Credo Reference helps you build your research vocabulary with dictionaries, glossaries, thesauri, and other reference materials.
Baby Massage for Dummies by 
Current Diagnosis and Treatment in Pediatrics by
This text presents clinical information on the ambulatory and in-patient care of children from birth through infancy and adolescence. This new edition contains new chapters on information technology in pediatric practice and dealing with the effects of bioterrorist incidents.
Essentials of Pediatric Nursing by 
Nursing Care of Infants and Children by 
Pediatric Nursing by 
Pediatrics for the Physical Therapist Assistant by
No other textbook gives physical therapy assistants complete, focused insight into their role in treating and managing common pediatric conditions. You'll find coverage of topics ranging from neurological rehabilitation to sports injuries and congenital disorders, as well as in-depth discussions of atypical development and pathologies. Each chapter follows a consistent, well-organized approach that defines each disorder, describes the appropriate physical therapy assessment and intervention, and rounds out the discussion with relevant case study examples based on established practice patterns. Chapters follow a consistent organization, first defining a disorder and then describing the appropriate physical therapy assessment and intervention. Case studies provide examples of physical therapy applications to help you connect theory and practice and build strong clinical reasoning skills. Special boxes highlight Clinical Signs, Interventions, and Case Studies to alert you to important information within the text. Practice patterns and case studies are formatted according to the Guide to Physical Therapy Practice to familiarize you with standardized terminology used in practice. Evolve® resources for students provide additional online activities for learning and self-evaluation.
Using Medical Terminology by
This comprehensive medical terminology textbook includes detailed coverage of anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology. The author's unique teaching approach emphasizes using the full terms in context, rather than breaking down words and memorizing word parts, lists, and definitions. Vibrant illustrations, a variety of exercises, and numerous other features engage students visually, auditorily, and kinesthetically to address various learning styles. A bonus CD-ROM includes an audio glossary plus interactive exercises. LiveAdvise: Medical Terminology online faculty support and student tutoring services are available free with each text. A complete online course for use with WebCT or Blackboard is also available.
Child, Family, School, Community by
The best-selling text in this area, "Child, Family, School, Community" deftly explores all the contexts in which children develop socially with sensitivity, professional insight, and current research. Berns text describes and analyzes how a child's reciprocal interactions with family, school, peer groups, media and community influences his or her developmental outcomes. Further, it takes a comprehensive look at the effects of family, child care, school, peer group, media, community, and societal factors (including culture, political ideology, economics, technology) on the socialization of the child. Truly ideal for undergraduate students and anyone who works with children, "Child, Family, School, Community" underscores the immeasurable value in preparing the child with the ability to adapt to a changing world.
Week by Week by
This text is full of resources that current and future teachers need in order to implement regular, quality developmental observation of all their young students. It explains accepted methods of recording observations and the applications of those methods, including their advantages and disadvantages. This includes pitfalls to avoid, the use of technology with each method, and how to find the time to actually implement the plan. This is paired with an overview of child development so teachers know what to look for and how to record it. The actual filing system for documentation is addressed, as is sharing results with the child and family. Special features add further, thought-provoking substance to the text. Each chapter's "Topics in Observation" section presents an issue for consideration that is related to but beyond the context of the chapter content. A "Reflective Journal" guides the students to think personally about each developmental area, and an Action section gives curriculum ideas, including suggested children's titles that correspond to the chapter's developmental area.
Health, Safety and Nutrition for the Young Child by
This best-selling text on children's health, safety, and nutrition emphasizes the critical relationship among these three areas in an easy-to-read, thought-provoking format. Throughout the text, practical suggestions and underlying principles for creating high-quality environments that maximize children's well-being and development are stressed. The author puts particular importance on the role teachers and parents play in helping children establish a healthy lifestyle. Case studies, review activities, and suggestions for additional reading offer students the greatest opportunity for reinforcing their learning. Specific information on diseases and common childhood afflictions, as well as on special interest topics like managing adult anger and building resiliency in children, makes this text not only a learning tool and but also a tremendous resource for future use. Upon completing their study of this material, students will be well-equipped to help children and families live well.
