Contemporary Practical/Vocational Nursing by
In full color for the first time, this text offers LPN/LVN students a basic introduction to the nursing profession. Unit 1, Getting Started, helps students adjust to the student nurse role, maintain a healthy personal life, communicate effectively, and recognize that NCLEX-PN preparation begins the first day of class. Unit 2, Understanding Your Profession, summarizes the history of nursing and the roles and responsibilities of nurses. Unit 3, Preparing for Successful Practice, addresses ethical and legal issues and leadership and management skills. Unit 4, Moving Forward, discusses career planning and issues that confront nurses as they begin a career.
DeWit's Fundamental Concepts and Skills for Nursing by
Fundamental Concepts and Skills for Nursing, 5th Edition provides all the basic theoretical and applied knowledge that the LPN/LVN nurse needs to practice in an expanded number of care settings, such as the community clinic, physician's office, long-term care facility, home, and acute-care hospital setting. With an extensive art program and thorough discussion of QSEN, this text addresses topics like the physical and psychosocial needs of the patient, critical thinking for problem solving and clinical judgment, and communication - all within a strong nursing process framework. The accessible, friendly, and clear writing style appeals to students and instructors, and its rich ancillary package, including NCLEX-PN® review questions, gives students an edge on learning fundamentals. Concept maps give a visual example of concepts addressed in the text, help you visualize difficult material, and illustrate how a disorder's multiple symptoms, treatments, and side effects are associated. Over 110 skills and steps, featuring sample documentation examples and Home Care Considerations boxes where appropriate, present step-by-step procedures in an action/rationale format. Life Span Considerations: The Older Adult highlight changes that occur with aging and how they affect nursing care by LPN/LVNs working in community and long-term care. Easy-to-follow reading level and text organization presents information from simple to most complex, making it perfect for lower level students and those speaking English as a second language. Numbered objectives, divided by theory and clinical practice, provide a framework for content. Cultural Considerations cover biocultural variations, as well as health promotion for specific ethnic groups, so you provide culturally competent care. Health Promotion and Patient Teaching boxes include guidelines to prevent illness, promote health, and develop self-care strategies. Nursing process framework features application of the nursing process and nursing care plans to reinforce application of the nursing process in the clinical setting. Think Critically boxes encourage you to synthesize information and apply concepts to practice. Home Care Considerations boxes highlight the necessary adaptations of nursing skills and techniques for the patient in the home care setting. Communication boxes present examples of nurse-patient dialogues and instructive therapeutic communication techniques. Over 20 nursing care plans, which include critical thinking questions at the end of the text, provide you with a model for planning patient care. Clinical chapters provide an overview of structure and function to give you a refresher in related anatomy and physiology, including a section on aging. Key terms include phonetic pronunciations, which are helpful for ESL students, and text page references to find the definition. Standard LPN Threads features include helpful characteristics such as full-color design, key terms, numbered objectives, key points, critical thinking questions, critical thinking activities, glossary, and references. NEW! Nursing Concepts and Exemplars listed for each chapter to support concept curriculums. NEW! Discussion of QSEN and highlighted Safety information provides you with the knowledge, skills, and attitudes necessary to continuously improve the quality and safety of patient care. EXPANDED! Evidence-Based Practice boxes and highlighted best practices point out the most current, evidence-based information. UPDATED! Expanded art program with original photos and line art better illustrates nursing concepts.
Essentials of Nursing by
This readable and user-friendly textbook presents the most essential material from Barbara Kuhn Timby’s market-leading textbook, Introductory Medical-Surgical Nursing, Eighth Edition. Essentials of Nursing contains essential medical-surgical content and also includes two units on maternity nursing and pediatric nursing. More than 250 full-color illustrations complement the text. Essentials of Nursing offers LPN/LVN students an easy-to-digest overview of medical-surgical nursing, and is an excellent supplement to Timby’s Fundamental Nursing Skills and Concepts.
Essentials of Nursing Leadership and Mangement by
Utilizing a conceptual framework, Essentials of Nursing Leadership & Management, 2nd edition guides nursing students through leading and managing patient care. Each chapter presents a glossary, review questions, review activities, references, and suggested readings. Realistic case studies and review tools build student confidence in handling a range of common nursing leadership and management situations and stimulate student interest and motivation.
