Anatomy, Physiology and Disease by
In Roiger/Bullock, connections are made between systems sothat students learn how the body functions normally in homeostasis, and howdisruption of homeostasis leads to disease and disorder. With a straightforwardwriting style that engages the reader directly, the authors explain difficultconcepts in the context of routine activities, making concepts easier to grasp.A completely revised art program makes the content more inviting and facilitatesstudent comprehension. Measureable learning outcomes throughout the textbook,workbook, and digital learning and assessment program help direct studentsthrough the content so that there are no surprises. Anatomy & PhysiologyREVEALED icons indicate correlations throughout each chapter to relevant APRimages and content. Roiger and Bullock's text requires no prior knowledge ofchemistry or cell biology, and is designed for a one-semester, entry-levelA&P course.
Applied Anatomy and Physiology for Manual Therapists by
Applied Anatomy and Physiology for Manual Therapists is a clear, accurate, simple, and comprehensive A&P textbook that addresses the needs of students in manual therapy education programs. It is a focused text that deliberately emphasizes the information manual therapists need to be familiar with in order to understand the benefits, effects, indications, and contraindications of their specific form of manual therapy. The text includes detailed information not covered in standard A&P texts, adding an entire chapter on neuromuscular and myofascial connections (Chapter 8), and separating the structure and function of the lymphatic system (Chapter 11) from immunity and healing (Chapter 12). This, along with chapter features such as Manual Therapy Applications, Pathology Alerts, and What Do You Think questions, help readers build bridges between the scientific facts and the application of that information to their therapeutic practice.
Essentials of a&P for Emergency Care by
Appropriate for EMS / EMT (Intermediate) and Paramedic courses. Essentials of A&P for Emergency Care: An Interactive Journey, along with the accompanying www.mybradykit.com website, is written in a manner that will enhance learning of the material versus mass memorization of facts. Study skills and stress management tips in a Success Companion on the websiteto help readers along their journey through this course and beyond. The authors have strived to make anatomy and physiology "come alive" by using an engaging writing style to make it seem as if they are sitting next to students talking about the concepts. Humor, where appropriate, and analogies to compare the human body to everyday things to which learners can relate have been interwoven throughout the text. Finally, special features have been added in a unique fashion tailored to the visual learning styles and relevant learning that today's students require.
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology by 
The Human Body: Concepts of Anatomy and Physiology by
The new edition of Bruce Wingerd's The Human Body: Concepts of Anatomy and Physiology helps encourage learning through concept building, and is truly written with the student in mind. Learning Concepts divide each chapter into easily absorbed subunits of information, making learning more achievable. Since students in a one-semester course may have little experience with biological and chemical concepts, giving them tools such as "concept statements," "concept check" questions, and a "concept block study sheet" at the end of each chapter help them relate complex ideas to simple everyday events. The book also has a companion Student Notebook and Study Guide (available separately) that reinvents the traditional study guide by giving students a tool to help grasp information in class and then reinforce learning outside of class. With additional, powerful options like the ADAM Interactive Anatomy Online Student Lab Activity Guide, students have access to learning activities to help them study, understand, and retain critical course information.
The Human Body in Health and Illness by
Fun to read and clearly written, this full-color textbook presents fundamental anatomy and physiology knowledge in an engaging manner. The new second edition simplifies complex concepts and applies them to common problems in patient care. Special attention is given to the anatomy and physiology knowledge that is needed for an understanding of pathophysiology and pharmacology. The underlying physiology of pathologic conditions is explained in a common-sense approach with specific clinical examples. Original, full-color illustrations complement the text. Accurate, attractive, and precise, the art helps to simplify the most complex and fundamental concepts. Many small reference figures and insets are included for context. Original, full-color cartoons use humor to reinforce content, making the text more user-friendly. Do You Know... boxes are brief, sometimes illustrated, and cover issues appropriate to the subject. Many elaborate on pathophysiology; while others pique reader interest with historical background information. Disorders of the System is a table of specific disorders related to individual body systems. As You Age boxes describe how human anatomy and physiology is affected by aging. Sum It Up! content is included throughout chapters and provides reinforcement and a summary of key topics. Key Terms with pronunciation guides are in each chapter opener. All Key Terms are in color and are defined in the Glossary. A Summary Outline at the end of each chapter functions as a useful study tool. The Glossary is extensive, including all Key Terms, all boldfaced terms, and additional terms - all with pronunciation guides. Each soft-cover version of the textbook includes the Body Spectrum Electronic Anatomy Coloring Book CD-ROM. This interactive software simplifies the way students learn anatomy and medical terminology. It offers 80 detailed anatomy illustrations that can be colored online or printed out to color and study offline. A new chapter, Microbiology Basics (Chapter 5), includes pathogens and disorders caused by them, microorganisms, and the spread of infection. The Endocrine chapter includes revised and simplified content and illustrations. New Do You Know... boxes are included throughout. Review Your Knowledge questions at the end of the chapter include multiple-choice as well as short-answer questions. Answers to multiple-choice questions appear on the inside back cover for quick access. Answers to short-answer questions appear in the Instructor's Manual.