Observing and Understanding Child Development by
Observing and Understanding Child Development: A Child Study Manual is a text designed to help students and practitioners alike learn how to gather and interpret data to gain insight into child development. It covers observation, developmental domains including patterns of development, child development theory, and communication. It features a unique and vitally important chapter on art, music, and movement development, and also covers special needs children in every chapter. Combined with many wonderful activities and a CD-ROM that includes guided observations via streaming video, this book will move the reader through theory to application, and will remain a timely and important resource that can referenced again and again. This vital resource is also the perfect reference for the practicing professional and the dedicated parent.
Developmental Profiles by
Designed to help students grasp the complexity of child development, Developmental Profiles: Pre-birth Through Twelve,5E highlights major characteristics for each of the developmental domains in a concise, non-technical, point-by-point format. Developmental profiles and case studies have been expanded to include middle childhood, and sections featuring children's daily routines. Patterns have been incorporated to help students, parents, and teachers comprehend the interrelated nature of development and translate emerging skills into everyday behavior. Updated content reflects current information about prenatal care and brain research. Information on safety allows students to recognize important safety considerations at each developmental stage and gives suggestions for appropriate adult supervision. Every chapter includes objectives, key terms, updated and more in-depth case studies, and each section offers tips on promoting children's curiosity and learning.
Dreeben-Irimia's Introduction to Physical Therapist Practice for Physical Therapist Assistants by
The Third Edition of this best-selling text, written text specifically for PTAs, will help instructors introduce students to information regarding professionalism, professional roles, interpersonal communication, physical therapist's behavior and conduct, teaching and learning, and evidence based practice. This comprehensive text will provide a valuable resource throughout the physical therapist assistant's education and training throughout the entire duration of the PTA program.
Neurologic Interventions for Physical Therapy by
Now completely updated with the latest information on both adult and pediatric patients, this comprehensive book provides a link between the pathophysiology of neurologic deficits and possible rehabilitation interventions for improving movement outcomes. It introduces the structure and function of the nervous system and describes normal motor development, motor control and motor learning, pathophysiology of the nervous system and common treatment techniques used in physical therapy practice. This edition also features updated terminology from the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, as well as new chapters on proprioceptive neuromuscular facilitation (PNF) and other neurological conditions seen in the adult. Helpful learning aids and abundant illustrations highlight key concepts and help readers quickly master the material. Comprehensive coverage of neurologic rehabilitation explores concepts in neuroanatomy, motor control and motor learning, motor development, and evidence-based treatment of adults and children with neuromuscular impairments. Over 700 photos and drawings clarify concepts, show anatomy, physiology, evaluation, and pathology, and depict the most current rehabilitation procedures and technology. Case studies demonstrate the patient examination and treatment process, and show how to achieve consistency in documentation. Proprioceptive Neuromuscular Facilitation chapter describes how PNF can be used to improve a patient's performance of functional tasks by increasing strength, flexibility, and range of motion - key to the treatment of individuals post stroke. Review questions are included at the end of each chapter, with answers at the back of the book. Illustrated step-by-step intervention boxes, tables, and charts highlight important information, and make it easy to find instructions quickly. Use of language of the APTA Guide to Physical Therapist Practice ensures that you understand and comply with best practices recommended by the APTA. NEW photographs of interventions and equipment reflect the most current rehabilitation procedures and technology. UPDATED study resources on the Evolve companion website include an intervention collection, study tips, and additional review questions and interactive case studies.
Physical Agents by
Written specifically for PTAs! Develop the clinical decision-making skills you need to be a successful PTA. This easy-to-follow approach helps you learn how to successfully relate thermal, mechanical, and electrical modalities with specific therapeutic goals while understanding all of the physiologic ramifications. Drawing from the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, this text will enable you to make the connection between a modality and the appropriate treatment interventions as part of a comprehensive, successful physical therapy treatment program. Explore MORE online at DavisPlus! The Plus Code, inside new, printed texts, unlocks your Davis Digital Version, your complete text online.
