Merck Manuals: Environmental Studies

Presents the traveler and naturalist with a portable, authoritative guide to the flora and fauna of earth's northernmost region. Detailed species accounts describe key identification features, size, habitat, range, scientific name, and the unique characteristics that enable these organisms to survive in the extreme conditions of the Far North.

This highly acclaimed atlas distills the vast science of climate change, providing a reliable and insightful guide to this rapidly growing field. Climate change has climbed even higher up the global agenda. This new edition reflects the latest developments in research and the impact of climate change, and in current efforts to mitigate and adapt to changes in the world's weather.

Provides an extensive overview of 300 of the world's most important forest trees. Tropical, subtropical, temperate and boreal trees of major economic importance are included, covering tree species used in agroforestry practices around the world.

Klaus Dodds provides a wide-ranging exploration of the cultural, natural and geopolitical history of ice, revealing how throughout history human communities have made sense of ice.

Daniel MacCannell's enlightening, instructive and beautifully illustrated guide to the rainbow is the first of its kind. It describes what rainbows are and how they work, how we arrived at our current scientific understanding of rainbows, and how they have been portrayed in myths, the arts, politics and popular culture.

This comprehensive A-to-Z resource explains the specific terms, concepts, people, and organizations associated with the sciences of catastrophe --seismology and volcanology -- and covers the places in the world where these destructive phenomena have occurred, as well as key environmental issues, economic dilemmas, ethical concerns, and current advances in research and technology.

The oceans cover 70% of the Earth's surface, and are critical components of Earth's climate system. This new edition summarizes the breadth of knowledge about them, providing revised, up to date entries as well coverage of new topics in the field.

Focuses on the Adriatic Sea and includes articles on the hydrographic and geographic objects, hydrological features and biological resources, the administrative-territorial units of the Adriatic countries, economy, culture and history, cities, ports, international agreements, research institutions and the activities of outstanding scientists, researchers, and travelers.

Designed to accumulate and systematize our knowledge about the unique natural water areas - the Barents, White and Kara seas, their wealth, the events that took place on its waters and shores, and the remarkable people whose lives were and are closely intertwined with the seas.

This 2nd fully revised and updated edition provides a comprehensive source of information on the multidisciplinary influences of volcanic eruptions--both destructive and beneficial.

This reference work encompasses the current, accepted state of the art in the science of wildfires and wildfires that spread to communities, known as wildland-urban interface (WUI) fires.

A guide to the many large-scale disasters that affect life on Earth.

Includes detailed information on the identification, characteristics, threats and distribution for each of the species within this family of rays.

An authoritative and richly illustrated guide to the many facets of the world's oceans and seas. The first five sections describe the genesis and evolution of the oceans, the history of exploration, leisure on the oceans, sealife, and ocean resources. The Atlas section maps the ocean basins, their circulation patterns and unique features. An Encyclopedia of Marine Life catalogues the main groups of flora and fauna.

Provides basic information on harmful algal blooms (HAB) and references for individuals in need of technical information when faced with unexpected or unknown harmful algal events.

A curated set of educational videos covering topics of importance in Science.

Applies critical scrutiny to a prominent set of new but widely used terms, in order to clarify their meanings and improve the basis on which we identify and tackle the worlds water challenges.

During the last decades there has been an increasing evidence of drastic changes in marine ecosystems due to human-induced impacts, especially on benthic ecosystems. The so called 'animal forests' are currently showing a dramatic loss of biomass and biodiversity all over the world.

The most comprehensive and authoritative reference book of its kind, this text provides coverage of a huge range of topics, from shipbuilding, yachting, diving, marine engineering, and marine mammals, to smuggling, tsunamis, mermaids, and the language and literature of the sea.

An updated and comprehensive guide identifying all of the world's sharks.

A concise, authoritative reference to ecology's major subjects and key concepts.

Explores the principal areas and issues of this core discipline in hundreds of entries, essays, photographs, and line illustrations. This comprehensive encyclopedia brings together information on marine science from its component and affiliate sciences, along with information on technology, commerce, business, society, history, and more.