Introduction to Anatomy and Physiology by
INTRODUCTION TO ANATOMY AND PHYSIOLOGY covers the fundamentals. It requires no prior biology or chemistry knowledge. In addition this book exposes learners to the fundamentals of the human body and how it functions, specifically focusing on how body systems work together to promote homeostasis. Each body system chapter is self-contained and can be studied in any order preferred. Extensive coverage of diseases highlights common disorders that affect the body throughout the life span. Case Studies and Career Focus features help learners apply knowledge and consider careers for which an understanding of Anatomy and Physiology is essential (crime scene investigators, toxicologists, estheticians, medical animation specialists, food safety specialists, health care, etc.). Concept Maps illustrate how structure relates to function and Body Systems Working Together to Maintain Homeostasis show learners how the entire body works as a whole. Essential laboratory exercises included at the end of each chapter provide hands-on lab experience, without the need for a separate lab manual. Key terms with phonetic pronunciations help build vocabulary. The CD-ROM that accompanies the book engages learners through interactive activities, quizzes and animations.
Medical Terminology by
This book uses a consistent and logical system to help readers build their understanding of medical terminology as it relates to the human body. It also has a real-world focus that relates medical terminology to various health professions, thereby capturing the users' interest and providing information about potential future health careers. Facilitates comprehension through the use of charts and tables and online exercises. Each books comes with a free Cross-platform CD-ROM that offers a host of interactive study aids: practice tests, labeling exercises, word building, spelling bee, flashcards, and audio glossary. Each body system chapter is organized in the same format and includes important subtopics related to the system presented such as anatomy and physiology, word building, vocabulary, pathology, procedures, diagnostic/lab tests and abbreviations. Special Topics chapter (15) presents medical terminology specific to various healthcare industries. There is a new Pharmacology chapter (14). Med Term Tips—brief scenarios and hints interspersed throughout—maintain readers' interest by providing quick facts about medical terminology. Pharmacology terms representing the 200 most commonly prescribed drugs in the country have been added to each body systems chapter (3-14). Medical Terminology reference book for those in various healthcare professions.
Anatomy by
The Sixth Edition of Clemente's Anatomy features over 1,000 bright, realistically detailed full-color illustrations, plus a wealth of accompanying diagnostic images and numerous muscle tables. This classically organized regional atlas is based on the strikingly colorful, yet realistic illustrations of the world-renowned Sobotta Atlas of Human Anatomy. This edition includes new plates on the brachial plexus and on nerves of the lower limb as well as new clinical images, including CT scans, x-rays, and sonograms. The book also has a new graphic design with brighter colors of headings and section tabs. A companion website will offer an Interactive Atlas of Selected Images for students and an Image Bank for faculty.
Color Atlas of Anatomy by
This Color Atlas of Anatomy features full-color photographs of actual cadaver dissections, with accompanying schematic drawings and diagnostic images. The photographs depict anatomic structures with a realism unmatched by illustrations in traditional atlases and show students specimens as they will appear in the dissection lab. Chapters are organized by region in order of standard dissection, with structures presented both in a systemic manner, from deep to surface, and in a regional manner. This edition has additional clinical imaging, including MRIs, CTs, and endoscopic techniques. New graphics include clinically relevant nerve and vessel varieties and antagonistic muscle functions. Many older images have been replaced with new, high-resolution images. Black-and-white dissection photographs have been replaced with color photography. A companion website will include an Image Bank, interactive software (similar to an Interactive Atlas), and full text online.
