Credo Reference helps you start your research with background information from authoritative encyclopedias.
Basic Keyboarding for the Medical Office Assistant, Spiral Bound Version by
This is a basic keyboarding book for medical assistants, medical secretaries and transcriptionists that include medical terminology case histories, technical information, and medical timed writings that is needed for any medical facility and all personnel. New material includes in depth exercises for punctuation, grammar, and additional medical reports. The medical documents illustrate how to develop reports for the medical facility that includes consultation reports, pathology reports, history and physical reports, operative reports, and also how to format each document. Basic Keyboarding for the Medical Office Assistant includes a free CD-ROM that contains medical dictation that users can practice transcribing. The answers to the exercises are all within Unit 12 of the text, which allows for users to check their work.
Business Applications with Microsoft Word by 
Case Studies for Use with Computers in the Medical Office by
This capstone simulation using Medisoft Patient Billing Software, Version 16, gives students enhanced training that fosters superior qualifications for a variety of medical office jobs. Extensive hands-on practice with realistic source documents teaches students to input information, schedule appointments, and handle billing, reports, and other essential tasks. The simulation is recommended for students who have completed the study of Medisoft Advanced Version 16 using Computers in the Medical Office. “With the CourseSmart eTextbook, students can save up to 50% off the cost of a print book, reduce their impact on the environment, and access powerful web tools for learning. Faculty can review and compare the full text online without having to wait for a print desk copy. CourseSmart is an online eTextbook, which means users access and view their textbook online when connected to the Internet. Students can also print sections of the book for maximum portability.”
Computer Concepts Basics by 
Computers in the Medical Office by
Computers in the Medical Office 7e is the best-selling text for training students using full-featured and current Medisoft Version 16 Patient Billing software. McGraw-Hill publishes the most titles to train students on Medisoft software. Our publishing relationship with Medisoft has been ongoing for 15 years. Computers in the Medical Office 7e offers medical office training using current, realistic medical office cases while building transferable computerized medical billing and scheduling skills. Students who complete this course will learn the appropriate terminology and skills to use any patient billing software program with minimal additional training. As students progress through Medisoft, they learn to gather patient information, schedule appointments and enter transactions. The practical, systematic approach is based on real-world medical office activities. Go with the best. Go with the tried and true. Go with the Medisoft titles that will give you and your students the training and support you need to be successful. Go with McGraw-Hill's Computers in the Medical Office 7e.
Integrated Computer Applications by 
Jump Right In by
Intended primarily for courses in Computer Concepts and Office Applications, this text also provides practical content to current and aspiring industry professionals. A computer literacy approach designed for the needs of today's readers! Jump Right In! , by best-selling author and expert teacher, Jean Andrews, combines proven and innovative educational research with cutting edge technology. The content, design, and approach compel readers to engage proactively in learning essential computer skills and applications including Office 2013 and Windows 8 (or Windows 7). The teach-yourself approach of Jump Right In! provides multiple learning paths based on the needs of different types of learners.  Break through to improved results with MyITLab ® for Jump Right In! -a fully integrated learning system that includes Grader projects, training and assessment simulations, the Pearson eText, and all of the student and instructor resources in one place! MyITLab personalizes learning to help your students better prepare for class, quizzes, and exams-resulting in more dynamic experiences in the classroom and improved performance in the course.  Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyITLab does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyITLab, contact your Pearson representative. MyITLab is not a self-paced technology and should only be purchased when required by an instructor.
Microsoft Excel 2010 for Medical Professionals by
Designed for students in medical office administration and allied health programs, MICROSOFT EXCEL 2010 FOR MEDICAL PROFESSIONALS teaches introductory Microsoft Excel 2010 skills. This book includes real world examples and projects within a case study related to the medical industry, providing you with the Excel skills necessary to successfully support the front or back office of a clinic, hospital, or medical practice.
