PMA08-4 Medical Law and Ethics: Reference

Provides a comprehensive account of the nations defining document. Based on the premise that the study of the Constitution and constitutional law is of fundamental importance to understanding the principles, prospects, and problems of America, this text puts current events in terms of what those who initially drafted and ratified the Constitution sought to accomplish.

A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.

Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.

Comprehensive coverage of business law, Scots, and Irish law. Wide coverage of business law terms. Defines legal terms of the EU and Commonwealth countries.

The fourth edition of this classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. Includes updates and new references, plus information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment. An invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.

Designed as an alternative to overly comprehensive, lengthy, and expensive introductory texts, this is a concise overview of the field. Guides students through the various definitions of crime and the different ways crime is measured.

Provides professionals with current, practical, and empirically based information to guide their work in forensic settings.

Provides a much needed guide to the central concepts used across the subject, and offers the reader a comprehensive overview of the core topics, theories and debates. Drawing together the fundamentals within the disciplines of health, nursing, and social policy this book is an ideal text both for students studying health in a range of academic fields, and for health and social care practitioners.

Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of abortion.

Over 10,000 entries explain the vocabulary used in legal situations. Entries include definitions pronunciations, and frequent supplementary notes.

Draws on historical and international comparative research to provide a rigorous and thematic examination of the field.

Comprehensive coverage of many common addictions, including alcoholism, gambling, and OxyContin, as well as their relating behaviors.

A timely, comprehensive resource for consumers interested in health information.

2nd Edition. Authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic and pandemic diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more.

Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.

4th edition; covers topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Useful for all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.

This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law provides information and resources to help users answer their legal questions, and outlines their rights and recourses, as well as consequences, under the law. It also provides a general background and explanation of legal issues and educates the user on federal and state/local laws, statutes, cases, and regulations and Constitutional protections.

Extensive A-Z entries provide coverage of key court decisions, case studies, concepts, individuals, religious groups, organizations, and agencies shaping religion and law in today's society. Primary sources in this title

This timely book addresses the implications of this trend, revealing human rights inequities from nation to nation and the consequences of these inequities worldwide. Inspired by the United Nations' Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Andrew Fagan considers the nature of the state, national identity, and citizenship.

DRUG USE AND ABUSE takes an interdisciplinary approach in its coverage of current drug issues. It weaves psychological, historical, cultural, social, biological, and medical perspectives -- emphasizing the idea that a drug's effects depend not only on its properties, but also on the biological and psychological characteristics of its user. This theme is highlighted throughout, and is prominent in discussions of the individual classes of drugs, as well as in the chapters on pharmacology and psychopharmacology.

Written with the university student and lecturer in mind. The book will take them through from the basic legal documents and terms up to some of the more complicated issues faced by the fire service today. The information is relayed in simple terms to help students understand the material.

Collection of essays explaining the benefits and concerns, the policies and actions, and the future of the controversial issue - marijuana legalization.

Explores the origins and impacts of what many experts now call a pandemic of opioid abuse in America. With commentary from public heath experts and the inclusion of more than 30 primary sources, this text also explores the origins, costs, and sharply polarized opinions regarding the decades old war on drugs, including discussion of opinions related to disparities in drug law convictions and punishments, and the effects of mass criminalization.