Essential Atlas of Anatomy by
Barron's Essential Atlas of Anatomy features hundreds of detailed, full-color illustrations of the human body and all its parts, organs, and functions. It can be used as a home reference, as a class or textbook supplement, or just as a guide for anyone interested in anatomy. Fifteen separate sections examine both male and female bodies as follows: Human cell structure General anatomical features Skeleton and musculature Digestive system Respiratory system Circulatory system Blood Lymphatic system Nervous system Sensory organs Urinary system Genital organs Human reproduction Endocrine system Immunological system.
Head, Neck and Dental Anatomy by
HEAD, NECK and DENTAL ANATOMY is brimming with new, full-color figures that showcase anatomical details of the mouth and teeth. The most important features of each tooth are detailed in brief charts, making excellent study guides. Known for its engaging style, this concise resource is fully revised, including new worksheets with multiple choice and labeling questions. With its enhanced figures, fresh design, and updated materials the fourth edition promises to be a reliable go-to resource throughout your education and career!
A Celebration of Neurons by 
Consciousness and the Brain by
WINNER OF THE 2014 BRAIN PRIZE From the acclaimed author of Reading in the Brain and How We Learn, a breathtaking look at the new science that can track consciousness deep in the brain How does our brain generate a conscious thought? And why does so much of our knowledge remain unconscious? Thanks to clever psychological and brain-imaging experiments, scientists are closer to cracking this mystery than ever before. In this lively book, Stanislas Dehaene describes the pioneering work his lab and the labs of other cognitive neuroscientists worldwide have accomplished in defining, testing, and explaining the brain events behind a conscious state. We can now pin down the neurons that fire when a person reports becoming aware of a piece of information and understand the crucial role unconscious computations play in how we make decisions. The emerging theory enables a test of consciousness in animals, babies, and those with severe brain injuries. A joyous exploration of the mind and its thrilling complexities, Consciousness and the Brain will excite anyone interested in cutting-edge science and technology and the vast philosophical, personal, and ethical implications of finally quantifying consciousness.
Essential Biological Psychology by
Biological processes play a central role in psychology. Drawing on the latest research, this clear and concise textbook provides students with a solid grasp of the relationship between mind and behavior, and a detailed understanding of the underlying structure and physiological mechanisms that underpin it. The functions of the nervous system are explained and implications for health are explored. Throughout the book, Barnes encourages students to evaluate essential concepts and theoretical issues. A companion website found at www.sagepub.co.uk/barnes consists of PowerPoint lecture slides and a testbank for teachers (50 questions per chapter) as well as interactive self-assessment testbank for students (10 questions per chapter)
Sensation and Perception by
Long regarded as the gold standard in sensation and perception texts, E. Bruce Goldstein's SENSATION AND PERCEPTION has helped more than 100,000 students make the connection between perception and physiology. Goldstein has crafted an easier-to-understand, and more student-friendly book, without sacrificing the text's comprehensive examination of sensation and perception. Goldstein takes readers on an intriguing journey through their senses, and chronicles scientists' efforts to understand the fascinating behind the scenes activity that allows us to perceive. With balanced coverage of all senses, this book offers an integrated examination of how the senses work together. Goldstein shows readers how seemingly simple experiences are actually extremely complex mechanisms and examines both the psychophysical and physiological underpinnings of perception. All material is presented in a way students find interesting and easy to follow. The book's visually dynamic presentation includes numerous color plates that are presented as visual topic essays. In addition, more than 50 hands-on demonstrations illustrate perceptual experiences. All are simple enough for students to do and are seamlessly integrated into the flow of the text.
Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution
Human Biology by
Human Biology: Concepts and Current Issues, Fifth Editionsparks interest among non-science readers by encouraging them to connect basic biology concepts to real-world issues that are relevant to their own lives. As an award-winning teacher, author Michael Johnson demystifies the scientific process and the concepts of human biology, using a narrative style to tell a story with a reader-friendly approach. Genetic testing, antioxidants, and the black market for bones are just a few of the timely topics that are woven throughout each chapter to engage readers in learning the basics of human biology. Michael Johnson’s jargon-free writing style and expanded coverage of current issues are supported by dozens of exciting new illustrations and photos that further engage reader interest, while unique “Try It Yourself” boxes promote active learning. TheFifth Editionincludes completely updated and redesigned art, as well as an increased focus on critical thinking. Human Biology, Science, and Society, The Chemistry of Living Things, Structure and Function of Cells, From Cells to Organ Systems, The Skeletal System, The Muscular System, Blood, Heart and Blood Vessels, The Immune System and Mechanisms of Defense, The Respiratory System: Exchange of Gases, The Nervous System: Integration and Control, Sensory Mechanisms, The Endocrine System, The Digestive System, The Urinary System, Reproductive Systems, Cell Reproduction and Differentiation, Cancer: Uncontrolled Cell Division and Differentiation, Genetics and Inheritance, DNA Technology and Genetic Engineering, Development and Aging, Evolution and the Origins of Life, Ecosystems and Populations, Human Impacts, Biodiversity, and Environmental IssuesMARKET: For all readers interested in learning about human biology.
