Websites - Practical Nursing - IDL - LibGuides at Institute of Technology

Science Websites

Anatomy & Physiology Anatomy & Physiology is a textbook for the year long Human Anatomy & Physiology course taught at most two-and four-year colleges and universities to students majoring in nursing and allied health.
Anatomy: Medline Plus Links to descriptions and pictures of the human body part's and organ systems from head to toe.
Anatomy Atlases Anatomy Atlases addresses the continuum of anatomy education and may be of use primarily to three distinct populations. It is written for and intended primarily for use by Medical Students, Residents, Fellows, or Attending Physicians studying anatomy. Other Health Care Providers studying anatomy should find it useful. Finally, Patients (including patient's family members or friends) may find it helpful.
Whole Brain Atlas The atlas is intended as an introduction to basic neuroanatomy with emphasis on the pathoanatomy of several leading central nervous system diseases.

Astronomical Almanac Online A joint publication of the USNO and the HMNAO and UKHO. The printed version contains precise ephemerides of the Sun, Moon, planets, satellites, data for eclipses and other astronomical phenomena for a given year, and serves as a world-wide stndard for such information.
Clear Dark Sky Sky charts and North American Seeing Observations Databases.
Eric Weisstein's World of Astronomy Part of Weisstein's World of Science containing encyclopedias of astronomy, scientific biography, chemistry and physics.
Finding Our Place in the Cosmos: From Galileo to Sagan and Beyond A thematic collection exploring changing models of the universe through time, ideas of life on other words and Carl Sagan's place in the tradition of science. It features manuscripts, rare books, celestial atlases, newspaper articles, sheet music and movie posters.
The Galileo Project The Galileo Project is a source of information on the life and work of Galileo (1564-1642).
Google Sky Google teamed with astronomers at teh largest observatories in the world. Using Google Maps this tools provides an exciting way to browse and explore the universe. You can find the positions of the planets and constellations on the sky and even watching the birth of distant galaxies as seen by the Hubble Space Telescope.
Johannes Kepler: The Laws of Planetary Motion Kepler’s laws of planetary motion, in astronomy and classical physics, laws describing the motions of the planets in the solar system. They were derived by the German astronomer Johannes Kepler, whose analysis of the observations of the 16th-century Danish astronomer Tycho Brahe enabled him to announce his first two laws in the year 1609 and a third law nearly a decade later, in 1618. Kepler himself never numbered these laws or specially distinguished them from his other discoveries.
Mars Exploration Program NASA’s Mars Exploration Program is a science-driven, technology-enabled study of Mars as a planetary system in order to understand: the formation and early evolution of Mars as a planet the history of geological and climate processes that have shaped Mars through time the potential for Mars to have hosted life (its “biological potential”) the future exploration of Mars by humans, and how Mars compares to and contrasts with Earth.
MESSEMGER: MErcury surface, Space Environment, GEochemistry, and Ranging MESSEMGER is a scientific investigation by spacecraft of the planet Mercury.
NASA Eclipse Web Site Information on the solar and lunar eclipses.
Phases of the Moon: 2001 to 2025 The table gives the dates and times of all phases of the moon from 2001 to 2025.
Photojournal: NASA's Image Access The Photojournal is your interface to the Planetary Image Archive (PIA) contained within the Planetary Data System Imaging Node. The home page graphic serves as a high-level entry point to the thousands of high-resolution images and their accompanying products which have been made available to the public from data returned by various JPL missions over the course of many years. Access to these exciting and often spectacular images is only a click away. If you would like to explore our neighbor in space, the marvelous red planet Mars, from afar or up close or in microscopic detail, simply click on the picture of Mars. If you fancy images of spectacular nebulae, dying stars, or potential planet-forming disks, click anywhere in the spiral universe. Enjoy breathtaking images of the giant, ringed planet and its many moons, by clicking on Saturn. Click on the comet near Small Bodies and see how a man-made probe found its final destination by crashing into a comet.
SkyView SkyView is a virtual Observatory on teh Next generating images of any part of teh sky at wavelengths in all regimes from radio to Gamma-Ray
Sloan Digital Sky Survey SDSS is one of the most ambitious and influential surveys in the history of astronomy. Over eight years of operations it obtained deep multi-color images covering more than a quarter of teh sky and created 3-dimensional maps containing more than 930,000 galaxies and more than 120,000 quasars.
Solar Data Analysis Center Solar Data Analysis center in Greenbelt, Maryland.
Stanford Solar Center Site provides students, teachers and the public with teh latest information about the sun.

