Sal MOABC-4 Medical and Dental Billing: Medical Billing and Coding

This modular-based text builds competence for entry-level medical transcription through scenario drills and a building block format. It was conceived as a result of classroom experiences with student frustration. Simulations provide students the opportunity to gain confidence and competence before they enter the workplace. A free CD-ROM is included with the text. It provides realistic experiences through actual transcription exercises and personalized feedback from an automated error analysis chart and production for pay summary sheet. Students experience the real-world accountability of earning a paycheck.

The third edition of Forrest General Medical Center provides relevant, realistic learning materials for advanced medical transcriptionists. This book may be used in a traditional classroom setting or as a self-paced resource for practitioners who wish to upgrade their medical transcription and terminology skills. Whether you work in an allied health or court-reporting field, a medical office or a business office, this educational package presents learning activities that will develop and refine transcription skills to a competitive level.This book is organized by medical specialty; each chapter includes an overview of the specialty, relevant abbreviations, anatomic illustrations, important terminology and pronunciations, transcription tips, and useful web links. Each chapter also includes a critical thinking challenge that enhances the skills and professionalism of the advanced student.Audio transcription exercises are also available for practice with live dictation. The audio exercises are available in several different formats including audio tape and audio files you can download from the internet right to your computer!

Develop the skills you need to effectively and efficiently document patient care for children and adults in clinical and hospital settings. This handy guide uses sample notes, writing exercises, and EMR activities to make each concept crystal clear, including how to document history and physical exams and write SOAP notes and prescriptions. This edition has been completely revised and upgraded with more in-depth coverage of documentation and its ramifications, more documentation samples to analyze and emulate, and even more learning tools.

This best-selling transcription book is now printed in full color, enhancing the anatomical illustrations presented. The book and practice software create a simulation approach, giving learners a working knowledge of the medical reports most commonly used in hospital and ambulatory care settings. Learners transcribe a variety of reports from inpatient case studies taken from actual medical reports. Organized by body system, reports transcribed include history and physical examination, operative, pathology, radiology, and discharge summary.

For courses in Office Procedures, Office Administration and Management courses.   This market-leader helps students acquire the office and interpersonal skills needed to excel in any organisation. Its proven approach means students acquire these skills quickly and chapters introduce a range of topics including file management, time management, employment skills, basic financial forms, problem solving, human relations and more! This edition features more on communication, references Microsoft Office 2007, and expands the office simulation to include both functional and cumulative exercises. New chapters address the medical and legal office and new assignments develop employer-ready skills.

Accurately report supplies and services for physician, hospital outpatient, and ASC settings with the INGENIX HCPCS LEVEL II. Use this comprehensive reference for the HCPCS code set that focuses on management of reimbursement. This user-friendly book will guide any coder confidently through current modifiers, code changes, additions and deletions with information as dictated by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

Updated to include the new and revised CPT/HCPS codes for 2012, this comprehensive, system-based text teaches the essential CPT/HCPCS coding skills needed in medical coding and billing careers. The text provides an overview of coding guidelines on coding practice and introduces students to medical records, including how to locate information and code accurately and efficiently. The book covers symptoms, signs, diagnoses, procedures, and their CPT/HCPS codes by system, and uses actual medical records to show how to code conditions and procedures. A section explains how the coding process affects reimbursement and health services administration. Each chapter includes coding practice exercises.

UNDERSTANDING PROCEDURAL CODING: A WORKTEXT, Second Edition is a comprehensive, hands-on worktext that will help your students gain confidence in procedural coding. Procedures are illustrated to clarify concepts and practice exercises are provided throughout so your students can test themselves as they progress. Used in conjunction with their CPT® and HCPCS Level II manuals, this learning resource will help your students master procedural coding for all medical specialties. UNDERSTANDING PROCEDURAL CODING: A WORKTEXT, Second Edition allows your students to answer questions right in the book, making it both a learning tool and a personalized resource. 30-day free trial of Ingenix's EncoderPro included.

You Code It! Abstracting Case Studies Practicum provides extensive coding practice for students to expand their training and experience. The case studies and patient records provide exercises and sample patient records for more than 25 specialties for focused coding practice. In addition, students can use this book for preparation to sit for a national certification exam or going to a job interview. This workbook provides extensive, hands-on practice for learning to code. The cases in this book are real patient charts (redacted) from physicians’ offices and hospitals in different parts of the country. It is a student-friendly workbook presenting case studies for the practice of abstracting health care professionals’ documentation and accurately translating the facts into the best, most accurate codes.

HIPAA for Healthcare Professionals clearly explains HIPAA concepts and brings meaning to the concepts through examples, real-life scenarios, thought-provoking questions, and discussion. Perfect for any allied health professional, coverage includes key information on the HIPAA ruling including fundamentals, privacy issues, explanation of the security ruling, and dispels HIPAA myths.

This supplement takes the guesswork out of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act. It explains HIPAA in simple terms and puts it in the setting of the physician's office. Covering Title I, Health Insurance Reform, and Title II, Administrative Simplification, this guide emphasizes the importance of compliance with HIPAA and describes the repercussions if a practice does not comply. It also dispels some of the myths surrounding HIPAA. Taking compliance one step further, it also describes the importance of complying with the fraud and abuse policy of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) Office of Inspector General (OIG). This guide is especially useful for insurance billers and medical coders.

For many people, health coverage is an important benefit of
their jobs. At the time HIPAA was passed, a lot of people were afraid
to switch jobs because they might lose the insurance coverage they
needed for their families. This publication will explain how HIPAA’s
protections make it easier to change employers without losing health
coverage for your (and your family’s) medical conditions.
HIPAA's umbrella of protection:
—Limits the ability of a new employer plan to exclude coverage
for preexisting conditions;
—Provides additional opportunities to enroll in a group health plan
if you lose other coverage or experience certain life events;
—Prohibits discrimination against employees and their dependent
family members based on any health factors they may have,
including prior medical conditions, previous claims experience,
and genetic information; and
—Guarantees that certain individuals will have access to, and
can renew, individual health insurance policies.