Human Biology by 
Body Structures and Functions by 
The Human Body in Health and Disease by 
Trail Guide to the Body 5e by
Trail Guide to the Body, 5th Edition, A hands-on guide to locating muscles, bones and more Before you can assess or treat a muscle, you first must be able to locate it. This acclaimed book delivers beautifully illustrated information for learning palpation and the musculoskeletal system. It makes mastering the essential manual therapy skills interesting, memorable and easy. With 504 pages and 1,400 illustrations covering more than 162 muscles, 206 bones, 33 ligaments and 110 bony landmarks, this text provides an invaluable map of the body. This new edition includes an extensive 56-page appendix that describes the common trigger point locations and pain patterns of 100 muscles. Trail Guide to the Body is a highly recommended textbook for the state licensing tests administered by both the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) and the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) and is one of only five books on their official examination reference lists. In addition, the Board of Certification program for athletic trainers in the U.S. uses our high-quality Trail Guide to the Body illustrations in their various products, including exams. Whether you are a massage therapist, physical therapist, sports trainer or student in any bodywork modality, Trail Guide to the Body is for you!
Healing Practices by
For elective courses in Alternative Therapies of Medicine also called Complementary Medicine. To be integrated into other nursing courses such as Community Health Nursing, Fundamentals of Nursing, Medical Surgical Nursing and Issues and Trends where appropriate. Providing a comprehensive overview of alternative health practices and complimentary therapies from a nursing perspective, this enlightening and informative text covers the principles, techniques, research, health promotion methods and healing practices for specific illnesses and symptoms. Offering a broad understanding of alternative therapies, this text empowers students with the knowledge to guide future practice decisions and incorporate alternative approaches in patient care. It begins with introductory concepts, followed by a presentation of ancient systematized health care practices, then devotes the remainder of the text to a variety of therapies with information on how nurses can integrate that knowledge into practice.
The Languages of Psyche by
The Languages of Psyche traces the dualism of mind and body during the "long eighteenth century," from the Restoration in England to the aftermath of the French Revolution. Ten outstanding scholars investigate the complex mind-body relationship in a variety of Enlightenment contexts--science, medicine, philosophy, literature, and everyday society. No other recent book provides such an in-depth, suggestive resource for philosophers, literary critics, intellectual and social historians, and all who are interested in Enlightenment studies.
The Purification Plan by
Proven strategies to repair toxic damage and restore the body to vibrant health--in as little as 7 days! A growing body of research points to toxins as a major contributor to weight gain, fatigue, and chronic illness. Now anyone can safely and effectively cleanse the body of these harmful compounds to look and feel years younger. Dr. Peter Bennett has been using detoxification techniques in his practice for more than 20 years, with remarkable results. Drawing on his own clinical experience and the discoveries of other top detox experts, he has created an exclusive 7-day program to flush out toxins and purify the body in just one week. Readers will learn: * the best foods, herbs, and supplements for detoxification * gentle "detoxercises" that enhance immunity and fight the effects of stress * simple solutions to create a clean, pure environment at home and at work * strategies for setting up a rejuvenating home spa inexpensively * special 1-, 2-, and 3-day fasts and weekly, monthly, and seasonal cleansing routines For anyone who wants to lose weight, the 7-day program is perfect for jump-starting their efforts. Readers also can customize the program with targeted strategies for specific health concerns, including arthritis, diabetes, depression, migraines, and allergies.
The Spa Handbook : a Guide to Enhancing Physical, Mental and Spiritual Well-being by Reading LC Call Numbers
QM 23.2
.M348
2001