Algaebase Algaebase is a database of information on algae including terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms.
Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) BHL is a consortium of 12 natural history and botanical Libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and part of the biodiversity commons.
BRENDA: The Comprehensive Enzyme Information System Is the main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community.
The Cell: An Image Library This Library is a public and easily accessible resource database of images, videos, and animations of cells, capturing a wide diversity of organisms, cell types and cellular processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research on cellular activity with the ultimate goal of improving human health.
CELLS Alive Represents 30 years capturing film and computer enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research.
Charles Darwin's Papers Online The private papers of Charles Darwin one of the most influential scientists in history can be viewed for free. There are over 20,000 items and over 100,000 electronic images.
Cornell Lab of Ornithology Macaulay Library archive at the Cornell Lab of Ornithology is the largest and oldest scientific archive of biodiversity audio and video recordings.
Encyclopedia of DNA Elements (ENCODE) ENCODE has produced vast amounts of data that can be accessed through the project's freely accessible database, the ENCODE Portal. The ENCODE "Encyclopedia" organizes these data into two levels of annotations: 1) integrative-level annotations, including a registry of candidate cis-regulatory elements and 2) ground-level annotations derived directly from experimental data.
Encyclopedia of Life Global access to knowledge about life on Earth.
Evolution Resources NAS articles, books, and information from the NAS.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) Provides single point of access to more than 500 million records making it the biggest biodiversity database on the Internet. The data relates to more than 1.5 million species collected over three centuries of natural history exploration.
Human Genome Resources NCBI advances science & health by providing access to biological information.
iBioSeminars Started in 2007 by the University of California San Francisco and Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Developed to bring the best biology to people throughout the world for free. Includes over 160 seminars and 18 short talks by Noble Laureates and 77 talks by NAS.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
National Estuarine Research Reserve Association NERRA is a network of 28 areas representing different biogeographic regions of the United States protected for long-term research, water-quality monitoring, education and coastal stewardship.
National Human Genome Research Institute Established in 1989 to carry out the role NIH and HGP.
National Invasive Species Information Center A reference gateway to information, organizations, and services about invasive species.
NatureServe A nonprofit organization that provides scientific expertise to conservation.
Open Biology Open access journal covering biology from the molecular and cellular level. This selective online journal publishes original high quality research in cell biology, developmental and structural biology, molecular biology, biochemistry, neuroscience, immunology, microbiology and genetics.
Tree of Life Web Project Collection of information about biodiversity compiled collaborate by professional and amateurs.
Understanding Evolution A non-commercial, education website teaching the sciences and history of evolutionary biology.

Atlas of Florida Vascular Plants A joint effort by the Institute for Systematic Botany, the University of South Florida and the Florida Center for Community Design + Research to provide users with a comprehensive searchable database of vascular plants in the State of Florida.
Biology of Plants Information from the Missouri Botanical Garden.
Botanic Gardens Conservation International BGCI provides a global voice for all botanic gardens championing and celebrating their inspiring work. We are the World's largest plant conservation network, open to all.
Botanicus Botanicus is a freely accessible portal to historical botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.
Florida-friendly Plant Database Identify Florida native plants that will work in your yard or landscape design. The database contains nearly 380 trees, palms, shrubs, flowers, groundcovers, grasses and vines that are recommended by University of Florida/IFAS horticulture experts.
The International Plant Names Index IPN is a database names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns, and fern allies. The data are freely available and are gradually being standardized and checked.
Plant Information Online Use PIO to discover sources in 1003 North American nurseries for 90007 plants find 301789 citations to 184088 plants in science and garden literature link to selected websites for images and regional information about plants. It is a free service of the University of Minnesota Libraries.
PLANTS Database The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the US and its territories.
UF/IFAS Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants Established in 11978 by the Florida State Legislature is multidisciplinary research, teaching and extension unit directed to develop environmentally sound techniques for the management of aquatic plant research activities within the state of Florida.

