Credo Reference helps you start your medical research with books of specialized terminology, references on anatomy and physiology, and works on medical practice.
Health Reference Series: Guide to Buying Health Insurance Sourcebook by
Guide to Buying Health Insurance Sourcebook, First Edition provides information about understanding the importance and need for health insurance, medical billing, and a detailed study about private and public-health insurance in the United States including key factors for choosing a private plan, COBRA requirements and benefits, Affordable care act, Medicare, Medicaid, and CHIP coverage along with shopping for health insurance with pre-existing medical conditions, healthcare reforms in the United States, and more.
Harvard Medical School Guides
The Professional Counselor's Desk Reference
Health Insurance Today by
Health Insurance Today: A Practical Approach simplifies health insurance concepts through abundant real-world examples, case studies and application exercises. Practice-based instruction, supported by the direct, conversational writing style, makes the often-complicated insurance billing and coding process understandable and accessible. Each chapter develops the learning objective in a manageable, direct narrative, followed by a short application exercise to ensure student comprehension. Key terms are highlighted and defined in the margins to facilitate immediate understanding and build familiarity with industry terms. Compliance tips located throughout teach correct billing and coding practices to comply with federal and state mandates. Case studies, critical thinking exercises and collaborative learning activities provide ample opportunities for practice, self-assessment and confidence building. Features the new CMS-1500 (8-05 version) throughout, to prepare students for real-world practice. Each chapter has been carefully developed to stand on its own, making the text ideal for open entry programs.
Understanding Health Insurance by
Understanding Health Insurance, Eleventh Edition, is the essential learning tool you need when preparing for a career in medical insurance billing. This comprehensive and easy-to-understand text is fully-updated with the latest code sets and guidelines, and covers important topics in the field like managed care, legal and regulatory issues, coding systems, reimbursement methods, medical necessity, and common health insurance plans. The eleventh edition has been updated to include new legislation that affects healthcare, ICD-10-CM coding, implementing the electronic health record, the Medical Integrity Program (MIP), medical review process, and more. The practice exercises in each chapter provide plenty of review, and the accompanying workbook�sold separately�provides even more application-based assignments and additional case studies for reinforcement. Includes free online StudyWARE� software that allows you to test your knowledge, free online SimClaim� CMS-1500 claims completion software, and free-trial access to Ingenix's EncoderPro.com�Expert encoder software.
Medical Insurance by
The sixth edition of Medical Insurance: An Integrated Claims Process Approach emphasizes the medical billing cycle--ten steps that clearly identify all the components needed to successfully manage the medical insurance claims process. The cycle shows how administrative medical professionals "follow the money." Medical insurance specialists must be familiar with the rules and guidelines of each health plan in order to submit proper documentation, which then ensures that offices receive maximum, appropriate reimbursement for services provided. Each part of the book is dedicated to a section of the cycle followed by case studies to apply the skills discussed in each section. These case studies can be completed with the electronic CMS-1500 at www.mhhe.com/valerius6e or using simulated Medisoft exercises in Connect Plus, McGraw-Hill's homework and assessment platform.
Insurance Handbook for the Medical Office by
The realistic, hands-on exercises in this workbook prepare students to work effectively in the managed care environment with all types of insurance claims. It presents self-study review questions and complete, competency-based tests. There are also easily removable sample practice forms, as well as case study information and practice exercises. Study icons help students identify and categorize assignment types (such as self-study, Internet assignments, and critical thinking exercises). New to this edition is a point system included in the workbook so that students can test themselves and gauge their understanding on a valued system. Emphasizes procedural (CPT and HCPCS) and diagnostic (ICD-9-CM) coding and documentation since they are the keystones to obtaining maximum reimbursement. Updated to reflect recent changes in the industry including more HIPAA Alerts throughout the text and a revised EDI chapter.
Insurance Handbook for the Medical Office by 
Markets and Medicine by
Are advanced industrialized countries converging on a market response to reform their systems of social protection? By comparing the health care reform experiences of Britain, Germany, and the United States in the 1990s, Susan Giaimo explores how countries pursue diverse policy responses and how such variations reflect distinctive institutions, actors, and reform politics in each country. In Britain, the Thatcher government's plan to inject a market into the state-administered national health service resulted in a circumscribed experiment orchestrated from above. In Germany, the Kohl government sought to repair defects in the corporatist arrangement with doctors and insurers, thus limiting the market experiment and designing it to enhance the solidarity of the national health insurance system. In the United States, private market actors foiled Clinton's bid to expand the federal government's role in the private health care system through managed competition and national insurance. But market reform continued, albeit led by private employers and with government officials playing a reactive role. Actors and institutions surrounding the existing health care settlement in each country created particular reform politics that either militated against or fostered the deployment of competition. The finding that major transformations are occurring in private as well as public systems of social protection suggests that studies of social policy change expand their focus beyond statutory welfare state programs. The book will interest political scientists and policymakers concerned with welfare state reform in advanced industrial societies; social scientists interested in the changing balance among state, market, and societal interests in governance; and health policy researchers, health policymakers, and health care professionals. Susan Giaimo is an independent scholar. She completed her Ph.D. in Political Science at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She also earned an MSc in Politics from the London School of Economics and Political Science, with the Politics and Government of Western Europe as the branch of study. After completing her doctorate, she was a postdoctoral fellow in the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Scholars in Health Policy Research Program, University of California at Berkeley, and the Robert Bosch Foundation Scholars Program in Comparative Public Policy and Comparative Institutions, American Institute for Contemporary German Studies, Johns Hopkins University. She taught in the Political Science Department at Massachusetts Institute of Technology for five years. During that period she won the Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics Founder's Prize for "Adapting the Welfare State: The Case of Health Care Reform in Britain, Germany, and the United States," a paper she coauthored with Philip Manow. She has also worked for health maintenance organizations (HMOs) and medical practices in the United States.
