LibGuides: African American Music Appreciation Month: Journals and Magazines

Gale Power Search

Gale Subject Terms

When using the Gale databases the following Subject Terms represent the largest search Result Lists:

Select Gale Titles

American Heritage
A general audience magazine devoted to American history and culture. The articles, contributed by such well-known historians as Stephen Ambrose and David McCullough, cover a broad range of topics in American social, cultural, political, and military life. Includes profuse illustrations and reviews of books, film, and video.
American Record Guide
A consumer magazine that presents over 500 classical music reviews per issue. Reviews evaluate the music and performance, and put into context of the compose.'s other work or the performer's repertoire. Also includes articles on current events in the classical music world.
American Theatre
A consumer magazine featuring reports on plays in print, as well as performances and theater season schedules. Presents current trends in nonprofit American theater. Contains three to four articles in each issue; sometimes the complete text of a short play is included.
Back Stage, National ed.
Provides news stories, informative columns, reviews, previews of upcoming theatre seasons, listings of agents, casting directors, rehearsal spaces, personal managers, acting coaches, and casting notices for stage, screen, television and cabaret performers and staff.
Billboard
An international newsweekly magazine covering the music, video and digital entertainment industries. Reports on artists, events, music, and developments in marketing and new media over a wide range of audio and video products, and related products and services. Includes news, analysis and information about retail sales, programming, music sites, and publishing and licensing activities.
Jazzwise
Sing Out!
Magazine featuring contemporary and traditional folk songs, feature articles, spotlights, instrumental teach-ins, news, reviews, festival listings, regular columns on songwriting, storytelling, dance, children's music, and more.
Smithsonian
A monthly magazine that covers the arts, environment, sciences, history, and popular culture of the times, including news and stories that relate to current exhibits and events at the Smithsonian museums and elsewhere. Directed toward educated readers with diverse interests.

American Music
A scholarly journal covering music in the U.S. for the academic audience.
Journal of African American Studies
Covers topics concerning social transformations that impact the life chances of continental Africans and the African diasporam, including diverse methods and perspectives that include anthropology, art, economics, law, literature, management science, political science, psychology, sociology, social policy research, and others.
Journal of American Ethnic History
A journal publishing articles on migration issues and racial/ethnic groups for the academic audience.
Journal of American Folklore
A quarterly journal publishing scholarly articles, essays, notes, and commentaries on all areas of folklore and folk life. Although emphasis is given to American folk culture, materials on folklore from anywhere in the world are also selected. Occasional issues are devoted to a single theme. Includes reviews of books, exhibitions and events, sound recordings, film, and videotapes.
Journal of Singing
Provides current information regarding the teaching of singing as well as results of recent research in the field. It serves as a historical record and is a venue for teachers of singing and other scholars to share the results of their work in areas such as history, diction, voice science, medicine, and especially voice pedagogy.
Journal of the American Musicological Society
Professional journal covering music.
Southern Cultures
Journal covering the history, politics, folklore, art, literature and social structure of the Southern U.S.
Teaching Music
A bimonthly professional magazine covering all levels of music education, focusing on practical articles in specialty categories, including General Music, Band, Orchestra, Chorus, Early Childhood, Technology, Advocacy, Research, Teacher Education/Professional Development, Collegiate, Partnerships, and Professional or Personal Notes. For music educators.

The American Reader by Diane Ravitch (Editor)
Call Number: E 173 .A753 1990

ISBN: 0062720163

Publication Date: 1991-07-01

This historical anthology of Americans speaking their minds has been newly revised to highlight American classics that have withstood the test of time. Arranged in chronological order, the more than 200 poems, speeches, songs, letters, and other expressions gathered here are a tribute to our nation's character and values. From Thomas Jefferson to Woody Guthrie, "The Marines' Hymn" to W. E. B. DuBois, Benjamin Franklin to Elizabeth Cady Stanton, this handsomely illustrated book is as full of rich, unexpected juxtapositions as America herself.

American Eras
Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history.
Fodor's New Orleans
Offers current shopping, dining, hotel, and culture recommendations, as well as features and articles that convey the essence of New Orleans, Louisiana.

The New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy
This source concisely sums up the knowledge that matters to Americans - the people, places, ideas, and events that shape our cultural conversation.

The Chronology of American Literature
This book outlines America's rich literary past while also identifying larger trends along the literary timeline. Concise entries describe an author's major works for a particular year while placing them within the larger context of that writer's career.
Encyclopedia of World Biography
A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.
The Handy History Answer Book
A concise guide to all things historical, this book surveys significant people, times, and events of the past millenia, with a special emphasis on U.S. history. Its scope ranges from politics to war to science to religion to sports, arts, and culture.
Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature
Describes authors, works, and literary terms from all eras and all parts of the world.

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution (Atlanta, GA)
Provides weather, entertainment, business and political news daily from Atlanta, Georgia.
Business Wire
An international service that disseminates full-text news announcements, photographs, and multimedia regulatory filings from its member companies and organizations worldwide. Used by news agencies and journalists. Users customize their profiles to filter and track news by geography, language, industry, subject, or company preference.
Entertainment Newsweekly
Provides news and current coverage on television, movies, live theater, sports, games and concerts, together with all the various forms and mediums Americans use for entertainment.
The New York Times
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news. Content does not include the New York Times Magazine.
Philadelphia Inquirer (Philadelphia, PA)
Covers breaking local news, sports and commentary, the latest weather information, local commuter traffic reports, and high school sports schedule results.
PR Newswire
Provides continuously updated news covering media, business and financial issues. Information is provided by the companies themselves.
USA Today
A daily (5-day) general interest newspaper distributed nationally. Includes world, national, state, sports, business, finance, and lifestyle news.
Washingtonpost.com
Major U.S. newspaper covering local, national, and world news.

African American Music Appreciation Month: Journals and Magazines

Gale Power Search

Gale Subject Terms

Select Gale Titles

Real-time Reference Search Box