Fundamentals of Nursing by
Continuing its tradition of comprehensive coverage of fundamental nursing principles, precise step-by-step procedures, and five-step nursing process framework, the fifth edition of FUNDAMENTALS OF NURSING is thoroughly revised and updated to address the latest changes in practice. New topics include a critical thinking model, caring for older parents or family members, end of life care, contemporary research on women's health, child and adolescent health, laboratory tests, and activity and exercise in health promotion. A FREE CD-ROM provides interactive learning with the a fluids and electrolytes program, skills checklists, and several tutorials introducing the five-dimensional critical thinking model. (Includes a FREE CD-ROM with checklists and fluid and electrolyte program and MERLIN website at:www.harcourthealth.com/MERLIN/Potter/Fundamentals/) Spanish version also available, ISBN: 84-8174-560-X
Nursing Fundamentals by
This unique resource offers a fresh and balanced perspective look at nursing within a functional health patterns framework, making a complex discipline with an ever-changing and dynamic nature understandable. Emerging topics such as the impact of technology, the emphasis on wellness, evidence-based practice and the expansion of care into the home and community settings are addressed. Timeless topics such as clinical decision-making, delegation, prioritization, clinical skills, and more are also featured.
Delmar's Maternal-Infant Nursing Care Plans by
Delmar's Maternal-Infant Nursing Care Plans, 2nd edition, provides detailed information on caring for clients during pregnancy, labor and delivery, the postpartum period, and the newborn/infant period. All the information needed to develop specific and effective nursing care plans for clients in the maternal and newborn periods is included. Each care plan presents information to guide users in developing comprehensive individualized nursing care plans based on solid scientific understanding of the physiological, psychological, and social events surrounding childbirth. Care plans solicit specific client data and prompt the user to individualize the interventions, consider cultural relevance, and evaluate the client's individual response.
Nursing Care Plans by
Prepare your students for safe, collaborative clinical practice. Focusing on the most important nursing care plans for practice, this updated edition of Carpenito's practical resource helps students learn how to create nursing care plans, effectively document care, and build clinical reasoning and decision-making skills. To help achieve quality outcomes and prevent adverse events, care plans identify individuals who are at high risk for falls, pressure ulcers, and infection and prepare the individual/family for transition to home or another facility. A user-friendly organization splits Collaborative Problems and Nursing Diagnosis in each chapter and organizes care plans by Medical Conditions, Surgical Procedures, and Diagnostic and Therapeutic Procedures. KEY FEATURES UPDATED! All nursing diagnoses reflect today's best practices . NEW! Up-to-date content enriches the presentation, including new techniques on increasing a patient's motivation to learn self-care and new discussions in a new Appendix C on how to teach individuals with low health literacy. Evidence-based rationales and guidelines help students understand how research informs practice. Clinical Alerts advise students of serious events that require immediate action and need to be reported in a timely and sometimes urgent fashion. An evidence-based model, STAR ( S top, T hink, A ct, R eview), shows students how to assess a situation prior to intervening and how to evaluate the response after acting. A SBAR ( S ituation, B ackground, A ssessment, R ecommendation) framework facilitates clear, consistent, and succinct communication of pertinent information among health care professionals.
Nurse's Pocket Guide by
Updated with NANDA-I 2012-2014 Diagnoses This pocket-sized, quick-reference tool has what you need to select the appropriate diagnosis to plan your patient's care effectively. The 13th Edition features all the latest nursing diagnoses and updated interventions. There's also a laminated "pocket minder" quick reference bookmark to make diagnosis even easier. Plus, Davis's Nursing Diagnosis and Care Planning Resource Center online features a searchable database with 800 diagnoses, plus a wealth of clinical tools and valuable information for care planning and nursing diagnosis.