ChemCollective Began in 2000by the IrYdikum Virtual Lab provides simulation so that instructors may use it for a great variety of student activities. The project evolved to create scenario-based learning activities designed to provide interactive engaging materials that link learning activities designed to provide interactive engaging materials that link chemistry concepts to the real world.
ChemEd DL A storehouse of tested digital resources for education in the chemical sciences.
ChemPrime Designed so that chemistry concepts in an order that reflects the conceptual structure of the discipline and students are able to learn chemistry within a broad range of contexts.
ChemView Use this database to get information on chemical health and safety received by the EPA and EPA assessments and regulatory actions for specific chemical under the Toxic Substances Control Act.
The Elemental Data Index The Elemental Data Index provides access to the NIST PML online data organized by element. Simplifies the process for retrieving online scientific data for aa specific element from various online databases including atomic spectroscopy, atomic data, x-ray absorption and nuclear data.
Eric Weisstein's World of Chemistry World of Chemistry covers Chemical Reactions, Experimental Chemistry, Geology, Inorganic Chemistry, Mineralogy, Organic Chemistry, Petrology and Quantum Chemistry. Contains 495 entries, 603 cross-references, 31 figures, 0 animated graphics, 0 live Java applets, and counting...
Models 360 Models 360 enables users to investigate a collection of 3-D interactive models of organic and inorganic compounds, including extended-structure solids. Users can manipulate the models to examine structure and bonding and demonstrate molecular geometries, vibrations, symmetry, and orbitals. This resource has been built specifically to meet the needs of educators. The molecules and structures shown have been vetted as to their usefulness in teaching, and their accuracy. The structure of each molecule has been calculated using modern quantum mechanical software in order to obtain high-accuracy properties to be used in classrooms. Under the auspices of the ChemEd DL, more molecules were identified and the collection grew to include organic as well as inorganic molecules. With the growth of the database and the transition to the ChemEd DL, the name changed to Molecules 360. ChemEd DL has expanded the collection from 80 original molecules to over 700 molecules.
NIST Chemistry WebBook This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
The Periodical Table of Videos Tables charting the chemical elements have been around since the 19th century - modern version has a short video of each.
Periodic Table Live Allows use to explore a broad range of information about the elements, their reactions, their properties, their structures and their histories.
The PubChem Project Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.
Virtual Inorganic Pedagogical Electronic Resource This website VIPEr will serve both as a repository and as a user-friendly platform for social networking tools that facilitate virtual collaboration and community building.
Wired Chemist Features pedagogical animations, an introductio0n to chemistry, demonstrations of laboratory techniques, NMP spectral data and problems.

Ask-A-Geologist Do you have a question about volcanoes, earthquakes, mountains, rocks, maps, ground water, lakes or rivers?
Geologic Time: The Story of the Changing Earth Created by the Smithsonian Museums Department of Paleobiology. The site explores paleobiology and paleontology by eon, era, period and epic.
Geology Research and Information Address major societal issues that involve geologic hazards and disasters, climate variability and change, energy and mineral resources, ecosystem and human health, and ground-water availability.
Ocean Drilling Program ODP was funded by the US National Science Foundation and 22 international partners to conduct basic research into history of the ocean basins and the overall nature of the crust beneath the ocean floor using the drill ship JOIDES Resolution.
Physical Geology Interactive Published by Houghton Mifflin.
This Dynamic Earth: the Story of Plate Tectonics This book was originally published in Feb. 1996 by Martha Kiger.
U.S. Geological Survey A science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts on climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help provide timely, relevant and usable information.