Healthcare Supply Chain Management by
According to the health data released by the Organization forEconomic Cooperation and Development (OECD), the UnitedStates spends more per capita on healthcare than any otherOECD country. Currently, U.S. healthcare spending constitutes$2.5 trillion, or 17.3 percent of GDP, with healthcare costs increasing9 percent annually. To reverse this alarming trend, theObama administration recently led the effort to dramaticallyreform healthcare policy, laws, and regulations.This book provides you (whether a healthcare policy maker,hospital administrator, pharmaceutical company manager,or other healthcare professional) with practical guidance forleveraging supply chain principles to better manage healthcareresources and control healthcare costs. It introducesbasic supply chain management concepts, terminologies,and tenets. Other included topics are strategicalliancesamong healthcare partners, value analysis of healthcare services and products,the impact of healthcare reforms on healthcare supply chains,and the development of performance metrics for the healthcaresupply chain and benchmarking.
Health Literacy Implications for Health Care Reform by
Health literacy is the degree to which one can understand and make decisions based on health information. Nearly 90 million adults in the United States have limited health literacy. While poor health literacy spans all demographics, rates of low health literacy are disproportionately higher among those with lower socioeconomic status, limited education, or limited English proficiency, as well as among the elderly and individuals with mental or physical disabilities. Studies have shown that there is a correlation between low health literacy and poor health outcomes. In 2010, President Obama signed the Affordable Care Act designed to extend access to health care coverage to millions of Americans who have been previously uninsured. Many of the newly eligible individuals who should benefit most from the ACA, however, are least prepared to realize those benefits as a result of low health literacy. They will face significant challenges understanding what coverage they are eligible for under the ACA, making informed choices about the best options for themselves and their families, and completing the enrollment process. Health Literacy Implications for Health Care Reform explores opportunities to advance health literacy in association with the implementation of health care reform. The report focuses on building partnerships to advance the field of health literacy by translating research findings into practical strategies for implementation, and on educating the public, press, and policymakers regarding issues of health literacy.
Health Care Reform Simplified by
Health Care Reform Simplified describes the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010. It translates the law's complex language into terms that are easy to understand, explaining what the new law does, when its provisions take effect, and how to plan for individual, family, and business health coverage. This book outlines the financial impact of the law and how it affects businesses, insurers, hospitals, and doctors. Most important, this book gives consumers and employers the critical information for making informed choices about new options for private and public health insurance coverage. It also describes how the law interacts with Medicare and Medicaid. Finally, it looks at the potential roadblocks--political and judicial, as well as economic--that may derail some of the provisions. But with nearly half the Act's provisions in force already, there is no time to lose in understanding how this legislation affects U.S. health care providers and consumers today. Explains health reform in easy-to-understand terms Provides guidance on options for anyone buying health insurance, whether for family or employees Details the impact on businesses, medical professionals, and insurers Charts the potential impact of political opposition to the act Explains who will pay for reform and where the cost savings lie--under both best and worst scenarios
Essentials of the U. S. Health Care System by
Written by best-selling authors Leiyu Shi and Douglas Singh, Essentials of the U.S. Health Care System is the most concise examination of the basic structures and operations of the U.S. health system. An ideal resource for courses in health policy, allied health, health administration and more, the text clarifies the complexities of health care organization and finance and presents a solid overview of how the various components fit together.The Third Edition is a comprehensive update that offers new data, charts, and tables throughout the book, as well as updated ancillary materials.
America's bitter pill : money, politics, backroom deals, and the fight to fix our broken healthcare system by 
ObamaCare Survival Guide by
We Read the Law So You Don't Have To The practical handbook to making good decisions in our changing healthcare marketplace. At over 2,700 pages - with an additional 20,000 pages of regulations -the ObamaCare law is longer than the Bible, with many more rules. Rules that will, in the words of the president, "fundamentally transform" healthcare in America. What no one explains is if the transformation will be a good one or a bad one. And that's why the ObamaCare Survival Guide is so important to you right now. Because what you don't know can hurt you. For example, can you answer these vital questions? * Do you know how the rollout of ObamaCare will affect your relationship with your doctor? * What is the laws impact on Medicare? * If your health insurance was cancelled, what options do you have now? Having trouble with the answers? You aren't alone. But if you care about your health and your family's health, you have three choices: * Read and study all 22,700 pages * Hire your own personal ObamaCare lobbyist * Buy a copy of the best-selling ObamaCare Survival Guide: 229 pages of vital information that will govern your healthcare today and tomorrow. The ObamaCare Survival Guide is a critical resource for every American whether you have health insurance or not.
TennCare, One State's Experiment with Medicaid Expansion by 
Managing Managed Care in the Medical Practice by