Caring for Older Adults Holistically by 
Clinical Companion for Assessment of the Older Adult by 
Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics by 
Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice by
Named a 2013 Doody's Core Title "The evidence-based protocols are designed as a primary reference and are useful, substantive, and timely...The broader contributions of useful format and succinct review of the evidence make it likely that this text will continue to be the leading resource in nursing education and practice."--The Gerontologist "Now more than ever, nurses are called upon to lead efforts to embed evidence-based practice in daily operations. As the IOM report states, 'nurses have key roles to play as team members and leaders for a reformed and better-integrated, patient-centered health care system.' The process of implementing sweeping change in health care will likely take years; however, nurses must start pragmatically and focus on these critically important protocols that have demonstrated improved outcomes for older adults. Simply stated, 'Pick this book up and use it.'" From the Foreword, Susan L. Carlson, MSN, APRN, ACNS-BC, GNP-BC, FNGNA President, National Gerontological Nursing Association "As a gerontological clinical educator/research nurse, I will often use this as a reference. The format and the content are good, and the explanations of how to best use the evidence simplify the process of sifting through mountains of information to figure the best practice." Score: 97, 5 Stars. --Doody's One of the premier reference books for geriatric nurses in hospital, long-term, and community settings, this 4th edition has been thoroughly updated to provide the most current, evidence-based protocols for care of common clinical conditions and issues in elderly patients. Designed to improve the quality, outcomes, and cost-effectiveness of health care, these guidelines are the result of collaboration between leading practitioners and educators in geriatric nursing and New York University College of Nursing. Protocols for each clinical condition have been developed by experts in that particular area, and most have been systematically tested by over 300 participating hospitals in "Nurses Improving Care for Health System Elders" (NICHE). Evidence is derived from all levels of care, including community, primary, and long-term care. A systematic method in compliance with the AGREE appraisal process was used to rate the levels of evidence for each protocol. Protocols are organized in a consistent format for ease of use, and each includes an overview, evidence-based assessment and intervention strategies, and an illustrative case study with discussion. Additionally, each protocol is embedded within chapter text, which provides the context and detailed evidence for the protocol. Each chapter contains resources for further study.Key Features: Updated to provide a wide range of evidence-based geriatric protocols for best practices Contains new chapters on function-focused care, catheter-associated urinary tract infections, mistreatment detection, acute care models, and transitional careIllustrates application of clinical protocols to real-life practice through case studies and discussionEdited by nationally known leaders in geriatric nursing education and practice, who are endorsed by the Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing and NICHE Encompasses the contributions of 58 leading practitioners of geriatric careWritten for nursing students, nurse leaders, and practitioners at all levels, including those in specialty roles
Geriatric Physical Therapy by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The definitive case-based guide to effectively managing geriatric disorders Geriatric Physical Therapy provides the most authoritative overview available on managing the special needs of the elderly in all health care settings. Through nearly 200 cases, the text offers a skill-building balance of theory and clinical application of knowledge in caring for the older adult population. This timely book addresses and incorporates aspects of prevention, fitness, and wellness into the rehabilitative model of care for elders with and without pathological conditions. Features: Nearly 200 cases examine both acute and chronic stage settings, and provides suggested tests and measures Cases focus on orthopedics and neurology for consistency with board exams, which concentrate in these therapeutic areas Tables and boxes organize and summarize important information and highlight key points for quick reference A well-referenced and scientific approach provides the depth to understand integral processes and procedures
Gerontological Nursing Care by 
Little Black Book of Geriatrics by 
Restorative Care Nursing for Older Adults by
Named a 2013 Doody's Essential Purchase! "This is a terrific text with good basic information and a level of detail, tools, and practicality that make it a useful resource to get older adults mobilized in any setting."--The Gerontologist "[This] book provides a practical hands-on perspective for implementing function focused care in all settings...[It] is a unique resource that is relevant for all nurses and health care providers working with older adults. In addition to addressing functional decline, function-focused care provides a fresh and practical solution to many of the problems that tend to arise with older adults such as infections, falls, and pressure ulcers all known to be associated with immobility." From the Foreword by Colin Milner CEO, International Council on Active Aging "This book encourages individualization, which is difficult to achieve with more prescriptive approaches. This second edition includes chapters on cognitively impaired adults, ethical issues, and patient-centered care, all of which are so important in long-term care. I found it to be very motivating in the way it helped me apply the philosophy and strategies to elders with whom I come in contact. I would highly recommend this book to anyone working with elders. Score: 95, 4 Stars--Doody's Medical