AirNow Nationwide daily forecasts. Current Air Quality Conditions - Nationwide and regional real-time ozone and particle pollution air quality maps covering 46 states and part of Canada. The maps are updated hourly.
Carbon Offset Research and Education (CORE) Initiative This website provides an up-to-date analysis and synthesis of the most influential offset programs and activities. It reflects on lessons learned and aims to inform consumers as well as participants and designers of current and future offset programs.
Center for Climate and Energy Solutions An independent, non partisan nonprofit organization working to advance strong policy and action to adress climate and energy challenges.
Coastal Area Climate Change Education (CACCE) Organize partners and stakeholders in the coastal regions of the southeastern United States and the Caribbean to educate current K-12 and college students, and the broader public about the impacts of climate change.
Global Climate Change Indicators Presents the latest information from several independent measures of observed climate change that illustrate an overwhelmingly compelling story of a planet that is undergoing global warming. It is worth noting that increasing global temperature is only one element of observed global climate change. Precipitation patterns are also changing, storms and other extremes are changing as well.
Global Climate Change Master Directory GCMD holds more than 25,000 Earth Science data set and service descriptions which cover subject areas within the Earth and environmental sciences.
Global Climate Change Research Explorer This website explores scientific data relating to the atmosphere of the ocean; the areas covered by ice and snow; the living organisms in all three domains. You'll also get a sense of how scientists study natural phenomena-how researchers gather evidence, test theories. and come to conclusions.
Hurricanes Overview of hurricane formation and data from NOAA.
Interactive Global Geostationary Weather Satellite Images GOES weather satellite imagery courtesy of Earth Science Office at NASA Marshall Space Flight in Huntsville, Alabama. The global composite satellite maps are courtesy of the NCEP Aviation Weather Center in Kansas City Missouri.
National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) NCAR federally funded research and development center devoted to service, research and education in the atmospheric and related sciences.
National Doppler Radar Sites National Weather Services enhanced radar images.
NOAA Climate Services NOAA Climate.gov is a source of timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate. Our goals are to promote public understanding of climate science and climate-related events, to make our data products and services easy to access and use, to provide climate-related support to the private sector and the Nation’s economy, and to serve people making climate-related decisions with tools and resources that help them answer specific questions. Each of the tabs in NOAA Climate.gov has a different primary audience: News & Features is a popular-style magazine for the science-interested public covering topics in climate science, adaptation, and mitigation. Visit the section… Maps & Data is a gateway to reusable climate maps and datasets that document various climate conditions. The section aims to serve officials and professionals who need climate data to inform their decisions or compile a climate adaptation report. Visit the section… Teaching Climate offers learning activities and curriculum materials, multi-media resources, and professional development opportunities for formal and informal educators who want to incorporate climate science into their work. Visit the section… Our sister site, the U.S. Climate Resilience Toolkit, serves policy and decision makers.
NODC Coastal Water Temperature Guide Displays water temperatures in regions throughout the United States.
Tides Overview of the tidal process from NOAA.
United Nations Environment Programme Established in 1972 is the voice for the environment within the United Nations System. UNEP acts as a catalyst, advocate, educator and facilitator to promote the wise use and sustainable development of the global environment.
Water Cycle Overview of the water cycle process by NOAA.

Microbial Life Excellent introduction to a variety of topics relating to microbes, focusing on their roles in different ecosystems. Good illustrations.
Bad Bug Book - Food & Drug Administration Foodborne pathogenic microorganisms and toxins are covered. From the FDA and the Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition. This is a 264-page online book.
Mycology Online Fungi and the infections they cause are covered. Many photos. From a professor in Australia.
MicrobeWorld Microbiology focused podcasts produced by the American Society for Microbiology.
MicrobeLibrary From the American Society for Microbiology. Collection of mainly visuals on the topic. Various lab protocols are also described. Perhaps easiest way to use in the "Search" choices on right margin.
Microbiology Virtual Lab Virtual labs and interactive assignments covering basic microbiology.

