace Studies.

An indispensable alphabetical, topic-by-topic guide to a fascinating subject. This is a comprehensive work that covers virtually any aspect of sniping.

As Africa and its diaspora commemorate fifty years of post-independence Pan-Africanism, this unique volume provides profound insight into the thirteen prominent individuals of African descent who have won the Nobel Peace Prize since 1950.

Brings together cultural, social and political leaders—both historical and contemporary—of the sub-Saharan region.

Documents nearly 600 Chinese individuals who contributed, for better or worse, to the development of Chinese life and culture since the founding of the People's Republic of China in 1949.

Get to know the foremost minds within technology, medicine, military, religion, and entertainment. Each figure's life and accomplishments are put into context, showing how their contributions changed the world we live in.

International and historical coverage of all areas of human achievement including the arts, science, technology, sport, politics, philosophy and business.

A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.

Engaging biographies for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people.

Latino Almanac: From Columbus to Corporate America is a fascinating mix of biographies, little-known or misunderstood historical facts, and enlightening essays on significant legislation, movements, current issues, and achievements across a variety of fields, including business, labor, politics, the military, music, sports, law, media, religion, art, literature, theater, film, science, technology, and medicine.

Introduces readers to some of the most remarkable scientists, mathematicians, authors, and world leaders of all time - individuals who are well worth knowing on a personal and professional level.

This pioneering book, the first on this period of the region's history in a generation, tells a different story. Interweaving political and social history and drawing on a rich array of sources, including Arabic manuscripts, oral histories, and recent archaeological findings, Michael Gomez unveils a new vision of how categories of ethnicity, race, gender, and caste emerged in Africa and in global history more generally.

The purpose of this Companion is to augment that Series, by taking stock of the current state of literature on migration law, theory and policy, and to sketch out the contours of its future long-term development, in what is now a vastly expanded research agenda.

Provides a comprehensive, accessible introduction to both the human and physical geography of Latin America and the social, cultural, political and economic events that have defined its history.

Documents nearly 600 Chinese individuals who contributed, for better or worse, to the development of Chinese life and culture since the founding of the People's Republic of China in 1949.

Looks at social, cultural, economic, and political trends in the country's long history, shedding light on its unique and complex identity.

This 2nd Edition offers a concise yet comprehensive account of the rich and varied story of Brazil, placing the political, economic, and cultural events of today into broad historical context.

The story of Germany, a key player in global diplomatic and economic affairs, is crucial to our understanding of global history and the contemporary world. Covering more than 2,000 years of history, this text provides a concise account of the events, people, and special customs and traditions that have shaped Germany from ancient times to the present.

Narrates the history of Great Britain from the earliest times to the 21st century, covering the entire island -- England, Wales, and Scotland -- as well as associated archipelagos such as the Channel Islands, the Orkneys, and Ireland as they have influenced British history. The central story of this volume is the development of the British kingdom, including its rise and decline on the world stage.

From Saudi Arabia's pre-Islamic history to the events of today, this 2nd Edition offers a balanced, informative perspective on the country's long history.

From prehistoric Scotland to the Brexit referendum, this little book covers all of the main events in Scottish history. A concise and excellent guide to Scottish history and how Scotland has come to be what it is today.

Provides a comprehensive introduction to the history of this turbulent region. Spanning from pre-Islam to the present day, it explores the evolution of Islamic institutions and culture, the influence of the West, modernization efforts in the Middle East, the struggle of various peoples for political independence, the Arab-Israel conflict, the reassertion of Islamic values and power, the issues surrounding the Palestinian Question, and the Middle East post-9/11 and post-Arab uprisings.

This Edinburgh Companion seeks to develop a postcolonial framework for addressing the Middle East. The first collection of essays on this subject, it assembles some of the world's foremost postcolonialists to explore the critical, theoretical and disciplinary possibilities that inquiry into this region opens for postcolonial studies.

Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the Encyclopedia is an A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent.

A comprehensive encyclopedia consisting of hundreds of A-to-Z entries on events, themes, people, places, and legislation related to immigration.

The story of American Indians in the 20th century is an inspiring tale of survival and rebirth from the depths of defeat. At the dawn of the 20th century, the Indian was seen by non-Indians as the "Vanishing Red Man," a symbol of nostalgia, a figure of the past with no future. Yet not only have American Indians adapted and survived, but they have brought their talents and unique cultural perspectives to many fields.

3rd Edition of the definitive resource for academic students, undergraduates, and general readers who want an account of Palestinians and their long history. This comprehensive resource includes new entries on recent developments and personalities and updates of many of the existing articles.

A concise guide to key events, people and places in English history and how England has come to be what it is today. From prehistoric England, Stonehenge and the Romans to modern times.

From mesolithic Ireland to the peace process, this little book covers all of the main historical and cultural events, places and figures in Irish history.

Covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean from the arrival of the Spanish, colonization, and independence movements until the 1820s.

Covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, examining Latin America's search for its own identity from the middle of the 19th century to the start of the 20th.

Covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, focusing on Latin America (1900 to the Present) as it asserts itself in international politics, experiences the effects of globalization, and becomes an influential area worldwide, from the 20th century through the present day.

Covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean from prehistory through the achievements of the Incas in the 16th century.

An enlightening, and sometimes frightening, recounting of the destruction wrought by disease, but it also looks at what man has done and can do to overcome even the deadliest and bleakest of contagions.

The Routledge History of Medieval Magic brings together the work of scholars from across Europe and North America to provide extensive insights into recent developments in the study of medieval magic between c.1100 and c.1500.

Provides an authoritative and informed analysis of key issues in international migration, including its crucial significance far beyond the more traditional questions of immigrant settlement and incorporation in particular countries.

Societies and Cultures: Russia takes a comprehensive look at one of history's most influential powers, one whose controversial actions have brought it back to the forefront of global politics. With this comprehensive book, students will grasp the full extent of Russia's cultural contributions, geopolitical importance, and historical impact.

Addresses crucial questions with historical insight from the Nazi Party's emergence in the 1920s through its postwar repercussions. From the theory and context that gave rise to the movement, through its structural, cultural, economic, and social impacts, to the era's lasting legacy, this book offers an in-depth examination of modern history's most infamous reign.