Reviews The purpose of restorative care nursing (often referred to as function-focused care) is to take an active role in helping older adults maintain their highest level of function, thereby preventing excess disability. This is the only volume to educate caregivers about both the philosophy of restorative care and how to integrate it into all care settings for older adults. Now in its second edition, the text contains updated content in each chapter along with two entirely new chapters on function-focused care for cognitively impaired adults, ethical issues, and patient-centered care. The book provides a complete six-week education program in restorative care for nurses and other caregivers, numerous practical suggestions for beneficial activities that will enhance function, and strategies for motivating both older adults and caregivers to engage in restorative care. Woven throughout the text is research that documents the benefits and expected outcomes of restorative care. The book also includes the requirements for restorative care across all settings, and the necessary documentation. Restorative Care Nursing for Older Adults will help formal and informal caregivers and administrators at all levels assimilate the philosophy of restorative care and be able to develop and implement successful restorative care programs. This New Edition Features: Completely updated information, including two new chapters on function-focused care for cognitively impaired adults, ethical issues, and patient-centered care A six-week education program that teaches practical application of restorative care nursing Helpful suggestions and strategies for motivating older adults and caregivers Education materials designed for nursing home, assisted living, and acute care settings, including required documentation and goal-setting forms Educational materials for family caregivers
Drug Therapy in Obstetrics and Gynecology by 
Genetics in Obstetrics and Gynecology by 
Handbook of Obstetrics and Gynecology Primary Care by
Here's a one-stop, portable resource for Ob/Gyns and residents who treat women for gynecologic and non-gynecologic problems. This handbook covers topics found in traditional Ob/Gyn manuals, as well as problems often encountered in daily practice, such as diabetes, headaches, mild hypertension, rectal bleeding and depression. Each chapter includes a concise description of the problem or procedure followed by the diagnosis and recommended treatment. Fits in pocket and takes the place of two pocket references. Provides primary care procedures for Ob/Gyns; Ob/Gyn material for primary care physicians. Includes evaluation, diagnosis and management. Algorithms provide step-by-step treatment guidance.
Introductory Maternity and Pediatric Nursing by
The Second Edition of Introductory Maternity and Pediatric Nursing reflects the underlying philosophy of love, caring, and support for the childbearing woman, the child, and the families of these individuals. Recognizing that the responsibility of caring for the pregnant woman and ill child increasingly falls on the family, this text stresses teaching the patient, family, and child with an emphasis on prevention. This edition's updated full-color photos and drawings enliven and support the text, especially for visual learners. A companion Website includes video clips related to developmental tasks of pregnancy, vaginal birth, Cesarean delivery, assisting with breastfeeding, developmental considerations in caring for children, care of the hospitalized child, and pediatric medication administration.
Mayo Clinic Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy by
Any woman looking for accurate, reliable, and authoritative information on pregnancy will appreciate this book from the world-class Mayo Clinic.The Mayo Clinic Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy offers hundreds of pages of in-depth information that new parents will find useful and informative. Features include week-by-week updates on baby's growth, month-by-month changes that mom can expect, and a forty-week pregnancy calendar, as well as a symptom guide and a review of important pregnancy decisions. In this illustrated book you'll also find advice on getting pregnant, meal planning, healthy exercise, and safe medication use, along with general tips on becoming a parent. This pregnancy book is the result of the efforts of a collective team of pregnancy experts who find nothing in medicine more exciting and satisfying than the birth of a healthy child with a healthy mother.The Mayo Clinic Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy is an essential pregnancy resource for parents-to-be.
Nursing Care During the Labor Process by 
Perinatal Casualties : a Challenge to MCH and CC Programs by 
A Sketch of the History of Obstetrics in the United States Up to 1860 by 
Essentials of Pediatric Nursing by 
Introductory Maternity and Pediatric Nursing by
Awarded third place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Award in Maternal-Child Health/Prenatal Nursing/Childbirth Category Created specifically for today's LPN/LVN students, Introductory Maternity & Pediatric Nursing, 5th Edition, delivers clearly written, vibrantly illustrated, clinically relevant coverage of pregnancy, birth, and pediatrics to help students master key clinical and critical thinking skills and prepare for success on the NCLEX-PN® exam and in clinical practice. Focusing on essential concepts and approaches for safe, effective practice, this proven text integrates case studies, in-patient scenarios, and outlines of appropriate nursing care focuses, outcomes, interactions, and rationales to help students best understand each patient's overall nursing care plan. A convenient built-in workbook reinforces comprehension and practical application with engaging review questions, study activities, and critical thinking exercises at the end of each chapter, and an accompanying suite of comprehensive online resources includes NCLEX-PN-style review questions and video clips to ensure confidence on exams and a smooth transition to clinical practice.