Causes of Color One of several exhibits in WebExhibits online museum, all of which promote discovery through multidisciplinary approaches that support all learning styles. WebExhibits is a public Service of the IDEA.
The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein The Digital Einstein Papers is an open-access site for the "Collected Papers of Albert Einstein" the ongoing publication of Einstein's massive written legacy comprising more than 30,000 unique documents.
Conservation Laws If a system does not interact with its environment in any way, then certain mechanical properties of the system cannot change. They are sometimes called "constants of the motion". These quantities are said to be "conserved" and the conservation laws which result can be considered to be the most fundamental principles of mechanics. In mechanics, examples of conserved quantities are energy, momentum, and angular momentum. The conservation laws are exact for an isolated system.
Einstein Archives Online The Einstein Archives Online Website provides the first online access to Albert Einstein’s scientific and non-scientific manuscripts held by the Albert Einstein Archives at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, constituting the material record of one of the most influential intellects in the modern era. It also enables access to the Einstein Archive Database, a comprehensive source of information on all items in the Albert Einstein Archives.
Electromagnetic Field Theory: A Problem Solving Approach This text is an introductory treatment on the junior level for a two-semester electrical engineering course starting from the Coulomb-Lorentz force law on a point charge. The theory is extended by the continuous superposition of solutions from previously developed simpler problems leading to the general integral and differential field laws. Often the same problem is solved by different methods so that the advantages and limitations of each approach becomes clear. Sample problems and their solutions are presented for each new concept with great emphasis placed on classical models of physical phenomena such as polarization, conduction, and magnetization. A large variety of related problems that reinforce the text material are included at the end of each chapter for exercise and homework.
Eric Weisstein's World of Physics Contains over 700 entries, 14,065 cross-references, 172 figures, 22 animated graphics, 0 live Java applets, and counting...Subjects include Astrophysics, Electromagnetism, Experimental Physics, Fluid Mechanics, History and terminology, Mechanics, Modern Physics, Optics, Thermodynamics, Units & Dimensional Analysis and Wave Motion.
The Higgs Boson | CERN The Brout-Englert-Higgs mechanism In the 1970s, physicists realised that there are very close ties between two of the four fundamental forces – the weak force and the electromagnetic force. The two forces can be described within the same theory, which forms the basis of the Standard Model. This “unification” implies that electricity, magnetism, light and some types of radioactivity are all manifestations of a single underlying force known as the electroweak force. The basic equations of the unified theory correctly describe the electroweak force and its associated force-carrying particles, namely the photon, and the W and Z bosons, except for a major glitch. All of these particles emerge without a mass. While this is true for the photon, we know that the W and Z have mass, nearly 100 times that of a proton. Fortunately, theorists Robert Brout, François Englert and Peter Higgs made a proposal that was to solve this problem. What we now call the Brout-Englert-Higgs mechanism gives a mass to the W and Z when they interact with an invisible field, now called the “Higgs field”, which pervades the universe.higgsjuly4,seminar,Milestones,Higgs Boson Discovery At CERN on 4 July 2012, the ATLAS and CMS collaborations present evidence in the LHC data for a particle consistent with a Higgs boson, the particle linked to the mechanism proposed in the 1960s to give mass to the W, Z and other particles. (Image: Maximilien Brice/Laurent Egli/CERN) Just after the big bang, the Higgs field was zero, but as the universe cooled and the temperature fell below a critical value, the field grew spontaneously so that any particle interacting with it acquired a mass. The more a particle interacts with this field, the heavier it is. Particles like the photon that do not interact with it are left with no mass at all. Like all fundamental fields, the Higgs field has an associated particle – the Higgs boson. The Higgs boson is the visible manifestation of the Higgs field, rather like a wave at the surface of the sea.
Interactive Physics Modules IPPEX site allows students and teachers to participate remotely in scientific research at the country's largest fusion energy laboratory.
Kepler's Laws Johannes Kepler with data collected by Tycho Brahne developed three laws describing the motion of the planets across the sky.
The Laws List The Laws List is a list of various laws, rules, principles and other related topics in physics and astronomy.
Mathematical Tools for Physics [Online Textbook] James Nearing University of Miami.
Newton's Laws Newton's First Law states that an object will remain at rest or in uniform motion in a straight line unless acted upon by an external force. Newton's 2nd Law enables us to compare the results of the same force exerted on objects of different mass. Newton's third law: All forces in the universe occur in equal but oppositely directed pairs.
Physics.org Physics.org by Physics in Society at the Institute of Physics. Aim is to inspire people of all ages about physics.
Physics Applet Collection These applets enable you to study simple physical systems in a playful way. They are idealizations of realistic scenarios which follow the proper equations that govern real experimental systems.
Physics Central American Physical Society represents over 48,000 physicists most of their work centers around meetings and publications - the primary ways physicists communicate with each other.
Physics for the 21st Century An online course that explores the frontiers of physics. The 11 units accompanied by videos, interactive simulations and a comprehensive Facilitator's Guide, work together to present an overview of key areas of rapidly-advancing knowledge in the field arranged from the subatomic scale to the cosmological.
Physics to Go A collection of websites where you can learn physics on your own, through games, webcasts and online exhibits and activities.
Richard Feynman Science Videos Feyman covers basic physics and deep insight into the scientific mind of a 20th century genius analyzing the approach of the 17th century genius Newton.
A WikiTextBook for Introductory Mechanics The ideal modern textbook provide a clear overview of the domain, short summaries of key content, links to detailed outline source material, embedded self assessment and student feedback.