Physical Rehabilitation by
Rely on this comprehensive, curriculum-spanning text and reference now and throughout your career! It focuses on the rehabilitation management of adult patients, integrating basic surgical, medical, and therapeutic interventions to explain how to select the most appropriate evaluation procedures, to develop rehabilitation goals, and to implement a treatment plan. The 6th Edition has been completely revised and updated to reflect the art and science of rehabilitation practice today. Now in full-color, you'll find a new streamlined, easy-to-reference design with even more photographs, illustrations and tables. Redeem the Plus Code inside to unlock your DavisPlus student resources. Over 90 minutes of narrated, full-color video clips show actual clinicians treating actual patients. You'll see the initial examination, interventions, and outcomes for a variety of conditions commonly seen in rehabilitation settings. Online Review Questions for every chapter so you can test yourself on what you've read.
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for Ptas by
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs, Third Edition is a concise clinical guide designed specifically to help physical therapist assistant students and practitioners easily obtain helpful evidence-based information. This succinct handbook covers the evaluative as well as the interventional aspect of physical therapy and offers immediate guidance concerning physical therapy data collection and interventions, including musculoskeletal, neurologic, cardiopulmonary, integumentary, geriatric, pediatric, and acute care interventions. This Third Edition reflects updates featured in the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice 3.0, as well as contemporary documentation requirements and best practices. With its user-friendly format that includes tabbed sections for easy referencing and the inclusion of clinical pearls for the PTA, this handbook is a valuable resource for PTA practitioners and students alike. KEY UPDATES:* Features new, easy-to-reference medication tables for interventions covered in the text* Includes extensively revised integumentary content, with illustrations of cancerous skin lesions and vascular ulcerations as well as coverage of dressing choices for wound care management* Addresses Electronic Medical Records as part of clinical documentation coverage, along with ICF terminology and the APTA's defensible documentation guidelines * Provides a range of additional content in covering geriatric interventions, including general considerations for common geriatric-related conditions, an explanation of Medicare Parts C and D, and levels of supervision for the PTA with the Medicare patient* Features an expanded section on domestic violence and elder abuse in relation to its discussion of safety in the clinical environment* Incorporates a prosthetic wear-time schedule* Includes kyphoplasty considerations in detailing spinal surgery procedures and precautions Applicable Courses:* Clinical Practicum* Clinical Education* Clinical Experience
Pierson and Fairchild's Principles and Techniques of Patient Care by
Master the basics of rehab patient care with Pierson and Fairchild's Principles & Techniques of Patient Care, 6th Edition. This proven text not only provides clear "how-to" information on everything from positioning and draping to patient transfers and ambulation activities, but it also includes easy-to-understand rationales explaining the "why" behind these proven techniques. This new edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect the most current accepted patient care standards, principles, and techniques. Plus, additional video clips and expanded learning resources will help ensure you have a solid mastery of patient care in the rehabilitation setting. Content based on the World Health Organization's ICF model (International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health) - the model currently endorsed by the APTA and AOTA - ensures you are referencing information that stems from the most current theories and practice guidelines of physical and occupational therapy. Procedures boxes with clear written instructions are accompanied by full-color illustrations on performing a variety of proven techniques and patient care tasks such as proper lifting techniques, patient transfers, basic wound care, and assessment of vital signs. Insights into the rationales and physiological principles explain why specific techniques and procedures are used. More than 800 full color photographs clearly demonstrate proper performance of techniques and procedures used in the assessment and management of patients in the rehabilitation setting. Guidelines, principles, and precautions boxes throughout the text offer additional tips for optimal assessment and management of patients in the rehabilitation setting. Self-study and problem solving (case study) activities conclude each chapter to help you understand important concepts and improve your decision-making and problem solving skills. Video clips on companion Evolve website demonstrate the techniques and procedures described in the text. Content on professionalism and the concept of professional values and ethics reinforce existing workplace guidelines and how to apply those guidelines to your patient interactions. Online user resources on the companion Evolve website feature video clips and additional activities for you to hone your skills. (What additional activities?) NEW! Procedures index lists all of the procedures covered in the text to help you quickly locate procedure descriptions while working in the clinical setting. NEW! Additional video clips demonstrate patient transfers, ambulation with aids, donning and doffing PPE, and maneuvering a wheelchair. NEW! Video clip table of contents lists over 30 video clips in the front matter of the text.