Pediatric Nursing by
Pediatric Nursing: Caring for Children and Their Families, Second Edition, is a dynamic and insightful presentation of caring for pediatric clients. The authors embrace a holistic and family-centered approach to the care and nurturing of children in all states along the health-illness continuum, from healthy growth and development milestones to illness states and chronic conditions. All nursing care is framed within a family context, underscoring the need to view the child not just as an individual, but as a member of a larger family unit. General nursing skills such as assessment, communication, and health promotion are presented within the pediatric framework, so nurses can approach children and their families with an authentic understanding of their conditions and needs.
Pediatrics for the Physical Therapist Assistant by
No other textbook gives physical therapy assistants complete, focused insight into their role in treating and managing common pediatric conditions. You'll find coverage of topics ranging from neurological rehabilitation to sports injuries and congenital disorders, as well as in-depth discussions of atypical development and pathologies. Each chapter follows a consistent, well-organized approach that defines each disorder, describes the appropriate physical therapy assessment and intervention, and rounds out the discussion with relevant case study examples based on established practice patterns. Chapters follow a consistent organization, first defining a disorder and then describing the appropriate physical therapy assessment and intervention. Case studies provide examples of physical therapy applications to help you connect theory and practice and build strong clinical reasoning skills. Special boxes highlight Clinical Signs, Interventions, and Case Studies to alert you to important information within the text. Practice patterns and case studies are formatted according to the Guide to Physical Therapy Practice to familiarize you with standardized terminology used in practice. Evolve® resources for students provide additional online activities for learning and self-evaluation.
NURSING: the Ultimate Study Guide by
Not your typical study guide, this single resource contains all of the core information an undergraduate nursing student needs to know from the first day of nursing school through the NCLEX-RN. Written in a succinct, well-organized, easy-to-read format, the guide closely follows the standard nursing curriculum and is designed as a reference for every core nursing course. To maximize successful exam preparation, the text highlights in each chapter important material most likely to appear on the NCLEX-RN. Chapters are organized in a clear, consistent format with information presented in friendly conversational style. For every disease presented there is a definition, triggers, symptoms, and nursing care. Nursing students will no longer be burdened with the substantial cost of purchasing individual study guides for each topic, since all of the information needed to master core nursing curriculum is contained in this compact and pithy resource. Key Features: Provides a complete, compact study resource for daily use in clinical and class settings Designed to accompany students through all nursing school curricula and NCLEX-RN preparation Condenses 15 separate study guides into one succinct volume Includes separate chapters for all five core courses (Medical/Surgical, Fundamentals, Maternal/Child, Pediatrics, Psychiatric/Mental) Identifies important material likely to appear on course tests and the NCLEX-RN with the "TQ" (test question) designation appearing next to appropriate content. Organized logically according to standard nursing curriculum Includes a definition, triggers, symptoms, and nursing care for every disease presented
Study Guide for Basic Pharmacology for Nurses by
Master nursing pharmacology with this helpful study tool! Designed to accompany Clayton and Willihnganz's Basic Pharmacology for Nurses, 16th Edition, this study guide assists you in understanding and applying material from each chapter in the text. More than 1,000 review questions grouped by textbook chapter objective. Includes alternate format question types such as multiple response and priority order to give you practice with new question types found on the NCLEX-PN exam Clinical patient scenarios help you understand drug classifications and actions for selected disease states.