American Museum of Natural History Research Library AMNH scientif prublications disseminate teh results of laboratory investigations and fieldwork conducted by museum scientists and their colleagues in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution and anthropology. This collection includes full-text access to current and back issues of AMNH series.
Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) EoE is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments and their interaction with society. The EoEb is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners, and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work.
Eric Weisstein's World of Science World of Science contains encyclopedias of astronomy, scientific biography, chemistry and physics.
National Science Digital Library NSDL is the National Science Foundation's Online Library of resources and collections for science, technology, engineering and mathematics education and research.
National Science Foundation NSF is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science, to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense"
Profiles in Science This site celebrates Twentieth Century leaders in biomedical research and public health.
Public Library of Science PLoS PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource.
Science Nation NSF Online Magazine that examines the breakthroughs and possibilities for new discovery about our planet our universe and ourselves.
ScienceSeeker The World's most comprehensive aggregator of science discussions organized by topic.
Scitable Scitable is a free science Library and personal learning tool by Nature Publishing Group the World's leading publisher of science.
Visionlearning Visionlearning is a new educational resource for faculty and students. Funded by the NSF Visionlearning provides science learning modules that are more effective than traditional textbooks in teaching science.

All About Birds Information on 592 species
Animal Diversity Web The Animal Diversity Website is an online database and encyclopedia of animal, natural history, built through contributions from students, photographers, and many others. It is a rich and flexible resource designed both as an encyclopedia for exploring biodiversity and for use in format, inquiry-based education.
Butterflies and Moths of North America Butterflies and Moths of North America is an ambitious effort to collect, store, and share species information and occurrence data.
Cornell Lab of Ornithology The Macaulay Library is the World's largest and oldest scientific archive of biodiversity audio and video recordings
The Dino Directory An online guide to dinosaurs with images, facts, abd figures for over 300 dinosaurs.
FishBase: a Global Information System for Fishes FishBase a global information system about fish. FishBase is a relational database with information for research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more.
The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ Widely considered the most comprehensive, objective global approach for evaluating the conservation status of plant and animal species.
NEMESIS A resource for non-native (exotic) species in coastal marine waters of the United States. The Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC) has developed and maintains a national database of marine and estuarine invasions of the United States and Alaska. The relational database compiles detailed informatiion on 500 different species of plants, fish, invertebrates, protists and algae.
Wikispecies Offshoot of Wikipedia contains over 268.851 articles. It is a free directory open to edits. The Wiki includes Animalia, Plantae, Fungi, Bacteria, Protista and other forms of life.
The Xerces Society It is a non-profit organization that protects wildlife through the conservation of invertebrates and their habitat.

Gale Directory Library

Gale Directory Library
Gale is the trusted source for authoritative directories on companies, publishers, associations and more. These directories are now available online in the Gale Directory Library. This online resource takes these references off the shelf and makes them available at the click of a mouse 24/7.

Associations

American Association of Anatomists
The American Association of Anatomists (AAA) promotes the three-dimensional understanding of structure as it relates to development and function, from molecule to organism. The AAA was founded in Washington, D.C. in 1888.
American Physiological Society
The American Physiological Society (APS) is a nonprofit devoted to fostering education, scientific research, and dissemination of information in the physiological sciences. The Society was founded in 1887 with 28 members. APS now has over 10,500 members. Most members have doctoral degrees in physiology and/or medicine (or other health professions).
Anatomical Society of Great Britain and Ireland
The Anatomical Society (AS), founded in 1887, is a non-profit society. It promotes, develops and advances research and education in all aspects of anatomical science. AS achieves these aims by organising scientific meetings; publishing the Journal of Anatomy and Aging Cell; making annual awards of PhD studentships, grants, and prizes.
Society of General Physiologists
SGP was founded in 1946 to promote and disseminate knowledge and interest in the subject of general physiology...". Our international membership is made up of nearly 1000 career physiologists who work in academia, government, and industry.

Dental Anatomy

Atlas of Oral Pathology (Image Database)
The goal of this atlas is to show multiple examples of important lesions of the oral cavity. One should never diagnose a lesion simply by visually inspecting it. The patient history and physical examination are critically important.
Dental Anatomy: MedlinePlus
The appearance of normal teeth varies, especially the molars. Abnormally shaped teeth can result from many different conditions. Specific diseases can have a profound effect on tooth shape, tooth color, time of appearance, or absence of teeth.
Dental Case Studies
Online case studies from the University of Iowa. Cas studies have the profile, record, clinical images, radiographs, radiographs, lab reports, charts, and discussion.
Dental Resources from Crest
As with all commercial sites this one should be approached carefully. However, Crest offers a number of continuing education courses for free.
Oral Surgery Case of the Month
From the University of Washington dental cases of the month.