Recognizing and Reporting Red Flags for the Physical Therapist Assistant by
Recognizing and Reporting Red Flags for the Physical Therapist Assistant will help you develop skills to recognize signs and symptoms that can compromise patient care, It is the first text to present a consistent, three-step model for monitoring patients for red flags relating to neuromuscular and musculoskeletal problems, medical diseases, side effects of medications, and other co-morbidities that may be unknown to the PT. Combining the insights of physical therapist Catherine Cavallaro Goodman and physical therapist assistant Charlene Marshall, this resource is unmatched in providing clear guidelines for finding and documenting red flags. Coverage of warning flags includes red and yellow flags, risk factors, clinical presentation, signs and symptoms, helpful screening clues, and guidelines for communicating with the PT, allowing you as the PTA to quickly recognize the need for any re-evaluation of the patient. Three-step approach to formative assessments of physical therapy patients provides a consistent way to watch for and report on adverse changes such as range of motion, strength, pain, balance, coordination, swelling, endurance, or gait deviations. PTA Action Plans show the clinical application of text material relating to observing, documenting, and reporting red (or yellow) flags to the physical therapist. Clinically relevant information includes the tools that you need to monitor the patient's response to selected interventions, and accurately and quickly report changes to the supervising PT. Picture the Patient sections address what to look for when assessing or working with patients, especially typical red flag signs and symptoms of emerging problems. Case examples and critical thinking activities connect theory to practice, showing the role of the PTA and how the PTA can integrate clinical observations with clinical reasoning skills so that they can. Cognitive processing-reasoning approach encourages you to learn to gather and analyze data, pose and solve problems, infer, hypothesize, and make clinical judgments, so that you can notify the supervising PT of clients who need further evaluation or may require a referral or consultation with other health care professionals. Summary boxes and tables highlight key information for quick reference. Key terminology is listed in each chapter, which each term bolded within the chapter and defined in a back-of-book glossary. Full-color illustrations and design clearly demonstrate pathologies and processes and make lookup easier in busy clinical settings. An Evolve companion website enhances your problem-solving and decision-making skills with additional case studies, problem-solving questions, and activities, as well as screening tools and checklists. Combined authorship by a physical therapist and physical therapist assistant provides an authoritative and unique voice in the PTA field.
Therapeutic Exercise by
The premier text for therapeutic exercise! Here is all the guidance you need to customize interventions for individuals with movement dysfunction. You'll find the perfect balance of theory and clinical technique--in-depth discussions of the principles of therapeutic exercise and manual therapy and the most up-to-date exercise and management guidelines. Full-color videos show you how! A complete video library of basic therapeutic exercises and techniques online at www.DavisPlus.com shows you how to achieve the best results for range of motion, stretching, joint mobilization, resistance, and spinal stabilization. You will also find supplemental tables and boxes and a glossary. See what students and practitioners are saying online about the previous edition... Great book... "with great explanation, descriptions and pictures to describe the various interventions that can be used for specific patient complaints or conditions. Highly recommended!"--Natalie B. Martinez Great Standard. "This book is a must have for any orthopedic physical therapist. Now it is even better with ICF information in it."--R.F. Sousa Good buy. "Initially bought this book for PT school. It's quite substantial. Most definitely one of the books I do not plan to sell after I am done with the program. Would recommend."--Talisa Swanson
Credo Reference helps you start your medical research with books of specialized terminology, references on anatomy and physiology, and works on medical practice.
Credo Reference helps you start your nursing research with books of specialized terminology, works on nursing theory and leadership, and a guide to palliative care.
Credo Reference helps you start your nursing research with books of specialized terminology, works on nursing theory and leadership, and a guide to palliative care.