Communication and the Mentally Ill Patient by
`The editors must be congratulated for bringing together contributions from a wide range of interests. The book provides a rich array of new knowledge and perspectives with everything from a hard science approach to personal perspectives as exemplified by application of personal construct psychology. I can certainly recommend the book wholeheartedly to psychologists working with the seriously mentally ill and to those speech and language therapists employed in mental health services. This book represents another valuable perspective for understanding and treating mental health problems. I hope that the information collected in this work finds its way to those, like myself, who may be ignorant of the value of such an approach.' - Psychiatric Care `This book should be read by every psychiatrist, psychologist and speech and language therapist, regardless of specialisation. Many chapters will also be of direct interest to other health care workers, particularly those involved in multi-disciplinary teams.' - Therapeutic Communities `This is an extremely broad remit, yet it has been achieved successfully in a very readable fashion. I do indeed feel that this is a truly groundbreaking and exciting publication. The information it contains will benefit not only SLTs working in the field of mental health but also those in the mental health team who wish to understand our role and learn more about their clients' communication. It is an excellent publication which is well worth buying or borrowing.' - Bulletin `The book does succeed in giving a perspective on the skills of speech and language therapists and the useful contribution they could make as members of a multidisciplinary team.' - Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine Communication and the Mentally Ill Patient is a groundbreaking work which examines issues of communication and speech in schizophrenic patients and constitutes the first collaboration between psychiatrists, linguists, psychologists and speech and language therapists. The contributors, both practitioners and academics, demonstrate the need for closer ties between the disciplines and the central role that language and communication play in the diagnosis and rehabilitation of the mentally ill. Communication and the Mentally Ill Patient will stimulate much discussion across the fields and is valuable reading for professionals, academics and students in these subject areas.
Communication Skills for the Health Care Professional: Concepts, Practice, and Evidence by 
Foundations of Nursing by 
Health Literacy and Numeracy by 
Health Literacy from A to Z by
A Best-Seller on Amazon! Health Literacy From A to Z, Second Edition is included in the 2015 edition of the essential collection of Doody's Core Titles. Doody's Review Service, 5 Stars, Score 100! AWARDS for The Second Edition: Two-time winner of New England Chapter of the American Medical Writers Association awards: 2012 Will Solimene Award for Excellence in Medical Communication 2012 Neil Duane Award of Distinction 2012 Medical Book Awards: Honorable Mention in the Non-Physicians category Clear communication of your health message can make all the difference in effective patient care. Health Literacy from A to Z: Practical Ways to Communicate Your Health Message, Second Edition is an easy to use handbook designed for the busy health professional. Filled with ideas and strategies that can be used in everyday practice, Health Literacy from A to Z is a first-of-its-kind resource. Learn the key principles and strategies of effective health communication presented in a simple, informal manner by one of the nation's leading experts in health literacy. Whether you are a physician, nurse, pharmacist, allied health professional, case manager, public health specialist, practice manager, health care educator, student or family caregiver this book is for you. Instructor Resources include a Sample Syllabus and PowerPoint Presentations. What's New in the Second Edition of Health Literacy from A to Z The Second Edition is updated and revised to reflect current health literacy research and practice with new information about timely health literacy topics. This edition has 14 new chapters including 4 chapters about "Technology" and 7 chapters focused on "Know Your Audience." Highlights * "Starting Points" with an introduction to key information. * "Strategies, Ideas, and Suggestions" with lots of practical, how-to tips. * "Stories from Practice" showcasing real-life experiences from a wide range of perspectives to help make key points come alive. * "Sources to Learn More" including an extensive list of books, articles, websites, podcasts, and other resources. New Topics * Business Side of Health Literacy * Communicating When Patients Feel Scared, Sick, and Overwhelmed * General Public: Talking with Patients about What They Learn from the Media * Organizational Efforts, Advocacy, and Collaborations * Regulatory and Legal Language * Website Writing * Blogs and Social Media * Audio Podcasts * Email and Text Messages * Interactive Multimedia * Sections focusing on, "Know Your Audience" with in-depth information about: Children and Youth Emotions and Cognition Hearing Loss Language and Culture Literacy Older Adults Vision Problems The First Edition was the 2006 Winner of the New England Chapter of the American Medical Writers Association, Will Solimene Award for Excellence in Medical Communication!