A cultural, environmental and geopolitical history that examines the relationship between humans and oceans, reaching back across geological and evolutionary time and exploring different cultures around the globe.

This Visual Guide answers the most important questions on the Earth through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.

This Visual Guide answers the most important questions on the universe through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.

This Visual Guide answers the most important questions on weather and the environment through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.

A favorite guide to the natural world for general readers and professionals alike, this text incorporates a full account of every genus that has lived in the past 5,000 years. Every named species of each genus is listed in systematic order and accompanied by detailed descriptions of past and present range.

Written by a team of international experts, this book aims to provide a broad overview of the issues surrounding air pollution and how to control and monitor pollution levels.

Brings together a wide range of invasive plant specialists from the Asia-Pacific region to share their experience in addressing the problem and delivering solutions.

2nd Edition; presents the newest release in this fundamental reference that updates and broadens the umbrella of environmental health - especially social and environmental health - for its readers.

This unique collection of Primary Documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, climate change, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present.

Comprehensive book focusing on managing land resources using innovative techniques of spatial information sciences and satellite remote sensing.

Enables people to identify some of the alien plant species that are invasive, potentially invasive, or naturalized in East Africa (Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda) and Ethiopia, and to enable them to learn more about the impacts of these species and about possible options for managing and controlling such plants.

Serves as an invaluable aid in the identification, mapping, monitoring, and management of alien plant species that are already present in Association of Southeast Asian Nations member states, or which may become problematic in the future, due to increased trade and travel, economic development and climate change.

2nd edition, containing more than 30 new and original articles as well as six essential updates by leading scholars of global environmental politics. This landmark book maps the latest theoretical and empirical research in this energetic and growing field. Captured here are the pioneering and lively debates over concerns for the health of the planet and how they might best be addressed.

In the current era of globalisation, national governments are increasingly exposed to international influences that present new constraints and opportunities for domestic environmental policies. This comprehensive, revised Handbook pushes the frontiers of theoretical and empirical knowledge, and provides a state-of-the-art examination of the multifaceted effects of globalisation on environmental governance.

All environmental aspects relating to the textile and clothing industry are discussed in this book.

A comprehensive overview of the policy debates surrounding U.S. public lands and the natural resources they contain. This greatly expanded second edition traces the origin and evolution of policy, the current debate and future direction of land and natural resources policy.

The 21st century will witness the collision of two powerful forces -- burgeoning population growth, together with a changing climate. With population growth, water scarcity will proliferate to new areas across the globe. And with climate change, rainfall will become more fickle, with longer and deeper periods of droughts and deluges. This report presents new evidence to advance understanding on how rainfall shocks coupled with water scarcity, impacts farms, firms, and families.

By 2050, the world is expected to generate 3.40 billion tonnes of waste annually, increasing drastically from today's 2.01 billion tonnes. What a Waste presents national and urban waste management data from around the world and highlights the need for urgent action. The publication provides a snapshot on how waste generation and management varies across income levels and regions, and shares good practices globally.

A comprehensive and diverse, award-winning collection of biographies of the most important figures in American environmentalism. As our environment changes, and environmental concerns become more and more prevalent, this encyclopedia provides much-needed information on the key players in the environmental movement.

An introduction to the discipline is followed by almost 1,000 entries covering key terminology, events, places, dates, topics, as well as the major personalities in the history of the discipline.

Analyzes the central terms and debates currently structuring the most exciting research in and across environmental studies, including the environmental humanities, environmental social sciences, sustainability sciences, and the sciences of nature.

Offers readers mixed sources of information woven together to highlight the overall momentum of developing public opinion around "green" thinking and environmental policy.

Covering everything from the Big Bang to global warming, this accessible and easy-to-use introduction to the scientific world, covers what science has achieved over the past few hundred years and what it promises for the future.

Reviews the important interrelations between the industry, local communities and conservation work, bringing together the various opportunities and challenges for different destinations.