Study Guide for Introduction to Medical-Surgical Nursing by
Student-friendly and easy to use, the Study Guide for Introduction to Medical-Surgical Nursing, 5th Edition, is designed to help you master content and evaluate your progress through practical, useful exercises and activities, including a wealth of multiple-choice and alternate-format questions. This edition places an increased emphasis on higher-level application questions, including exercises to encourage practice in setting priorities, to prepare you to transfer your knowledge of medical-surgical concepts to patient care in the clinical setting. Helps you hone critical thinking skills essential for success on licensure exams and in clinical practice. Reinforces textbook content and provides ample opportunity for self-assessment with a wide variety of learning activities, including matching (key term and vocabulary review), completion, listing, labeling (illustrations), ranking/ordering, and application questions for textbook nursing care plans. Includes textbook page references, making self-assessment easier and faster. Emphasizes application of nursing concepts with new knowledge and comprehension exercises and activities that ask you to apply your knowledge to patient care situations. Features a new section at the end of each chapter: Challenge Yourself! Getting Ready for the NCLEX includes both standard multiple-choice and alternate-format questions (over 1,800) that test your knowledge of chapter content while providing practice for the Boards. Provides valuable practice in prioritizing (deciding what to do first) and assignment (giving specific tasks to health care providers who may be supervised by LPNs) -- skills that are essential for providing effective nursing care and are covered on the NCLEX-PN Examination. Links you to online Evolve resources, where you'll find an additional set of review questions, encouraging utilization of and familiarity with an electronic format.
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-PN® Examination by
This truly unique, bestselling review and preparation resource offers the perfect combination of core content review, practice questions with comprehensive rationales, and detailed test-taking strategies and tips. Throughout the book, you'll find Linda Silvestri's hallmark Pyramid to Success learning features, which highlight key information, and more than 1,000 high-quality review questions that mirror the latest NCLEX-PN® test plan. The companion CD contains all of the questions from the book, plus over 2,600 additional practice questions in a flexible electronic format that allows you to customize your study experience and focus on those areas you need to review the most. Twelve pharmacology chapters, a medication and intravenous calculation chapter, and a pediatric medication administration chapter prepare you for the increase in pharmacology questions on the exam. 3,700 practice questions in the text and companion CD provide ample testing practice in both print and electronic format. Covers all types of alternate item format questions, including prioritizing, decision-making, and critical thinking to help you prepare for this crucial component of the exam. UNIQUE! The companion CD offers 3,700 practice questions that you can answer in both a study mode and an exam mode, as well as the option to answer only alternate item format questions or focus on questions in a specific area of nursing content, client needs, nursing process, or cognitive level. UNIQUE! Linda Silvestri's hallmark test-taking strategies for each question offer important clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option. UNIQUE! Page references to Mosby or Saunders textbooks provide specific resources for further study and self-remediation. Each question is categorized by cognitive level, client needs area, integrated process, and clinical content area to allow you to focus on your area of weakness. Pyramid Terms at the beginning of each chapter give you a quick preview of key content. Pyramid Points throughout the content outlines highlight content that typically appears on the exam. Pyramid to Success sections at the beginning of each chapter or major unit of the book provide an overview of the chapter, guidance and direction regarding the focus of review in each content area, and its relative importance to the most recent NCLEX-PN® text plan. A comprehensive exam in the text features 85 questions related to all content areas and parallels the percentages identified in the NCLEX-PN® test plan. Completely updated content reflects the April 2008 NCLEX-PN® test plan, so you can be sure you're using the most current information to prepare for the exam. A user-friendly, 2-color design helps you focus your studying on the most important information. Additional illustrations visually demonstrate key concepts to help improve your retention and recall for the exam. Audio questions on heart and lung sounds familiarize you with this anticipated new type of alternate item format question.
The RN Course Book : Preparation for the NCLEX-RN Exam by 
Nursing Career Guide: : Strategies for Launching Your Career by 
Transitioning from LPN/VN to RN by Reading LC Call Numbers
QM 23.2
.M348
2001
The Library Resources Flyers are one-page overviews of Library Resources uploaded into the Library Catalog as PDFs. They are based on the hardcopy Flyers handed out by Admissions to prospective students. These flyers are updated and submitted as attachments for the accreditations (i.e. BPPE, ACCET, ACCSC, etc.). They predate the creation of the Springshare Program Guides/Parent Guides. They are included in the Springshare Parent and Course Guides.