Medical Assisting by 
Nursing Health Assessment by 
Therapeutic Communication for Health Professionals by 
The Book on Healthcare IT by
This book truly simplifies the complicated and multifaceted topic of Healthcare IT with all its various niche terms and subjects such as HIPAA, Hospital IT, HITECH, Healthcare Information Technology, HIT etc. The overly technical jargon and robotic language has been virtually eliminated so that anyone with an interest in the topic of Health IT will find it easy to read and understand the terms being tossed around in the industry today. After reading only a few charters in the manual you will see why it stands out among IT resources in the Healthcare Books section. This book cuts through the confusion and delivers a powerful explanation in a simplified manner, offering optimized comprehension of this complicated topic. Don't mistake simplification for limited delivery of quality content. This text covers the hot topics such as: options for encryption of personal health information, best ways to protect patient privacy, HIPAA requirements and compliance, prevention of fraud by healthcare insiders, wireless network security do's and don'ts and even a section on what we can learn from the Catholic Health System's network and data security. This book is a crash course on the most common issues hospitals, medical record handlers and Healthcare IT professionals face on a daily basis. The author structures the topics in a manner that defines the issue and explains the easiest and most effective path from point A to point B so that the reader can better comprehend the actions necessary for a desirable outcome that both protects the hospital, patient data and healthcare professionals. Minimizing risks, cybersecurity and patient privacy are at the core of discussions in the healthcare industry. This book offers the express learning bridge that has been missing in the industry until now.
Case Studies for Health Information Management by 
Comparative Records for Health Information Management by Computers in the Medical Office by
Computers in the Medical Office 7e is the best-selling text for training students using full-featured and current Medisoft Version 16 Patient Billing software. McGraw-Hill publishes the most titles to train students on Medisoft software. Our publishing relationship with Medisoft has been ongoing for 15 years. Computers in the Medical Office 7e offers medical office training using current, realistic medical office cases while building transferable computerized medical billing and scheduling skills. Students who complete this course will learn the appropriate terminology and skills to use any patient billing software program with minimal additional training. As students progress through Medisoft, they learn to gather patient information, schedule appointments and enter transactions. The practical, systematic approach is based on real-world medical office activities. Go with the best. Go with the tried and true. Go with the Medisoft titles that will give you and your students the training and support you need to be successful. Go with McGraw-Hill's Computers in the Medical Office 7e.
Essentials of Health Information Management by 
Health Information Management Technology by 
Information Management for Health Care Professions by 
Medical Office Management and Technology by
From A to Ziesemer, Medical Office Management and Technology is the text to help student's navigate through their medical office management courses, whether as part of a health information technology, medical administration, or any other allied health program. This text starts at the beginning, with an introduction to new students not familiar with this topic, and works thorugh even the most advanced topics in medical office management. With a special focus on leadership, and a logical progression through the topics, this has the makings of a faculty member's most trusted resource for this course.
