LibGuides: Sal MOABC-1 Medical Office Procedures: Various Multimedia Tools

Multimedia Tools

Atlas of Head and Neck Pathology Photographs and drawings from Waxner Center at Ohio State University.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination Watch a full volume or chapter-by-chapter videos.
DermNet
Contains over 9,000 images of skin diseases. Educational resource for professionals. Publishing or posting images requires written permission.
Digital Atlas of Ophthalmology Database of images drawn from clinical experiences of the New York Eye and Ear Infirmary and around the world. Intended to serve as a visual reference and educational supplement for professionals and students.
e-Anatomy: Human Anatomy, Medical Imaging and Illustrations e-Anatomy is an award-winning interactive atlas of human anatomy. It is the most complete reference of human anatomy available on web, iPad, iPhone and android devices. Explore over 6700 anatomic structures and more than 670 000 translated medical labels. Images in: CT, MRI, Radiographs, Anatomic diagrams and nuclear images. Available in 12 languages. https://doi.org/10.37019/e-anatomy, ISSN 2534-5079
Flashcards AccessMedicine offers several sets of flashcards. You must register for a personal account (at no charge) before you can have access to the Flashcards.
Genome Provides information on genome sequences, maps, chromosomes, assemblies and annotations. National Center for Biotechnology Information of the National Library of Medicine (National Institute of Health).
History of Medicine Exhibits National Library of Medicine. Offers resources on the social and cultural history of medicine.
Iowa Virtual Slidebox Offers histology, cyptology, pathology slides.
Martindale's Virtual Medical Center
Contains books, journal articles, images banks, videos, etc. on all aspects of Medicine.
Merck's Manual Consumer Version Medical Videos and Animations
Hundreds of photographs and videos from Merck & Co. Inc.
National Cancer Institute Visuals Online
Contains images from the collections of the Office of Communications and Education, National Cancer Institute.
National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) - Image Gallery This is a searchable database of photos, illustrations and videos. Permission is granted to use these images for educational, news media or research purposes provided the source for each image is credited.
Openi
An open access biomedical image search engine with teh option to view images results in citation list format or image grid format.
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Flickr Group A pool for images related to anatomic and clinical pathology. I encourage (but do not require) all contributors to give their images Creative Commons Attribution licenses, so they can reach the widest audience and ultimately benefit the greatest number of patients. Also, please tag your images liberally, so they can be found by search engines.Thank you for your contributions! Over 6.5K photos, 17 discussions, and 737 members.
Public Health Image Library
CDC image database. Public domain.
Surgical Procedures
AccessSurgery provides videos and animations on dozens of procedures.
Urbana Atlas of Pathology The images are taken mainly from images collected by Professor Donald R. Thursh, deceased. Dr. Thursh collected these images during the 70's while he was Professor Pathology at New York Medical College, Valhalla, New York. The images were digitized and a hypertext version was initiated at the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Urbana-Champaign, by Dr. Thursh and Dr. Levy, with Dr. Patricia Jean O'Morchoe continuing Dr. Thursh's efforts following his death. Volume 1 - Overview of General Pathology Volume 2 - Cardiovascular Pathology Volume 3 - Endocrine Pathology Volume 4 - Pulmonary Pathology Volume 5- Renal Pathology Series 2
Wellcome Collection Images Historical and contemporary digital images from the Wellcome Library, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science. Images are free for academic use.
Whole Brain Atlas The atlas is intended as an introduction to basic neuroanatomy with emphasis on the pathoanatomy of several leading central nervous system diseases.

Heart and Lung Sounds

Audio Files of Heart and Blood Sounds Merck Manual Consumer Version
Auscultation Assistant his site was designed in my fourth year of medical school at UCLA primarily for second-year medical students to help them appreciate the different audio characteristics of heart murmurs and breath sounds. Click on the above tabs to cross between general categories, and use the text buttons to the left to reach individual topics within each area. Enjoy!
Easy Auscultation: Heart & Lung Sounds We provide auscultation training and practice drills. We present heart sounds, murmurs, lung sounds ranging from common sounds to rare abnormalities. Our reference guides are a fast way to refresh your knowledge at the point of care.
Heart Sound and Murmur Library
Click on the diagram of the heartsound to listen to it or stop it from playing.
Heart Sounds and Cardiac Arrhythmias
Heart sounds and interactive quizzes.
Heart Sounds and Murmurs
Demonstrations: Heart Sounds & Murmurs
Pulmonary Breath Sounds
Pulmonary Breath Sounds
Description
From East Tennessee State University. Dept of Physical Therapy.
WelchAllyn Diagnosis 101

Videos

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination Watch a full volume or chapter-by-chapter videos.
CDC-TV
Web visitors can view or download videos on a variety of health, safety and preparedness topics.
Ear, Nose & Throat Videos and Pictures
ll the pictures in this section are presented in thumbnails. Left clicking on the thumbnail will enlarge the picture for viewing. The lightness and darkness of the picture will depend upon the brightness of your monitor. Most pictures may appear too dark on LCD monitors powered by portable battery power.
Gross Anatomy Dissection Videos
JAMA Multimedia
JAMA offers over 35 multimedia videos.
Martindale's Virtual Medical Center
Contains books, journal articles, images banks, videos, etc. on all aspects of Medicine.
MD Video Education Center
Provides topical updates on procedural and treatment areas.
Medical Videos
An online Library dedicated to videos and movies related to surgery and medicine.
MedlinePlus Videos The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) created these animated videos to explain topics in health and medicine, and to answer frequently asked questions about diseases, health conditions, and wellness issues. They feature research from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), presented in language you can understand. Each video page includes links to MedlinePlus health topic pages, where you can find more information about the subject, including symptoms, causes, treatment, and prevention.

Interactive Multimedia

Anatomical Image Quizzes hese images are from the Visible Human Project sponsored by the National Library of Medicine Note: these images are arranged in radiographic view, as though you were looking up from the patient's feet toward the head. Thus, the right side of the image is the patient's left side.
VisualDx
Decision support and reference tool includes medical images to aid diagnosis and therapeutic decisions. Go to VisualDx and register for an account first. Install the app and sign in with the account created.
more...less...
In-App Purchases
Complete (1 Month)
$39.99
Complete+DermExpert (1 Month)
$49.99
Complete (1 yr)
$399.99
Add DermExpert (1 yr)
$99.99
Complete + DermExpert (1 yr)
$499.99
Complete+DermExpert (1 Year)
$499.99
Complete (1 Year)
$399.99
Add DermExpert (1 Year)
$99.99

The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education The WebPath® educational resource contains over 2700 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions. For self-assessment and self-directed study there are over 1300 examination items. There are more than 20 tutorials in specific subject areas. These computer-aided instructional materials support educational programs in the health sciences. The 2020 version, 31st edition, of the Pathology of HIV/AIDS textbook is available
Structure
Three dimensional structures provide a wealth of information on the biological function and the evolutionary history of macromolecules. They can be used to examine sequence-structure-function relationships, interactions, active sites, and more.
The Virtual Autopsy
18 Anatomy Cases online.