Anatomy and Physiology (General)

Anatomy Zone
utorials, questions, and an interactive 3D atlas, helping you to learn and revise anatomy the modern way.
AnatQuest: Anatomic Images Online
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project has produced high resolution cryosectional color images of human anatomy as well as 3D rendered images of anatomic objects created from cryosectional images (cross-sections or slices).
Atlases of the Different Body Systems
By the National Library of Medicine follow the links under the Pictures & Photographs section.
British Broadcasting Corporation's (BBC) Interactive Body
Has links to interactive images on teh body, mind, brain sex, and sleep. Other resources include surveys, programmes, facts and features, etc.
eSkeletons
Created by the University of Texas Austin, eSkeletons allows users to select a skeleton and view various bones including morphology, insertions, and origins of these bones. There is also a PDA source available for download.
Gray's Anatomy
Biography on Henry Gray with links to the book.
InnerBody
Has links to information on telemedicine, online therapy, home health products, food sensitivity, STD Testing, heavy metals, and COVID Testing.
Netter Images Online
A collection of medical illustrations by world renowned medical illustrator, Frank H. Netter, MD, and physician-artists, John Craig and Carlos Machado. Topics range from human anatomy to clinical disease states to new therapeutic technologies. Create an account for free.
An Online Examination of Human Anatomy and Physiology
Animated text narrations and quizzes to explain the structures and functions of the human body systems.
Web Anatomy
Shelf Tests include topics, medical terms, chemistry, tissues, skeletal system, muscular system, nervous system, cardiovascular system, respiratory system, digestive system, reproduction system, respiratory system, and anatomy line art,
Zygote Body
Google along with Zygote Media Group provides a 3D model of the human body. Using this program you can look at various parts of the anatomy and share what you are seeing with others by copying the URL. To use this site you should use Google Chrome or Firefox.

Veterinary Anatomy

MERCK Veterinary Manual
Covers thousands of topics in all veterinary fields. Authored by experts in teh field. Has photos videos, animations, more.
Real 3D Canine Anatomy
On this site you can currently view two 3D presentations of canine (dog) anatomy in your browser. The main presentation is a complete 3D dog bone set. We've also included a demonstration of work in progress that shows the main organs of the dog thorax. You don't need any special plugins, just a Flash enabled browser. Each presentation has been optimised for web delivery so you don't need a particularly fast internet connection although you may need to wait for a minute or two to view each model.
Veterinary Anatomical Illustrations
The following illustrations are digitized from the classic works of the German veterinary anatomists, Wilhelm Ellenberger and Hermann Baum, and medical illustrator, Hermann Dittrich. The texts, from which these illustrations were derived, are works published in 1898 and 1911 through 1925, all entitled Handbuch der Anatomie der Tiere für Künstler …Read More
Veterinary Anatomy from the University of Minnesota
Veterinary Anatomy covers Canine Anatomy, Developmental Anatomy, Neuroanatomy Courseware, Planar (MRI & CT) Anatomy Courseware, Ungulate Anatomy Courseware.

Credo Reference: Animals & Veterinary Medicine

Online Dissection and Exploration

NAVS Online Animal Dissections Resources
Animal dissections include pigeon, bonyfish, cat, clam, cow, crawfish, earthworm, pig, frog, fruit flies, grasshopper, owl pellet, rat, shark, sheep, starfish, squid, and turtle.

more... less...

Downloads into PowerPoint takes a few minutes.
The Ultimate Fetal Pig Dissection Review
An overview of the examination of a fetal pig dissection. Features drawings and quizzes. Can be used in conjunction with the Virtual Pig Dissection from Whitman College
Virtual Fetal Pig Dissection
Whitman College designed as a supplement to laboratory dissections exploring introductory mammalian anatomy and physiology.

Practical Nursing - IDL: Websites

Science Websites

Gale Directory Library

Associations

Dental Anatomy

Anatomy and Physiology (General)

Veterinary Anatomy

Credo Reference: Animals & Veterinary Medicine

Online Dissection and Exploration

Credo Reference: Nursing

Nursing Databases