Administrative Competencies by 
Administrative Medical Assisting a Workforce Readiness Approach by 
Case Studies for Medical Assisting by 
LWW's Visual Atlas of Medical Assisting Skills by 
Medical Assisting Administrative and Clinical Competencies by 
Professionalism by 
Professionalism in Medical Assisting by 
The Professional Medical Assistant by
This new textbook uses a multidisciplinary, integrated approach to learning that truly reflects the real world in which MAs practice, whether they're focused on the front or back office. From beginning to end, it offers comprehensive, competency-based coverage, complemented by an emphasis on multiple learning styles to better meet the needs of your students. Mastery of all the knowledge and skills that lead to CMA(AAMA) or RMA certification, plus flexibility, versatility, teamwork, and professionalism in the workplace, are the hallmarks of a successful and rewarding career as a Medical Assistant. Our integrated front- and back-office approach provides the foundation for success... Classroom building blocks--medical terminology, body structure and function, and pharmacology. Lab and clinical--building skills through hands-on practice. How it Works... Integrated Approach - Teamwork based - Multiple Learning Styles Unique approach helps students better understand how front-office duties affect back-office decisions, and vice versa. Geared to all students and all learning styles: Solitary Learners Social Learners Auditory Learners Visual Learners Kinesthetic Learners Oral-Dependent Learners Writing-Dependent Learners A comprehensive approach that addresses all competences required by the AAMA and AMT Special focus on the attributes of a successful employee, need for teamwork and flexibility in the workplace, and importance of critical-thinking and problem-solving skills. Assessment exercises help students identify their own learning styles, and suggested study strategies for each style are included. Organized into three main sections: General/Transdisciplinary Administrative Clinical A step-by-step, chapter-by-chapter, body systems approach to clinical competencies that includes relevant examinations and procedures. FREE for Students and Instructors, from F.A. Davis and Amazing Charts... Learn More. View a Demo. EMR Software to accompany The Professional Medical Assistant Patient data embedded in user-friendly, Windows-based EMR software Patients come directly from The Professional Medical Assistant Software package includes... More than 100 documentation templates Complete ICD-9 database for coding Orders for tests E&M coding helper Printable CMS-1500 for billing Adopters receive patient-specific learning activities in PDF format.
Skills and Procedures for Medical Assistants by 
Medical Office Procedures by
Thoroughly revised and updated, Medical Office Procedures is a text-workbook that introduces and describes the tasks of a medical office assistant's career; teaches records management, medical communications, and scheduling skills; and describes procedures for preparing patients' charts and bills. Practice management, electronic health records, and finances are also addressed. Multi-day simulations provide real-world experience with physician dictation. Managerial skills are also included.
Office Procedures for the 21st Century by 
Skills and Procedures for Medical Assistants by 
Essentials of Medical Transcription by
This modular-based text builds competence for entry-level medical transcription through scenario drills and a building block format. It was conceived as a result of classroom experiences with student frustration. Simulations provide students the opportunity to gain confidence and competence before they enter the workplace. A free CD-ROM is included with the text. It provides realistic experiences through actual transcription exercises and personalized feedback from an automated error analysis chart and production for pay summary sheet. Students experience the real-world accountability of earning a paycheck.
Advanced Medical Transcription by
This innovative, hands-on text guides readers through progressively more difficult scenario drills and office simulations, helping them gain confidence as they master valuable transcription skills. Using a building block format, the first unit presents fundamental skills and knowledge that are essential to medical transcription practice, and the second unit lets readers take on the role of a medical transcriptionist working at an outpatient health care center. Students gain real-world feedback on their transcription skills with interactive exercises on CD-ROM with a Production for Pay Summary feature that calculates their adjusted earnings per hour for each document they complete. An Error Analysis chart categorizes and tracks undetected errors by noting the occurrence of repeated types of mistakes so students can track their own progress and learn more effectively. The modular, building-block approach presents segments of information followed immediately by exercises that reinforce material, so students can continually progress to new topics. Competency-based, programmed learning approach makes it easy to clearly identify and measure the student's progress. Real-world practice scenarios place the student in a simulated "employee" role, providing a sense of on-the-job training for a fictitious health care center with its own rules and procedures. An Error Analysis chart for each document categorizes and tracks undetected errors by noting the occurrence of repeated types of mistakes (differentiating between medical language errors and English language errors) so students can identify problem areas and improve performance. Production for Pay Summary feature replaces the traditional evaluation process, recording how quickly the document was created, subtracting credit for errors, and calculating the student's adjusted earnings per hour for that document - just like earning a paycheck. A Microsoft Word compatible CD-ROM offers pre-tests and post-tests, proofreading exercises, and actual transcription exercises, plus an office simulation program that offers additional transcription practice with a self-correcting feature that gives automatic feedback on the student's accuracy.
Medical Transcription Fundamentals by
Medical Transcription Fundamentals, a holistic approach to the study of medical transcription, is a comprehensive, yet concise, manual written by a practicing medical transcriptionist for student medical transcriptionists. The conversational approach, filled with practical, "from- the-trenches" tips and advice, makes this book particularly valuable to the new transcriptionist entering the field. Compatible with the AHDI Model Curriculum and designed with the adult-vocational and post-secondary school student in mind, this product meets the needs of both students and instructors. It can serve as the primary textbook in a short-term medical transcription course or be used for independent, on-line study. After completing the exercises and activities in this book, students will be able to prepare standard medical reports accurately and efficiently. They will also be well-versed in the fundamentals of anatomy and medical terminology as used in various medical specialty practices. A bound-in CD-ROM includes 10 hours of actual dictation by physicians practicing in a variety of specialties PLUS additional scripted dictation (3 files for each chapter) to complement the end of chapter exercises, sample reports, and other data needed to prepare the documents discussed in the text.
Communication Skills for the Health Care Professional: Concepts, Practice, and Evidence by
Communication Skills for the Health Care Professional is the first text of its kind to address the connection between communication practices and quality patient care outcomes. It provides future and practicing patient caregivers in all specialties and services with basic communication knowledge and skills and is an invaluable resource for those in administrative functions as well. The Second Edition is a thorough revision that features five all new chapters covering: communicating with patients with low literacy; health communications and quality care; health communications to enhance behavioral change; the internet and communications between patient and provider; altering systems of care and implications for health care communications.
Handy Answer: The Handy Technology Answer Book by Health Literacy from A to Z by
A Best-Seller on Amazon! Health Literacy From A to Z, Second Edition is included in the 2015 edition of the essential collection of Doody's Core Titles. Doody's Review Service, 5 Stars, Score 100! AWARDS for The Second Edition: Two-time winner of New England Chapter of the American Medical Writers Association awards: 2012 Will Solimene Award for Excellence in Medical Communication 2012 Neil Duane Award of Distinction 2012 Medical Book Awards: Honorable Mention in the Non-Physicians category Clear communication of your health message can make all the difference in effective patient care. Health Literacy from A to Z: Practical Ways to Communicate Your Health Message, Second Edition is an easy to use handbook designed for the busy health professional. Filled with ideas and strategies that can be used in everyday practice, Health Literacy from A to Z is a first-of-its-kind resource. Learn the key principles and strategies of effective health communication presented in a simple, informal manner by one of the nation's leading experts in health literacy. Whether you are a physician, nurse, pharmacist, allied health professional, case manager, public health specialist, practice manager, health care educator, student or family caregiver this book is for you. Instructor Resources include a Sample Syllabus and PowerPoint Presentations. What's New in the Second Edition of Health Literacy from A to Z The Second Edition is updated and revised to reflect current health literacy research and practice with new information about timely health literacy topics. This edition has 14 new chapters including 4 chapters about "Technology" and 7 chapters focused on "Know Your Audience." Highlights * "Starting Points" with an introduction to key information. * "Strategies, Ideas, and Suggestions" with lots of practical, how-to tips. * "Stories from Practice" showcasing real-life experiences from a wide range of perspectives to help make key points come alive. * "Sources to Learn More" including an extensive list of books, articles, websites, podcasts, and other resources. New Topics * Business Side of Health Literacy * Communicating When Patients Feel Scared, Sick, and Overwhelmed * General Public: Talking with Patients about What They Learn from the Media * Organizational Efforts, Advocacy, and Collaborations * Regulatory and Legal Language * Website Writing * Blogs and Social Media * Audio Podcasts * Email and Text Messages * Interactive Multimedia * Sections focusing on, "Know Your Audience" with in-depth information about: Children and Youth Emotions and Cognition Hearing Loss Language and Culture Literacy Older Adults Vision Problems The First Edition was the 2006 Winner of the New England Chapter of the American Medical Writers Association, Will Solimene Award for Excellence in Medical Communication!
Credo Reference helps you start your medical research with books of specialized terminology, references on anatomy and physiology, and works on medical practice.
